wagstaff

Mr. Goodbar himself, Justin Langer, has had a whine over the fact that the Barmy Army committed the henious crime of, gasp, chanting 'no-ball' during Brett Lee's spell yesterday

http://www.theage.com.au/articles/2002/12/27/1040511181078.html

I wonder whether Langer will come out and publicly berate Australian crowds who chant 'no-ball' to a certain bowler from Sri Lanka when he plays here in the New Year, as they did when he last toured here four years ago. Somehow I doubt it.

Waiting for the inevitable comment of how Murali is clearly a chucker while Lee isn't, even though both have been cleared by the ICC panel in the same manner after having their actions questioned

i seem to remember all in sundry also crying foul when the crowd was doing it to murali.

bit dissappointing from langer though, but he has to be expected to stick up for his teammates though.

"These people standing behind the fence drinking beer, most of them are about 50 kilos overweight, making ridiculous comments. Gee whiz, as far as I'm concerned, it's easy for someone to say that from behind a fence. While they pay their money and all that sort of stuff, gee whiz, I reckon there's some sort of integrity in life."

having now read it, he does go a bit overboard. he was out of line saying such things about the barmy army.

Originally posted by nicko18
i seem to remember all in sundry also crying foul when the crowd was doing it to murali.

As I recall, the criticism came from commentators and journos but I don't think there was any public criticisim of it from the Australian players.

And as for that quote you showed, if ever there was a definition of overwrought then it would be for that quote.

And it's not as if Australian crowds are averse from having a go at opposition players like the Barmy Army did. If that's the worst thing you experience as a cricketer then you don't have much to worry about.

Langer has always come across as a whinger and a sook to me (read about his sob stories about not making the one-day team over the years); he's reaffirmed that this season.

He is also the latest in a long line of Australian players complaining about opposition batsmen not walking. Surprisingly enough I have never heard one of them make the same complaint on one of the many occasions an Australian batsman has stayed at the crease over the years.

Hypocrites the lot of them.

Moomba

I actually feel quite sad for Langer. On what should be one of the greatest, if not the greatest day of his test career, he has to blight it with these comments (regardless of any truth behind them).

His career exists, b/c the fat blokes on the other side of the fence exist. Unless we are interrupting his career as a surgeon.
Pompous sooky dweeb.
Ugly Australian. Still time for Magilla to fup.:o

I didn't hear the chants yesterday but I am guessing they have got significantly worse today....whenever Brett Lee comes you can hear a loud 'heeeeeeeeeyyyy...... NO BALL!!' which is actually quite funny I think, and Brett isn't holding back with the short at the body balls.

Anyway Langer is a clown for what he said, especially since Aussie crowds have done it in the past.

Did anyone see the entire press conference? What I'm getting at is, did Langer just say that off his own bat or did some "journalist" set him up with a question like "what do you think of the barmy army calling no-ball at Brett Lee?".

I can't believe the Australian team really care what the BA say. As the commentators on the radio were saying, if anyone had a reason to want them to stop it was the England batsmen!

I remember doing the same thing to Shoaib in Perth a couple of years back. I didn't really believe there was anything wrong with his action, but it was still good fun to join in - especially when he began his first spell with four consecutive no-balls (for overstepping)!

Originally posted by scmods
Did anyone see the entire press conference? What I'm getting at is, did Langer just say that off his own bat or did some "journalist" set him up with a question like "what do you think of the barmy army calling no-ball at Brett Lee?".
I would think he was asked. Players wouldn't normally have a rant about something unprompted.

Langer's double-standards on this issue don't surprise as it has occurred in the past. During a tour match on the 2001 tour of India, Langer criticised an Indian bowler on and off the field who gave Steve Waugh a send-off after dismissing him; because as we all know Australian bowlers don't send off batsmen after dismissing them.

Originally posted by scmods

I don't know about that but I did hear that Langer, after going on about how batsmen should trust fieldsmen when they say they've caught it and not wait for the umpire's decision, was asked it was then acceptable for batsmen to force the umpires to make a decision when they know they've nicked it?

Langer's response was that they were totally different issues. :rolleyes:

And interestingly, according to Wisden, Langer has gained support from an unlikely source, Merv Hughes! His comments were “Obviously the Barmy Army don’t know too much about cricket, I think they’ve gone a little too far.” Surely Merv must be kidding after all the antics he went on during the field that many considered to be his trademark.

I think the best comments I've heard regarding this issue were from Jonathan Agnew on the ABC today when he said that he didn't have a problem with what Justin Langer said as long as he practises what he preaches.

Fair call I thought.

Australia and the Australian crowd haven't exactly been angels and Justin has indeed been made to look like a clown. Another example of misbehaving Australian fans would be them making fools of themselves by fighting and frightening little kids by showering them with broken glass as a result. So what if the Barmy Army said what they said, it should be water off a duck's back for players. Crying out noball isn't exactly abusive and it is bugger all really. If players react and whinge about that then they are soft. Go play soccer overseas or footy at the old Victoria Park and see how you go.

The Barmy Army has added a lot of atmosphere to cricket games they have attended. The English team has been hammered in all 3 matches so far, i think it is fair to conclude that. However despite all this, they are still at the games, cheering and singing full of gusto. What everyone else should take from this is to keep faith in the team at all times. I seen footy matches where a team is going to lose, and its fans are already leaving the ground. From what i know, the Barmy Army hasn't done this to the English cricket team. Not only that, but they have added a fair bit to the economy with their shopping, pub visiting, and hotel staying.

We sat right next to the Barmy Army at the Perth test, and I must say the were a great bunch of people. Every chant is done tongue in cheek, and it's all alot of fun!!!

It wasn't the pommy supporters that were the ones in the fights on the hill.

The Balmy Army are fantastic, they add much needed atmosphere to cricket matches.

I feel for Langer though. The best knock he has ever made, and all we here on the news and Current Affair chows is about Steve Waughs knock. Pathetic. Langer should have had the media spotlight, of rhis great play.

Also Lee's action is suspect. My youngest son has had elbow surgery twice, and he could never play cricket for Australia. He has this same arm action. I am the Secretary of a cricket club, and when we watch Lee play as a group of us, his action is always discussed, slowed down or not its suspect.
Thats why the team and media are tetchy.

The ICC should either change the rule or investigate Lee, Myrili and Akhtar. Make a firm decision and stick to it. None of this grey area. they won't though as they are all drawing huge crowds in their countries and they can;t afford to lost the support. With Junior crcket numbers on the wane all over Australia as it is.

The Balmy Army is the best thing about this season Cricket season. Without their singing we would have dull atmospheres around the grounds.

The chant when england were 1 run ahead was funny.

Wouldn't mind seeing the Barmy Army canting "no ball" when Shoiab Akhtar's bowling on the trot at Faisalabad .

I was at the MCG on Boxing Day, and the Barmy Army were great fun. I was up in the Southern Stand, but we could hear them loud and clear. Always good for a laugh - they add plenty of atmosphere. Although Australia's in big trouble if the Poms ever play decent cricket.

oh get a life !
I agree 100% with Langer. The barmy army's team cant play for **** so they have to resort to lame name calling and abuse. For gods sake, Lee doesnt even throw the thing ! At least the aussie crowds had the umpires verdicts to back them up with their chants to murali ! Instead of lame name calling to someone with more talent in his little finger than that shocking english side, how about they put more energy into supporting their team. It can only help !

Justin Langer spent some time after the match today chatting to the Barmy Boys and signing autographs for them, so it seems that there are no hard feelings there.

Originally posted by eastaugh36
oh get a life !
I agree 100% with Langer. The barmy army's team cant play for **** so they have to resort to lame name calling and abuse. For gods sake, Lee doesnt even throw the thing ! At least the aussie crowds had the umpires verdicts to back them up with their chants to murali ! Instead of lame name calling to someone with more talent in his little finger than that shocking english side, how about they put more energy into supporting their team. It can only help !

mate it's all in good fun. it's not lame name calling. i like the one "weve got one more run than you.. do da do da"

also laughed at "you all live in a convict colony"

grow up and enjoy the atmosphere they create at the games rather than bitching like a whinging pom about them.