Universal Love Keith Thomas

We have got a lot right in KT's reign, but core business (football) is deplorable.

If someone said you could bring together as much as talent as we have on our list under a world renowned fitness coach and be as be as bad as we are, no one would believe it possible. A feat beyond the capacity of any club.

Time for KT to fix it.

We have got a lot right in KT's reign, but core business (football) is deplorable.

If someone said you could bring together as much as talent as we have on our list under a world renowned fitness coach and be as be as bad as we are, no one would believe it possible. A feat beyond the capacity of any club.

Time for KT to fix it.

FFS!!! How much more can we expect KT to do? This bloke has gone far beyond any members expectations. He must be allowed to have a life!!!!!

There is absolutely nobody who should be expected to do more for this Club. Do 'we' really want to burn out the person who pulled the PAFC out of deep 'mire'.

The PAFC has a 35 person Football Department - kick a****s there.

FFS!!! How much more can we expect KT to do? This bloke has gone far beyond any members expectations. He must be allowed to have a life!!!!!

There is absolutely nobody who should be expected to do more for this Club. Do 'we' really want to burn out the person who pulled the PAFC out of deep 'mire'.

:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

The one who has been let down most of all is KT. It's time someone else stepped up and did their job half as well, just as quietly.

There have been some comparisons of KT to Big Bob, now Big Bob told Fos in similar words, "You look after the on field problems and I'll look after the off field problems". In this era, KT pretty well has been looking after the off field problems, but has been let down by whoever is responsible for the on field problems...he has more reasons than most to be feeling a little sick

I had a brief chat to KT at the post game function. I congratulated him on the China stuff and talked about that for no more than 2 minutes. I didn't talk footy because I could see he was upset. He wasn't his normal chirpy self. He only raised a half smile when I said g'day, usually its a big welcoming grin. Apart from the time when we lost J-Mac, its the the most non-KT, I have personally seen him in the flesh. Even when he hosted the members info night after Primus and Duncanson were gone, he was the usual KT. Obviously not so on TV at the presser after the sacking, but that wasnt live in the flesh for me.

He's done all this hard work to set the club up for the long term future and selfish, self centred players are pissing it down the drain because they can't work together and sacrifice their own individual stats for the benefit of the team. All they see is their next contract figure and how if they don't get X amount of marks or Y amount of possessions they won't be offered anywhere near what they believe they should be worth. All I hear from campaigners on this board is how they don't like the gameplan - well, it's not their job to like it, it's their job to follow it to the best of their ability. Sometimes there are things I'm asked to do in my job that I don't like doing, but I do them because guess what? That's what I'm ****ing PAID to do!

Bruce Djite from Adelaide United went 23 games without finding the back of the net — 11 months and 1483 minutes, to be precise. For a guy that is paid to score goals, that's horrendous. But he didn't let his personal glory get in the way of team success, because he knew that if he keep adhering to what his coach wanted and what the team needed, things would turn. Now where is he? 90 minutes away from lifting a second trophy in a month.

Don't sit there and keep backing these players in Ken - if they don't want to do what is required, keep dropping them until they learn that they won't be getting a game until they do. This 'softly softly' approach to team selection is going to destroy team harmony based on a couple of players (and it's only a few) that think they know better and don't want to put themselves out for the greater good. It happened when we got Ryder, and it's happening again now we have Dixon - this idea that some players have that just because these guys are getting paid more that suddenly it should be the problem of the prized recruit instead of their own. "Waaaah! Why should I run hard! Dixon is getting paid 600k just to stand around and kick goals in the forward line!! Waaaah!"

KT has turned this club around and given these selfish players everything they need to win a premiership, and they are collectively spitting back in his face because of petulance. And that's ALL it ****ing is. We know they can play much better than they are - Boak and Wines turned the corner against Geelong with better performances, but now it's Gray who is having a sook because he's not getting the ball as much anymore. Don't whinge, Robbie - just go and get the job done. Personal glory will be there for you when we start winning some ****ing games, FFS.

As for Ken - your loyalty to shittruck players like Lobbe in the off-season is going to cost you your job and this club a shot at a premiership unless you get off your ass and take the reigns at training once more. I don't give a **** if you step on the toes of Voss, Nicks, Greaves or Bassett. If Burgess has something to say, tell him to **** off, because we're at last resort stage right now. We keep getting flogged, and it doesn't matter how much faith you have in your gameplan, it will be DOA because these floggish players will have successfully ruined another coaching career. They need to ****ing FEAR you, Ken. You're not their friend. You're their ****ing COACH, so ACT like one, because you are being white-anted by certain players who refuse to do their roles.

Oh, and **** Voss off - that campaigner never got over 2004. It's blatantly obvious he is doing what he can to sabotage the club.

That's a ridiculous statement.

No more ridiculous than any of the statements I've seen about Hinkley and how he suddenly can't coach.

He's done all this hard work to set the club up for the long term future and selfish, self centred players are pissing it down the drain because they can't work together and sacrifice their own individual stats for the benefit of the team. All they see is their next contract figure and how if they don't get X amount of marks or Y amount of possessions they won't be offered anywhere near what they believe they should be worth. All I hear from campaigners on this board is how they don't like the gameplan - well, it's not their job to like it, it's their job to follow it to the best of their ability. Sometimes there are things I'm asked to do in my job that I don't like doing, but I do them because guess what? That's what I'm ******* PAID to do!

Bruce Djite from Adelaide United went 23 games without finding the back of the net — 11 months and 1483 minutes, to be precise. For a guy that is paid to score goals, that's horrendous. But he didn't let his personal glory get in the way of team success, because he knew that if he keep adhering to what his coach wanted and what the team needed, things would turn. Now where is he? 90 minutes away from lifting a second trophy in a month.

Don't sit there and keep backing these players in Ken - if they don't want to do what is required, keep dropping them until they learn that they won't be getting a game until they do. This 'softly softly' approach to team selection is going to destroy team harmony based on a couple of players (and it's only a few) that think they know better and don't want to put themselves out for the greater good. It happened when we got Ryder, and it's happening again now we have Dixon - this idea that some players have that just because these guys are getting paid more that suddenly it should be the problem of the prized recruit instead of their own. "Waaaah! Why should I run hard! Dixon is getting paid 600k just to stand around and kick goals in the forward line!! Waaaah!"

KT has turned this club around and given these selfish players everything they need to win a premiership, and they are collectively spitting back in his face because of petulance. And that's ALL it ******* is. We know they can play much better than they are - Boak and Wines turned the corner against Geelong with better performances, but now it's Gray who is having a sook because he's not getting the ball as much anymore. Don't whinge, Robbie - just go and get the job done. Personal glory will be there for you when we start winning some ******* games, FFS.

As for Ken - your loyalty to shittruck players like Lobbe in the off-season is going to cost you your job and this club a shot at a premiership unless you get off your ass and take the reigns at training once more. I don't give a **** if you step on the toes of Voss, Nicks, Greaves or Bassett. If Burgess has something to say, tell him to **** off, because we're at last resort stage right now. We keep getting flogged, and it doesn't matter how much faith you have in your gameplan, it will be DOA because these floggish players will have successfully ruined another coaching career. They need to ******* FEAR you, Ken. You're not their friend. You're their ******* COACH, so ACT like one, because you are being white-anted by certain players who refuse to do their roles.

Oh, and **** Voss off - that campaigner never got over 2004. It's blatantly obvious he is doing what he can to sabotage the club.
This turned me on. Seriously. I haven't been turned on in ages. Do that to me, you can do it to those guys who pull on footy boots for our Club.

He's done all this hard work to set the club up for the long term future and selfish, self centred players are pissing it down the drain because they can't work together and sacrifice their own individual stats for the benefit of the team. All they see is their next contract figure and how if they don't get X amount of marks or Y amount of possessions they won't be offered anywhere near what they believe they should be worth. All I hear from campaigners on this board is how they don't like the gameplan - well, it's not their job to like it, it's their job to follow it to the best of their ability. Sometimes there are things I'm asked to do in my job that I don't like doing, but I do them because guess what? That's what I'm ******* PAID to do!

KT has turned this club around and given these selfish players everything they need to win a premiership, and they are collectively spitting back in his face because of petulance. And that's ALL it ******* is. We know they can play much better than they are - Boak and Wines turned the corner against Geelong with better performances, but now it's Gray who is having a sook because he's not getting the ball as much anymore. Don't whinge, Robbie - just go and get the job done. Personal glory will be there for you when we start winning some ******* games, FFS.

As for Ken - your loyalty to shittruck players like Lobbe in the off-season is going to cost you your job and this club a shot at a premiership unless you get off your ass and take the reigns at training once more. I don't give a **** if you step on the toes of Voss, Nicks, Greaves or Bassett. If Burgess has something to say, tell him to **** off, because we're at last resort stage right now. We keep getting flogged, and it doesn't matter how much faith you have in your gameplan, it will be DOA because these floggish players will have successfully ruined another coaching career. They need to ******* FEAR you, Ken. You're not their friend. You're their ******* COACH, so ACT like one, because you are being white-anted by certain players who refuse to do their roles.

poetry

No more ridiculous than any of the statements I've seen about Hinkley and how he suddenly can't coach.
So you believe that Voss is sacrificing his career and livelihood to get revenge for a football game that happened almost 12 years ago? Nothing Voss implements would happen without Ken's approval.

That's a ridiculous statement.

Agree with the sentiment of the majority of the post - the coach is there to be the boss, he's the one to be held accountable so if things aren't going the way he wants then he needs to be moving heaven and earth to get the message across. From the outside it doesn't really appear that this is occurring.

Cringed at the last usual populist insular bullshit about Voss though - could have easily been left out.

More on the topic at hand, am more than happy with the performance of our off field figureheads in Keith and Koch. Our on field troubles do not stem from their endeavours. This is a football mess. Whilst they will ultimately be held accountable by the board and the members of the club, for now this is for the football department to fix.

From everything I have seen and heard of Ken Hinkley, I still have the confidence that he is the sort of character who can turn this around but things are looking as though they are slipping out of control. He would not have faced as big a professional challenge as to what he is responsible for fixing now - the question he now needs to not only answer, but convince the playing group of is what is wrong and what is going to be done about it. We won't move forward until we have that answer.

So you believe that Voss is sacrificing his career and livelihood to get revenge for a football game that happened almost 12 years ago? Nothing Voss implements would happen without Ken's approval.

Shaun Hart is the director of coaching, I wonder if has final veto?

Unsure how the dynamics work.

Shaun Hart is the director of coaching, I wonder if has final veto?

Unsure how the dynamics work.

From the power web site, Shaun Hart bio...

Hinkley lured Hart down to Alberton for the 2014 as a replacement for Alan Richardson, where Hart has since worked as a strong influence on the Power's coaching group as director of coaching.

Hart seems the most confused mysterious role to the plebs like me in the dark

I'd have Ken & Bass front n' square with the umpteen others in the rear till we negotiate through this rough patch.

Make no mistake that Ken is the boss. The buck stops with him. Hart's job is to make sure that Ken has the right support around him.

Do not doubt Ken is in charge, it would just be interesting to see how it works..in relation the coaching panel. That would be good for Power TV>

I'm not sure that Ken should be able to 'lure' who is effectively his boss into a position. Cushy much? I don't understand why we have Hart in the role he is in. You normally appoint particularly shrewd operators into those roles.

Realistically we are not going to see unprecedented changes to the coaching group. It's more likely to be two to three changes. At the top of that list should be Hart, Voss and Hocking.

Others to consider are: Aaron Greaves (Development Manager), Stuart Cochrane (Development).

And for ****s sake, appoint a skills consultant and a ruck consultant/coach.

Perhaps I should clarify my statement.

Do you know where the word sabotage comes from? It's derived from the French sabot, which were wooden shoes. Back in the 19th century, around the time of the industrial revolution, the practice was that workers would work slowly and clumsily so as to reduce production of the new machinery because they didn't want the machines to replace them, as if the workers were wearing clumsy, hard to walk in wooden shoes. Sort of like an at-work strike. Which is pretty much what Voss is doing.

I don't think Voss is sacrificing his career. Nor do I think he's seeking revenge. I don't doubt his veracity or his professionalism. But there's a huge difference between not sacrificing your career and sacrificing yourself so the team achieves greatness, and it would stick in his craw that Port Adelaide is achieving any success while his own club Brisbane is struggling. He is in charge of the one area that we consistently suck at, with setups that are completely and utterly wrong. Not just one game, but since he's been in charge of the midfield. Last year I thought it was Carr that was ****ing up, but it's clear that Voss was the problem.

I don't think he's a career coach like Bassett is and is able to distance himself away from certain things - he's the type that requires passion for what he is doing, and I just don't see it with him. Why is it that as soon as we go into quarter time and he gets his hands on the midfield by himself, things start turning to shit? If it happens once, fine. Twice, ok. But it's happened three times now. Three times where we haven't been able to correct what is going wrong. Bassett himself said - and this was pointed for him - that the problem is the midfield and clearances, and that everyone was working hard to fix it. My question is simply - how hard is Voss really working in that situation?

We want the players to move forward united, but how can they when it's clear that the coaching staff is fractured? Voss is setting up midfields to win taps that aren't going to happen in a month of Sundays - something EVERYONE CAN SEE - which catches everyone out of position and makes Bassett's job harder. Meanwhile poor Nicks is trying to educate his forwards on how to be more defensive but the ball isn't getting far enough down the ground to even warrant a defensive coach being in charge of our forward structure. Is Voss doing that to give Lobbe confidence? Respectfully, I couldn't give two shits if the coaches told the midfield that Lobbe is never going to win a tap and that ginger **** heard it. It galls me that we are carrying a ruck that can't even mark a ****ing uncontested ball, let alone a contested one. And that we gave him five years.

So in answer to your question, I will respond with another question: Why do you think we are setting up so poorly at stoppages? Because if it's not sabotage, Voss really does have no idea and needs to **** off regardless. QED.

Perhaps I should clarify my statement.

Do you know where the word sabotage comes from? It's derived from the French sabot, which were wooden shoes. Back in the 19th century, around the time of the industrial revolution, the practice was that workers would work slowly and clumsily so as to reduce production of the new machinery because they didn't want the machines to replace them, as if the workers were wearing clumsy, hard to walk in wooden shoes. Sort of like an at-work strike. Which is pretty much what Voss is doing.
Yeah I've seen Star Trek VI too.

I don't think Voss is sacrificing his career. Nor do I think he's seeking revenge. I don't doubt his veracity or his professionalism.
That doesn't really mesh with this statement.

So in answer to your question, I will respond with another question: Why do you think we are setting up so poorly at stoppages? Because if it's not sabotage, Voss really does have no idea and needs to **** off regardless. QED.

Firstly, Voss isn't out there on the field directing the midfield players where to set up. That's really up to the leaders out there on the field like Boak and Lobbe. I'm positive Voss would have shown them how to set up defensively and even if he didn't they have years of experience to draw from. Secondly, like I said before, if what your saying is true then Hinkley is overseeing all this mess and giving it the ok.

I'm not opposed to the idea of ditching Voss just the idea that he is failing intentionally.

Yeah I've seen Star Trek VI too.

Actually, Star Trek VI has the misinformation that sabotage came from workers throwing their wooden shoes into the machinery. That happened 13 years later :p

That doesn't really mesh with this statement.

Sure it does. If you're not giving everything, if you're 'working slow', you can still be considered professional and honest to everyone else. People do it every day when they take an extra thirty minutes for their lunch break, make personal calls during work time etc etc. Or, say, not giving clear instructions to the players under his charge on how he wants his structures setup.

Firstly, Voss isn't out there on the field directing the midfield players where to set up. That's really up to the leaders out there on the field like Boak and Lobbe. I'm positive Voss would have shown them how to set up defensively and even if he didn't they have years of experience to draw from. Secondly, like I said before, if what your saying is true then Hinkley is overseeing all this mess and giving it the ok.

I'm not opposed to the idea of ditching Voss just the idea that he is failing intentionally.

Ok, forget Voss. Someone needs to sit down with Lobbe and tell him that he's a shit ruck and to stop trying to set up as if he's going to win the tap, if that's the case. Hinkley won't do it, so Boak and Hartlett are going to have to.

Universal Love Keith Thomas