Let's go Australia, Olympics thread

Really don't like how every successful person from SA is essentially asked "but who do you support, Crows or Port?" happens too often, especially cringeworthy when it happens in every 5AA interview and they are more interested talking football than somebodies actual achievements. It's like only 70% or 30% can support and be happy for somebodies success?

I'm happy to cheer for anybody coming out of the state/country when it comes to sport on the world stage. Nobodies claiming anybody, just enjoy it for what it is.

Does anyone know if these Koreans are good at badminton? I assume they're better than us - everyone seems to be in Olympic badminton - but it looks like our blokes are putting up a nice fight.

The commentator just said before that they are the top ranked team in the world. So the Aussies aren't doing too badly considering!

Really don't like how every successful person from SA is essentially asked "but who do you support, Crows or Port?" happens too often, especially cringeworthy when it happens in every 5AA interview and they are more interested talking football than somebodies actual achievements. It's like only 70% or 30% can support and be happy for somebodies success?

I'm happy to cheer for anybody coming out of the state/country when it comes to sport on the world stage. Nobodies claiming anybody, just enjoy it for what it is.

It is petty to even think about what footy club he is aligned to. The reality is who cares he is a global athlete now, not some guy who is well known in three states (but not the biggest) in a country of 22million people like all our AFL "stars" are.

I prefer to enjoy the fact that one of the worlds best swimmers is a South Aussie.When was the last time that happened.

Matt Cowdrey, Haydn Stoeckl ,Robbie Woodhouse/Anna McVann

I doubt Kyle would ever go back to playing football professionally. I don't think an AFL premiership is even in the same ballpark as winning an Olympic gold medal.
Really? What's the difference? Both are the highest level of your chosen sport.

Matt Cowdrey, Haydn Stoeckl ,Robbie Woodhouse/Anna McVann

Pretty poor from me to forget about Cowdrey. That guy is a legend.

The other two, meh. Neither are household names. I had to go to Wikipedia to find out who they are.

Tend to think there is something special about Kyle Chalmers. He could end up with his name on our milk.

Really? What's the difference? Both are the highest level of your chosen sport.

One sport is global, the other is regional. When we win the Grand Final next year, it wont make the hourly BBC World New Bulletin, Chalmers win was on it today.

I love footy, but lets be honest it is a very minor sport in the scheme of things. It is only popular in SA/Victoria/Tassie/WA. It is not the leading sport in our country's biggest state, nor its fastest growing state.

For perspective, Handball is a bigger sport than our game.

One sport is global, the other is regional. When we win the Grand Final next year, it wont make the hourly BBC World New Bulletin, Chalmers win was on it today.

I love footy, but lets be honest it is a very minor sport in the scheme of things. It is only popular in SA/Victoria/Tassie/WA. It is not the leading sport in our country's biggest state, nor its fastest growing state.

For perspective, Handball is a bigger sport than our game.
I'm not sure the size of the sport matters. If I'm passionate about chess, and I win the world chess championship, who will care? I will. To be the best at the sport that gives you a purpose in life, that's the peak.

If you're purely after the international accolade you probably would prefer a gold medal, I suppose.

I'm not sure the size of the sport matters. If I'm passionate about chess, and I win the world chess championship, who will care? I will. To be the best at the sport that gives you a purpose in life, that's the peak.

If you're purely after the international accolade you probably would prefer a gold medal, I suppose.

Fair point. I do understand what you mean.

Just said to a mate of mine if he ever did play AFL footy, it would be due to the love of our sport. Not because he was not good enough at swimming and Aussie Rules is his back up.

I tend to think he has a very bright swimming career ahead of him.

I see both sides of the coin. Objectively, it is a much bigger deal becoming the single best in the world in an individual sport participated in most of the world over, then being one of 22 blokes who win the elite competition in a sport that is played in one half of one relatively small (population wise) country.

BUT I have played a lot of different sports (never been flash at any of them), and there is nothing that even comes close to as enjoyable or satisfying as walking off the footy field after a really good win, and I have never had a better day/weekend than the time I played in a flag. The camaraderie in our game is just something else, even compared to other team sports. It is really special like that.