Kids Showing a Bit

I would of given alot to get o'meara.

I've already pencilled in a brownlow for him. GC got him for a steal.

I havnt given up yet though... GC/GWS will lose many young stars for "homesickness" and salary cap constraints.

Fairly soon O'Meara swallow prestia day matera smith bennell caddy (ect ect) will all be asking for top dollar to stay at the club... throw in huge contracts like ablett bock rischetelli brennan and its way over.

I was eager to give Macaffer Toovey and Wellingham (plus a draft pick) for O'meara. Wellingham replaced by more midfield time to kraks/sidey/beams/blair, toovey replaced with brown/goldsack/young. I would still do that deal tommorow if GC agreed. I've looked at him quiet a bit, and there is a very good chance he could be one of the greats. As this is a ridiculously early call, its just a high chance, nothing is certain.

I think collingwood has anticipated what many are calling "the great southern raid" and will get young stars through poaching gws/gc instead of using our 1st rounders in the past few years, could end up being a stroke of genius if we get somone like caddy for cheap (due to homesickness) and didnt have to use a top 10 pick.

Quicky - i think the point you make at the end there is really interesting.

Around trade week there was lots of talk (maybe just that) of Collingwood trying to package a deal for Jager O'Meara - i was really disappointed when this didn't eventuate as there are certain players that will take (keep) your team to the next level and I think there is a strong possibility he could have given us one of the best midfields in the comp - a player like Pendles...almost like a succession plan.
Trouble is, you have to give to get - what could we have given...?
...and having seen O'Meara since, whatever we could have given seems justifiable.

So rather than focus on what we can't change, what could we give to get one of the GWS "auction" kids this year? (yet this seems a bit sick to be planning on trading our players before the season starts.)

I feel we need another super classy young mid around Pendles size - This is prob where that generational gap will occur, with mids, not talls, esp with all the father/sons and perhaps Paine coming through. - Stringer...will he get back to his best? (- that photo of the bone sticking out was disturbing) or a super built tough inside mid to help out Ball - which is why i wouldn't trade someone like Beams.

Or further to this, would it be preferable to trade for someone like Stevenson from WCE if he could be persuaded?

We probably would have had to trade pendles to get Jäger mate.

Also, I don't know if the gap is going to be that bad.

Sidebottom
Wellingham
Beams
Fasolo
Dawes
Brown
REID
Ugle
Williams
Hartley
Elliot
Paine
Yagmoor
Ceglar
Witts
Mooney
Blair
Etc, etc, etc,

All these players have the potential to play 10 or more years for the club. I am also pressuming that their best is yet to come, as most are under 23. I believe peak performance for midfielders is between 23-28, key forwards and AA ruck man sometimes don't peak until 26, etc.

We probably would have had to trade pendles to get Jäger mate.

Also, I don't know if the gap is going to be that bad.

I was about to say that or Even someone like Daisy or Reid

Yep.

And someone mentioned trading Toovey, Wellingham and a draft pick for him?
Although that is probably a good deal, I still don't think they would have accepted that offer. It also would have destroyed our depth.
GWS would have required one of the following + maybe even a draft pick from us:
Pendles
Dale
Swan + draft pick (or 2) - considering his age.
Reid
Beams + 2 draft picks
Cloke
Sidebottom, Dawes + a pick

That's what I could imagine them wanting anyways. They wouldn't want fringe players or players that we feel are easily replaced. They wanted a player or 2 that we would have to literally sacrifice in faith that this jäger kid was the goods.

I feel we need another super classy young mid around Pendles size - This is prob where that generational gap will occur, with mids, not talls, esp with all the father/sons and perhaps Paine coming through. - Stringer...will he get back to his best? (- that photo of the bone sticking out was disturbing).

Sorry to jump in mid-stream but to whom are you referring with regard to "the bone sticking out" and when was the injury?

Stringer...will he get back to his best? (- that photo of the bone sticking out was disturbing)

Sounds like he'd fit in down at the Saints?:p

Sorry to jump in mid-stream but to whom are you referring with regard to "the bone sticking out" and when was the injury?

It's in reference to Jake Stringer who was rated alongside O'meara at this point in time last year pre injury. However he broke his leg horrifically ala Nathan Brown. He may well turn into this years Tom Swift i.e incredibly talented at U16-17 level but struggled with injuries in U18...

Quicky - i think the point you make at the end there is really interesting.

Around trade week there was lots of talk (maybe just that) of Collingwood trying to package a deal for Jager O'Meara - i was really disappointed when this didn't eventuate as there are certain players that will take (keep) your team to the next level and I think there is a strong possibility he could have given us one of the best midfields in the comp - a player like Pendles...almost like a succession plan.
Trouble is, you have to give to get - what could we have given...?
...and having seen O'Meara since, whatever we could have given seems justifiable.

So rather than focus on what we can't change, what could we give to get one of the GWS "auction" kids this year? (yet this seems a bit sick to be planning on trading our players before the season starts.)

I feel we need another super classy young mid around Pendles size - This is prob where that generational gap will occur, with mids, not talls, esp with all the father/sons and perhaps Paine coming through. - Stringer...will he get back to his best? (- that photo of the bone sticking out was disturbing) or a super built tough inside mid to help out Ball - which is why i wouldn't trade someone like Beams.

Or further to this, would it be preferable to trade for someone like Stevenson from WCE if he could be persuaded?

I'm not really fussed about losing out on Jaeger O'Meara. You lose Pendlebury/Thomas/Cloke/Reid it really takes you down so significantly and that is what it would take to have added him.

With our premiership window open it is not smart trading away key players of this level because it sets you back so far.

With a Jaeger type deal you are getting a guy who you won't even be able to play for another year.

Additionally with Jaeger specifially when he comes into the league he will not contribute immediately in terms of production. He will no doubt show signs early, but he is not a Joel Selwood or Chris Judd level freak and won't help you win now. He has a ceiling as high as any, but he won't give you that immdiate impact and will take time to develop into anything of significance. Had we added Jaeger I wouldn't expect he would have become a regular best 22 player until 2014 - which is useless from a Collingwood perspective because we'll probably have lost Jolly, Tarrant and maybe another 1-2 key players through retirement.

Lewis Stevenson isn't anything special. 22/23 year old fringe guy. Better off drafting new talent.

Jake Stringer is brilliant, really like his game. More of a Brendon Goddard style. Really influences games heavily. Put him anywhere and he will just exert his influence on the game whether through that be through the midfield, up forward or down back.
He's healthy and training strongly now. Looks like he will go top 5 this year but with a strong year can go higher.

Jake Stringer is brilliant, really like his game. More of a Brendon Goddard style. Really influences games heavily. Put him anywhere and he will just exert his influence on the game whether through that be through the midfield, up forward or down back.
He's healthy and training strongly now. Looks like he will go top 5 this year but with a strong year can go higher.

In Other Words we won't get him

Additionally with Jaeger specifially when he comes into the league he will not contribute immediately in terms of production. He will no doubt show signs early, but he is not a Joel Selwood or Chris Judd level freak and won't help you win now. He has a ceiling as high as any, but he won't give you that immdiate impact and will take time to develop into anything of significance.

Jaegar would be playing AFL and having an influence at 17 if he was allowed too, he'll have a big impact at 18

Perhaps, but would he perform better than any player we would have had to trade to get him? It's unlikely he would have for at least a couple of years which is what Knightmare is getting at. It's not about how he'll end up playing, it's the impact he'd make in his first year or two at AFL level in a strong team looking to win a premiership.

Obviouslly he wont be at Pendlebury/thomas levels immediatly.

But after his one year apprenticeship this year, and considering he already built well, i'd say he could outperform blair and perhaps even wellingham by the end of his first season. His also very handy around goals, kicking 4 in his WAFL debut.

Obviouslly the key would be to give away enough to get him, but little enough so our immediate premiership asperations arnt crushed. I do reckon he'll come to victoria/WA soon, be interesting to see what happens. Of course there is a chance he wont turn out to be what his built up as, but i'd be shocked if he doesnt win a brownlow. Its a delicate balance of short term v long term the list managers have to do, but if we do lose pendles/reid/cloke and cant replace them with another ready made star we should throw the compo out for somone like jaegar. I dont think he'll like the small crowds and lack of spotlight, plus GC salary cap will bust soon if there kids have another great season.

Lets not forget the good chance he'll be a once in a generation type player...

Ok choice.

Wouldn't select him inside the top 10 though.

Would be a solid get as an outside mid. Has talent as he showed last year in the u18 champs. Would want him to have an appropriate mentor though if we did take him.

I am not talking Top 10 I was thinking Pick 12-16

Back to the original topic... I like what we've seen of pretty much all the kids, especially Williams, Paine, Mooney, and Sinclair.

I'm still not sure why we're persisting with Simon Buckley though... he seems to be so slow when he gets the balls, and I'm sure he has more clangers than disposals to his actual team mates. He's had a few games at senior level, but he doesn't seem to be showing any improvement.

Keefe also looks like he has all the attributes to be a good KPP, but I don't think he's got a good footy brain.

I think they young kids will all look much better though in a team with more senior players around them who know the structures better. We've been playing with such an inexperienced squad that our game plan and structures haven't been there to let them just slot into their positions and do their bit. That's why Blair and Fasolo have been able to come in and play their roles so well in previous years.

I say Paine and Yagmoor are the Most Likely Kids to play RD 1
Paine I think must be a big chance to play rd1,with Clarke picking his form up Yagmoor less chance now but when he does get it he will take it I think he will get a chance before seasons end and I think he will prove a big success for many seasons,I have loved his attitude from day 1 and he will prove a steal from where we got him in the draft as will Paine.

I think Williams will also make it as a player,when you consider the numbers at which we draft these players we are very successful,all the young players we have brought in will be far better playing in teams of seasoned players.:)

With what we've seen from Yagmoor so far (barring injury) he looks like ripper value for the 2013 rising star. IMO he'll get a taste this year with around 6-8 games but along the same lines of Steele, Fasolo, Blair and Pendles will become a best 22 player the year following.

He'll play a similar role to what Heppell did last year and if he can average 15-18 possessions as well as being a permanent fixture in a top team he'll be there or there abouts.

It's funny but if Blairy had played something like 3 less games in 2010 he'd have finished around the top 3 in the rising star last year. Yet he still copped a lot of flak for his sub par GF....

With what we've seen from Yagmoor so far (barring injury) he looks like ripper value for the 2013 rising star. IMO he'll get a taste this year with around 6-8 games but along the same lines of Steele, Fasolo, Blair and Pendles will become a best 22 player the year following.

He'll play a similar role to what Heppell did last year and if he can average 15-18 possessions as well as being a permanent fixture in a top team he'll be there or there abouts.

It's funny but if Blairy had played something like 3 less games in 2010 he'd have finished around the top 3 in the rising star last year. Yet he still copped a lot of flak for his sub par GF....
Some pies supporters expect WAY too much at times.

Just to clarify are you referring to my comments re Yagmoor or Blair? Because in a thread designed to talk up what the kids are doing IMO saying a guy looks like good value for a rising rising star that wont be decided for another 18 months is polls apart from OTT expectations. But you are of course welcome to think differently :thumbsu:

If your referring to Blair then carry on lol.

Just to clarify are you referring to my comments re Yagmoor or Blair? Because in a thread designed to talk up what the kids are doing IMO saying a guy looks like good value for a rising rising star that wont be decided for another 18 months is polls apart from OTT expectations. But you are of course welcome to think differently :thumbsu:

If your referring to Blair then carry on lol.
Well to clarify then. I'm not talking about players being talked up, I'm talking about players being reamed because they don't measure up in their first year or even their second.

With Clarke and Goldsack looming large as best 22 members for round 1, Yagmoor will be up against it. He will feature during the season but highly unlikely early on.

Paine is almost a certainty to play in round 1 though.

Kids Showing a Bit