Pjkimber

Detroit Red Wings
Anybody that says Liam Jurrah is going backwards should have the arse removed! In his first year and in only 9 games he averaged 12 disposals, 2 goals and 4 marks a game.

He WILL get the oppositions best defender on him this year becuause of what he showed last season. Before paying him out, realise that we have had No Bate,Green,Watts etc in your F50 to help him out.

Liam was clearly beaten by Fletcher today (who is one of the defenders in the AFL) but will be better in the long term from the experience. If you want to turn on a player who gave Dees supporters hope and excitment last year because of some BS Nab cup matches, go and support Richmond!

End Rant.

Anybody that says Liam Jurrah is going backwards should have the arse removed! In his first year and in only 9 games he averaged 12 disposals, 2 goals and 4 marks a game.

He WILL get the oppositions best defender on him this year becuause of what he showed last season. Before paying him out, realise that we have had No Bate,Green,Watts etc in your F50 to help him out.

Liam was clearly beaten by Fletcher today (who is one of the defenders in the AFL) but will be better in the long term from the experience. If you want to turn on a player who gave Dees supporters hope and excitment last year because of some BS Nab cup matches, go and support Richmond!

End Rant.

Seconded.

Wasnt there, but ive gathered he had at least 2 goal assists today, Handball to Moloney and a pass to Maric

You dont lose your talent over 1 offseason and a jumper number change, also hes got a broken finger so i think he'll be fine

I'm with the original poster. Will look better when he gets some help down there, and is still an incredibly clean player when it comes to gathering the loose ball.

Spot on, Not even Brown,Fevola,Reiwoldt and Buddy would be able to kick goals with no help and crap delivery.

Too much pressure on him too early from the media and supporters I feel. Think about it like this.... The guy turns up last year happy to get a game. Runs amuck and has some fun. Come the off season and one hundred newspaper articles/ tv spots later he will be feeling the pressure of expectation. I think it may take until round 5 before we see something like last years' performances again.

Blame the disappointment in his early form on the expectations and predictions of your own fans. Some of the guff i was reading from your supporters over the off-season was ridiculous. I don't think any opposition supporter was talking this guy up - it was all coming from Melbourne posters.

Some of your own kind were saying you didn't have to look for talls in this draft because you had your keys locked up. Second year or eighth year in the system, the bloke will never be able to compete with the absolute elite key defenders in the comp - he's a third forward.

Nobody would have said that if they were a Melbourne supporter.

He's capable of playing as a KPF I have no doubt about that in my mind, he's a freak footballer but even that won't stop him from having bad games and people need to remember that.

He's not impervious to bad form.

Tell your story walking mate. Show me the post where a demon supporter ever said we didn't need talls??? We did say that we had to take the best player available at each pick. And as desperate as we were for talls, we went for Jordan Gysberts over Aaron Black. It tells me our club thought Black was not that great. We'll let time judge that call.

Blame the disappointment in his early form on the expectations and predictions of your own fans. Some of the guff i was reading from your supporters over the off-season was ridiculous. I don't think any opposition supporter was talking this guy up - it was all coming from Melbourne posters.

Some of your own kind were saying you didn't have to look for talls in this draft because you had your keys locked up. Second year or eighth year in the system, the bloke will never be able to compete with the absolute elite key defenders in the comp - he's a third forward.

Wow, somebody wrote something stupid on BF. Alert the press.

windsock, if you have issues with what people post, take it up with them in a PM.

The majority of Melbourne posters thought we should have drafted a tall this year. If you think the opinions of the minority reflect the majority you're an idiot.

In two minutes I found these three posts on the D&T board. Lord knows what's been wrtten on here. The first one isn't really about Liam being a key; I just found it piss funny:

Cannons:
Liam Jurrah will have more of an impact per possession than Gary Ablett Jnr, but that doesn't make him a better player.
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showpost.php?p=16605906&postcount=157

I'm not sure why you find it so funny, it's simply common sense.

You would expect a forward such as Jurrah to have a greater impact per possession than a midfielder. For example, against Port he only had 12 disposals, but he kicked 4 goals and 2 behinds. Ablett Jnr, on the other hand, might end up with 35 possessions, and have a greater overall impact on a match, but per possession, his impact will not be as high as Jurrah's (or another forward's, for that matter).

If you can't understand that, then you're a moron.

contested possessions are overrated. if you pick up a ball just sitting in the middle of the ground with no one else around you it's a contested possession because neither team had control of the ball. Hardball gets are where it's at.

Ablett averaged 1.2 goals 1.2 behinds 5 clearances 1.6 score assists. so what was he doing with his other 24 possessions a match?

strangely enough, I though he looked most dangerous when he was running through the midfield. Fletcher completely shut him down, but it's encouraging seeing him having an impact in the engine room imo

Have to agree. He looked comfortable running around on a hff. He has sublime skills, especially 1 handed pick ups of the deck. No worries with this machine he will be very good for us.

Gotta say i find it strange we have a Norf poster in here lecturing us about pumping up the tyres of our young players considering the crap we've had to listen to about Ziebell in the past year. You'd think he was a triple brownlow medal winning premiership captain they way they go on about him... instead hes played 10 games and averaged 15 possessions whoopdee ****ing dooo

I'm not sure why you find it so funny, it's simply common sense.

You would expect a forward such as Jurrah to have a greater impact per possession than a midfielder. For example, against Port he only had 12 disposals, but he kicked 4 goals and 2 behinds. Ablett Jnr, on the other hand, might end up with 35 possessions, and have a greater overall impact on a match, but per possession, his impact will not be as high as Jurrah's (or another forward's, for that matter).

If you can't understand that, then you're a moron.

I think the main point is, however, that Gary Ablett will get 35 possessions in most games but Jurrah will only have probably less than half a dozen 4 goal games.

contested possessions are overrated. if you pick up a ball just sitting in the middle of the ground with no one else around you it's a contested possession because neither team had control of the ball. Hardball gets are where it's at.

Ablett averaged 1.2 goals 1.2 behinds 5 clearances 1.6 score assists. so what was he doing with his other 24 possessions a match?

Isn't that a lose ball get?

I would of thought a contested possesion was earned through some physcial contact? Happy to be corrected.

We need to have more patience with all our young players, i like most got carried away with how we might be this year. I am starting to realise we need a bit more patience, and i think it shows we need Bate Green and Miller around the fwd50 to lessen the burden for Jurrah and Watts.

To be fair I can hardly imagine a better match up for Jurrah than Fletcher.

Im not too worried - Aaron Davey had an excellent defensive game where he could contribute by applying pressure when he wasnt finding the footy. Jurrah will become good at this as well for his quiet games.

I think the main point is, however, that Gary Ablett will get 35 possessions in most games but Jurrah will only have probably less than half a dozen 4 goal games.

Whilst that is true, it isn't the main point in this debate, as it doesn't relate to overall performance, it relates to impact per possession.

In that area, Jurrah has Ablett Jnr covered, just as many other forwards would. As you point out, though, Ablett Jnr is likely to perform more consistently and with a greater overall impact.

Gotta say i find it strange we have a Norf poster in here lecturing us about pumping up the tyres of our young players considering the crap we've had to listen to about Ziebell in the past year. You'd think he was a triple brownlow medal winning premiership captain they way they go on about him... instead hes played 10 games and averaged 15 possessions whoopdee ****ing dooo

I agree, we've got morons saying that he's the most talented player they've had down there since Wayne Carey, which is just astonishing at this stage of his career.

windsock, if you have issues with what people post, take it up with them in a PM.

The majority of Melbourne posters thought we should have drafted a tall this year. If you think the opinions of the minority reflect the majority you're an idiot.

.... not sure what your point is.

34. Max Gawn (Melbourne)
Sandringham Dragons
Ruckman, 17, 208cm

50. Jack Fitzpatrick (Melbourne)
Western Jets
Ruckman, 18, 201cm

Even if your summation of the opinion of the majority of Melbourne supporters is correct, drafting two ruckmen, including the tallest in the draft surely constitutes "drafting a tall".

B