Gaspar to fremantle for polak plus their 1st round draft pick
chaffey plus pettifer to hawks for luke hodge
50 grand under the table to david cloke for his
son travis

so there's a midfielder a ruckman and a chb
plus two 1st round draft picks plus a second

Originally posted by ottenz
Ottens to adelaide for their 1st plus 2nd rnd draft pick

instead of their 2nd rnd pick.the kid reilly impresses me.1st rnd plus reilly id take that.

if freo fell for this then it would rival the bond/ottens trade.

id be happy with that.id very much doubt the hawks would be tho:D
son travis

we havnt got 50 cents to rub togeather let alone 50 grand!

cheers!

son travis

Go away and have another think about that one Otto

Ottens trade is OK except it will be first pick and a good kid

Gaspar for Polak and pick ? A bloke who is a breath away from being washed up ,30 odd, for a very talented 20 year old KPP plus thier first pick . The comedy festival was over a month ago

If we get Hodge it will through the PSD , will cost us nothing and in any case , Pettifer has worked his ar.e off this year to really turn it around and play some good footy . They would not reward that by off loading him . That would set a real sh..ty tone through the whole club , you would not do it . He has earnt his stripes

And as for the Clokes fu.. them and the horse they rode in on

son travis

mmmm, let me think!
Tim Clarke for Kane Johnson
Steven Greene for Mark Coghlan
Is it gonna happen, No!
This is just from a Hawks point of view.

From a Freo view you must be kidding. You should be giving them the first round pick for just taking Gaspar. What does he do other than punch?

When thinking up potential trades try and make them equal otherwise it is rather pointless!!

did you ever think that gaspar has lost interest in
playing for a **** club like richmond and returing home
to perth and that polak is disgruntled at freo. by the
way gaspar is 28 years old

son travis

Please send a kilo of what ever you are on to:

PO Box 140naughtie
Dream on you clown land 3333

Re: Re: Let's Talk Trade

Originally posted by Ipaidmy200in89
Please send a kilo of what ever you are on to:

PO Box 140naughtie
Dream on you clown land 3333

with a nick like yours i would'nt worry about
the kilo of stuff i'm using mate you must have been tripping to
come up with a name like that!

did you ever think that gaspar has lost interest in
playing for a **** club like richmond and returing home
to perth and that polak is disgruntled at freo. by the
way gaspar is 28 years old
Thats drawing a very long bow

son travis

more likely is ottens to adelaide for 1st round pick and a good kid
gaspar to stay as no one will want him he is too expensive
chaffey for whatever we can get
luke hodge for nuthin

I do not want for us to try and land the killer trade again this year. Instead, I would like to see up try and develop a balanced list.

We are stuffed when it comes to KPP defenders. I would look at low cost trades to get some big bodies who can play defence. For that matter, I would play Shane Morrison to see if he can fill this role.

My view is that Ottens must be kept. With an attacking midfield around him, he will be able to take that final step into football greatness. He is still one of the best players going around.

However, if Ottens want's to leave, I would be taking 2 top 10 picks in return, giving us either 3 or 4 picks. We can then stock up on some serious talent.

The followings will/should be gone:

Hilton
Kellaway
Rogers
Blumfield
Marsh
Nicholls
Weller
Fletcher
Houlihan

It may also be worth trading Gaspar to West Coast or Freo. At present, we would get probably a 2nd round pick in return for them paying his full salary. Maybe a 1st round pick with us picking up $200K of his salary.

This will give us about $300K extra room in the cap which can be used on some talented kids.

This will also see the end of the overpriced backended contracts that are crippling us.

Instead of getting dud ruckmen like Marsh, I would rather build up a list of hopeful young ruckmen. Even if they are complete crap, they still have some currency come trade time - for example, Bulldogs giving up a 2nd round pick for Peter Street!!!! Ha ha ha!

The club most targetable come trade time is the club that thinks it's only one or two hours from "twelve o'clock". i.e. Richmond (wrongly!) October 2001 - fell for the likes of Houlihan, Hudson and Fleming.

It is this type of club who is often most vulnerable to foregoing a good junior prospect already on their list for a proven veteran of 150+ games who will add immediate worth to their imminent premiership challenge.

At present, assuming they don't win the flag in 2004, I would see clubs such as Geelong, St Kilda and maybe Port fitting this description.

What young players do these clubs have that they would offer up for, say, a Chaffey, Andy Kellaway, Stafford or Fiora ?

It is no point trying to score a massive bargain from a club like Essendon, or Brisbane, or even Collingwood. They are either right on "twelve o'clock" or just past "midnight", and would not be in the market for a top up.

Alternatively, clubs such as Hawthorn or Western Bulldogs are at "six o'clock" with Priority Picks inevitable, and do not need to offload any of their (very lonely!) worthwhile players.

But I reckon Greg Miller is aware of this, even if Danny never was ...

Appealing bait.

AKellaway
Gaspar,
Chaffey,
Tivendale
Fiora
should all be used as prospective trade bait.

The club needs to lose these older tie players to open kp opps to the youth,of which we at least have a good start with kids like Moore,Hartigan,Jackson,Schulz,Tuck so far showing both heart and promise as future core players,possibly champs.

D.Kellaway
Rogers
Blumfield
Nicholls
Weller
Fletcher
Dragacevic
Should all be de-listed/retired as is the case with some already.

Dearie me. Surely if yesterday's game showed anything it is that Ottens is not expendable. Razor did OK to break even but without Ottens and Staff likely to play only 14-16 games a season from here on, we'd be crucified without Otto.

We could only lose from that trade. For a ruckman that pretty much every other club would want big time (think what Ottens would be like at Collingwood, Essendon, North, even Sydney/ Eagles, Saints). Geez, he's a decent player who should playhis best football in the next 5 years.

Fiora is another matter. If he does better than he has from here on, well tha'd be a surprise and I'd wish him all the best. He missed a goal yesterday that was just inexcusable and I'm sure our future coach has made a mental note to offload him ASAP.

I feel sorry for Gas, as yesterday he made some blues against that horse with footy boots Walker that weren't attributable to his knee, but to his lack of touch for the game. I'd also wish him all the best, but realistically now is the last chance we'll have to get anything for him...

Picks 2, 5 with an unfulfilled Ottens and some other decent prospects = nucleus of a decent side. Our list craps all over Collingwood's.

Originally posted by crowsfan2004
Keep dreaming :D .Ottens to adelaide for Perrie +2nd rounder. or maybe Burton even

if you guys offered that miller wouldnt stop laughing until the next week. we would keep him thanks. either get serious about what you offer for him or forget it. i think you might be surprised at what the crows might offer.

Haha you make me laugh. You are basically saying that we offer our best youngster and a possible rising star nominee for a guy who is inconsistent (yes talented , so no need to bring it up) and has done nothing out of ordinary (includes couple of poor seasons) which demands a 1st rounder, let alone reilly. Burton +2nd round is a fair trade for him.

Originally posted by Darth_Tiger

He's out of contract and fed up with the rabble that are Richmond.
If you don't get serious about his worth he WILL go int the pre season draft and you will get what richmond always get,,,,,,NOTHING.

If a trade can be worked out to get him home it will involve a few clubs as Adelaide WILL NOT be giving away any high order picks again!
CROWS AVAILIBE FOR TRADE = LIST (- ROO) But Ottens is worth about an Edwards NO MORE

Originally posted by crowsfan2004
Haha you make me laugh. You are basically saying that we offer our best youngster and a possible rising star nominee for a guy who is inconsistent (yes talented , so no need to bring it up) and has done nothing out of ordinary (includes couple of poor seasons) which demands a 1st rounder, let alone reilly. Burton +2nd round is a fair trade for him.
going on fridays nights performance.the crows need ottens more than we need a burton.
btw your forgetting one thing.the demand for otto will amke sure we at least get a 1st rnd pick for him.
when push comes to shove G.Miller is the man!

cheers!

then you guys obviously dont want him which is fine by us. we are more than happy to keep him. all i am saying is that you would need to offer something really good to get the tigers interested otherwise he will be staying put. a first round pick alone would probably be enough if he really wanted to go, but he is worth more imo. with the right coach and team you could build a side around ottens as any expert would tell you, why else do you think mcdermott is pushing so hard that you guys get him. as for losing him for nothing, do you really think he wants to go to hawthorn? please they are more of a rabble than we are. so in summary if you guys dont want him we would be happier to keep him.