Rumour JUH

I haven't been playing close attention to the daily updates (though I did find JUH's profile picture change hilarious), but I'd be keen to see Nick Riewoldt's "enough is enough!" statement of JUH's behaviour, compared to his "enough is enough!" statement on a lack of support for Sam Fisher (conveniently by everyone besides himself and St Kilda).

What has Sam Fisher's plight got to do with JUH?

One was a gun AA defender who fronted up for his side over 200 times.

The other has barely started his career, then shortly after landing a lucrative contract, gone off the rails to the extent that's he's not even fronting up for training, let alone playing for his side.

Sam fisher was brought up proving that all clubs have players that can go off the rails.

In the link I included in my previous post, Caroline Wilson stated (in direct response to Riewoldt criticising the lack of PA and other support available to Fisher post-career) that it was common knowledge that Fisher was keeping pretty dubious company and into some sketchy stuff while he was playing. When questioned about this directly, St Kilda's reponse was to promote him to the leadership group.

So what you're saying is that it didn't matter what Fisher got up to, as long as he was still able to play decent footy? I'm guessing that's how Riewoldt feels as well, while wondering why everyone else didn't do more now that Fisher's having an extended stay in the big house.

Correct. The other bloke has got a bizarre axe to grind against Nick Riewoldt for some reason.

Yeah, righto... a bizarre axe to grind. I literally linked to this in my first post.

Wilson accused Riewoldt and the Saints of looking to “pass the buck” to the players’ association regarding Fisher’s plight.

“He talked about the responsibility of teammates and leaders in the team helping Sam Fisher when he was playing at St Kilda,” Wilson said on Don’t Shoot The Messenger podcast.

“But he basically called on the players’ association to do more for players as they’re leaving the game.

“St Kilda knew about Sam Fisher’s issues long before this story came out. St Kilda knew that he was mixing with some people he shouldn’t have been mixing with.

“I actually wrote a story saying that he needed to be dropped from the leadership group and almost in defiance of that conversation around Sam Fisher, the administration and football administration at the time made him a developing leader. They just didn’t want a journo to be right.

“This was just wrong.

“Everyone knew what Sam Fisher was doing. Everyone was worried about him. I just think it’s a bit much to pass the buck to the players’ association when somebody gets in as deep as Sam Fisher has clearly got. I think that’s a bit rough of Nick Riewoldt. He was captain at the time.

In the link I included in my previous post, Caroline Wilson stated (in direct response to Riewoldt criticising the lack of PA and other support available to Fisher post-career) that it was common knowledge that Fisher was keeping pretty dubious company and into some sketchy stuff while he was playing. When questioned about this directly, St Kilda's reponse was to promote him to the leadership group.

So what you're saying is that it didn't matter what Fisher got up to, as long as he was still able to play decent footy? I'm guessing that's how Riewoldt feels as well, while wondering why everyone else didn't do more now that Fisher's having an extended stay in the big house.

They've literally got nothing to do with one another. **** Caroline Wilson, she's an attention seeking gossip whore.

I could care less if she thinks Sam Fisher and JUH are related or comparable incidents, they're clearly not.

Wtf are you doing comparing the two?

JUH is not even going to training and the club doesn't want him.

You can cast aspersions retrospectively on Sam Fisher all you like. He was performing the job he was paid for.

JUH is literally taking the piss - taking his salary while doing the opposite of performing.

Yeah, righto... a bizarre axe to grind. I literally linked to this in my first post.

Again, no one gives a **** what Caroline Wilson says or thinks.

She's trash.

Why would you care what she has to say about something she knows nothing about?

In any event, what is her point exactly? That Nick Riewoldt is not allowed to take a hard line about JUH now because a club he captained didn't sack a player who may have partied hard off the field but performed on the field?

Is that seriously what you're banging on about?

Christ. If that was a valid criticism of footballers, no retired footballer would be able to criticise JUH. Every bloody club has had a bloke on their team who snorted cocaine for fun. What do you think Buddy and Swanny and Juddy did for fun on weekends?

They've literally got nothing to do with one another. **** Caroline Wilson, she's an attention seeking gossip whore.

I could care less if she thinks Sam Fisher and JUH are related or comparable incidents, they're clearly not.

You can cast aspersions retrospectively on Sam Fisher all you like. He was performing the job he was paid for.

JUH is literally taking the piss - taking his salary while doing the opposite of performing.
This in a nutshell.

That inherently is the issue fans focus on. Why are people automatically required to care beyond that?

I've made it pretty clear why I'm comparing the two. Because the difference in Nick Riewoldt's reaction to these is notable, especially when factoring in Wilson's comments that "everyone knew" what Fisher was getting up to in his playing days, that she wrote an article pushing for Fisher to be stood down from the leadership group and St Kilda completely dismissed it. Which I think I've found, about 10 years before Fisher was charged and four years before he retired.

There's more factors when comparing Fisher to Ugle-Hagan's situations than just the fact that JUH is currently not training, let alone playing for the Bulldogs.

For one, JUH has just turned 23; Fisher was 30 when Wilson's article came out. Time is on Jamarra's side. For another Fisher's career kind of fizzled out over those four seasons following the initial whispers: 46 games between 2013-16, with his averages way down on his peak AA, B&F years.

But ultimately, it's a question of supporting the player: that cliche that clubs want them to walk out of their club as a better person than when they came in. I'd say the Bulldogs are well-versed in dealing with former #1 picks who are showing signs that they're struggling to cope. I'd suggest JUH hasn't played his last game and - who knows? - maybe he hasn't even played his last game for the Bulldogs. But if he has, he can look to the path of another former #1 who retired at 23 to put a priority on his mental well-being. There's a lot of life to live after AFL, even if JUH ends up playing 300 games. And the Bulldogs can do as they please, but I think it's a feather in their cap if they (and whichever subsequent club/s he lands at) support his wellbeing on and off the field and ultimately his transition into the post-AFL world.

I've made it pretty clear why I'm comparing the two. Because the difference in Nick Riewoldt's reaction to these is notable, especially when factoring in Wilson's comments that "everyone knew" what Fisher was getting up to in his playing days, that she wrote an article pushing for Fisher to be stood down from the leadership group and St Kilda completely dismissed it. Which I think I've found, about 10 years before Fisher was charged and four years before he retired.

There's more factors when comparing Fisher to Ugle-Hagan's situations than just the fact that JUH is currently not training, let alone playing for the Bulldogs.

For one, JUH has just turned 23; Fisher was 30 when Wilson's article came out. Time is on Jamarra's side. For another Fisher's career kind of fizzled out over those four seasons following the initial whispers: 46 games between 2013-16, with his averages way down on his peak AA, B&F years.

But ultimately, it's a question of supporting the player: that cliche that clubs want them to walk out of their club as a better person than when they came in. I'd say the Bulldogs are well-versed in dealing with former #1 picks who are showing signs that they're struggling to cope. I'd suggest JUH hasn't played his last game and - who knows? - maybe he hasn't even played his last game for the Bulldogs. But if he has, he can look to the path of another former #1 who retired at 23 to put a priority on his mental well-being. There's a lot of life to live after AFL, even if JUH ends up playing 300 games. And the Bulldogs can do as they please, but I think it's a feather in their cap if they (and whichever subsequent club/s he lands at) support his wellbeing on and off the field and ultimately his transition into the post-AFL world.
i've never seen someone so massively invested in their own take on something without realising everyone else is talking about something completely different.

That inherently is the issue fans focus on. Why are people automatically required to care beyond that?

Because then everyone sees Tom Boyd taking centre stage and thinks how great it is for a guy who retired at 23 and still isn't yet 30 to have made the courageous call that elite footy wasn't for him (leaving millions on the table) and to now be doing great things and to have found his calling in life. What are the odds that if we look back on what Big Footy was saying about Boyd 6-7 years ago, it would have been all about him being a fraud who was stealing money?

So I think it's good to care about the guys who pulled on the jumper for the club I support, or players I took a passing interest in, as human beings. Or we can just wash our hands of them and say, "Not our problem anymore" when they hang up their boots or are pushed out the door. Whatever works, I suppose.

There's literally nothing in common between JUH and Fisher, except for the fact that they appear to both enjoy life off the field. For which the same thing can be said about 50% of the players in the comp.

Again, if you wanna put your stock in Caroline Wilson's opinions, you're bloody welcome to. She's a petty gossip whore who carries grudges like badges of honour.

If you wanna be JUH's welfare officer, go ahead. If I was his team mate and I saw what he was getting up to, I wouldn't trust him as far as I could throw him and I wouldn't want to play with him or have my ability to win a flag compromised by him because he's flogging a wage he's not earning.

A lot of posts in this thread are going to look fairly horrific in 10 years time. Jamarra is a complex human with a very unique upbringing, I’m not condoning his actions (whatever they may be) but I’m very encouraged by the fact that he is getting additional support now.

At the end of the day Players are humans, not robots getting paid. They make mistakes, they have personal issues, they need time away.

Some of you lot are true A-grade flogs.

Bloke goes to what is pretty clearly being portrayed as rehab, yet the pile on continues.
Yep, I mean we still don't know the full story. But IF, the "retreat" is another name for "rehab". Then he deserves credit for that, where a fair amount of people in society with certain problems, refuse to get help or try and change. I mean how messed up have we become, where we now continue to bash people active seeking help, regardless their past misgivings.

Because then everyone sees Tom Boyd taking centre stage and thinks how great it is for a guy who retired at 23 and still isn't yet 30 to have made the courageous call that elite footy wasn't for him (leaving millions on the table) and to now be doing great things and to have found his calling in life. What are the odds that if we look back on what Big Footy was saying about Boyd 6-7 years ago, it would have been all about him being a fraud who was stealing money?

So I think it's good to care about the guys who pulled on the jumper for the club I support, or players I took a passing interest in, as human beings. Or we can just wash our hands of them and say, "Not our problem anymore" when they hang up their boots or are pushed out the door. Whatever works, I suppose.
You're missing one very important thing: Boyd performed on the big stage. JUH has been an absolute pile of shit, the Tambling to Riley Thilthorpe's Buddy, even without all this.

Jamarra has been inconsistent, as you'd expect for a young tall forward, but has definitely not been a pile of shit on field (excluding last year's elimination final). Let's not rewrite history. He kicked 43 goals last year and ranked top 10 in the Coleman.

He was our leading goalkicker last year. Second highest goal scorer for us in 2023.

Also kicked more goals than any Hawthorn player last year for what it's worth.

Rumour JUH