Lachlan Henderson - his career

• Thread starter Thread starter njac3

What will Carlton make of Lachy Henderson career?

• Less than 50 games then delisted

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Less than 100 games then delisted

• An average Brad miller sort, hang around the list

• Above average Jarryd Roughhead 200 game player

• Superstar in the making - Nick Rewolt status

njac3

Interested to see what the football public think of this bloke and what he will make of his career. Will he emerge as a strong lead up centre half, or will he be another Luke Livingston?
Please vote if you are not a Carlton supporter:thumbsu:

Brad Miller is below average and Jarryd Roughhead is much much better than above average.

None of those options fit what i expect Henderson to be which is an extremely effective swingman in the mould of Adam Hunter.

Oh i guess its gospel then. He is an Adam Hunter sort. I personally think he doesnt have what it takes to make 100 games. Brad miller is average yes, and Roughhead is above average not a superstar. Pretty much what the poll says

Less than 100 games, and will get delisted

You know Josh Kennedy, the guy in your sig? He struggled for the 2 years he was at Carlton often dropping marks and poor kicking. We questioned whether he would make it but really it was quite silly because he was only 20.

Then he was traded to you guys and you thought he was a dud, look at him now.

Lachie is 20 years old in his 3rd season and has only played a handful of games. The first 15 he played at Brisbane where he stood in defence. He has had to adapt to a new position, gameplan, lifestyle and a new club. I think we should cut him a bit of slack and not right off the kid so early in his career. If you do, you're actually a quite ignorant.

Not quite sure why people are writing Henderson off after 20 odd games. He's still very young and whilst he hasn't shown an enormous amount as of yet, to call him a Brad Miller type is a disgustingly early call! Give him at least to the 5 year mark of his career (for KPFs this is the minimum) before writing him off.

Interested to see what the football public think...

I think you're just bitter and have a nasty case of talent envy. Hendo is an outstanding young KPF talent, just starting out on his career. Has played only 6 games as a KP forward in a new team - not really expecting him to dominate AFL games at this stage. lol. He has star potential. We know it, and that's all that really matters. Delighted we got him. He compliments our high talent young list perfectly. The Blues are quietly building an awesome list.

:)

I think you're just bitter and have a nasty case of talent envy. Hendo is an outstanding young KPF talent, just starting out on his career. Has played only 6 games as a KP forward in a new team - not really expecting him to dominate AFL games at this stage. lol. He has star potential. We know it, and that's all that really matters. Delighted we got him. He compliments our high talent young list perfectly. The Blues are quietly building an awesome list.

Not sure it will be quite with you pumping our list up at every opportunity :p

I think you're just bitter and have a nasty case of talent envy.

LOLWAT!?

The top team [for now] that has a 22 year old full-forward, a 23 year old CHF, a 22 year old third-tall forward, a 21 year old full-back, a 21 year old CHB, and a 23 year old third-tall defender.......... envious of a talentless spud that got dropped from the team we just smashed a few weeks ago?

LOLWAT!?

The top team [for now] that has a 22 year old full-forward, a 23 year old CHF, a 22 year old third-tall forward, a 21 year old full-back, a 21 year old CHB, and a 23 year old third-tall defender.......... envious of a talentless spud that got dropped from the team we just smashed a few weeks ago?

How good was your 22 yr old forward when he was 20? I didn't think you were that ignorant but when you call a 20 yr old KPP a spud...well I think that speaks for itself.

LOLWAT!?

Carlton has a 24 year old full back, a 21 year old CHB, a 22 year old CHB, a 21 year old third tall, a 24 year old third tall and a 20 year old CHF.

Plus a 27 year old FF and a 27 year old swingman.

I guess we should be upset that they're not as young as Collingwood's players. :rolleyes:

Or as good as playing off an opponent like Maxwell so he doesn't get exposed in a one on one like Sam Gilbert. ;)

Henderson's form is similar to Kennedy's form in his first year at WC.

Will be better than Dawes due to his more impressive mobility, endurance and agility.

Not everyone gets to beat up Simon White who is a first year player and an undersized third tall.

Henderson runs a 14 beep like Kreuzer, but has a repeat sprint that would have placed him on par with the quickest mids in the 2008 draft. Like Kreuzer, Henderson isn't quick off the mark, but is mobile and agile when he's moving. Lachie has swooped on a ball on the fifty and baulked his man to have a ping like Kreuzer on the run.

They're similar beasts IMO.

Loved the dummy he sold to Maguire to kick a goal.

Plus the selfless pass to Setanta from fifty.

Will be a gun in time.

Premature to write off a player who spent a lot of the pre-season in the rehab group after arriving at Carlton injured.

Wow, why waste so much time responding to something I deliberately posted on parrot's pathetic level?

:rolleyes:

But you gave me a good chuckle with the "superior endurance to Dawes" bit.

LOLWAT!?

First point the Pies aren't the "top team" because (a) it's only round 8, and (b) you haven't beaten both Grand Finalists yet. The Pies only have 30-40ish pick KP forward quality. Hendo is high first round draft pick talent. So we're talking about a different types of players. Even your coach rates Henderson very highly - said on radio he was one of the very best KP talents in his draft. We were very lucky to get him in the Fev trade. He really is an outstanding talent, and a long term KP forward at our great Club. He showed glimspes of his talent in the first 2 games. Still learning his craft and learning how to play in a new team with a totally different gameplan. He'll be fine. Can't see the point in attacking such an inexperienced player, other than venting some envy.

Dawes is in the top three at Collingwood for endurance. Thought you ought to know.

And it showed tonight, the way he ran away from the ball all night was amazing. Pretty sure, even on the wide screen vision i only saw him once or twice; now that is showing some amazing endurance ability.

At brisbane, Henderson was being touted as their future captain in replacement of Brown when he retired.

THERE WAS A REASON FOR THIS. They obviously saw in him a very good player who had the attributes of an outstanding leader.

To come over from brisbane with those with those credentials is extremely pleasing. If he had come over from lets say richmond, I would have taken those credentials with a huge grain of salt. However Voss and Matthews are both well respected and know what they are talking about.

So this being said, as a carlton supporter I am quite confident that Henderson will become a great player and future leader of our club. I'm sure that if he were on any list they would say the same too, and writing him off as a kid of 20 years of age purely because he hasn't dominated games and kicked bags is either ignorant or just simply out of spite.

I would say both players you got from the fev trade, (not Lucas) but Mclean and Henderson are both average AFL players.
Mclean has been shocking since coming across (dont show me stats) his impact on the games he plays is negative; and Henderson hasnst showed me a thing yet. I dont know how Carlton supporters rate him, take your rose coloured glasses off, and should burn down the gates of princess park if something doesnt happen with your recruiting department.
I shouldnt be saying that bescause it is the rest of the competitions gain, but it is comical how bad your recruiting actually is. Worse than Richmond. Henderson may become a play, but please he has shown nothing at all yet.

I'm sure Carlton fans wouldn't mind Henderson performing like the "average" Miller did tonight against Port - 11 disposals, 5 marks and 5 goals.

That said, he'll do alright but I don't see him becoming a Jarryd Roughead level player.

At brisbane, Henderson was being touted as their future captain in replacement of Brown when he retired.

THERE WAS A REASON FOR THIS. They obviously saw in him a very good player who had the attributes of an outstanding leader.

Exactly. have a read through the Brisbanes Buddy Board thread on Hendo from when he was there. Now the same flogs who flame him all over Big footy reckon he is crap now in space of 8 months because he is no longer playing for their team. The Irony is everywhere and not surprising.

It pretty sad actually as some supporters just stay bitter forever!! :cool: