LEIGH BROWN, does he deserve to be in our 22???

Should Leigh Brown be playing seniors????

• YES

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • NO

Votes: 0 0.0%

DNine

Oct 28, 2008
West of Melbourne
Or is Malthouse just playing favourites like he did with Chad Morrison??

Leigh Brown averages .3 points a game, 5.5 hitouts a game, and 9.5 disposals. Others have been dropped with such stats, but not Brown.

What is going on??? What is the explaination, and why is NO ONE asking Mick the question, What the hell do you think your doing? Is he tanking, playing players that aren't as advanced as players in the twos weekly? Or does he know his coaching gig at the Pies is up, and wants us to suffer, having to watch Brown weekly? If anyone says his flexibilty, I will look at the name, and know just how much that name takes notice, as much as MM!!!

I won't be going tommorrow, I don't watch stupidly run sides play live. Its not worth my effort.

I don't know about Leigh Brown's form at the moment but i reckon if he got some solid games together he could definately be a pivotal part of our 22. Without Cloke and Rocca we lack a hard body in the forward line this is the reason why he has stayed in the team. It is his chance this week to prove himself and hopefully put a stop to his wayward kicking.
He is also a potentially useful utility in the ruck, down back and forward. Cameron Wood will struggle in the ruck and we need someone big like Brown to rip through the likes of Kreuzer and Cloke by using body on body.

As of this week, yes.

Long term, NO.

We actually need him this week, with no Fraser, and no other option as backup ruck, and yes, I mean no other option, Chris Bryan's career at Collingwood should be over.

MM's plan all along has been to wait till Cameron Wood hits form and then play both Fraser and Wood in the same team, which just as Wood hits form has come unstuck due to Fraser's injury.

My belief was that we recruited Leigh Brown as a backline relief player to assist Presti and our young backline throughout the year.

MM in his wisdom, has had no other choice but to play Leigh Brown as a backup ruckman, due to terrible ruck form of Wood and Bryan.

My hope is Fraser is right to go next week, because he has always played well against Cox, and then we can finally play both Wood and Fraser in the same side.

I have given up on Chris Bryan as an AFL footballer, he is in the Cameron Cloke class for mine, too slow, not a good enough ruck and can play no where but the ruck or the goalsquare.

So, basically, what I want to see (and what we all should want to see), is Fraser and Wood in the same side, but this is now reliant on Fraser's fitness, not Wood's form it seems.

Reality people, Leigh Brown is NOT and never will be the making of Cam Wood.

Cam Wood will determine whether he makes it or not.

Seriously, there's been alot of talk about Wood/Bryan having to earn their spot but the same isn't being applied to certain members in our team, particularly the likes of Brown, Corrie and Toovey.

Now, Leigh Brown is a useless back-up ruckman, yet is first choice ahead of Wood and Bryan for that spot, without having to do much to earn it.

He is a useelss "arund the ground" player because he is too slow and basically wants to "give-up" everytime. If you think this isn't the case watch round 1 2007 Coll vs NM and listen to Malcolm Blight's assessment.

As a forward, he simply cannot kick or convert when needed to.

Leigh Brown is not "good insurance". He is a waste of list space and quite frankly, he should not be on our list beyond 2009.

DNine, i feel ur frustration.

Leigh Brown has been very poor. But the fact that he gets a gig in the ruck is simply ludicrous. I don't think i've ever seen him TOUCH the ball at a centre bounce!

However he did have a chance to make a name for himself as a forward option on a couple of occasions. He kicked 1.3 or 1.4 against geelong from very easy set shots, could have been a match winner!!
He also missed two easy shots at goal in the last quarter against essendon, again could have helped us steal victory.
He has good hands, but his kicking for goal is terrible.
He will never be a good forward for us.

The only reason he should be in the side is to give depth to our backline. Presti, along with maybe Maxwell, are the really only experienced full-time defenders we have. If Presti retires at the end of the year (touch wood), the backline will be extremely young and inexperienced. Leroy didn't look to bad in the last quarter against the saints floating across half-back.

But to answer ur question, L.Brown does NOT deserve to be in our 22 based on his year thus far (i haven't really followed his career with any great interest).

Can't kick, cant take the simplest of marks, has no idea what a second effort is. Can't even make the oposition worry about covering him, last week he went wide to the HFF and at times the Wing presumably to take his oponent away from the action, it didn't work because his oponent didn't bother following him. You'd think that would have made him a handy lose man but after he dropped several simple marks even our boys stopped going to him. Did he then go and pick up his man (who was killing us)? NO he stayed where he was and did nothing. I can only assume that MM is trying to do the right thing by whoever is his replacement and get some really good draft picks.

We need a player *like* him. And by like him, I don't mean him. I mean a tall player who can cover many positions.

He was good in theory but they really should have watched him play in some of those north games....there is a reason he got delisted.

I think L Brown is good insurance, should our key backs Presti & N Brown be unavailable. I don't think he's good enough to be in our best 22 & is not currently earning his place in the 1sts.

http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/...d2=5&pid2=142&type=A&fid1=P&fopt1=2008&fid2=S

In the link above, I have comparred Bryans last year, with leigh Browns this year, considering Bryan hasn't been given a chance this year. Tapouts are very different averages, which is what he is doing in the side.

As for defence, the fast forward of the oppositions would kill Brown off on the lead, so I hope to god we don't use him where they drafted him for, because it could look ugly.

16 tapouts against Adelaide for Bryan, is that not serviceable for a back up for Fraser? Apparantly some believe Browns 5.5 taps are serviceable, so that makes 16 look great.

I am really really confused on this, as much as I was about Morrison.

Interesting to click onto the 4 you can see who has voted. Excellent option to tick. Good onya Matty123, and who are your two friends, they are two of nicks that pest pm'ed me today. I believe two of the four are different people, the other two are made up and don't count. Wonder if the same applies to the Malthouse poll??

given your injuries beggars cant be choosers :confused:

but no he shouldn't be... but if he is servicable (kicks 1 or 2 goals a game) how can you complain?

As of this week, yes.

Long term, NO.

We actually need him this week, with no Fraser, and no other option as backup ruck, and yes, I mean no other option, Chris Bryan's career at Collingwood should be over.

MM's plan all along has been to wait till Cameron Wood hits form and then play both Fraser and Wood in the same team, which just as Wood hits form has come unstuck due to Fraser's injury.

My belief was that we recruited Leigh Brown as a backline relief player to assist Presti and our young backline throughout the year.

MM in his wisdom, has had no other choice but to play Leigh Brown as a backup ruckman, due to terrible ruck form of Wood and Bryan.

My hope is Fraser is right to go next week, because he has always played well against Cox, and then we can finally play both Wood and Fraser in the same side.

I have given up on Chris Bryan as an AFL footballer, he is in the Cameron Cloke class for mine, too slow, not a good enough ruck and can play no where but the ruck or the goalsquare.

So, basically, what I want to see (and what we all should want to see), is Fraser and Wood in the same side, but this is now reliant on Fraser's fitness, not Wood's form it seems.

Spot on! :thumbsu:

Honestly, I'm not sure why Leigh Brown is in the side. Can't ruck. Sure, he gets kicks at goal but who cares when he sprays the majority of them? And I haven't been too convinced with his performances in the back, when he's gone down there

When we play Rocca/Cloke/Anthony/Brown in the forward I also think we look far too top heavy.

NO he shouldnt be in the 22. If they want a utillity player keep on playing Ben Reid he can play CHF or CHB and could also have a jump in the ruck if need be.

To go and watch my team run out with Leigh Brown and Alan Toovey in the side is a very deflating experience. Why does our club accept mediocrity, and that is more a question to Malthouse because it seems he is in total charge of the selection committee down there.

When he was drafted I tried to convince myself of the positives, that he's a hard body, that he brings experience, that he's versatile and can provide a chop-out in the ruck as well as some help in defence.

Now I'm over it. He gives us nothing we couldn't get from a kid. I'd much rather have Dawes in there getting some experience than Brown giving nothing and going nowhere.

To go and watch my team run out with Leigh Brown and Alan Toovey in the side is a very deflating experience. Why does our club accept mediocrity, and that is more a question to Malthouse because it seems he is in total charge of the selection committee down there.
No absolutely not. Nor should Corrie, Toovey, and Reid. The latter will not make it as a league footballer at AFL level. This is his 3rd year and he should be doing much better. Poor kick; not a great contested mark; and is too easily bumped off the ball. I would use him for trade bait at the end of this season.

L-B was an attempt at a quick fix. They rarely work. His selection had nothing to do with our future. The boot studder is ahead of him - and his equally disatsrous mate Corrie.

When he was drafted I tried to convince myself of the positives, that he's a hard body, that he brings experience, that he's versatile and can provide a chop-out in the ruck as well as some help in defence.

Now I'm over it. He gives us nothing we couldn't get from a kid. I'd much rather have Dawes in there getting some experience than Brown giving nothing and going nowhere.
Exactly!!!! We are going through some pain and will do for a little while, rather get some games in to the kids during a bleak period than just sticking with hacks like Brown who are not part of this clubs long term future.
And by getting games in to younger players when things arnt great it means when things look good and the teams going well you have young players with experience who have probably improved ten fold because they got a chance to develop.

Most of the w***ers that said yes are Carlton fans wanting him to play last week, Eagles fans wanting him to line up this week and Roo supporters laughing at the ****ing stupidity shown in picking him up in the draft last year.
Its beyond a joke, get that hack out of our 22 right now, and get him off our list at the end of the season.

He is clearly not in our best 22 & nor is Corrie, but they are both in current best fit 22. Get some perspective people this is what they were recruited for - depth/backup players who have AFL experience - cost us nothing! We need these sort of players while the young kids develop then we move them on.

If the season continues with injuries & losses and we are going to miss finals they will both be replaced with younger guys to develop them. I think the expectation at the start of the season was that if we were going well & lost a player or two we had a ready made player to fill in rather than a rookie.

I am sure they thought L.Brown was some insurance if Presti or N. Brown goes down, because we have absolutely no one to replace those 2. Our backs are much thinner in depth than our forwards, but somehow all our injuries have been in the forward line.

I don't know why Dawes isn't playing he surely deserved a go against Carlton - at least he would have been a target.

at least LB was a sort of freebie from the draft. I think the Ben Reid decision is really starting to hurt us. With JA finding a spot up forward Reid's draft selection really needed to be a midfielder. His only spot in the team will be backline with Nat Brown, otherwise we've blown that draft pick when we needed a good one to go in the middle. Chris Egan was the other pick that hurt us.

He is clearly not in our best 22 & nor is Corrie, but they are both in current best fit 22. Get some perspective people this is what they were recruited for - depth/backup players who have AFL experience - cost us nothing! We need these sort of players while the young kids develop then we move them on. .

O.K so why was he played when we had no injuries then, if he was recruited for depth purposes. And I'm sure that if they came out and played like Stuart Dew or Stephen Gilham, we wouldn't be saying depth only. It is only said because they are going hopelessly. What if L.Brown reinvented himself as someone as determined as Wakelin was, he can't but what if he did, everyone would be saying how brilliant Malty is.

And we didn't get them for nothing, we missed out on the chance to pick Ben Cousins, Jeff Garlett, Robin Nahas, Zac Dawson, Adam Cockie, Matthew Deboer or any other player that has done a good job,

If the season continues with injuries & losses and we are going to miss finals they will both be replaced with younger guys to develop them. I think the expectation at the start of the season was that if we were going well & lost a player or two we had a ready made player to fill in rather than a rookie.

If we wanted ready made, we could of went Nathan Carroll who would do better in defence than Leigh Brown will ever do, Jeff White who would do better in the ruck than Leigh Brown will ever do, Damon White, a better forward than Leigh Brown will ever be, Danny Myer would of even been better.

LEIGH BROWN, does he deserve to be in our 22???