Josh Simpson

Fair enough, mate. I apologse if I have misconstrued your post. But you might want to think about how you post may be interptreted. Playing devils' advocate seems a bit like saying, "I'm not racist but..."

I think you went looking for the racism.

I reckon most people (as already demonstrated in this thread) would not find what yakka man said racist.

No I asked a question;but anyway no worries racist posting does not occur on this board.
That's what you're saying isn't it??

No just that people saying that if you don't understand Josh's plight as they see it are being racist. But yeah what you did right here mate, not that it should be any problem at all:

They might be,who knows??All you can tell for sure is that they are bad judges and idiots.

Does being Devil's advocate mean you can say whatever you want? Sorry if I read your post wrong, but to me, it reads as if you (or the devil) are suggesting that aboriginal kids are nominating for the draft without any consideration of what it means to be a professional athlete. The devil seems naive and racist to me.
Turn it up. Now, for my ignorance to really shine... Firstly how is that racist? HOW??? Does a kid applying for the draft from the UK or China or Somalia have any idea what it takes to be an AFL player? Maybe we stumble upon some freak athlete in some far off distant land, the recruiters can't believe the physical attributes that this kid possesses and think he'll be bigger than Nic Nat in no time. Do we just not recruit him? Is he wrong for applying for the draft? (Now this is where my ignorance comes right into play) As far as I'm aware, kid's like Josh are almost as foreign to a western/Australian culture as the hypothetical freak athlete I just described. Again (I put my hand up and state I know nothing about remote Aboriginal culture and lifestyle appart from reading a couple of paragraphs in an article here and there) does that mean he shouldn't give it a crack? Of course not. If WE choose to draft a player, especially one who has no real idea what he's getting into, then it's OUR responsibility to support and help guide the transition between cultures and expectation.

Make no mistake, AFL is a business. The players are a product. Whilst the players make good money, rest assured there are fat cats in suits making even more money off of the players. Don't doubt that for a second. How much of that billion dollar TV deal (then there's advertising, sponsorship deals, and profits direct from the grounds) did the players get? IIRC, it was about SFA. They're earning hundreds of thousands, while they are almost the sole reason BILLIONS are ultimately generated. If Freo/the afl/both are doing combines to find athletes in places like China, South Africa, Ireland, The USA etc... it's because there's profit there. Call me jaded and cynical, but that's my view.

WE made the choice to draft him. Now, it's fair (I believe) to question whether or not we should have drafted someone with our first pick based on the potential for it not to work out. His race has **** all to do with that. It's a question of culture and lifestyle. It's a question Freo would have asked themselves prior to making the decision to take him. Despite this the fans have a right to question the decision. Nobody is saying we shouldn't have drafted aboriginals, some (not me) are saying that maybe we shouldn't have drafted Josh. I'm ok with that. I don't see it any differently than people begrudging us taking pitt over Darling. Different circumstances, but people are questioning a specific pick for somewhat valid reasons. IMO the kids skills are good enough to justify the risk. Doesn't mean we can't talk about it.

Finally, there is, in my opinion NO OBLIGATION on Josh's end. He doesn't have to consider jack. If you were drafted and found it wasn't for you. It would (assuming you come from a more traditional ethnicity/culture) just be said "AFL wasn't for you". No consideration would be given to your culture. Is it possible that Josh just doesn't want to play AFL? I mean I know he want's to play, but maybe he just doesn't want to train everyday, eat a western based athletic diet, sit in meetings all day etc.... Maybe Yalgoo has something to do with it, maybe it doesn't. Maybe Josh will come back and be Son Son 2.0. I just don't get why it's wrong to talk about it.

I think you went looking for the racism.

I reckon most people (as already demonstrated in this thread) would not find what yakka man said racist.

Nah mate. I was just scrolling through and was genuinely surprised to see a poster generalising about indigenous draftees (as that was what the Chris Lewis article was about.) It is clear now that @yakkaman was talking about kids from remote communities rather than an entire race of people. So, my apologies to @yakkaman

Most of them I would assume. It's all beer and groupies and adoration of big crowds and lunches in the cafe strip after training with all your mates.

Can't agree with that Esti. The 18 year old potential draftees I've met in recent years have been very dedicated. Quite a contrast from other 18 year olds I've met!

You did ask 'which 18 year old kid on the planet' though, which is a pretty broad category.

Nah mate. I was just scrolling through and was genuinely surprised to see a poster generalising about indigenous draftees (as that was what the Chris Lewis article was about.) It is clear now that @yakkaman was talking about kids from remote communities rather than an entire race of people. So, my apologies to @yakkaman

Fair point. I don't take BigFooty quite seriously enough to proof read all my posts. But it was as you say, definitely the remote indigenous Footballers I was talking about. The one's who have to move to a place that is as different as Narnia or Oz and then adapt instantly and work their butts off.

So they should be if they love the game enough. The benefits are ridiculous for being an AFL footballer.

Yep.

They covet those wide-screen TV's, Audi cars and flash private schools in Yalgoo, Mullewa and Mt Magnet. et al

THAT, is the point which seems beyond your understanding.

Yep.

They covet those wide-screen TV's, Audi cars and flash private schools in Yalgoo, Mullewa and Mt Magnet. et al

Don't forget the installed Microwave Ovens, Custom Kitchen deliveries and refrigerators. They can't get enough. :D

Yep.

How about being respected amongst your peers and having the little aboriginal kids looking up to you and showing that a kid from Yalgoo can become an AFL star, plus supporting a high income which can help out his family and relatives.

I am being civil.

Go and live in Yalgoo, or any other remote aboriginal community, and get back to me.

Or, stop spouting ideas from the comfort of your suburban home with zero idea on the topic than what you read in the paper and see on TV.

Your simplistic ideas...

ahh forget about it, it has been said far too many times in this thread already.

:rolleyes:

oh, sorry

:)

I am being civil.

Go and live in Yalgoo, or any other remote aboriginal community, and get back to me.

Or, stop spouting ideas from the comfort of your suburban home with zero idea on the topic than what you read in the paper and see on TV.

Your simplistic ideas...

ahh forget about it, it has been said far too many times in this thread already.

:rolleyes:

oh, sorry

:)

Wouldn't Josh want any of the things I stated? Its clear he doesn't want to play AFL as much as others want to, which was my point previously. Stop being so condescending it shows a lack of emotional intelligence.

Being unable to empathise with the trials and motivations of people from different upbringings (and instead applying blanket labels like 'soft') also shows a lack of emotional intelligence imo.

I reason with Josh on all levels except for him missing the flight because he got dropped. As I mentioned before he had 3 years of private schooling and two years of state level football behind him, we didn't pluck him straight out of Yalgoo. The fault rests on him in that instance IMO which is my main point. On all other levels I completely understand (not sticking to diet/ training etc.) given how much of a pull he would have from back home.

My emotional intelligence is just fine thank you very much.

And no, the things you stated are not necessarily high on Josh's agenda at all.

Football? Yes. White man chattels of importance and stature? Definitely not. They are even mutually exclusive.

The fact that you don't realise that, yet feel the need to preach from a position of pure ignorance, can generate condescension to ones point of view.

My emotional intelligence is just fine thank you very much.

And no, the things you stated are not necessarily high on Josh's agenda at all.

Football? Yes. White man chattels of importance and stature? Definitely not. They are even mutually exclusive.

The fact that you don't realise that, yet feel the need to preach from a position of pure ignorance, can generate condescension to ones point of view.

Hardly preaching, just trying to reason. Surely there are some benefits from Josh's viewpoint to being an AFL footballer?

What makes you say this???

In my observations of Josh at under age WA footy sides he was just as committed and focused as anyone else, so why do you say he doesn't want it?

I think he is actually quite driven and focused, which is why he got so upset at being dropped - not that that excuses him not going to the airport of course. But, his refusing to fly as an emergency doesn't necessarily mean he has no drive or commitment to the game... If he had skipped the game to play X-box or go down the beach with his gf (hello Josh Bootsma) then it is a different story, but nothing shown so far suggests Joshy Simpson is anything but driven as a footballer. Just maybe not the typical big city manicured mainstream footy dude...

Having spent years as a country cop I can tell you plenty about this argument. These young aboriginal kids have no desire for the things that make us turn up for work. We need to do more, not expect more. I'd rather leave Bushie to start a dialogue amongst the elders and see if this can be supported by the club.

We want Josh more than he wants us at the moment, he has the potential to be something quite special, and all the people that preach HTFU have no idea what a hard upbringing this kid has endured to get to this point, not a clue.

What makes you say this???

In my observations of Josh at under age WA footy sides he was just as committed and focused as anyone else, so why do you say he doesn't want it?

I think he is actually quite driven and focused, which is why he got so upset at being dropped - not that that excuses him not going to the airport of course. But, his refusing to fly as an emergency doesn't necessarily mean he has no drive or commitment to the game... If he had skipped the game to play X-box or go down the beach with his gf (hello Josh Bootsma) then it is a different story, but nothing shown so far suggests Joshy Simpson is anything but driven as a footballer. Just maybe not the typical big city manicured mainstream footy dude...

I was referring to him having greater priorities than playing AFL. No doubt he wants it, just not enough for him to put it over his culture. Him missing the flight showed a lack of drive for me.