in the end our position reflects the season we had. We have a long way to go. Winning and finishing ninth would not have justified our season as we are nowhere near the best team outside the eight. thoughts???

Soccer Notice Image
FA Cup Semi-Finals ⚽ 2026 FIFA Series A - Socceroos friendlies ⚽ Europa - Rd of 16 ⚽ The Matildas x 2026 Womens Asia Cup ⚽ Conference League - KNOCKOUTS! ⚽ Conference League - Rd of 16 ⚽ Socceroos Internat'l Friendlies ⚽ Champs League - League Phase ⚽
Fantasy Footy Notice Image Round 5
SuperCoach Rd 5 SC Talk - Trade Talk - Capt/VC ,//, AFL Fantasy Rd 5 AFF Talk - AF Trades - Capt/VC
in the end our position reflects the season we had. We have a long way to go. Winning and finishing ninth would not have justified our season as we are nowhere near the best team outside the eight. thoughts???

Yeah we are no where near North who finished 9th. They smashed us FFS![]()
North play every game like its their last .
We sacrificed wins in the name of development ... we are closer than what some people would think .
Whilst i'm bitterly disappointed with that 6 week lapse after the dreamtime win , Hardwick did do a good job to get us going again .
Overall a satisfactory season .
Given Sydney and Essendon are playing finals i see no reason we cant next year if we get the list management and training right this summer
It's a good loss in some ways, nothing to do with the players, but the supporters and expectations. This is how much we have improved, 9th would have looked way too flattering, we haven't been good enough to finish 9th.
Bingo. If Blair witch project has done his job, we supplement the list with a couple more mature players, draft some more kids, and bang.
We sacrificed wins in the name of development ... we are closer than what some people would think .
Whilst i'm bitterly disappointed with that 6 week lapse after the dreamtime win , Hardwick did do a good job to get us going again .
Given Sydney and Essendon are playing finals i see no reason we cant next year if we get the list management and training right this summer

On the money young man! Add to that that we got through the game with no major injuries to spoil the pre-season.
. we had 18 more i50's, more contested ball, less clangers and still lose...go figure
...we need to be far more accountable in our defensive efforts and much better prepared for the opposition...we look to be clueless in this department too oftenOverall a satisfactory season
We did well. Would have beaten Port and Gold Coast at the G I'm sure. 50% win/loss ratio is probably where we're at right now without selling games. Get a ruckman and a good young midfielder, cleanout a few players and Bob's your uncle bitch
I can see Post improving next year similar to how Rance did this year. Helbig and Webberley should be regulars in the 22. I'd be happy with Hampson if we can't get a Z Clarke type. Reckon our list will be quite good in 2012. Reckon Miller will get another year, but will probably finish after the 2012 season with Tuck and Moore
Out:
Farmer
White
Graham
Hislop
Gourdis
Mcguane(trade maybe)
Nason
Taylor
Hicks(rookie)
we definately need to stiffen the coaching group with some experience. Our attack is quite good but gee, what on earth was happening with Norths coast to coast goals catching us off side. I can understand it happening once, but heck it was at least 4 or 5 times, and how much did we lose by. we had 18 more i50's, more contested ball, less clangers and still lose...go figure
...we need to be far more accountable in our defensive efforts and much better prepared for the opposition...we look to be clueless in this department too often
need more than that. we need to educate the kids better and get better coaches.
We're still pretty low spenders. Some more specialists coming in would be good. Im surprised we never sounded out Ben Cousins to help with the midfield. All they ever talked about was how much he could teach the youngsters on the list. Either it was just a bit of fluff for the newspaper or he could actually coach.No argument here mate, clearances and centre bounces especially, it was atrocious for most of the season and not all of it was due to a ruck definciency. I think if anything the coaching staff, i.e. the assistants and specialists need to be a bit more transparent and accountable to the membership too. Hardwick does it well with eth generalist stuff but I personally want to know more from the assistants given they are teh ones developing and implementing strategies. I know some of that is confidential obviously but even after the fact info would be good.