Keep walking Cain

• Thread starter Thread starter falkstar

Ackland had an above average first year at the Saints, and followed that up with a below average second year. All in all, an average AFL player who is a sook. He is the first victim of the Saints salary cap issues so if he is the biggest name to leave the Saints because of salary cap problems, then thats good list management in my opinion.
In the old days we got the Blues cast offs, now the wheel has turned full circle. The Saints will be stronger for this departure, as a self centerd player has left the fold. It is also a smart decision for Cain, guaranteed income over the next 3 years, good luck to him.
Luenberger,Thorpe or J Reiwoldt will replace him at St Kilda.

By the lack of angst toward Ackland leaving, it can be guaged how little many think his absence will mean to the Saints.

We have a fully fit 2003 AA ruckman, A very handy mobile ruckman in Rix, a forward/ relief ruckman in Kosi (again fully fit), and a 22 y.o who showed glimpses of his undoubted talent in the final game against the Brisbane Lions (admittedly against a poor defence).

Ackland still has a dodgy knee (contrary to reports, and has had one since his Port days), but has done the right thing by himself getting $250k a year for three years, something he would never get at the Saints as he is not worth more than players like Ball, Montagna, Gram and the Fishers who are on considerably less. Would rather keep any of those before Ackland.

Good luck to Ackland, he has done the best for himself and that cant be critisised. It will also fit in well with the Carlton ethos of looking after yourself before anything which starts at the coach and filters right through the club. :) :thumbsu:

bob down said:
... if he is the biggest name to leave the Saints because of salary cap problems, then thats good list management in my opinion.....

But that wasn't the reason he left. Your new coach said as much. He left because he knows the Saints list is getting old, and the best is behind them. By contrast the Blues have assembled a highly talented young group, plus an impressive coaching team, and have a famous success culture i.e 16 flags. Little wonder my most HUN readers thought the Blues would be the next Vic team to win the flag. Obviously Cain shares that opinion. :)

parrot said:
I would really like to elaborate, but Chief and Fred have prevented me from discussing footy issues on the main board, that grate against the tabloid footy media orthodox, as part of Bigfooty's recent censorship policy. I'm also on a self-imposed 2 board-ban per month budget, so I'll refrain from elaborating and discussing the Saints list strengths and weaknesses. You might recall my previous detailed thread on the matter in the pre-censorship era, that turned out to be quite predictive. All I'll say, was there was more than just a better contract that attracted Ackland to the Blues. I do however think the Saints hierarchy made an excellent decision to change coach, although perhaps a little late. :)
LOL - are you lost?

We encourage vigorous debate here parrot. I don't mean to speak for the StKildonan or sainter, but I'm sure they wouldn't have a problem with your non "tabloid footy media orthodoxy".

JeffDunne said:
LOL - are you lost?

We encourage vigorous debate here parrot. I don't mean to speak for the StKildonan or sainter, but I'm sure they wouldn't have a problem with your non "tabloid footy media orthodoxy".

I don't know much about Parrot, JD but fair dinkum. The man wants to air his dirty laundry rather than post an actual comment on something so I say let him wander off to Bluer pastures.

parrot said:
But that wasn't the reason he left. Your new coach said as much. He left because he knows the Saints list is getting old, and the best is behind them. By contrast the Blues have assembled a highly talented young group, plus an impressive coaching team, and have a famous success culture i.e 16 flags. Little wonder my most HUN readers thought the Blues would be the next Vic team to win the flag. Obviously Cain shares that opinion. :)

You are kidding yourself, thats why Carlton are in the predicament they are in. The 80s are long gone. Who are the young talented group? Marc Murphy? If they were any good, they would not have copped several 100 point hidings this year, one of which was by St Kilda. The only oldies at the Saints are Harvey and Thommo, where as Carlton have Kouta. The rest are a disgrace who would mostly struggle to get a game at any other club, other than Brisbane. And really, what do you expect Ackland to say after just signing with them? ''The blues are stuffed and thats why I have gone there because I will get a game every week and earn over my market value''?

bob down said:
Luenberger,Thorpe or J Reiwoldt will replace him at St Kilda.

First of all, you didn't spell one player's name correctly. Second, we are desperate for midfielders and will, without a doubt take a midfielder with pick 9. Leuenberger and Thorp will be gone anyway.

bob down said:
...The only oldies at the Saints are Harvey and Thommo, ...

Keep going. You kinda conveniently missed 5 or so other "oldies". The window of opportunity may have snapped shut. Not sure if recruiting a 28 year old ruckman, plagued with chronic knee and soft tissue injuries, is the answer. :)

bob down said:
You are kidding yourself, thats why Carlton are in the predicament they are in. The 80s are long gone. Who are the young talented group? Marc Murphy? If they were any good, they would not have copped several 100 point hidings this year, one of which was by St Kilda. The only oldies at the Saints are Harvey and Thommo, where as Carlton have Kouta. The rest are a disgrace who would mostly struggle to get a game at any other club, other than Brisbane. And really, what do you expect Ackland to say after just signing with them? ''The blues are stuffed and thats why I have gone there because I will get a game every week and earn over my market value''?

One of the many things I love about Carlton in the 00s is that we have reversed the recruiting trend: the good players come our way, the crap ones go theirs. I can only hope that Ackland's performances at Carlton give me as much joy as Craig Devonport's did.

mad-saint-guy said:
First of all, you didn't spell one player's name correctly. Second, we are desperate for midfielders and will, without a doubt take a midfielder with pick 9. Leuenberger and Thorp will be gone anyway.

Gee, is not spelling a name correctly a criminal offence? And why are we desperate for midfielders? Also, what crystal ball are you using, JB would love access if you know the order of the draft before it actually happens. You take the next best available player in the draft. Never go for what your need is, otherwise you end up with duds like Roughhead and Luke Molan.

bob down said:
Carlton did not cop several 100 point hidings this year.We actually did not lose by 100 points,not once this year. Cheers

never rated the guy, never looked like he had what it takes to be a great footballer. after he shanked a shot from 20m out straight in front after the siren to win the game against norwood at adelaide oval on a friday night i pretty much gave up on him.

pafc4life said:
never rated the guy, never looked like he had what it takes to be a great footballer. after he shanked a shot from 20m out straight in front after the siren to win the game against norwood at adelaide oval on a friday night i pretty much gave up on him.
I gather you're not a fan of Motlop? :D

Can somebody please clarify how much we paid for Gardiner? If we got him very cheap, akin to just above a rookie wage or a player outside the top 22, then it is a great pickup which has not affected our list depth in any negative way. If he is being paid a large sum of money, then serious debate can be had about his credentials.

To end the whinging on this post here is the view of decent Stkilda supporters.

So Carlton supporters STOP asking us what we think of him.

NUTSHELL

1 - Yes Ackland was in our plans. Kossie and Gardiner have had injury problems and it would be foolish going into a season without Ackland who in his own right was never going to be a superstar but held his own in there.

2 - Rix and Blake are duds. End of story. Rix is 25/26 and is never going to set the world on fire. Blakes talent speaks for himself.

3 - Although in our plans, he would have only been a filler. There is no more potential left in Acklands carrer. Thats it. He was only going to be as good as he was over the last two years. His heart is pint sized and his centre ruckwork is woeful. I dont give a **** how many kicks a ruckman gets around the ground. As long as his tap work is supurb> (although it is an added bonus)

4 - Therefore we dont give a **** if he is gone. His not in our best side....yet he is was pretty good as a third backup.

5 - Ans most importantly ---- Get stuffed you Carlton supporters! (my apologies stkildonan but you and i know it must be done) You rabble dont approach us during trade week and snatch him for nothing.....all in the while of proclaiming loyalty and pulling the emotional heart strings during the Thornton debacle.

And They wonder why people dont give a **** how bad they are. Ringing up radio stations with an opening line of "long suffering carlton supporter". Get off yourselves and wake up to reality.

Your cheating and shifty stigma will NEVER diminish. So enjoy another spoon ride in 2007.

Cheers,

SpInNeR said:
To end the whinging on this post here is the view of decent Stkilda supporters.

So Carlton supporters STOP asking us what we think of him.

NUTSHELL

1 - Yes Ackland was in our plans. Kossie and Gardiner have had injury problems and it would be foolish going into a season without Ackland who in his own right was never going to be a superstar but held his own in there.

2 - Rix and Blake are duds. End of story. Rix is 25/26 and is never going to set the world on fire. Blakes talent speaks for himself.

3 - Although in our plans, he would have only been a filler. There is no more potential left in Acklands carrer. Thats it. He was only going to be as good as he was over the last two years. His heart is pint sized and his centre ruckwork is woeful. I dont give a **** how many kicks a ruckman gets around the ground. As long as his tap work is supurb> (although it is an added bonus)

4 - Therefore we dont give a **** if he is gone. His not in our best side....yet he is was pretty good as a third backup.

5 - Ans most importantly ---- Get stuffed you Carlton supporters! (my apologies stkildonan but you and i know it must be done) You rabble dont approach us during trade week and snatch him for nothing.....all in the while of proclaiming loyalty and pulling the emotional heart strings during the Thornton debacle.

And They wonder why people dont give a **** how bad they are. Ringing up radio stations with an opening line of "long suffering carlton supporter". Get off yourselves and wake up to reality.

Your cheating and shifty stigma will NEVER diminish. So enjoy another spoon ride in 2007.

Cheers,

What about Brooks!!!

sainter said:
The above comments are the views of SpInNeR and not necessarily those of the rest of the St Kilda bigfooty community.

Indeed. Spinner is mad. But we do love dudding Carlton on a deal. And in this case, although we got nothing, it cost Carlton 250k a year apparently. Yee gods. We win.

Cain wins.
We lose a bit of ruck depth and free up space for another recruit or player to be retained (there was some talk of Matty Ferguson being delisted).

StKildonan said:
Cain wins.
We lose a bit of ruck depth and free up space for another recruit or player to be retained (there was some talk of Matty Ferguson being delisted).

I think everybody wins. Carlton get someone to stand in the middle and jump way too early (you've all seen it!) and St Kilda gets rid of one **** ruckman.

thecarpetsnake said:
I think everybody wins. Carlton get someone to stand in the middle and jump way too early (you've all seen it!) and St Kilda gets rid of one **** ruckman.

The few times that I have seen Ackland play, he's looked ok to me. I think he'll be a good acquisition for the Carlton Footy Club.