Nbrown7

i'M ABSOLUTLEY rapt with the way we are playing, but i think we should all stay modest, and limit the amount of bragging. I did this sort of thing after round 7 in 2003 after we beat the dons and was even thinking premierships. I was suitably put in my place.
Although this year: T wallace
2003: D frawley

NB

We are a lot better than we were under Frawley. The differences are clearly obvious and we have a master coach who is extracting the best out of good players who became mediocre under Frawley.....gaspar, kellaway, hall, tivva, richo, and even browny just to name a few.

We have every right to be confident going into round 8.

IDGAF said:
Not bragging ... just think , logically speaking , weighing up all the factors , we "should" spiflicate them this week
I hope we do wat they did to us in 2003 when we were down,
tHEY ABSOLUTELY smashed us. A belting would be sweet.

JeffDunne said:
You guys have been taking it for a while, so make hay while the sun shines.

Give 'em heaps - you've earnt it.

I'm quietly confident this week will again be ugly for the pies JD. Their medical room is standing room only and their confidence is shot to bits.

It's Bloody hard to keep a lid on it. After the Collingwood and Brisbane Game, if things go OK, there will be NO chance of keeping the lid on. :D

I want everyone that ever posted a defence about Danny Frawley on this board last year to apologise.

We could have been showing this kind of progress 2 seasons ago.

1980 said:
I want everyone that ever posted a defence about Danny Frawley on this board last year to apologise.

I think my old nick Coach Required needs to make a guest appearence in Danny's honor

:D

1980 said:

On the other hand, we should be eternally gratefull to spudda for lids, tambling, meyer, pattison.

I rekkon it's great everyone has a vibe again.
********** keeping a lid on it,they all hate our guts anyway so we might as well enjoy it.
Just need to keep in touch with the thought that we are in early stages of re-building and things can only get better.

Wallace has already given more than frawley ever did and we have an exciting group of youngsters that seem to be giving the older guys a shot of youthful enthusiasm-something that frawley killed.

If we keep it real we should have a somewhat enjoyable season.

itsintheblood said:
On the other hand, we should be eternally gratefull to spudda for lids, tambling, meyer, pattison.

Those kind of kids were always there mate. Frawley just picked the wrong ones, killed the good ones he got, or picked aging ******s from other clubs.

No thanks to him ever for anything. Just curses, the kind of curses and hexes they made in the middle ages that turned ppl into swamp frogs.

And to think there were ppl around here last year defending him as our coach.
I will be telling my great grandkids how much I hated Frawley.

At the moment Wallace is getting the most out of a lot of ordinary footballers.

When the bubble bursts we will need to be honest with ourselves and make the right decisions for the future and not top up with a player or two like Frawley did believing we weren't that far away from a flag.

I think we still have a number of 'dumb' footballers (By dumb, I mean they don't have a good footy brain). Under a dumb coach (Frawley) they actually got dumber. Wallace has these players playing a style of game where they don't have to think too much and the results so far have been good.

Under pressure these players make bad choices and often choose the wrong option...a number also have bad skills under pressure. I think this group includes Chaff, Tiv, Hall and Chubba and before I get shot down in flames I think they're all playing reasonably good footy at the moment. I won't include Gas in this group, because I think he actually reads the play very well and will usually choose the right option..sometimes his delivery lets him down (I also think he's ok under pressure).

The question is, I guess, whether you could see the Tigers winning a flag with all of the above in the team.

itsintheblood said:
NB

We are a lot better than we were under Frawley. The differences are clearly obvious and we have a master coach who is extracting the best out of good players who became mediocre under Frawley.....gaspar, kellaway, hall, tivva, richo, and even browny just to name a few.

We have every right to be confident going into round 8.

youve hit it in won , it has been some time since all our top players have hit their straps at the same time...Richo, Browny, Bowden, Gasper and so on are all firing....further to that I believe that we are improving each week and the carlton game was as close to the fast and furious run on game that TW is trying to set in cast....Confidence is a wonderful thing...Im looking forward and not back....

IDGAF said:
Just for interests sake John , name the players that you deem ordinary

The players I have in mind are Graham, Chaffey, Hall, Tivendale, Pettifer, Knobel and I could probably throw in a few other names as well which are borderline like Krakouer, Kellaway.

maybe you just think they are ordinary because they struggled under Frawley. I don't think those players should be rated when playing under a poorly coached team like last year.

JohnF said:
The players I have in mind are Graham, Chaffey, Hall, Tivendale, Pettifer, Knobel and I could probably throw in a few other names as well which are borderline like Krakouer, Kellaway.
I`ll take the pepsi challenge on Knobel .

Not everyone has an all round game that will win them a Brownlow medal . Knobel has a certian talent or two and is one of the best in the league at it and FWIW , makes Brad Ottens look like the stool pigeon and cat that he is . You only have to look at our ruck stats over the last two seasons to see that . Knobel this year , statistically speaking is the best tap to advantage ruckman in the league by a fair way . Last year Ottens had the most tap outs in the league but where did they go ? At his knees so he could rummage around on the ground and rack up a few hard ball gets from his own shyte ruck work .

My point being , Knobel was recruited for a specific purpose for Terry`s structure and he is doing that job to a tee . I would not say he is an average footballer but the best at what he does going around , which is what was required

Graham is a dependable player who was also recruited for a specific purpose , not to win B&F`s , he has quietly gone about his business in the manor he always has

Pettifer = monster unfullfilled talent , shockingly coached , now starting to shine ... do not agree he is an average player . I believe he will get even better if they can get his head 100% ... needs to grow up a little more , but he has the right mentor now

I agree with Tivendale , never been a fan . His positon will easily be filled in a year or 2 of further development by a kid

Juries still out on Hall , like Pettifer last year , is on his last chance but the last couple of weeks has been great . Average , at the minute yes but i won`t pigeon hole him just yet .

Chaffey - people judge him pretty harshly - for three or four year he was an absolute rock across half back and was very critical to our chances on any given day , would describe him as a better than average footballer in his day who is slowly starting to find a little form again . But the clock is ticking , like Tivendale , i don`t think it will be to long before he is gone

Kellaway - courageous and tough , a rare breed around our parts , throw in AA , i know disposal is not up to scratch but he is a better than average footballer

Krakouer - if he can kick 35- 40 goals a year then that , in my books makes him a better than average footballer , and a rare commodoty . Hasn`t got the engine to play midfield consistently which has been proven . I think his niche is half forward .

To sum up this long winded Diatribe , all of a sudden , a bunch of footballers whose heads by and large have been wanted on a plate by all of us , are suddenly doing the job and the team is winning , whether or not this can be sustained remains to be seen but that is what i am looking forward to for the next 15 weeks .

Are they really just duds responding and "over performing" for a new coach whose bubbles are all about to burst hardcore ... or are they a good bunch of players who were totally destroyed and demoralised by a coach who will go down as one of the worst in history ? .... For our futures sake , i`m hoping ( and as each week goes by , thinking ) it is the latter

The fact is that you are not ever going to get 22 'A' list players running out each week. Even Brisbane at their very best only had 10 - 12 'A' listers.

In amonsgst your silk, you need players who just do their job week in, week out. This is what the abovementioned are now doing.

madtiger2005 said:
tivendale has been great the last 3 weeks and he had a very good 2003 season. I think tivva will have a good career with us.

Tivendale is as weak as water and goes missing when the game is physical and the opposition target him. Every winger in every team looks great when the team is winning and going forward. It is when things get tough and you need them to win the hard-ball, defend or follow someone that you get a better idea.

madtiger2005 said:
maybe you just think they are ordinary because they struggled under Frawley. I don't think those players should be rated when playing under a poorly coached team like last year.

Short memories in this thread. Danny Satan did coach us to a prelim final. Frawley's first year was 11-11 and second 15-7. Yes it ended badly and yes it was cause for celebration when he left, but lets not completely blame one bloke.