Judd's kicking

• Thread starter Thread starter gbatman

:eek: I'll defend Walker all the way against anyone, but there is no way in hell he's a better kick than Judd.

You, like every one else, are living by old Stereo types. While we are at it let's drop Russell :rolleyes:...

I'm talking about the current, Walker got a load of the ball on the weekend and his kicking was excellent. Judd couldn't hit the side of a barn door. It's been happening and fair chance it'll keep happening.

Walker has been a decent kick since he has got that voice (Dennis Pagan's) out of his head saying "you can't kick kick it long".

Sorry mate but I'd have players like Drummond, Hunt, Gilbee and Houlihan kicking for my life before Judd
I guess that might depend on whether they have the ball given to them in open space or if they have to go and get it off someone themselves first!
I would back Judd if there was any dirty work to be done first.

Comedy session from GBatman, starting a thread giving Judd tips on how to drop and kick the ball:eek:

I guess your theory on Carlton being a better side sans Judd hasn't worked out for you?

The Richmond Hustler does have a point, Judd's the most "effective" inside (and arguably outside) player in the league, so that's where he'd play him, and McLean if fit, would be complementing him at best.

On his kicking, he may kick a couple of floaters trying to be creative, but they usually land in a Blues players chest or to advantage, and the rest are pinpoint.
That's not pinpointing the opposition in D50;)

Judds mad a heap of ugly kicks where he has made contact with the middle part of the ball not near the point like a drop punt is intended. He's "slamming" it down towards his boot rather than smoothly dropping it, His kicks are often mongrel things that don't spin right.

Am I the only one who can see he's struggling with kicking of recent times and the weekend he had a shocker?

Knowing Judd he'll get it right, but it's a current issue, it's obvious, arguing Judd is a good kick at the moment is like arguing that AJ is tall. There is no argument.

Ive watched him closely since he was drafted (watched more than my fair share of WCE games due to living out west).

He has certainly lost both a little pace and depth with his kicking ince the groin surgery.

He's changed his game as well.

Was far more an outside player at WCE.

He was, I wonder if the groin problems had effected his follow through? He's not kicking through the ball 100% and getting great penetration.

Judds mad a heap of ugly kicks where he has made contact with the middle part of the ball not near the point like a drop punt is intended. He's "slamming" it down towards his boot rather than smoothly dropping it, His kicks are often mongrel things that don't spin right.

Am I the only one who can see he's struggling with kicking of recent times and the weekend he had a shocker?

Knowing Judd he'll get it right, but it's a current issue, it's obvious, arguing Judd is a good kick at the moment is like arguing that AJ is tall. There is no argument.

While I agree he's technically a poor kick, his decision making is brilliant. Disposal is a combination of the two and the fact he's so good at making the right decision means I'd rather the ball in his hands than most others on the team.

Without a doubt, Decision making is top. I do emphasise with Judd, I'm normally a great kick and couldn't play last year and have struggled to execute the same precision and penetration this year but it's just started to come back now so that's good. It's not that hard to go through bad patches, he'll fix it I am sure. Monday would be a sweet time to get it right!

You, like every one else, are living by old Stereo types. While we are at it let's drop Russell :rolleyes:...

I'm talking about the current, Walker got a load of the ball on the weekend and his kicking was excellent. Judd couldn't hit the side of a barn door. It's been happening and fair chance it'll keep happening.

Walker has been a decent kick since he has got that voice (Dennis Pagan's) out of his head saying "you can't kick kick it long".

:rolleyes: Well, at least you've given everyone a good laugh with this thread.

Walker was excellent on the weekend and as I said I've defended him all the way, but to suggest he's a better kick than Judd is ludicrous. Walker has still had a few glaring errors with his kicking the last few weeks. He has nowhere near the pressure on him that Judd has when he kicks it either.

Walkers kicking has NOT been excellent on the whole this year. Last weeks game would have brought it up to just about average standard over the whole season. Against Essendon it was well below average... He murdered a few last week, but over his 25 kicks he did alot better than usual. Hope this is a sign of things to come.

Juddy didn't kick to well today but he improved on last week which is good, was kicking through it and was hitting the ball better, wont be long and he'll get it all together and he'll be even better and more damaging.

On another note, Andrew Walker is an elite kick, one of our best, that is why we go to him and fed him off half back. For those of you stuck in 2006, 2007, 2008, get with it, he's a top kick and such a shame to lose a player like that in that sort of form.

Nice one moron. Having McLean at the bottom of the pack to win the hard ball (remember he took your rabble apart with 20 handballs) means Judd will be on his feet and running past to receive rather than bending over to pick the ball up and jumped on by opposition players.

So how many time did Brock handball to a freewheelin' Chris Judd yesterday?

Judd did what he normally does. No change in the way he plays just because little Brocky is there.

So how many time did Brock handball to a freewheelin' Chris Judd yesterday?

Judd did what he normally does. No change in the way he plays just because little Brocky is there.
Did you see the goal on the run Judd kicked? He spent heaps more time running free thanks to McLean you idiot.

Judd often positioned a little wider and was able to get it a little freer at times, still did a lot of inside grunt work, they both looked good together to be honest.

wasn't there some last year stat about judd kicking to ex-player being pretty common? ex-player seemed to be on the end of those judd kicks a bit.

judd shanks always seem to be buried in under the team shanks. you kick it 50 times a game you're bound to stuff up now and then ;)

I'm starting to really worry about Judd. His last few weeks have been pretty poor by his standards. It really highlights the difference between a possession and a disposal. His possessions are top notch, so many of them being contested and winning so many clearances. His disposals on the other hand have been average at best.

Against Hawthorn he kicked two behinds only that were both very gettable and a third shot at goal didn't even score. He cost us a goal with a kick marked by an opponent and had a couple other clangers. There were even a couple of handballs that missed targets. His "good kicks" were mostly long kicks down the boundary to a contest or easy short passes. And that has been the story the last few games I think. If he was any other player he would probably be playing for the Bullants this week. Whatever the problem is I hope he addresses it quick fast.

I'm starting to really worry about Judd. His last few weeks have been pretty poor by his standards. It really highlights the difference between a possession and a disposal. His possessions are top notch, so many of them being contested and winning so many clearances. His disposals on the other hand have been average at best.

Against Hawthorn he kicked two behinds only that were both very gettable and a third shot at goal didn't even score. He cost us a goal with a kick marked by an opponent and had a couple other clangers. There were even a couple of handballs that missed targets. His "good kicks" were mostly long kicks down the boundary to a contest or easy short passes. And that has been the story the last few games I think. If he was any other player he would probably be playing for the Bullants this week. Whatever the problem is I hope he addresses it quick fast.
Should Carlton drop Gibbs and Judd for Kerr and Tuohy so we can add skill and hardness? :rolleyes:

Great post after Judd turned the game against Port in our favour.

i'm starting to really worry about judd. His last few weeks have been pretty poor by his standards. It really highlights the difference between a possession and a disposal. His possessions are top notch, so many of them being contested and winning so many clearances. His disposals on the other hand have been average at best.

Against hawthorn he kicked two behinds only that were both very gettable and a third shot at goal didn't even score. He cost us a goal with a kick marked by an opponent and had a couple other clangers. There were even a couple of handballs that missed targets. His "good kicks" were mostly long kicks down the boundary to a contest or easy short passes. And that has been the story the last few games i think. If he was any other player he would probably be playing for the bullants this week. Whatever the problem is i hope he addresses it quick fast.
ha ha i no you are joking are you not ha ha 3 clangers from 30 and he is always under pressure when getting the footy on because he actullay gets his own ball and with 2 opposition players hanging off him