Just great...

Sorry for Belly , But it gives another player a chance .

ie. As the Western Bulldogs saw it when Darcy went down .

RIPPER_46 said:
Browne to get a run? 34 touches and 2 goals for the retirement village last week.

I will be very disappointed if Browne doesn't play this week, BOG the last 2 weeks and is an obvious replacement for Belly. Would also inject some much needed pace.

Out- Bell, Murphy, Peake (or Crowley)
In- Sandilands, Browne, McPharlap

How is Peake as a tagger? What do you reckon... Dodd on Roo, Peake on McLeod? Give the kids the big tasks. Let Hase, Carr, Black, Schoey and Schammer just get the pill... but have a plan of what to do in case McLoed starts tagging Hase (ie 2 on 1) or whatever. We seem to fall down when this sort of three way tango starts to happen.
Johnson on McGregor. Parker on Welsh. Polak on Perrie. All good matchups.

Edwards is one who normally does well against us, and without Walker or Hayden... maybe Thornton or Mundy. I'd actually like to see Mundy on Burton. Give him a challenge.
At the other end Rutten on McPharlin and Bock on Pavlich should be good in out favour (although they have been playing well). Torney or Doughty will probably get Farmer and Medhurst. Maybe Bassett on Medhurst if he plays deep.

But the bottom line is that on paper Adelaide should lose. But the game isn't played on paper. And Adelaide's been winning.

ThePope said:
How is Peake as a tagger? What do you reckon... Dodd on Roo, Peake on McLeod? Give the kids the big tasks. Let Hase, Carr, Black, Schoey and Schammer just get the pill... but have a plan of what to do in case McLoed starts tagging Hase (ie 2 on 1) or whatever. We seem to fall down when this sort of three way tango starts to happen.
Johnson on McGregor. Parker on Welsh. Polak on Perrie. All good matchups.

Edwards is one who normally does well against us, and without Walker or Hayden... maybe Thornton or Mundy. I'd actually like to see Mundy on Burton. Give him a challenge.
At the other end Rutten on McPharlin and Bock on Pavlich should be good in out favour (although they have been playing well). Torney or Doughty will probably get Farmer and Medhurst. Maybe Bassett on Medhurst if he plays deep.

But the bottom line is that on paper Adelaide should lose. But the game isn't played on paper. And Adelaide's been winning.
How do you figure on paper we should lose?

Rutten has been in AA form, so how is that in your favour?

You haven't mentioned the 3 midfielders that you should be most concerned about - Goodwin, Thompson & Roo.

Kane McGoodwin said:
How do you figure on paper we should lose?

Rutten has been in AA form, so how is that in your favour?

You haven't mentioned the 3 midfielders that you should be most concerned about - Goodwin, Thompson & Roo.
Because on paper (ie reputation) your team doesn't look that strong. But you are obviously doing something right. I admit I haven't seen many Crows games this year (can't remember seeing any complete games) so players like Thompson, Skipworth, Rutten, Bock, Bassett, Mattner, Hentschel, Perrie, Welsh, Hudson don't hold that many fears for us one eyed, ignorant (of other teams) fans! From what I know of Rutten is that he's a pretty big lad.. the type you'd want on a Hall/Neitz type of FF, so hopefully Luke can outrun/out jump him and have that matchup work in our favour.

But like my last point said... you have been winning games, so (I'm sure) the people who really matter, the players and the coaches, won't be worrying about any reputation and preparing accordingly.

Having said all that, I'd be happy not to tag all your midfield... we'd be pretty happy if it turned into a free flowing shootout!

ThePope said:
Because on paper (ie reputation) your team doesn't look that strong. But you are obviously doing something right. I admit I haven't seen many Crows games this year (can't remember seeing any complete games) so players like Thompson, Skipworth, Rutten, Bock, Bassett, Mattner, Hentschel, Perrie, Welsh, Hudson don't hold that many fears for us one eyed, ignorant (of other teams) fans! From what I know of Rutten is that he's a pretty big lad.. the type you'd want on a Hall/Neitz type of FF, so hopefully Luke can outrun/out jump him and have that matchup work in our favour.

But like my last point said... you have been winning games, so (I'm sure) the people who really matter, the players and the coaches, won't be worrying about any reputation and preparing accordingly.

Having said all that, I'd be happy not to tag all your midfield... we'd be pretty happy if it turned into a free flowing shootout!
It's a bit hard to have a reputation if your not watched much. ;) Bassett, Perrie & Welsh have being playing for quite a while now, but I can appreciate that the opposition supposrtes may not know much about the likes of Skipworth, Rutten & Bock.

Rutten has done well on most FF's so hopefully McPharlin shouldn't be a major problem for him.

I will be happy for a midfield shootout too, as I reckon ours runs deeper with your injuries ... but I expect Shirley will tag Haselby.

BTW, I predicted pre-season Freo would finish above the Crows, so yeah paper doesn't count for much.

I wouldn't worry kane; all year, supporters of teams like Carlton, Essendon, Richmond and so forth have been saying how good a side they have in comparison to ours, and how they should win on paper.

We took care of the Bombers by 88, the Tigers by 70 and the Blues by 14 when their great side for some reason flooded all day.

Having said that, Freo are a silly chance and if we don't come to play, anything can happen. Their forward line will certainly test our backmen.

But all things being equal, we should have a bit too much midfield firepower. Very simplistic, but there it is.

And I too, am hoping for a free-flowing contest, under sunny skies. Fingers crossed.

ThePope said:

So would we.

Just ask Port Adelaide, St. Kilda, Essendon and Richmond what happened when they opted for a shootout.

dominguez said:
I will be very disappointed if Browne doesn't play this week, BOG the last 2 weeks and is an obvious replacement for Belly. Would also inject some much needed pace.

That's what stopped me jumping off the desk when i heard about Belly.

But the Dealer has pulled a Hammy as well.

http://thewest.com.au/20050701/sport/tw-sport-home-sto131613.html

" To make matters worse, Bell's most likely replacement for the weekend's clash with Adelaide, the in-form Andrew Browne, also tweaked a hamstring and will miss one to two games."

Good to see (sort of) that Hase is actually lame and not on strike.

Ripper this is a big opportunity for Lord Byron to step up. The kid has had his problems but is coming into form and with Belly missing it is giving him more time on the ground.

Needs to start showing some of that potential on a more consistent(that word again) basis.

Also Schofield & Josh need to lift and hopefully they will be played in their correct postions ie wing and centre repectively.

Not all doom and gloom by along way.

RIPPER_46 said:
That's what stopped me jumping off the desk when i heard about Belly.

But the Dealer has pulled a Hammy as well.

http://thewest.com.au/20050701/sport/tw-sport-home-sto131613.html

" To make matters worse, Bell's most likely replacement for the weekend's clash with Adelaide, the in-form Andrew Browne, also tweaked a hamstring and will miss one to two games."

Good to see (sort of) that Hase is actually lame and not on strike.

FFS, we are having a rough trot. Guess we get to blood youngsters and all that.

Slacker said:
Guess we get to blood youngsters and all that.

It will be of benefit down the track that is for sure. I think that having Macpharlap back outweighs the loss of Belly in importance to our structure.

We now have most of our spine back so as WHTP says it is not all doom and gloom.

Big ask this week though. Then again I thought that before the Melbourne & Geelong games.

Kane McGoodwin said:
It's a bit hard to have a reputation if your not watched much. ;) Bassett, Perrie & Welsh have being playing for quite a while now, but I can appreciate that the opposition supposrtes may not know much about the likes of Skipworth, Rutten & Bock.
Of course I know of Bassett, Perrie & Welsh, but similar to players like Shane Parker, James Walker, Antoni Grover and the like, they just drift along, doing their job and most commentators don't notice them. Walker and Grover collectively have played over 200 games and have a total of 0 brownlow votes.
Welsh probably has the highest profile and probably doesn't fit in the list, but forwards always get the limelight!
ant said:
We took care of the Bombers by 88, the Tigers by 70 and the Blues by 14 when their great side for some reason flooded all day.
I hope to god we don't flood all day. A loose flowing game, like we had last year when Thornton>Reilly in the battle of the loose men in defence won the game for us.
We can win those sorts of games. I'm dreading that Craig has watched that game and our losses since then and switches to a close checking style... and that Connolly hasn't come up with a plan to counter it yet. But can Adelaide play in that tight lock down mode for a whole game or will they also want to get the free flowing run going?

ThePope said:
I hope to god we don't flood all day. A loose flowing game, like we had last year when Thornton>Reilly in the battle of the loose men in defence won the game for us.
We can win those sorts of games. I'm dreading that Craig has watched that game and our losses since then and switches to a close checking style... and that Connolly hasn't come up with a plan to counter it yet. But can Adelaide play in that tight lock down mode for a whole game or will they also want to get the free flowing run going?

I think we can play both styles quite well, but a free-flowing contest is probably to our advantage. All our best performances this season have been where we've allowed our midfield and defence to run free and given our forwards great opportunities one-on-one.

At the same time, I agree with you, such a style of game is also your best chance.

Because of that, Craigy might play it tight at times, depending on the match situation, but on the whole, I reckon he'll back our blokes in, especially at home.

We'll play it tight and tough in close; hard, physical stuff when the ball is in dispute, then run the footy with attacking flair to our forwards.

Hopefully it's a nice day, or it could become a slog.