Lance Franklin

He is stuck on the forward and back flanks at the moment. Despite being a KPP, Clarkson stated that he wouldnt play Franlin in a key position much this year. I would love to see him at CHF in the action a bit more. He always seems to be on the wings or stuck on the boundary line. Mark Williams has taken full forward, unusual for a small forward, but if it aint broke, dont fix it. Losing Holland and Barker up forward, I thought he would be a chance to go KP but Clarkson hasnt done so as yet.

I wouldn't even hesitate to give Franklin time on the ball as a roving type player with Spider tapping to him. He is very agile/athletic and could unsettle opposition midfeilders when he busts through them.

Great goal to Lance late in the game, I thought.

I've seen these scenarios arise a bit and more often than not they end up being cleared or rushed through for a point.

For a big, raw fellow, I thought he did wonderfully well to maintain his balance and focus during such a muddled and frenetic piece of play.

He never lost sense of where the ball was and kept his head to ensure that he got foot to ball at the crucial moment.

Wonderful stuff.

the one thing that stood out for me when he kicked that goal off the ground was that he keeps his feet.
i have noticed it all year. in traffic, his agility for someone of his size, is unbelievable. he just does not fall over easily!!!

I would like to see him given a chance on the wing.
FWIW I think at this stage of his development he is unable/struggling to lead and take a contested mark. He is always running under the ball and mistiming his leads. This is not a criticism as I am a big wrap for this young kid. Just believe that it could be good for him to use his atheletism and youthful exuberance out in the open space. Would be a very difficult match up.
Any thoughts?

I know these things probably been said before but I will say it again anyway. Pure power from what i've seen, a couple of his handballs have appeared to go close to 40 metres in distance. Can kick goals from well outside 50. Have seen him break tackles as an 18 year old, imagine once he is even stronger. If his head is screwed on right and his body holds up he will destroy teams like Carey use to no doubt. Gee you guys must be excited.

Schopp said:
I know these things probably been said before but I will say it again anyway. Pure power from what i've seen, a couple of his handballs have appeared to go close to 40 metres in distance. Can kick goals from well outside 50. Have seen him break tackles as an 18 year old, imagine once he is even stronger. If his head is screwed on right and his body holds up he will destroy teams like Carey use to no doubt. Gee you guys must be excited.
Yeah, we're excited all right. I'm liking what I see from Roughhead too. Very aggressive, clean hands and a big boy.

Franklin, Roughhead, Williams will be one hell of a forward line.

The handball comment is interesting.

I've noticed that both Franklin & Roughead show a capacity for unleashing strong, long and direct handballs. Real standouts in this area for mine.

On the downside, Josh Thurgood's handball skills leave much to be desired, but we can't have everything.

CyberKev said:
The handball comment is interesting.

I've noticed that both Franklin & Roughead show a capacity for unleashing strong, long and direct handballs. Real standouts in this area for mine.

On the downside, Josh Thurgood's handball skills leave much to be desired, but we can't have everything.

What Joshy lacks in handball skills, he makes up with his courage and attack on the ball!
Future is looking good from all aspects!!

Buddy on the wing would be good.

Any Richmond historian would tell you that the 1967 side had ******** Clay and Francis Bourke on the wings.

Both became great key position players.

Alex_au said:
I wouldn't even hesitate to give Franklin time on the ball as a roving type player with Spider tapping to him. He is very agile/athletic and could unsettle opposition midfeilders when he busts through them.

Could you imagine the free kicks against him? AC is playing him well at the moment. The coaching team have identified his immediate shortcomings (forward defence etc) and are grooming him nicely for the next few years. I do like him in the pocket. He has football smarts and play wells with Williams in attack. His shephards and position in marking contents have really impressed me.

Adelaide Hawk said:
So does Judd's, but nobody seems all that worried about it :)

Don't go telling any West Coast tragics that or they'll declare a jihad against you.

I'm not overtly fazed about Thurgood by the way. Every player has a weakness, its just a matter of making sure your strengths are more prominent. He'll be a fine footballer the lad.

Lets face it boys, Franklin is very very exciting and has heaps of promise but the boy turns it over to much and also gives away stupid free kicks!! We should play him in forward line at a set position so he can learn how to play it. He would be to vulnerable in midfield and id rekon he would hurt us badly with his decision making and ball use in the middle.

I disagree Jimmyboy. I reckon Clarko is blooding Franklin perfectly in his first season in playing him in a variety of roles. The benifits of his experiences this season will be enormous in the years to come when he matures both physically and mentally. He will then indeed be in a position to hold down a more permanent Key position. As for onfield errors I cant think of a similar sized player in the draft era who hasnt struggled with these in his rookie year. The likes of Riewoldt, Treadre, Rocca, Gardiner, Tarrant,Hall and Lucas were all "Guilty" of nuerous turnovers when they were AFL babies. Stick with the young Hawk, he's showing plenty

I like the idea of a wing for him at the moment, the club started Mew and Langford out there years ago and they turned into great KPPs, and Buddy has a lot more pace and skill....he'd be a very tough one to match up on in the wide open spaces

rph said:
.... Buddy has a lot more pace and skill...
Than Mew and Langford? A big call after only a handful of games for Buddy, rph, and I hope Buddy becomes even greater than those two legends of our club. I agree with you about the pace aspect but he will only become as skillfull with the preportions of experience of Langers and Chrissie.

002_Dixon_B_Jacobs_D_150_100_games.JPG

Gary Shadforth said:
Than Mew and Langford? A big call after only a handful of games for Buddy, rph, and I hope Buddy becomes even greater than those two legends of our club. I agree with you about the pace aspect but he will only become as skillfull with the preportions of experience of Langers and Chrissie.

today's footballers possess (on average) a heap more skill than anyone of that era and thats not belittling anyone past, but today they are better athletes and better trained by virtue of it being a full-time occupation.... he has it all in front of him but with time and thus the experience he can be an all time great of the footy club, he has all the attributes that you would look for in a young footballer of any era

today's footballers possess (on average) a heap more skill than anyone of that era and thats not belittling anyone past, but today they are better athletes and better trained by virtue of it being a full-time occupation.... he has it all in front of him but with time and thus the experience he can be an all time great of the footy club, he has all the attributes that you would look for in a young footballer of any era[/QUOTE]

More pace than Mew and Langers yes but a long way to go before he is close to there skill level. Strength was key back then now its pace, buddy wouldn't last 5 minutes on the ground back then and Mew and Langers wouldn't be able to keep up with the speed of today game.

StartaMuster said:
More pace than Mew and Langers yes but a long way to go before he is close to there skill level. Strength was key back then now its pace, buddy wouldn't last 5 minutes on the ground back then and Mew and Langers wouldn't be able to keep up with the speed of today game.
I agree, StartaMaster, but I pose the question - if Mew and Langford were on today's list and trained and played full-time as professional footballers as does young Buddy does in this modern era - wouldn't they be champions at today's pace as they were in yesteryear's?

Gary Shadforth said:
I agree, StartaMaster, but I pose the question - if Mew and Langford were on today's list and trained and played full-time as professional footballers as does young Buddy does in this modern era - wouldn't they be champions at today's pace as they were in yesteryear's?

Yes they would be champions because they'd be training more like they do now working on pace and agility rather than building body mass and one on one comp. Skill levels were excellent for these 2 (and most of the team back then) and would be able to adapt to any style of game in time. If we had a couple of cool heads like them in our team now we'd be finals contender for sure.

Lance Franklin