maccas_no1

Suspended
Glenelg, MUFC, Triple 8
Became a shadow of the player he would have become if he'd stayed.

Before and after shots of his career should be shown to all our interstate draftees as an example of the perils of returning home.

As I mentioned on the main board I best remember him as a teenager in the '97 prelim, with minutes to go marking in the centre square, turning and hitting Jars lace out.
He definitely wasn't out of place in the premiership sides.

Was probably on a bucket load of cash as the only premiership player to walk thru Punt Road in 20 years.

In the end I guess you get what you deserve. What a glorious way for a 2 time premiership player to bow out!!!

Congratulations to Johnson on making the most of what he had. He was an important member of our two premierships, tagging Harvey in the first of them.

It's a pity he chose to finish his career at the Tiges, but lets not hold too many grudges - he made sure we got the best deal possible when he asked for a trade.

What did he acheive by going home?

Good: Captained his club. B&F in 2006.

Bad: His club were rubbish. B&F in 2006 at Richmond nothing to write home about.

A forgotten player. Much like the other guy that went home, ol' what's his name Stenglein... he's really faded into obscurity too. But if that's what he wanted to do, he got his wish. I wonder if he regrets it?

But, two-time premiership player for the Crows - cheers mate, best of luck for the future

He was great for us. Shame about the go home factor. There was a rumour that he wanted to come back to the Crows a couple of years ago. Not sure if it was true, but then why wouldn't you with the rabble at Punt Rd? If it was true, I'm glad we didn't take him.

A forgotten player. Much like the other guy that went home, ol' what's his name Stenglein... he's really faded into obscurity too. But if that's what he wanted to do, he got his wish. I wonder if he regrets it?

Errr...didn't Stenglein play in a premiership side in WA?

As I said on another post, he was a great player for the crows during the late 90's early 2000's. That's what he should be remembered for, and Adelaide in that trade did get a very serviceable player in Torney, who had some good years with us. Good luck Kane with your future endeavours.:)

Became a shadow of the player he would have become if he'd stayed.

Before and after shots of his career should be shown to all our interstate draftees as an example of the perils of returning home.

Great post, also need to be told the Fergus Watts story as well.

Errr...didn't Stenglein play in a premiership side in WA?

Got me - he did. Still, you never hear about him. He didn't take that next step to be an elite midfielder, especially after he left here. Wasn't so much of a shame to lose him as it was Sugar.

Just for a laugh - since i didn't know and had to look it up - how old is he, and how many games has he played? (Stenglein, not Johnson)

Sugar was a great player for us, my favourite in the late nineties. I was devastated when he went to Richmond. A club premiership player and for that he will always be fondly remembered by me and many other AFC supporters. All the best Kane. :thumbsu:

Im sure he regrets going home, playing in two grand finals and winning a premiership medallion. Missing out on those two NAB Cup runners up medals in 06 and 08 must really get to him. :confused:

Johnson was never a huge possession winner for the Crows (apart from 02) but he certainly used it superbly once he got it. One of the Crows players I really liked watching and respected as a footballer, and more often than not seemed to have an impact against us. Whilst he got significantly more of the ball over at Richmond, im not sure he had the same impact, despite winning a BnF and being made captain. A good career for sure.

just for a laugh - since i didn't know and had to look it up - how old is he, and how many games has he played? (stenglein, not johnson)

28/204

Im sure he regrets going home, playing in two grand finals and winning a premiership medallion. Missing out on those two NAB Cup runners up medals in 06 and 08 must really get to him. :confused:

Johnson was never a huge possession winner for the Crows (apart from 02) but he certainly used it superbly once he got it. One of the Crows players I really liked watching and respected as a footballer, and more often than not seemed to have an impact against us. Whilst he got significantly more of the ball over at Richmond, im not sure he had the same impact, despite winning a BnF and being made captain. A good career for sure.

did miss out on the excitement of being in a good side participating in finals etc though Macca. With him there we just might have done a little better in 05-6 also

No Crow fan should wish Johnson ill, 7 good years 2 flags and a good trade deal (pick 4 used for..... Carey) He gave us plenty. Not the same as Fergus W

Congratulations to Johnson on making the most of what he had. He was an important member of our two premierships, tagging Harvey in the first of them.

It's a pity he chose to finish his career at the Tiges, but lets not hold too many grudges - he made sure we got the best deal possible when he asked for a trade.
Hear hear!

Will always have a great deal of respect for Kane Johnson and its not like we didn't get a fair deal for him. Jason Torney was quite a picks up for us :thumbsu:

But I also agree with Carl Spackler that at Richmond, he was a shell of a player that he was at Adelaide. People forget how highly he was rated by us. He was an absolut gun and one of my favourite all time Crows.

All the best to him in what ever he decides to do. I do wonder though, if he had his time over again, would he stick around?! I know playing for the club he grew up barracking for was a dream. He ended up captaining that team and winning a B&F for them but I think he would agree that his best playing days were at Adelaide.

Once upong a time we had our fab 6 midfielders - Ricciuto, McLeod, Goodwin, Edwards, Bickley and Johnson. It was quite a group :thumbsu:

did miss out on the excitement of being in a good side participating in finals etc though Macca. With him there we just might have done a little better in 05-6 also

No Crow fan should wish Johnson ill, 7 good years 2 flags and a good trade deal (pick 4 used for..... Carey) He gave us plenty. Not the same as Fergus W
I rate Stenglein but c'mon, he would have nothing to regret. He played off in a GF and won one of them. Thats what you play the footy for and the Eagles in their prime played some fun, exciting football.

It was still a trade that we did pretty well out of. We got Thompson and pick 28 (Chad Gibson). If we used that pick better would be be so far ahead in that deal. We still did very very well since I think Thompson is a better player that Stenglein ever was.

I rate Stenglein but c'mon, he would have nothing to regret. He played off in a GF and won one of them. Thats what you play the footy for and the Eagles in their prime played some fun, exciting football.

It was still a trade that we did pretty well out of. We got Thompson and pick 28 (Chad Gibson). If we used that pick better would be be so far ahead in that deal. We still did very very well since I think Thompson is a better player that Stenglein ever was.

I meant Johnson missing out on those medals although I might have misunderstood Macca's post on reflection.

Agree 100% on all you say on Stenglein. We did really well out of that trade. Much like Johnson if they have to go the key is to get the maximum for them as Port failed to do with their childish stand against Collingwood re Nick Stevens. They were offered pick 17 and 35, how that can be worse than nothing I've never understood

Got me - he did. Still, you never hear about him. He didn't take that next step to be an elite midfielder, especially after he left here. Wasn't so much of a shame to lose him as it was Sugar.

Just for a laugh - since i didn't know and had to look it up - how old is he, and how many games has he played? (Stenglein, not Johnson)

He was never going to be an elite midfielder,he was a stopper. he knew that, he went home to play with mates at the WCE's, he didn't even want to be traded to Freo, just WCE.