bombersmad75

Melbourne Storm. Victory.
After the way the board treated Sheeds lets demand that they resign if they dont do that lets get the ball rolling to remove them and start again. How can they treat a person who has given so much to our club be treated this way. I hope sheeds goes to another club and does have success and stick it up the arse of this board who should be shown the same door that sheeds was shown lets F@#k them off as well.:mad::thumbsd:

And how have they treated him badly?

IF you are a member you will get your chance to vote them out

You would really be OK with seeing Sheedy at another club? I wouldn't. He's the only coach I've known. It's not right!

That said, his time had to come to an end at some point. He's been around for a long time and has done many great things for the club, and that's why I think it's good that he gets the rest of the season instead of having to walk out halfway, but there comes a point where he's under no less scrutiny than any other coach. What have we achieved in the last 5 years? Not a whole lot. Do you think he should just stay until he dies?

Mate, I'm as shocked and devastated as anyone else who's an Essendon fan. I'm 19, have followed Essendon all my life and have only known Kevin Sheedy as 'The coach of the Essendon Footy Club'. Its a culture shock but to announce the decision not to renew his contract now is a business decision and a very smart one at that.

Ray Horsborough (sp) was not lieing to us on Monday Night when he said no decision has been made. Yesterday (Tuesday) was d-day and I can assure you that. Just because they started talking to Sheedy in January was probably the best possible thing to do as they were showing their intentions and weren't going to throw the decision on him abruptly.

To announce the decision now was Sheedy's idea, otherwise the announcement would have been after the final game.

However this gives Essendon the best possible opportunity to find and select the best possible and most suited candidate for the job of coaching our famed football club.

Now lets just get behind the team in its charge for the finals and get to the games in Melbourne and pack out the grounds and enjoy Sheedy's and Hird's final games and look forward to the future!

Mate, I'm as shocked and devastated as anyone else who's an Essendon fan. I'm 19, have followed Essendon all my life and have only known Kevin Sheedy as 'The coach of the Essendon Footy Club'. Its a culture shock but to announce the decision not to renew his contract now is a business decision and a very smart one at that.

Ray Horsborough (sp) was not lieing to us on Monday Night when he said no decision has been made. Yesterday (Tuesday) was d-day and I can assure you that. Just because they started talking to Sheedy in January was probably the best possible thing to do as they were showing their intentions and weren't going to throw the decision on him abruptly.

To announce the decision now was Sheedy's idea, otherwise the announcement would have been after the final game.

However this gives Essendon the best possible opportunity to find and select the best possible and most suited candidate for the job of coaching our famed football club.

Now lets just get behind the team in its charge for the finals and get to the games in Melbourne and pack out the grounds and enjoy Sheedy's and Hird's final games and look forward to the future!
But he did lie when he said it would be discussed in 3 weeks time at the next board meeting. That's the only problem I have with this whole fiasco. Otherwise I think itwas handled in the most appropriate manner.

Big Deal... Do you expect 100% truth out of him at the expense of the best interests of the club.

How was it in the best interest of the club to say on Tuesday "we will decide in 3 weeks" then announce on Wednesday "we wont renew his contract".

It wasnt a decision made overnight - word is that this was coming since January. Why not, on the Tuesday, either say what you ended up saying on Weds, or simply state no decision has been made?

It certainly wasnt in the club's best interest. Most folk are comparing this to the St Kilda sacking. The way the situation has been handled over the last 48 hours is an embarassment to the club, as any comparison with St Kilda should be ;)

After they reached a decision Monday night that Kevin was no longer the person to take the club forward, do you think Ray should of come out and commented to the media, "by the way we havn't told Sheeds yet that we don't want him can you let him know on the late news".
By saying we will discuss it in 3 weeks bought them reprieve from the hounds to conduct this in the best way sheeds deserves. And I tell you something this wasnt even meant to come out today.

I'm not saying that he should have told the public there and then about their decision regarding Sheedy, but he could have said that "the matter had been discussed and no further action would be taken at this stage" or something to that effect. At least that way the members and supporters wouldnt feel like it was a total about face by the board.

Once again I think it was the right decision, that statement about the board meeting in 3 weeks was the only bit that irked me.

I'm not saying that he should have told the public there and then about their decision regarding Sheedy, but he could have said that "the matter had been discussed and no further action would be taken at this stage" or something to that effect. At least that way the members and supporters wouldnt feel like it was a total about face by the board.

Once again I think it was the right decision, that statement about the board meeting in 3 weeks was the only bit that irked me.

Fair enough your entitled to have your own opinions on the matter, it was never going to be right whatever the board did. You could always go and get on the thread thats tearing up membership tickets if your that upset with the Presidents comments. That would help the club.

I reckon they shouldve given sheeds 1 or 2 more weeks. He couldve coached his last game with hirdy playing

The board have made the toughest decision in the clubs history, however they have made the decision that had to be made and IMO will be the best for the club and Sheedy for the future.

Fair enough your entitled to have your own opinions on the matter, it was never going to be right whatever the board did. You could always go and get on the thread thats tearing up membership tickets if your that upset with the Presidents comments. That would help the club.
As a member, I dont think I deserve to be blatantly lied to by the president. If he has made a decision, then he should say so. They could have held an impromptu press conference that night. I think they made the right decision, just handled it the wrong way.

And no im not going to tear up my membership. The club is bigger than one person. I follow Essendon, not Kevin Sheedy.

oh for ****s sake.. Why are their so many threads which are the same? Sheeds has coached for 27 years.. He cant coach forever. Please watch or listen to the press conference before you go posting this crap

As a member, I dont think I deserve to be blatantly lied to by the president. If he has made a decision, then he should say so. They could have held an impromptu press conference that night. I think they made the right decision, just handled it the wrong way.

And no im not going to tear up my membership. The club is bigger than one person. I follow Essendon, not Kevin Sheedy.

I would rather the board not tell the public information which is not any of our business until its official.

This morning when first told I assumed he was sacked and was in "tear up a membership" mode. Having heard that he will coach out the season and that it had pretty much been planned from January that this would be the final season I don't have that much of a problem with it. Sheeds is an Essendon person now and has a genuine care for the club's future.
He deserves to go out with this sort of farewell for all he has done for the club we love and anyone who thinks otherwise has no idea.
Having said that I will definitely be voting against Epis when he is next up for re-election. This bloke belongs at a club like Richmond, not Essendon.

Its a footy club board. Deception is always a part of what goes on . It is the same at all clubs . They couldnt really hold a impromtu press conferance monday night becasue the board didnt leave until well after Sheedy left. The final decision to announce what was happening couldnt be made then.
Seriously dont get too offended or up tight over the spin that comes from the board . I know first hand how footy boards work (through a close familly member who was on the board of another club for a number of years). It is not an easy gig keeping all the members happy , keeping the media at bay and even working with other board members.
Overall i think our board manages to do a pretty good job. At the end of the day they have kept the club ticking along very well and we have not had the chaos and mayhem a number of other clubs have suffered when they where at the bottom end of the ladder.

Lets not forgot Monday Night was the board meeting and this came just hours off the news Carlton was sacking Pagan. They are not going to change a board meeting structure within hours and say right we need to do this now.
Imagine if Horsborough said yep its tomorrow stay tuned.. it would have been a circus outside Windy Hill! They probably said 'right we need to do this asap so we have the best possible chance to get the best person for the job' and that turned out to be the next day.
After the 3rd sacking and the likelyhood that Sheedy would be going, the board couldnt afford to wait 3 weeks to make a decision in case Freo, Melbourne or Carlton took a Mark Harvey or a Michael Voss or a Neale Daniher or if Geelong signed up Thompson.

In a business world outside influences can cause decisions to be moved forward or put off and this is just a prime example of outside influences causing a decision to be made for the better of that company, or in our case, a football club.

The sentimentalist in me says yes bad decision how its been handled and we should have been told straight away but in essence our Footy department and board had their hand forced due to the growing list of vacancies.

If people refuse to accept the way the business world is run in the 21st century and it cut-throat decisions then, in no offence, you really have no understanding in how a footy club is run.