Josh Simpson

The Aboriginal culture is the oldest existent one in the world. They're probably 60,000 years old. That is insane. We think the Melbourne Football Club and the buildings on South Terrace are old. In those 60,000-odd years, these people have crafted their own culture. One that doesn't revolve around money. I always loved how little they care about 'ownership.' Get something? It's everyone's. I went to school with a fair few Aboriginals, played footy with them, and they'd swap boots every weekend because this notion of 'ownership' is so foreign. They're family and community oriented people who couldn't care less about things like that. Anglo-Australian culture could probably be a lot less senile and neurotic with a bit of that thought process.

So I don't think, in the 150 years we've pillaged their incredibly interesting and unique and innovative culture, they've learnt to adapt. The idea of a rural Aboriginal kid caring about a career, a stock portfolio, owning a pub, buying six houses, going into commentary.... the young man does not live a life like that. He's a rural man so connected to his people that he goes back every week. He clearly wants to play footy for Freo but doesn't care about the things other kids might. That's a cool way to be. He's not doing it for the money or the career; he's doing it for the fun of playing professional football.

The club is letting him do this. Good on them. I think Freo realise this and old Ross even said the government and education system don't do it – the club's letting him live his life as he wants to, to indulge in his culture, and maintain a link to his family. That's what'll keep him happy and if he trains two times a week and puts in, he'll get a game. That's already been shown. The club has no right to enforce their ideology of A Normal Life onto anyone.

The club is just annoyed at him spitting the dummy and that's fair enough.

In all honesty, I can sympathise when some people chuck it in. Sometimes you do deserve something and never get it. Sometimes you reckon you should be getting a "well done," a good mark, or to be playing as a rover when you've been chucked in the back pocket. Sometimes that dummy spitting is appropriate and fine. That's if you work as hard as anyone and deserve to be there. I don't have an issue with that, and if that makes me defeatist then I'm defeatist. But it was the way he did it that annoyed the club. And fair enough.
Great post
People are the products of their upbringing, as SA says, in this case a 60000 year culture. For those that think that Gen Y kids are lazy and should pick up their act, guess what, the problem is their parents who made them this way. For Josh, he is dealing with things that most of us can't comprehend. To say that he should just pull his finger out or lift his game, without being rude, shows a complete lack of understanding of what he, people of his culture, and anybody who doesn't conform to 'normal society' are going through. In todays society I will include the understanding of what we call mental illness.
People with eating disorders can't just start eating, as confusing as that may be.
Josh can't just start to be a Matthew Pavlich who is solely focused on being an AFL player. We all support the FFC and some find it difficult to believe that a person gifted with the ability to play for our club can't put everything else in their lives aside to be the best player they can.
Some think that they do have the mental ability to do this if they were in Josh's situation, but guess what, they probably don't have the physical ability to be in the position in the first place. We are all different. Some have mental abilities, while others physical. Some are good at maths, others aren't.
Josh needs to be looked after in a way that it seems some on here don't 'get'.
But I get that, for a long time in my life I didn't understand it either.

Didn't Ross just say he dropped his bundle because he didn't get selected? There's nothing overly complex about that.

It's not what Josh did that's complex. It's finding a way to get through to Josh in a way that means something to him that's complex. Mike91 suggested the club should just tell Josh to: "Harden up you little brat." My response was that to say that overlooks the complexity of the situation. It would therefore have zero chance of success.

I said that, not that the club should say it. Don't put words in my mouth Crippa.

Yeah too right mate, kids who have had tough upbringings need less of the stick not more of it. They've had the stick all their life, they're sick of it. There are other ways to reach them.

So did I! Or maybe that's my public school bias and Claremont-kid disdain shining through... I thought Ross handled it exceptionally though. It is a sensitive and private matter. He was obtuse enough not to embarrass Simpson but said what he had to, to keep those vultures away. For a while. At least.

The western suburb preppy kids and their born to rule mentality is a joke.

Amazing that Lach72 and Seppo let this mouth breather mike91 , and others, continue with their shit, but other posts delivering a smack down within the rules and the forums swear filter, are being deleted.

This board is so f***ed up at times.

I said that, not that the club should say it. Don't put words in my mouth Crippa.

You said:
Needs to be said - Harden up you little brat.

I assumed you meant what the club needs to say. Abject apologies for misinterpreting your use of the imperative and I'm relieved to hear you don't think that's what actually needs to be said to him at all.

I'll assume you were just venting after a loss and were speaking without thinking. :rainbow::thumbsu:

Amazing that Lach72 and Seppo let this mouth breather mike91 , and others, continue with their shit, but other posts delivering a smack down within the rules and the forums swear filter, are being deleted.

Yeah I noticed your posts were deleted. I was pretty pissed off myself. I find your "smack-downs" strangely relaxing and therapeutic after a loss. Poor decision if I may say so.

Usually it's because someone is running to the mods. I'll let you guess who.

IMO, mike91 needs to take a breather.

You said:

I assumed you meant what the club needs to say. Abject apologies for misinterpreting your use of the imperative and I'm relieved to hear you don't think that's what actually needs to be said to him at all.

I'll assume you were just venting after a loss and were speaking without thinking. :rainbow::thumbsu:
All good and yep, club defiantly shouldn't say that to him.

LOL coming from you?!?! You're a tool of the finest degree.

RTB was magnificent. A great person. Then I read the stuff here and realise that he is the exception rather than the rule. The attitude of many Australians makes me weep.

I hope RTB's comments close this chapter in Josh's career. I fear they won't.

I am in Phuket at the moment, mate has just messaged me saying that Josh is quitting the club on Tuesday. Have there been any reliable reports or was my mate reading "the west's" wish list for a story?

Where are you in Phuket? I'm staying in Kata at the Metadee.

I hope Josh works through this as I can see his talent.

Yeah I noticed your posts were deleted. I was pretty pissed off myself. I find your "smack-downs" strangely relaxing and therapeutic after a loss. Poor decision if I may say so.

Thanks for your thoughts Crippa.

Strangely enough the intent of the post was fine, however, the picture of Bushie mashing his fork into the table while screaming invective was too much for me.

mike, while obviously a few sarnies short of a picnic and very insensitive, hasn't yet made himself look big enough an idiot for me to ban...give him time.

So you dont know? you were just talking smack. thanks.
Mate I don't know about your background but a number of us on this forum grew up in country WA where interaction with local aborigines was a daily, usual and positive part of life. For a lot of us whitefellas growing up there aboriginal culture and identity is part of our identity. For my part I'm immensely proud to have been born in Noongar country as SnD, SA and more than a few others are as well. If you don't acknowledge and respect that aspect of being West Australian then I don't know what to say to you. It's one thing to remain ignorant, it's another to remain purposefully and willfully ignorant.

The Aboriginal culture is the oldest existent one in the world. They're probably 60,000 years old. That is insane. We think the Melbourne Football Club and the buildings on South Terrace are old. In those 60,000-odd years, these people have crafted their own culture. One that doesn't revolve around money. I always loved how little they care about 'ownership.' Get something? It's everyone's. I went to school with a fair few Aboriginals, played footy with them, and they'd swap boots every weekend because this notion of 'ownership' is so foreign. They're family and community oriented people who couldn't care less about things like that. Anglo-Australian culture could probably be a lot less senile and neurotic with a bit of that thought process.

So I don't think, in the 150 years we've pillaged their incredibly interesting and unique and innovative culture, they've learnt to adapt. The idea of a rural Aboriginal kid caring about a career, a stock portfolio, owning a pub, buying six houses, going into commentary.... the young man does not live a life like that. He's a rural man so connected to his people that he goes back every week. He clearly wants to play footy for Freo but doesn't care about the things other kids might. That's a cool way to be. He's not doing it for the money or the career; he's doing it for the fun of playing professional football.

The club is letting him do this. Good on them. I think Freo realise this and old Ross even said the government and education system don't do it – the club's letting him live his life as he wants to, to indulge in his culture, and maintain a link to his family. That's what'll keep him happy and if he trains two times a week and puts in, he'll get a game. That's already been shown. The club has no right to enforce their ideology of A Normal Life onto anyone.

In all honesty, I can sympathise when some people chuck it in. Sometimes you do deserve something and never get it. Sometimes you reckon you should be getting a "well done," a good mark, or to be playing as a rover when you've been chucked in the back pocket. Sometimes that dummy spitting is appropriate and fine. That's if you work as hard as anyone and deserve to be there. I don't have an issue with that, and if that makes me defeatist then I'm defeatist. But it was the way he did it that annoyed the club. And fair enough.

Silent Alarm - what a great post !
I'm truly thankful for the input of some people on here, increasing my understanding of things footy and sometimes the greater world - this post being one of them.
Some others that have post on this thread have far too simplified view on this matter. I really do sit back and sigh when I read some of it. I'm definitely not the most accepting nor knowledgeable of other races and if I'm honest I'd say I'm slightly racist in this regard only by default ( from a lack of understanding).
What I do know and agree with though is the indigenous have some truly admirable traits that are so far removed from white "value systems" that the white majority just don't get it - proven in absolute by the various posts on here.
I experienced some personally playing footy with a number of very proud local families just south of perth. The things they did for each other and the level of respect the kids showed for their elders was astonishing to me. The notion of family was stronger than anything I'd ever witnessed and I'm so lucky to have seen that side of their life.
If this, among the other issues aired by RTB, is Josh's perceived 'weakness' (by our standards) then I can only applaud our club for working through such a delicate set of circumstances.
I'm sure the players get it when they see Josh's passion and understand it first hand knowing his value system, Im sure the leaders work differently with Josh and so they should.
Jeez RTB just becomes more and more guru swami like when I hear him talk , handled that magnificently

Don't know if I'm allowed to post in here, but I will anyway. I volunteered down at East Fremantle from 2011 to the end of last year, and Josh is one of the nicest lads you'll meet. Always stopped to give everyone the time of day and couldn't fault his attitude towards the club and his teammates. I have total faith in Fremantle and him working out whatever needs to be worked out (if there is anything). I fully expect Josh to be a regular player by the end of next season for you guys, and hopefully he can work his way up to being a star. I think we'll all eventually look back at this and realise how blown out of proportion this has been.

LOL coming from you?!?! You're a tool of the finest degree.

And yet, I'm not the one talking complete and totally ignorant shit.

Thanks for your thoughts Crippa.

Strangely enough the intent of the post was fine, however, the picture of Bushie mashing his fork into the table while screaming invective was too much for me.

mike, while obviously a few sarnies short of a picnic and very insensitive, hasn't yet made himself look big enough an idiot for me to ban...give him time.

More special treatment.

Maybe you should consider the longevity of you term here? Your invective is tired and stale.

i liked you more when you were a dick.

And yet, I'm not the one talking complete and totally ignorant shit.

More special treatment.

Maybe you should consider the longevity of you term here? Your invective is tired and stale.

Sigh. Yes. Special treatment.

A post in which you called the OP " ****ed in the head, a cretin, a moron, a pillock, an imbecile, a ****wit, mentally challenged, a ****ing spanker, and having sexual relations with the neighbours dog was deleted.

What the **** is wrong with you?

Sigh. Yes. Special treatment.

A post in which you called the OP " ****** in the head, a cretin, a moron, a pillock, an imbecile, a *******, mentally challenged, a ******* spanker, and having sexual relations with the neighbours dog was deleted.

What the **** is wrong with you?

All of which were either accepted by the swear filter or not.

Let it work or don't.

The post was directed to the rest of the pillocks that you willingly enable here, whilst supporting infractions of one day for open and blatant racism.

It wasn't your dog, so chill out.

Sabre?...check

Dominguez?...check

who's next?