Kyle Cheney the Quiet Achiever

• Thread starter Thread starter 1970crow

Full credit to Kelly, he made the most of his opportunity when Cheney went down last year. Kelly’s a clever player in that he understands his strengths and weaknesses and generally plays to them. He’s hard, tough, decent size and super fit, he plays safe with his disposal because it’s not a strong point. Trouble he has is Cheney matches most of his strengths, but is a good kick of the footy and is more settled and safe under pressure. Both also play a position where there’s max 1 or 2 spots in the side and I think our game plan requires more good users of the footy in defence than we’ve been playing with.

Cheney offers a defensive player, with intercept skills, who can still effectively move the ball offensively by foot, setting up that vital counterpunch/rebound.

100% agree. Kelly isn't a bad player, he's just average. Cheney is that little bit better and now he isn't struggling with injury he can show us once again what he's got

So what does our backline look like when Smithers is back? Surely we can't drop Milera.

You wouldnt have thought so, Milera is at the point where we need to pump as many games into him as possible across half back. This is clearly his niche and has obvious talent, the more he plays, the more settled he becomes,the less errors he makes under pressure and the more we see his underlying talent.

It’s either Kelly or Cheney, assuming a fit Doedee who make way and personally I’d rather it be Kelly make way on present form.

Given Milera is there, it may mean that Smith, Laird and Milera need to also partake in midfield/wing rotations a little bit more, which isn’t necessarily a bad thing.

Has done well since he took that hanger in the last quarter of the West Coast game. Has better confidence than Kelly at the moment so takes his spot. Also a handy player to match up on the likes of Dangerfield and Martin when they play forward. Plays taller than he looks - the opposite to Hartigan who plays smaller than he looks.

So what does our backline look like when Smithers is back? Surely we can't drop Milera.
No, Milera remains

My favoured back 7 is:
B: Brown, Talia, Doedee
HB: Smith, Keath/Hartigan, Laird
I: Milera

Cheney would be my next in... but also depending on other player ability, we may be better off playing Milera/Smith also off a wing, allowing Cheney to play.

I remember being disappointed when Cheney was injured, allowing Kelly to take his spot. Then I forgot how decent Cheney was and got used to Kelly's averageness.

Now I'm being reminded
This is valid. Most liked Cheneys calmness a couple of years ago and were happy to have him in the side. He got injured and Kelly had a career year last year and Cheney starts getting the trade/delist call.

Now thats on most of us and its good to see him playing the same solid dependable football

Well, it's gonna be hard to fit Smith and Mackay in the team.

I reckon we should totally dump Milera who is in awesome form, will play for 10+ more years for us and is a confidence player. This is the AFC!

Have always thought Cheney is in our best 22, wrapped he’s over his injuries and back in our defence.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

What about choosing for a place in the team?
Cheney's form as a defender is better right now but they seem to be in the middle of an experiment playing Kelly further up the ground. Are these guys actually competing for a spot right now? My gut feeling has Smith coming in for Cheney and Kelly remaining in the side.

True. Cheney is playing Kelly's usual position at the moment and is doing it better. Can't see how Kelly remains in his new role long term.

The only problem with Cheney is age, and that he'll be keeping Keely out of the team.

Has Kelly got any trade value? Probably...

Kelly would have a little, he has two major issues though. Mid sized defenders aren't exactly an in demand position and last year is starting to look like a fluke.

Might be able to jag a late 2nd, or 3rd for him though.

I feel comfortable with Cheney in the back line. He is a reliable competitor and is not prone to turning the ball over. Doesn’t have the mobility of Kelly, but offers a steady head down back.

Cheney is best 22 all day every day and way in front of Kelly.

Cheney is far more composed in congestion than Kelly.....Kelly is a panic merchant.
Cheney also reads the play and gets himself into a better position than Kelly does.

Its no coincidence that Cheney is preferred to Kelly and that Kelly has been moved out at times. Its also no coincidence that our defense has looked far more composed when Cheney is playing and he almost plays that loose man type sweeper role to great effect.

Cheney is far more accomplished as a defender than Kelly is.

I thought he was done. He'd been injured for quite some time and we were moving forward. But, he's returned to exactly the type of form that had some rating him. He has a weird knack for:

1. Getting himself into a position to provide a spoil out of nowhere despite his lack of height and/or body weight
2. Some kind of innate ability to consistently find a target by foot who is an advantageous position despite being under pressure
3. Playing 4 quarters and not actually making a mistake

In short, we seem to be a better team with Cheney in the 22, I hope that we persist.

But, David Mackay does loom heavy on the horizon. Please Campo, piss off and let Cheney play ahead of your little mate.
And he’s a bloody terrier. Refuses to give up if the ball is remotely in his area, just fights and fights for it, or pushes to the contest to help out.

Cheney is best 22 all day every day and way in front of Kelly.

Cheney is far more composed in congestion than Kelly.....Kelly is a panic merchant.
Cheney also reads the play and gets himself into a better position than Kelly does.

Its no coincidence that Cheney is preferred to Kelly and that Kelly has been moved out at times. Its also no coincidence that our defense has looked far more composed when Cheney is playing and he almost plays that loose man type sweeper role to great effect.

Cheney is far more accomplished as a defender than Kelly is.
So true- If there is one thing which is chalk and cheese between Cheney and Kelly, it’s speed of ball movement. Cheney seems to just want to move it on, and generally makes good decisions

I've always been a fan of him. His very early inconsistent form was probably due to Crows having to play him on far taller opponents; he just doesn't have the height for that. A rotating back 6-8 of Talia, Brown, Laird, Smith, Milera, Keith, and Cheney is a good combination imo.
(Hartigan for depth).

Cheney is a plodder. If he is in your best 22, you arent a good side. Last night shows how badly he plays under pressure.

Cheney is a good honest average footballer. Has got the most out of himself so a credit to him. Time to start developing players. Thanks for your services Kyle.