Lets Be Really Honest Here!!!

What Fev said about the taunts may well have been true, but as he himself pointed out, his reaction was inappropriate. I don't see anything wrong with his remarks. He said what he did was clearly "stupid". One person I certainly wouldn't believe is AD - he a has terrible track record in terms of integrity. I suspect we'll discover a little more about AD in a few years time. :)

whippety boy said:
Point taken but I would always hope that most players would have some sense of moral fibre.

It seems more as if we expect them to be 100% moral fibre. If we were all scrutinised this much at age 25 (as most footy players are) we could all be made to look like loose cannons. At least I know that I would and most of my mates would too - and from many years working in bars, I know that most young blokes are prone to acting like idiots when on the sauce.

Fev screwed up - but all this crap and the way it is treated in the media is blowing it out of proportion. He's not the smartest bloke, but I reckon if you go to the pub on a Saturday night, you'll meet 50 Fevolas.

Why do we expect football players to be better than the rest of us? They are supreme athletes, not supreme beings.

WalkerTexasRanger said:
It seems more as if we expect them to be 100% moral fibre. If we were all scrutinised this much at age 25 (as most footy players are) we could all be made to look like loose cannons. At least I know that I would and most of my mates would too - and from many years working in bars, I know that most young blokes are prone to acting like idiots when on the sauce.

Fev screwed up - but all this crap and the way it is treated in the media is blowing it out of proportion. He's not the smartest bloke, but I reckon if you go to the pub on a Saturday night, you'll meet 50 Fevolas.

Why do we expect football players to be better than the rest of us? They are supreme athletes, not supreme beings.
to be fair to whippety boy he did say some sense of moral fibre

WalkerTexasRanger said:

I agree 100%.

parrot said:
What Fev said about the taunts may well have been true, but as he himself pointed out, his reaction was inappropriate. I don't see anything wrong with his remarks. He said what he did was clearly "stupid". One person I certainly wouldn't believe is AD - he a has terrible track record in terms of integrity. I suspect we'll discover a little more about AD in a few years time. :)
here we are being paranoid again.

murphster said:
Like i said at the time Carlton should have never let Fevola go to Ireland in the first place, something like this was always going to happen and the media were just waiting in the wings to pounce and give the club another bollocking for it's troubles.

An end of season trip involving lots of drinking is the worst possible place for Fev to be, especially after refraining all year, he was bound to cut loose and stuff up, if i could see it coming why couldn't the club.

Never should have been in Ireland in the first place, even his missus didn't want him to go, and i'm guessing but probably for the same reasons i didn't want him on the tour. Stupid stupid stupid from Fev and the Carlton Footy Club.:thumbsd:
Finally a view on Fevola from a Carlton supporter who can see past his blue tinged glasses!

Kooley said:
to be fair to whippety boy he did say some sense of moral fibre

Yes I know - if you read my words again I am saying - it seems that we expect 100% moral fibre - while speaking of 'some moral fibre'. My point is that the criticisms imply that we expect them to be more moral than we expect other average young men to be. To suggest that Fev or other players have nor moral fibre is a joke and IMO cannot possibly be inferred from such an event - even from several such events. The logical consequence of such an inference would be that most young men have no moral fibre.

So I was not attacking Whippety Boy - I was using his post to illustrate something - something that I could not have illustrated if he held the opinion that footy players should be morally pure.

In_Like_Flint said:
Why did Franklin have a minder to look after him when he goes out at night?

He's a nob and you should trade him.

ok so "Fevola for captain" as you claim and Franklin to be traded beacuse he might do something wrong one day

Let's face it, you can't defend Fevola, so you start bringing other players from oppositions clubs into the argument!

littlebuddha said:
There's no reason why we shouldn't believe him.We are all very quick to hang our own. We should all as Carlton supporters get behind him,that's when our support is needed.
On this board too many people who want to axe the guy before a full investigation is conducted.The Irish are notorious for there ethnic & religious sledging.Look at what they do too each other. Let's all get behind him & support this man after all we are a Carlton family aren't we?

While that's a very romantic notion Little Buddha, based on some of the things I've read on this forum I don't think getting behind the players when they need support is a real strong point for some. (Emphasis on the word 'some'. There are a few who follow this protocol) People may support Fev in this situation but would they do the same if it was, say, Ryan Houlihan or Jason Saddington etc......??

monday-expert said:
Finally a view on Fevola from a Carlton supporter who can see past his blue tinged glasses!

I feel exactly the same way about any footballer who does this sort of crap - be it Tarrant, Cousins, Didak, Fev - the whole Hawthorn footy team at the Glenferrie Hotel about 6 years ago...

Of course the act is 'stupid stupid stupid' - and each player rightly feels shamed - but htere are a couple of factors that must be taken in to account - not to excuse the behaviour, but to resist these alarmist reactions: Firstly they are highly visible and therefore prone to **** stirring by other drunken guys and secondly they face far worse consequences for reacting to anything or instigating something.

I don't feel sorry for them, but I am glad that every time I make a fool of myself out (which is thankfully less often than it used to be some years ago:p ) I don't have cameras and reporters and people lining up to tell me how ashamed I should be and what terrible person I am.

Blues_Man said:
The Hawks have recruited a gun forward !! when did this
happen ?? :confused:

Yeah that Mark Williams bloke has kicked 123 goals in the last 2 seasons - which is nowhere near the amazingly huge total that the "gun forward" Fev has kicked in the same period - 133

hehe

monday-expert said:
Why didn't it make the news?? Must have been something terrible. Does the media only pick on Carlton players!
No im not suggesting that i was at a club and saw him doing something VERY wrong, obviously the media didnt find out or he would have been in HUGE trouble thats all i can say- but i must say i do like him as a player

murphster said:
Like i said at the time Carlton should have never let Fevola go to Ireland in the first place, something like this was always going to happen and the media were just waiting in the wings to pounce and give the club another bollocking for it's troubles.

An end of season trip involving lots of drinking is the worst possible place for Fev to be, especially after refraining all year, he was bound to cut loose and stuff up, if i could see it coming why couldn't the club.

Never should have been in Ireland in the first place, even his missus didn't want him to go, and i'm guessing but probably for the same reasons i didn't want him on the tour. Stupid stupid stupid from Fev and the Carlton Footy Club.:thumbsd:

That's the thing. It wasn't an end of season trip! Carlton players had their trip and they went to Thailand and I understand that Fev didn't go.

If he wanted to go away and get pissed then that is the place he should have done it! Not in Ireland where primarily, the reason they are there is to represent Australia and play football!

In_Like_Flint said:
Why did Franklin have a minder to look after him when he goes out at night?

He's a nob and you should trade him.

Just like Crawford with the crap he got up to on The Footy Show.

whats your point here???:confused:

juzza316 said:
Footage of the incident will be shown on channel 7 news tonight, and apparently does not do Fev any favours :(
Does the footage show any racist expletives coming out of the barman's mouth?

monday-expert said:
Nup. He just sounds like a 10 year old kid making excuses.

Did anyone really buy the "I'm a changed man" crap we've heard about him all this year??

Don't get me wrong, he's a great player, but I reckon the team would be better off without such a terrible influence.

You are dead right mate, spot on there. I have the same opinion. And if this carries on into the season then trade him. I don't care if he's Chris Judd, I don't care how good he is, if he's setting a bad culture and attitude, etc around the club then get rid of him. First the fire extinguisher, then the drinks...whats next???? Com'on Fev, get your act together...we need you.

Man, has this been blown out of proportion. He hasn't done anything in over a year, Fev said it himself, as soon as he stuffs up everyone's gonna be on his case. Similar incidents would happen dozens of times a week in Ireland, and Australia too, however, as Fev is a well known sports star he suddenly has no morals and "Setting a bad culture and attitude.

I'm not saying what he did is OK, or should be accepted, you can't just go around putting people in headlocks for no reason. But for this to be headline news for the past four days and making Fev sound like a dirty crook is ridiculous. It's not like he stabbed the guy or left him for dead. Sure, kick of the IR squad but a big deal is being made over something that would occur heaps of times a day. Guess it's the price you pay for being in the public spotlight - you're achievements are congratulated and your stuff ups are scrutinized.

Some Australian put an Irish guy in a head lock for a couple of seconds.

John Howard invaded a sovereign country which had done nothing wrong and

600,000 civilians died as a result.

The human race is facing potential catastrophic events in less than fifty years

with potential mass extinction's and the end of civilisation as we know it...........

Its a paragraphs worth at most.

monday-expert said:
Yeah that Mark Williams bloke has kicked 123 goals in the last 2 seasons - which is nowhere near the amazingly huge total that the "gun forward" Fev has kicked in the same period - 133

hehe
How about we add the 2 seasons prior to that, as well. Now it looks something like this:
Fevola: 262
Williams: 166

Thanks for coming.

mediumsizered said:
How about we add the 2 seasons prior to that, as well. Now it looks something like this:
Fevola: 262
Williams: 166

Thanks for coming.

Williams has played 72 games for 167 goals.

Fev had 157 after 72.

GSM.