KDFL - 2010

G'day Tige
Here is how the local press saw the Longwoood v Undera game..
Cheers John Carrot:thumbsu:

REDLEGS GET UNDER A LION’S SKIN
Sunday night’s Dancing with the Stars had an old classic song. Cole Porter and Sinatra’s “I’ve got you under my skin”. Bit like the Redlegs getting under Undera’s skin with a tactic named “Operation Tackle” by Longwood’s coach Adam Bourke.

Bourkie’s pre-match address asked for a minimum of one tackle, one block and one shepherd per player, per quarter to contest the Lion juggernaut.
A bit of “Sydney Swan’s” flooding was also required to keep the scoring down.
Bourkie was “thinking outside the square” with only two players on Longwood’s forward side of that centre square.
The tactic was to try and keep a margin to 4 or 5 goals until ¾ time, then see if a change in strategy to attack might be a shock.
It was more a business decision than an army operation because sometimes in business you have to cut your losses.
On the scoreboard, Undera won by 127 points, 15 points more than the opening round at the Lion’s den. But by now the Lions are second on the ladder with the Leggers second last.
Yet statistically, “Stan the Statistician from Stradbroke Island” has the result that the Redlegs and Blue were 62% successful!
Undera kicked 19 goals in their win but their scribe in the KDFL footy record suggested a 50 goal plus score.. ( Our mate Stan can get more positive spin than a politician ..eh?)
One quip at the post-match discussion did put things into a more reasonable perspective when a supporter proposed (.. probably a statistically challenged rellie of Stan from up north) “that three weeks back, fifth placed Violet Town kicked 171 points against us while this second place team kicked 129 points against us today. As well as that, we doubled our score in those three weeks!!”
Longwood score 2 behinds last Satd’y as against 1 behind against VT!!
The key to AFL flooding is to get players behind the ball to gain possession then after a turnover down back all run forward to possess, go wide, get inside 50 and score.
Longwood didn’t have the fitness to run like that but did gain possession often to get inside fifty. Unfortunately a class act like Undera also got players back to regain the footy and attack.
But number 14 for Longwood, Brendan Hamill, would have been close to BoG from both sides with his outstanding ability to back himself to mark in packs across half back. Match that with long clearing kicks, precision passing to move up the wing and to get under the packs and fire out a handball to blokes like Ricki Shiner and Dave Cini.
Dallas Middleton, selected on the wing but dropping back was another tackle, turnover possession getter in a side which did a great job to frustrate the Lion’s brilliant attack.
League leading goal kicker, Sam LaPorta “only” kicked 4 for the day.
Peter “Pup” Clarke was a welcome return from army duty in South Australia and will be one to watch coming up. The fit Adam “Snags” Larkins assumed an on-ball role; running from defence to follow the ball into attack, while Jake Hedwards, played his second senior match and showed cause for his promotion.
Everyone gasped as Jake ran with the ball overhead to attempt the mark in the second quarter while the pack coming at him meant crunch time. Tough little buggra is Jake (.. bit of a rugby background). He just got up shook his head and got on with it!
Longwood locals in Tim and Matt Naughton also had a true go.
CONGRATS PATCH
Congratulations to Patrick “Patch” Hargood on his 150th game with Longwood. But Patch’s celebration was soured with a nefarious red card and “pharkisal” (.. erh mis-spelled) farcical report of which we may hear a lot more of next week. Stay tuned to the Euroa Gazette to find out more but in the meantime .. Well Done Patch!

It was a bit strange to see Bourke start in the middle on sat but not contest the ruck. It was weird seeing the biggest bloke on the ground 'roving' at centre bounces. In the 2nd half when he did go up a couple of times he was the only Longwood guy who looked like getting his hand on the ball at stoppages. Why didnt he play in the ruck all day Carrot?? After claiming Bourke was the best ruckman in the comp last week, I reckon Breeny (the McDonalds drive thru) put another claim in for that in a close to BOG display. Not a tall guy but 1 of the best, if not the best tap ruckman I have played with.

G’day Beazer

Agreed .. Breen was very good last week. But don’t discount Hammer's BoG for the Redlegs.

But I don’t have access to the inner sanctum of why Bourkie didn’t dominate the ruck .. nor do I get paid as much as yourself to comment after a game.

My thoughts are for nuthin’ .. and yes .. before you say it .. that’s possibly what they’re worth!!

You might have to ask Adam Bourke himself to find answers to your legitimate questions.

Cheers Cob
John Carrot ;):thumbsu:

G’day Beazer

Agreed .. Breen was very good last week. But don’t discount Hammer's BoG for the Redlegs.

But I don’t have access to the inner sanctum of why Bourkie didn’t dominate the ruck .. nor do I get paid as much as yourself to comment after a game.

My thoughts are for nuthin’ .. and yes .. before you say it .. that’s possibly what they’re worth!!

You might have to ask Adam Bourke himself to find answers to your legitimate questions.

Cheers Cob

Love it

G’day Beazer

Cheers Cob

Not sure if your answers are tongue in cheek or you just being a smart ass. I will assume they are tongue in cheek. I just thought that you know so much about your club that you may have heard why he did this.

Just on the game, the tactics were not great for footy but thats how he went. Longwood obviously dont have the cattle or the class of a lot of other sides but they have a go which is all you can ask for. Apart from the Nagambie game I reckon the 1st game of the year against Longwood was the most physical game I have played in this year.....

G’day Beazer

[/FONT
Cheers Cob
John Carrot

;):thumbsu:

He gets paid via mcdonalds vouchers for which I scam a few cheese burgers from carrot man, do you approve of this form of payment for district players? I'm sure with a bit of a push from the leggers community with your self included your club could do much the same, perhaps get the local fish n chip shop to donate a few dimmys to some of the athletes running around in the Longwood jumper?? On 2nd thoughts maybe not.

However MR Orange man I was a little disappointed to see that noone was invited into your social rooms after the game?? Or moreover Boone was actually in there, I was looking to trade in some of Beazers Maccas vouchers for a cold green one and to also support the bar takings for the Longwood fc and District footy as a whole! I could have perhaps spent my time outside in minus 10 degree weather and socialized but that as you could appreciate wasn't to inviting.

Good luck for the rest of the year carrot man and despite the weather conditions and state of the match played the Longwood fc have a lot to work with! Great fascilities and good coach, the ground was not to bad either.

Cheers cob

Not sure if your answers are tongue in cheek or you just being a smart ass. I will assume they are tongue in cheek. I just thought that you know so much about your club that you may have heard why he did this.

Just on the game, the tactics were not great for footy but thats how he went. Longwood obviously dont have the cattle or the class of a lot of other sides but they have a go which is all you can ask for. Apart from the Nagambie game I reckon the 1st game of the year against Longwood was the most physical game I have played in this year.....

G’day Beazer and Tige19
Firstly, discussing money .. yeah a lot of tongue in cheek there, mixed with a bit of “shite stirring” to add a bit of heat to the discussion on these cold, wet days!

You have seen my previous stance on modern day payment structure in DISTRICT footy. I’ve been accused of thinking “players just playing for jumper”, but my philosophy is NOT to have players on a guaranteed stipend per match.

Payments, (to get guys to a Club) should be mix of “genuine” travel cost compensation, work with sponsors for discounted/free meals, accommodation and petrol. Pay all players a quid to win (and a smaller $ for a loss) and have a genuine awards structure after the match for the top 6-8 players each week and at the Presentation night.

I had a bit of experience with the Wang Rovers in the 90’s where they have a “Board” manned by accountants, lawyers and local business people in a regional city, in a Major O&M league who service the Bushwhackers TAC level. Wang Rovers ground is home base for the North-East AFL recruiters.

How can any small town compete with that? Moreso, why should they?

Direct any questions to the VCFL agenda on the above..

Secondly, your form hasn’t been too bad so I’m not knocking your footy ability.

However, although (..I think?) I have the respect of the team leaders at the Longwood Redlegs, my comments are limited to after the fact .. so as I say, any further questions from what I post needs to come from those “deeper in the inner sactum”!! But hey .. we gotta try something .. eh?

Cheers Cob

Well structured response carrot and whilst what you say has merit and I agree in parts I think the way local footy has evolved we can't get around the fact player payments will occur. Agreed not all players warrant money, and I think almost every club does have a rewards system for best players etc.

You can look at player payments in 2 lights, 1: these players improve the standard of the competition and add value to the club through on field ability and help the club be more competitive and 2: they are money sucking vulchere who suck the life out of local footy. You as has been highlighted support the ladder theory.

Facts are that footy is a competitive world at any level, for clubs to survive and prosper they need sponsors and community support! Like AFL, like VFL, like WRFL, like GV, people/business's/supporters etc want to be on the winning side. In todays market you won't be successfull unless you bring in players to be competetive, not saying this is the right way but it is the way of today and the way of tomorrow. Now it's up to footy clubs to identify who they chase/recruit and pay and if they are diligent in that regard then there should be no issue.

For what it's worth I've witnessed paid players at the footy club wanting to hand back money after poor performances, the same players buy numerous function tickets and spend over and above to support the club at reverse raffles and after match functions.

G’day Beazer and Tige19
Firstly, discussing money .. yeah a lot of tongue in cheek there, mixed with a bit of “shite stirring” to add a bit of heat to the discussion on these cold, wet days!

You have seen my previous stance on modern day payment structure in DISTRICT footy. I’ve been accused of thinking “players just playing for jumper”, but my philosophy is NOT to have players on a guaranteed stipend per match.

Payments, (to get guys to a Club) should be mix of “genuine” travel cost compensation, work with sponsors for discounted/free meals, accommodation and petrol. Pay all players a quid to win (and a smaller $ for a loss) and have a genuine awards structure after the match for the top 6-8 players each week and at the Presentation night.

I had a bit of experience with the Wang Rovers in the 90’s where they have a “Board” manned by accountants, lawyers and local business people in a regional city, in a Major O&M league who service the Bushwhackers TAC level. Wang Rovers ground is home base for the North-East AFL recruiters.

How can any small town compete with that? Moreso, why should they?

Direct any questions to the VCFL agenda on the above..

Secondly, your form hasn’t been too bad so I’m not knocking your footy ability.

However, although (..I think?) I have the respect of the team leaders at the Longwood Redlegs, my comments are limited to after the fact .. so as I say, any further questions from what I post needs to come from those “deeper in the inner sactum”!! But hey .. we gotta try something .. eh?

Cheers Cob

Not sure why you brought money up when all I asked was whether you knew why Bourke didnt play more in the ruck last sat.... Maybe the question wasnt as sensible as I thought........... Im not going to get into another shit-slinging match over how much people are getting paid or whether its right or wrong, it was flogged to death earlier in the year. All I will say is that whether its right or wrong, some players get paid and some dont. And the pay scale is more times than not, out of whack at a lot of clubs given the circumstances of each player. Its been happening for 100 years and will happen for another 100 years. The only way to stop this is to stop paying the players the money they do but but its like talking about Pauline Hansen getting a f#ck, its not going to happen :thumbsu:

What did you think of the game JC? Where do you think we sit in comparison to the other teams??

Not sure why you brought money up when all I asked was whether you knew why Bourke didnt play more in the ruck last sat.... Maybe the question wasnt as sensible as I thought........... Im not going to get into another shit-slinging match over how much people are getting paid or whether its right or wrong, it was flogged to death earlier in the year. All I will say is that whether its right or wrong, some players get paid and some dont. And the pay scale is more times than not, out of whack at a lot of clubs given the circumstances of each player. Its been happening for 100 years and will happen for another 100 years. The only way to stop this is to stop paying the players the money they do but but its like talking about Pauline Hansen getting a f#ck, its not going to happen :thumbsu:

What did you think of the game JC? Where do you think we sit in comparison to the other teams??

Unless you were at the same function knackers!!

Final 5: Undera, Stanhope, Nagambie, Lancaster, Murchison over Violet Town (Although whoever wins the game between Murchison & Violet Town in Round 18 will seal 5th spot, because % should keep out everyone else).

Premiers: Undera defeating Stanhope.

McNamara: Troy Snelson followed by Matt Hodgetts.

Rookie: James Milne (Murchison) followed by Hajro from Undera.

Biggest surprise: Nagambie getting knock out in both games of the finals, Murchison losing in the Under 18's Grand Final to Tallygaroopna.

Biggest disappointment: Having the Grand Final at Mooroopna again, & not enforcing a white shorts rule for away teams (Annoying & Confusing for both players & spectators alike).

Headline we'd like to see: The KDFL Grand Final being moved to a KDFL venue & the league making clubs wear white shorts in away games.

Headline we won't see: The KDFL Grand Final being moved to a KDFL venue & the KDFL enforcing the clubs to wear white shorts in away games.

In 2011...[/QUOTE]
Girgarre to narrowly miss out on the finals by % after a big recruiting spree, Ron Burls to take over the Umpires (leading to a greatly improved Umpire's end of Season break-up :D), Longwood to win 3-4 games in the seniors, and Murchison to make a real charge for the flag making the KDFL the most even it's been in years.

I apologise gents for not replying earlier, busy with work.

Firstly, I appreciate the positive comments. About the game, with everything, it all looks good in theory, however when put into practice didn't quite come off. The Undera machine and I say that as it was very workmanlike consistantly kicked 4-5 goals each quarter against a very strong defensive zone. That game plan was really for that day as it was directed for the side we played, the conditions we played in and probably wouldn't be used again this season. Never say never.

Unfortuantly for us, we have very minimal numbers at training on a Tuesday or Thursday and that's due to a number of reasons. It is very difficult to improve a playing group without repetition and practice and actually teach them something about competitive footy.

As far as the game goes, I certainly agree Daniel played a strong enduring game, I don't think he swapped out of the ruck, which I know is no easy feat. I think as I may of said to Beazer early on, I am trying to develop some players in specific roles, and our ruckman Jonesy is one of those guys. Watching from the sidelines in the last, Jonesy had more hit-outs than Daniel which was pleasing and hopefully something he can take into next week against Tally.

Why I didn'y play ruck? I think Development of players is more beneficial to our side now and in the future rather than myself playing Ruck and sitting someone on the bench. I certainly strive to play against quality ruckmen but personal ambitions are not at the forefront at the moment.

As far as the other sides we have played, I'm bemused how Lancaster beat you guys, must of been a bad day at the office, didn't think they had much to offer by way of game plan, but then again they did teach us a lesson by 28 goals. I didn't play against Stanhope, but they moved the ball well when we played them, V.T. mayb be a few discipline issues there which can be exploited, and I know I have been trying for 12 weeks to weed ours out. I don't expect any other side to make it unless Murch continue on theior good form and V.T. drop a couple to middle of the road sides.

Good luck to all for the remainder of the season.:thumbsu:

1 thing I did forget to mention; I was hoping the scores at half time were a little closer with the game plan, not 10 goals to nil. We ended up having 7 inside 50's in the last with the strong breeze but couldn't capatilise.

Something hopefully to take into next week.

Final 5: Undera, Stanhope, Nagambie, Lancaster, Murchison over Violet Town (Although whoever wins the game between Murchison & Violet Town in Round 18 will seal 5th spot, because % should keep out everyone else).

Premiers: Undera defeating Stanhope.

McNamara: Troy Snelson followed by Matt Hodgetts.

Rookie: James Milne (Murchison) followed by Hajro from Undera.

Biggest surprise: Nagambie getting knock out in both games of the finals, Murchison losing in the Under 18's Grand Final to Tallygaroopna.

Biggest disappointment: Having the Grand Final at Mooroopna again, & not enforcing a white shorts rule for away teams (Annoying & Confusing for both players & spectators alike).

Headline we'd like to see: The KDFL Grand Final being moved to a KDFL venue & the league making clubs wear white shorts in away games.

Headline we won't see: The KDFL Grand Final being moved to a KDFL venue & the KDFL enforcing the clubs to wear white shorts in away games.

In 2011...
Girgarre to narrowly miss out on the finals by % after a big recruiting spree, Ron Burls to take over the Umpires (leading to a greatly improved Umpire's end of Season break-up :D), Longwood to win 3-4 games in the seniors, and Murchison to make a real charge for the flag making the KDFL the most even it's been in years.[/QUOTE]

Bit hard to see that cocko with 6 games left and with Murch 2 games behind VT

Girgarre to narrowly miss out on the finals by % after a big recruiting spree, Ron Burls to take over the Umpires (leading to a greatly improved Umpire's end of Season break-up :D), Longwood to win 3-4 games in the seniors, and Murchison to make a real charge for the flag making the KDFL the most even it's been in years.

Bit hard to see that cocko with 6 games left and with Murch 2 games behind VT[/QUOTE]

Hey Sparra, pretty sure he was referring to season 2011 (which is what the question asks).. And given how they've gone this year it may come to fruition.

Att. Hanky, why have you walked out on Tongala??:confused:

Bit stiff to say 'he's walked out on them' considering he coached there for 4yrs and has gone back to his home club where he lives, works and has relatives playing..

None of the Stanhope blokes have posted for a while, though..

Bit stiff to say 'he's walked out on them' considering he coached there for 4yrs and has gone back to his home club where he lives, works and has relatives playing..

None of the Stanhope blokes have posted for a while, though..
Thanks for that Pav, im simply asking the question, as an outsider looking in all i know is that the great man is no longer there and is now back at the holy land... by the way im well aware of his coaching credentials, residence, occupation and rello's but thanks anyway:rolleyes:

Bit hard to see that cocko with 6 games left and with Murch 2 games behind VT

Hey Sparra, pretty sure he was referring to season 2011 (which is what the question asks).. And given how they've gone this year it may come to fruition.[/QUOTE]

Pretty sure he is referring to this season unless he has inside knowledge into next year's draw with Murch playing VT in round 18

In 2011..
Girgarre to narrowly miss out on the finals by % after a big recruiting spree, Ron Burls to take over the Umpires (leading to a greatly improved Umpire's end of Season break-up :D), Longwood to win 3-4 games in the seniors, and Murchison to make a real charge for the flag making the KDFL the most even it's been in years.[/
QUOTE]

Sparra as Tav has already tried to point out to you the above quote is about 2011, the rest of Cletus' response was about this year.

Att. Hanky, why have you walked out on Tongala??:confused:

Thanks for your question fencesitter, have already answered this on here but will go again just for you.
Have a family member who is gravely ill and he wanted to see me return to Stanhope before he had passed.
Certainly didnt walk out on Tonny as such, have never left a club mid-year and didnt feel good about doing it but was done the right way and was actually back at Tonny for a function on the weekend and will be helping run their end of season function also.
Might even go on both footy trips, nah the misses would kill me.;)

Thanks for your question fencesitter, have already answered this on here but will go again just for you.
Have a family member who is gravely ill and he wanted to see me return to Stanhope before he had passed.
Certainly didnt walk out on Tonny as such, have never left a club mid-year and didnt feel good about doing it but was done the right way and was actually back at Tonny for a function on the weekend and will be helping run their end of season function also.

I am faced with this same problem! Go on both trips, you can be anyone to the backpackers in Airlie or Cairns... My mrs was waiting for me for 2 days at my place after last years trip, a long hot shower with plenty of soap was had the morning of return.

In saying the above I doubt she will let me go on any this year, she barely let's me stay in shepp without her.

I am faced with this same problem! Go on both trips, you can be anyone to the backpackers in Airlie or Cairns... My mrs was waiting for me for 2 days at my place after last years trip, a long hot shower with plenty of soap was had the morning of return.

In saying the above I doubt she will let me go on any this year, she barely let's me stay in shepp without her.

Stop pissing in chicks handbags and she might let you go on the next trip ;)

Thanks for the reply Hanky!!
No good to hear of your ill family member, i thought your reasons for returning would of been valid but was just curious.
Hows the hamstring travelling??
As for the footy trip... getting to our age, 1 trip is more than enough as it takes far too long to recover.;)

Thanks for the reply Hanky!!
No good to hear of your ill family member, i thought your reasons for returning would of been valid but was just curious.
Hows the hamstring travelling??
As for the footy trip... getting to our age, 1 trip is more than enough as it takes far too long to recover.;)

Hamstring's gone twang twice for the year, 1st game and last game at Tonny, got through last weekend for 1st hitout at Stanhope so hopefully got it right now.