surfsup

FREMANTLE
Does anyone know who the reporter was that got Connolly so fired up in the interview on the news last night? He sounded like a right priick!

surfsup said:
Does anyone know who the reporter was that got Connolly so fired up in the interview on the news last night? He sounded like a right priick!

He was asking THE question the faithful want answered.

Great defelction by connolly as usual

Foxtel reported he was from ABC TV, I can't recall his name.

IP- It went something like this-
The reporter asked if we need to kick long more often. Connolly asked him if that's what he thought. The reporter said that the fans think we should kick long more often, is there a problem with the game plan? Connolly said that we are 2-2 and the game plan is fine. The reporter again asked about kicking long, and why at times our players struggle to hit a target 20-30 metres away. Connolly blew up, saying that he doesn't understand what he's asking, first you said we need to kick it long, now you're saying we can't kick. The reporter asked Connolly to answer the question regarding kicking it long. Connolly said that if he asked a question he could understand he would answer it.

Got pretty heated and Connolly certainly wasn't impressed. The pressure is definately getting to him. If we lose this week and the derby doesn't go our way, it will get very messy.

Yeah it ll prolly get messy. Need to be 3 of 6 at that stage for Connelly to come out ok, and that match v Adelaide was the best chance to get the 3. Time will tell. I hope the reporter meant more long kicks out of defence and not more bombs into the forward line for the defences to pick off. Saw enough of that rubbish v Crows to last all year. Agree with him about the kicking though. Maybe they should strap a barn door to the goal posts at training and start with that.

It must be goddam annoying for these coaches to be asked the same question over and over again and answer it every time.Dont blame the coaches one bit when they have press meeting and blow up.They aren't going to say too much anyway,he obviously didnt watch the game.Is that the first time CC has done that and where and when was that interview done?anybody know

dockers_bengals said:
It must be goddam annoying for these coaches to be asked the same question over and over again and answer it every time.Dont blame the coaches one bit when they have press meeting and blow up.They aren't going to say too much anyway,he obviously didnt watch the game.Is that the first time CC has done that and where and when was that interview done?anybody know
Just as annoying for the punter that has to sit through the shiite every week

dockers_bengals said:
Dont watch then :D

Get over it. CC has essentially the same list when he got here plus the 1-2 year rookies. Hasnt done a whole lot with it and i'm not talking about Wins on the board.

The playing culture from week to week is a game of Two Up and that's a reflection on the coaching staff regardless of player talent.

I wish him the best as he's the coach of my club but I dont think he will get through to the players this year any differently than he has in the past. The players have to want it and they dont want it for CC.

malpaso said:
Get over it. CC has essentially the same list when he got here plus the 1-2 year rookies. Hasnt done a whole lot with it and i'm not talking about Wins on the boardQUOTE]

The Freo playing list at the end of 2001 looked something like this - Hayden, Haddrill, Haines, Siegert and Ugle were all rookies.

BANDY, Daniel GONE
BELL, Peter
BLACK, Heath RETURNED
BOOTSMA, Brad GONE
BROWN, Leigh GONE
BUTLER, Adam GONE
CARR, Matthew
CLANCY, Ashley GONE
COOK, Troy
CUNNINGHAM, Ben GONE
DODD, Brad GONE
EASTAUGH, Simon GONE
FEWSTER, Brendan GONE
FLETCHER, Adrian GONE
GROVER, Antoni
HADDRILL, Robert
HAINES, Daniel
HASELBY, Paul
HAYDEN, Roger
JONES, Anthony GONE
KICKETT, Dale GONE
KOOPS, Steven GONE
LONGMUIR, Justin
LONGMUIR, Troy GONE
McMANUS, Shaun
McPHEE, Adam GONE
METROPOLIS, DanielGONE
MICHAEL, Clem GONE
MODRA, Tony GONE
NORRISH, Jason GONE
PARKER, Shane
PAVLICH, Matthew
PRESCOTT, Ashley GONE
SCHELL, Daniel GONE
SHIPP, Andrew GONE
SIEGERT, Andrew GONE
SIMPSON, Dwayne GONE
THORNTON, Scott
TOIA, Luke GONE
UGLE, Keren GONE
WALKER, James
WATERHOUSE, CliveGONE
WIRA, Brad GONE
WOODS, Dion GONE

By my count that's 29 players who have gone since CC has been at the club - hardly 'nothing' I would think, especially if you take a look at some of those names - is it any wonder we couldn't manage more than 2 wins??

Have a look at who's developed since that time and tell me CC and co haven't done anything for this club.

Actually I am going to defend CC on this one.

CC has every right not to answer the reporters question as far as I am concerned

You do not say in front of the TV cameras while there are employees of all the other rival clubs probably watching this interview, that they are going to kick long more often or reveal any other tactic or game style, just for the sake of answering questions from some irate and disgruntled supporters.

Simple as that.

We would be having at least most of the other sides planning to try and shut down CC's promised long kicking gameplan and the promised more often long kicking game may not work the way supporters expect it.

Thus Freo will then continue the up and down frustrating form and supporters will still be as irate as ever.

As far as I'm concerned CC should just keep his mouth shut, move on and concentrate on helping guide the team to a victory over the Saints this Sunday.

malpaso said:
Get over it. CC has essentially the same list when he got here plus the 1-2 year rookies.

That is the silliest thing I have read on here.

Andrew Browne
Ryan Crowley
Steven Dodd
Ryley Dunn
Daniel Gilmore
Daniel Haines
Rodger Hayden
Micheal Johnson
Paul Medhurst
David Mundy
Ryan Murphy
Brett Peake
Graham Polak
Andrew Siegert
Aaron Sandilands
Bryon Schammer
Scott Thornton
Luke Webster

By my calculations Duffman will be the 19th player after those above to make his AFL Debut under CC.

chook2734 said:
malpaso said:
Get over it. CC has essentially the same list when he got here plus the 1-2 year rookies. Hasnt done a whole lot with it and i'm not talking about Wins on the boardQUOTE]

The Freo playing list at the end of 2001 looked something like this - Hayden, Haddrill, Haines, Siegert and Ugle were all rookies.

BANDY, Daniel GONE
BELL, Peter
BLACK, Heath RETURNED
BOOTSMA, Brad GONE
BROWN, Leigh GONE
BUTLER, Adam GONE
CARR, Matthew
CLANCY, Ashley GONE
COOK, Troy
CUNNINGHAM, Ben GONE
DODD, Brad GONE
EASTAUGH, Simon GONE
FEWSTER, Brendan GONE
FLETCHER, Adrian GONE
GROVER, Antoni
HADDRILL, Robert
HAINES, Daniel
HASELBY, Paul
HAYDEN, Roger
JONES, Anthony GONE
KICKETT, Dale GONE
KOOPS, Steven GONE
LONGMUIR, Justin
LONGMUIR, Troy GONE
McMANUS, Shaun
McPHEE, Adam GONE
METROPOLIS, DanielGONE
MICHAEL, Clem GONE
MODRA, Tony GONE
NORRISH, Jason GONE
PARKER, Shane
PAVLICH, Matthew
PRESCOTT, Ashley GONE
SCHELL, Daniel GONE
SHIPP, Andrew GONE
SIEGERT, Andrew GONE
SIMPSON, Dwayne GONE
THORNTON, Scott
TOIA, Luke GONE
UGLE, Keren GONE
WALKER, James
WATERHOUSE, CliveGONE
WIRA, Brad GONE
WOODS, Dion GONE

By my count that's 29 players who have gone since CC has been at the club - hardly 'nothing' I would think, especially if you take a look at some of those names - is it any wonder we couldn't manage more than 2 wins??

Have a look at who's developed since that time and tell me CC and co haven't done anything for this club.

But chook our midfield that chris has built/moulded is still very one dimensional(very short and mostly slow) and still getting smashed at the stoppages

wehavethepassion said:
chook2734 said:
But chook our midfield that chris has built/moulded is still very one dimensional(very short and mostly slow) and still getting smashed at the stoppages

Yet we are still winning better than every second game despite this.

We even won one without Hase which I thought we had no chance in with our best clearance player out.

Get this troublesome aspect right and we are flag material.

I reckon the match committee had confidence that Haines , Peake , Gilmore and Ryley Dunn would go a long way to solving that.

That may well still be the case in the latter three's case.

wehavethepassion said:
chook2734 said:

Yes, the midfield is a problem, but I think we need to take another look at what we started with and what we've now got.

Our backline is holding up exceptionally well with a bunch of kids. We virtually have a new forward six - and most of those guys would be a walk up start in any team. We basically started with nothing and now have quality players at both ends of the ground - and Connolly is responsible for that too.

I just think we focus way too much on the negatives and fail to look at the positives. Whoever has sorted out the backline and the forwardline (and don't claim Harvey's responsible - he's only been here 5 minutes) may just be able to get the midfield right too. A bit more development in Sandi's game and a fit Hasleby or one or two others to step up in the clearances and we are on the way up the ladder before you know it. We are not that far away.

As for fixing up the midfield, I know it's not popular, but I still think Pavlich is the answer.

chook2734 said:
As for fixing up the midfield, I know it's not popular, but I still think Pavlich is the answer.

You may very well get your wish in patches against the Saints with McPharlin named at CHF and Pav on a half forward flank, Polak at FF. They usually actually play with 4 up forward. For mine McPharlin is more suited to that role than he is at FF, he has great pace and he needs to get into the contests more often. He's often starved at FF when the midfield isn't pumping the ball deep.

chook2734 said:
malpaso said:
BANDY, Daniel GONE
BELL, Peter
BLACK, Heath RETURNED
BOOTSMA, Brad GONE
BROWN, Leigh GONE
BUTLER, Adam GONE
CARR, Matthew
CLANCY, Ashley GONE
COOK, Troy
CUNNINGHAM, Ben GONE
DODD, Brad GONE
EASTAUGH, Simon GONE
FEWSTER, Brendan GONE
FLETCHER, Adrian GONE
GROVER, Antoni
HADDRILL, Robert
HAINES, Daniel
HASELBY, Paul
HAYDEN, Roger
JONES, Anthony GONE
KICKETT, Dale GONE
KOOPS, Steven GONE
LONGMUIR, Justin
LONGMUIR, Troy GONE
McMANUS, Shaun
McPHEE, Adam GONE
METROPOLIS, DanielGONE
MICHAEL, Clem GONE
MODRA, Tony GONE
NORRISH, Jason GONE
PARKER, Shane
PAVLICH, Matthew
PRESCOTT, Ashley GONE
SCHELL, Daniel GONE
SHIPP, Andrew GONE
SIEGERT, Andrew GONE
SIMPSON, Dwayne GONE
THORNTON, Scott
TOIA, Luke GONE
UGLE, Keren GONE
WALKER, James
WATERHOUSE, CliveGONE
WIRA, Brad GONE
WOODS, Dion GONE

Alot of those players are :D:D:D:De players and never went on anywhere else or were at the end of their career. Didnt take a rocket scientist to work that out.

Look at the players on that list that are STILL HERE from that list. The core of our midfield and that is the area of the least or NO improvement.

Bell, Haselby, Walker, Cook, McManus, Black, M.Carr

Plus the other additions (Headland, J.Carr etc..)

The midfield is our area of NO improvement since CC took over. Granted our defense and forward line has improved. But really we have been smashed in the middle since 1995 and every week CC says the same thing, our clearances need to improve, smashed out of the middle.

I like each and every one of our players but something is not right! I'm sure Bell is very capable as a captain, but I dont see a whole lot of anger on the field when we start getting flogged from any of our players.

The other night Stuart Dew pulled the pants down on that Saint player McQuarter or something and kicked a goal, afterwards Riewoldt, Hamill etc berated McQuarter for his lapse.. The kid picked it up and played a much better game from then on.. I dont see that happening in our team at the moment...

mick ryan said:
Be prepared for it to get very messy!

just like it was suppose to before the port game when all said wed losoe and we pulled ports pants down....i rekon same will happe nthis week and we will win...

fat wombat said:
You may very well get your wish in patches against the Saints with McPharlin named at CHF and Pav on a half forward flank, Polak at FF. They usually actually play with 4 up forward. For mine McPharlin is more suited to that role than he is at FF, he has great pace and he needs to get into the contests more often. He's often starved at FF when the midfield isn't pumping the ball deep.

ya but the problem is when we get the ball...our side kicking game frustrates me as by then the opposition has gone back and mcpharlins speed gets nullified.

This 22 was available to Connolly when he arrived at the club-

B- Parker L.Brown Hadrill
HB- McPhee Croad Grover
C- McManus Hasleby M. Carr
HF- Cook Polak Medhurst
F- Farmer McPharlin Simmonds
Ruck- Longmuir Pavlich Bell
Int- Walker Hayden T.Longmuir Thornton

To say that he took over a poor list is wrong. Since then he has had 4 drafts to improve the side, and improve the midfield. Each midfielder he has traded for was a better player at his previous club.

Our recruiting hasn't been anything to be proud of over the years and recently, let alone our trading. There seems to be this wierd obsession with getting Victorian tall running half back flankers, which are in excess on our list atm. Some people would hate to hear this but we should be starting to recruit like the mob up the road is doing and concentrate on building up a competitive and strong midfield, which seems to be easily our main achilles heel since we get consitently belted in clearances and ciontests in the midfield and we have a excess of outside, recieving midfielders who do not like to play contested football.

dominguez said:
This 22 was available to Connolly when he arrived at the club-

B- Parker L.Brown Hadrill
HB- McPhee Croad Grover
C- McManus Hasleby M. Carr
HF- Cook Polak Medhurst
F- Farmer McPharlin Simmonds
Ruck- Longmuir Pavlich Bell
Int- Walker Hayden T.Longmuir Thornton

To say that he took over a poor list is wrong. Since then he has had 4 drafts to improve the side, and improve the midfield. Each midfielder he has traded for was a better player at his previous club.

Shows just what a good job He has done bringing them on.

B-
Parker - playing carrer best footy in the last two years.
L.Brown - traded out , bit of a no position player , correct call.
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=236538&page=2

Hadrill - Had played 8 games when CC arrived and missed all 2002 injured / returning from injury.
HB
McPhee - would be handy now but in 2002 only managed 11 average games,
Croad - would be handy now but was chased home by Freo supporters ringing up every night complaining he was not kicking enough goals for the money he was being paid.
Starring at CHF lately for the Hawks - another correct call by CC.
Grover - had 17 games. Now playing career best footy after looking a bit shakey.
C-
McManus - widely castigated as a dud, is playing career best footy ATM.

Hasleby
- AA 2003 , has struggled with injury since . Our most important player whose form is the barometer for the team.

M. Carr - Another gunn who has struggled with injury since 2003.
HF-
Cook - Another who has played to the limit of his talent.
[/b]Polak [/b]- 0 games when CC took over - played 6 in 2002 due to a shoulder , looks to have overcome maturity issues, still only 21 and has 10 years of good footy ahead of him.
Medhurst - 0 games when CC took over - played just about every game until now despite being beaten from pillar to post by media and some supporters - like Polly his best footy is yet to come.
F-
Farmer - now a team player
McPharlin - played 12 games in 2 seasons at the Hawks - missed the first half of 2002 (11 games) and 2003 (10 games).
Now a gun.

Simmonds - good honest toiler - has gone backwards at the Tigers with his kicking on goal .

Ruck-
Longmuir - After an inconsistant number of years , has only developed into a good player in late 2004.

Pavlich - Gun
Bell - Gun - struggled with injury in 2004 & 2005.

Int-
Walker - has developed into a GOP .
Hayden - another 0 gamer rookie who CC has turned into a gun until he broke his leg .

T.Longmuir - given limited oportunities & traded out because he is not good enough. It seems Pagan agrees .

Thornton - another 0 gamer late pick / rookie when CC took over who has been turned into a cult figure.

All well and good to put the names down 4 years after the event but in most cases it takes 3 years for a zero game player to develop into a top 22 player.

In the four subsequent drafts after 2001 we have added players like

Sandilands
Schammer
Mundy
Murphy
Crowley
Dodd
Johnson
Webster
Peake
Gilmore
Duffield

Now , use your 20/20 hindsight and pull that to bits.

Your constant support for Connolly is becoming tiresome Ripper. Ofcourse I'm going to use hindsight to pull that to bits, that's how you review things. Look what you started with, and compare where you are at.

I wouldn't be able to criticise the development of the swans, bulldogs, egos or crows under their current coaches, because they have got the majority of their players to their optimum level and are playing good football consistently. And none of those coaches have been there longer than Connolly. Connolly has already been badly beaten by both Clarkson and Craig this year, who would have coached less games betwen them than Connolly has.

To say that trading Croad for someone who won't play 50 games was the correct call is ridiculous. Croad was played out of position, and didn't get along with Connolly since it was CC who pushed for him to be traded from his beloved hawks. None of which is Trents fault.

To say that McPhee would be handy is a massive understatement. When fit he would be in our 5 best players.

Leigh Brown would be the answer to our problem with big strong forwards.

How does that show what a good job he has done bringing them on? He started with a very good best 22, and we've been middle of the road for a couple of years now and still haven't won a final.

Medhurst used to be criticised for being to goal hungry. He now passes too often, and has been dropped for missing the target a couple of times. Was on fire at the start of the game last week, and dropping him now sends the wrong message to him.

Haddrill looked all class in the handful of games he played in 2001, similar to Mundy last year.

Matthew Carr's form in the 1st 4 games this season has been atrocious, and both the Carr brothers clearly dislike Connolly.

Longmuir, McPharlin, Pavlich and Hasleby were always going to be very good players a couple of years down the track. We knew that that about the boys that were here in 2001, and the fact that the hawks refused to trade with us in 2002 (because they were unhappy with picks 20 +36) shows that they knew McPharlin would be a quality player.

Bell plays at the same level as he has for 7 or 8 years, but he is now played out of position. In his rush to recruit midfielders CC has got the mix wrong, we lack pace and lack ball winners. It's fine to have midfielders that lack pace, aslong as they dominate at the stoppages (West, Mitchell, S. Black etc).

Hayden turned soft after 2003, hopefully he can turn it around.

How many of these players that you say are clearly better consistently dominate their position? How many players will we have in the mix for AA?

The only players Connolly deserves credit for are Grover and Thornton, and Scottie has an illness which will limit his career.