Life

The idea of having your life choked out of you by your necktie in an office is romantic.

Look on seek... how many office jobs are there? It's all chef jobs, contracts, store shit that's full time. The idea of sitting in an office in a white shirt 9-5 is a luxury: everyone wants to do that and make 55k for it! The world doesn't work like that anymore.

It does in Canberra.....On yer bike.

Unless you're unemployed, your job is going to be your life pretty much. It takes up a massive part of your week and has an effect on how you feel after work and on what sort of things you can afford to do, how often you can travel to explore the world etc.

This is such a wrong attitude to hold. Much more to life than work and if you hate it that much you should get out.

Gotta work to live. Great if you can find a job you love but just working with some good people can make a big difference to any job.

There has been a few good books mentioned so far.
I read one last night on the plane "The Grade Cricketer" highly recommended.
Offers up gems like this "A bloke might have a six figure salary at a job he loves,but it all means nothing if he has a shit rig and a poor grasp of Anchorman quotes."
Then this on showering in the changerooms,
"Here confidence is everything.Even if one has an exceptionally small penis he can still win the respect of others by owning it.It's all about bottling your hang-ups and being alpha."
Some wise words indeed.

Well how can one possibly be happy if they're slaving away five days a week in some uneventful job that is literally the same sort of shit for 40 years? Isn't that the most depressing image ever? You sitting at a desk five days a week doing the same thing until you get old and by then you can't enjoy life like you would have in your younger days. You can't enjoy the weather, you can't sit home and enjoy a basketball game like you could in your uni days and you barely see your friends anymore. That sounds really grim to me.

Unless you're unemployed, your job is going to be your life pretty much. It takes up a massive part of your week and has an effect on how you feel after work and on what sort of things you can afford to do, how often you can travel to explore the world etc.

One can find it possible to be happy cause that 40 hours is less than a third of your time, not including holidays, days off, and retirement.

The idea of having your life choked out of you by your necktie in an office is romantic.

Look on seek... how many office jobs are there? It's all chef jobs, contracts, store shit that's full time. The idea of sitting in an office in a white shirt 9-5 is a luxury: everyone wants to do that and make 55k for it! The world doesn't work like that anymore.

True that. And it is not really about mediocrity. If you want to do well at work you seemingly have to put in Bradman like performances to even get noticed.

Best I can offer is a lot of your life is really out of your control. Decisions made by others who don't even know of your existence can ultimately end up impacting you.

All you can do is find a way to make money but then use it for what it is you want in life.

Of course 'we' can't rise up, we have no guns. Violence is the only real language of change.

Sent from mTalk

Hate to say it but you're right.

And not even in a revolution, let's tear down the system way more an issue of violence still being a driving force.

At larger and smaller levels it is still those with the ability and willingness to use violence who tend to get their way.

This is such a wrong attitude to hold. Much more to life than work and if you hate it that much you should get out.

Gotta work to live. Great if you can find a job you love but just working with some good people can make a big difference to any job.

168 hours in a week and a full-time workload is less than a quarter of that. It doesn't seem that much when put in those terms does it.

Take in travel time getting ready etc it adds up. Especially if you have a commute. At one of my last jobs with distance/traffic I was commuting sometimes up to 3 hours a day. Just does your head in.

It's more than the hours thou. To a point its the pressure. You could take your favourite hobby do it 40 hours a week and barely raise a sweat. You might feel energised.

Fact is your work is responsible for the rest of your life. So the pressure is always on to get, hold and perform in a job. Autonomy to a degree is taken from you.

I think your problem is that you're still relatively young and deep down, you still believe you're destined for greatness. But your cloak of youthful invincibility is beginning to wear thin. Maybe you're only just beginning to realise that you're not on the path to greatness... and that really, you're just another ordinary guy.

i.e. You won't find the cure for cancer. You'll never win the Brownlow Medal. You'll never beat Novak Djokovic. The probability is almost zero that you'll ever scream into a microphone "How you doin' Glastonbury!?!" and be met by raised hands and the roar of 80,000 people. That rap video fantasy you had of lounging by your pool in your bling with a dozen gyrating bikini-clad Victoria's Secret models will always be nothing more than a fantasy.

You really thought you were special, but now you're starting to glimpse the horrible mundane reality that you're nothing more than a blinkered rock ape with a rampant ego and a head full of useless shit (2 decades' worth), living in a dreamworld with 8 billion others who are just like you, who think their lives matter and every opinion they have is worth sharing.

Welcome to the world. Let go of your foolish dreams and embrace the mediocrity.
A great post.

True, basically.

The one thing I don't get is people who have jobs where they're sitting down eight hours. I don't work as a labourer but I'm on my feet all doing, bringing things up and down stairs, carrying things, always using my arms and doing a good 10,000 steps a day even with a 4 or so hour shift and that actually gets me through it to an extent. I couldn't imagine being on your ass and eating some Asian for lunch every day and coming home, parking, and having four beers. I'd just feel like a total slob. I need to be up and doing things.

As a bit of a lazy ****er I just think of it as getting paid to be a little active. Put in average performances, enough to not get noticed for being lazy but not enough that I'll be looking at a promotion to management (not that I want that). I'm happy with my pay but to try twice as hard would see me get about a fifth more attention... what's the point? They're not gonna hand out $50 notes for a job well done.

"Electric word life it means forever and that's a mighty long time"

"Are we gonna let the elevator
Bring us down, oh, no let's go
Let's go crazy, let's get nuts
Look for the purple banana
'Til they put us in the truck, let's go
All excited but we don't know why
Maybe it's 'cause we're all gonna die
And when we do, what's it all for
Better live now before the grim reaper
Come knocking on your door
Are we gonna let the elevator
Bring us down, oh.
.."

The author died in an elevator.
Freaky!!!

A great post.

True, basically.

The one thing I don't get is people who have jobs where they're sitting down eight hours. I don't work as a labourer but I'm on my feet all doing, bringing things up and down stairs, carrying things, always using my arms and doing a good 10,000 steps a day even with a 4 or so hour shift and that actually gets me through it to an extent. I couldn't imagine being on your ass and eating some Asian for lunch every day and coming home, parking, and having four beers. I'd just feel like a total slob. I need to be up and doing things.

As a bit of a lazy ****** I just think of it as getting paid to be a little active. Put in average performances, enough to not get noticed for being lazy but not enough that I'll be looking at a promotion to management (not that I want that). I'm happy with my pay but to try twice as hard would see me get about a fifth more attention... what's the point? They're not gonna hand out $50 notes for a job well done.
The benefit of a job sitting down is you can do it until you're 65. Trying being a 60-year-old brickie, can't imagine that would be much fun. I'm at a desk, I make up for it by cycling to work, running etc. Don't like to sit still as much when I get home.

The benefit of a job sitting down is you can do it until you're 65.
Someone sitting down 8 hours a day, 5 days a week going to have problems when reaching 65. As humans, sitting that long is not good for us but when we are young we probably not going to notice the effects until decades later.

The opposite sometimes isn't good either.

I work as a nurse and basically we walk back and forth for 7 to 8 hours excluding a15 min lunch break and 1/2 hr lunch break. My feet often ache hours after I've knocked off.

A great post.

True, basically.

As a bit of a lazy ****** I just think of it as getting paid to be a little active. Put in average performances, enough to not get noticed for being lazy but not enough that I'll be looking at a promotion to management (not that I want that). I'm happy with my pay but to try twice as hard would see me get about a fifth more attention... what's the point? They're not gonna hand out $50 notes for a job well done.

I work in a office and yeah you can easily get in to the routine of sitting down for the 95% of the time of your 8 hour day.

In my case I make sure I go out for a run on my lunch break, use a stand up desk for a few hours each day and make sure I get up out of my office as much as possible. I probably sit for maybe 4 hours a day at the most.

Working in a physical job isn't guaranteed to be good for you either. I used to work as a labourer and would just eat junk between jobs/before work and easily gained 5 or 6kg of sloppy fat. A lot of labourers and tradies are the same.

But yeah, working in an office isn't ideal either. I reckon the best career trajectory is working a physical job when you're young then moving into an office role in the same industry when you get on a bit.

Exactly right. Assuming you have a job that you absolutely hate, it isn't your whole life. If I have a shitty week at work then I still have the whole weekend to do what I want, and it's Summer now so I could get up at 6am and do exercise before work or head to the beach and watch the sunset after work each evening. Life isn't as bad as many make out.

Working in a physical job isn't guaranteed to be good for you either. I used to work as a labourer and would just eat junk between jobs/before work and easily gained 5 or 6kg of sloppy fat. A lot of labourers and tradies are the same.

But yeah, working in an office isn't ideal either. I reckon the best career trajectory is working a physical job when you're young then moving into an office role in the same industry when you get on a bit.

Yeah most older tradies I know are ****ed from working physical jobs their whole life. My old man was a farmer/mechanic all his life and, to quote Tracy Chapman, his body's too old for working; his body's too young to look like his.

As far as physical labouring vs being a desk jockey goes, working a desk job can be exhausting depending on the hours, how engaged you are and whether you are legitimately just sitting on your arse all day or moving around from place to place. Different kind of exhaustion to lifting heavy shit all day, though. You won't be hunched over after 20 years unable to pick up your kid, but you might have a dodgy posture from a shit office chair.

I think the problem a lot of people have is that they lead an overall sedentary lifestyle. Drive to work, sit a desk for 8 hours filing TPS reports, drive home, sit on the couch watching MAFS or some shit then go to bed. It's not good for your physical or mental well being. Humans are meant to do stuff. I do predominantly white collar work but I try to keep active in my free time and not just become a screen zombie.

There are definitely negative side effects to your health from sitting all day. I work in an office job so I make sure at least once an hour I get up and go for a short walk outside to have a smoke.

I think your problem is that you're still relatively young and deep down, you still believe you're destined for greatness. But your cloak of youthful invincibility is beginning to wear thin. Maybe you're only just beginning to realise that you're not on the path to greatness... and that really, you're just another ordinary guy.

i.e. You won't find the cure for cancer. You'll never win the Brownlow Medal. You'll never beat Novak Djokovic. The probability is almost zero that you'll ever scream into a microphone "How you doin' Glastonbury!?!" and be met by raised hands and the roar of 80,000 people. That rap video fantasy you had of lounging by your pool in your bling with a dozen gyrating bikini-clad Victoria's Secret models will always be nothing more than a fantasy.

You really thought you were special, but now you're starting to glimpse the horrible mundane reality that you're nothing more than a blinkered rock ape with a rampant ego and a head full of useless shit (2 decades' worth), living in a dreamworld with 8 billion others who are just like you, who think their lives matter and every opinion they have is worth sharing.

Welcome to the world. Let go of your foolish dreams and embrace the mediocrity.

Gold :thumbsu:

I'm not being all 19-year old student here, but what is the point?

We worship hacks in Hollywood and aspire to be them and live our whole life tracking them.

We work for campaigner bosses, in corporations that have downward pressure, where everyone else above us has more pressure and tries to take more shortcuts, to help people who are millionaires.

These days we have to rent to live, adding to the above point.

We get home so tired, we drink shit and eat shit and don't exercise.

We get told to eat this food and drink this beer and then get told to be this thin because it's hot.

We are never ever ever happy.

We are always aiming for something else.

We're ****** over by the world, by money, we would do anything for cash, and we would do anything to keep our job, and yet we're all a second away from a redundancy and living on the streets. We all try and for what? To die at 78? We all work hard and slave away to what, buy a fridge? We get a job and pay $70 a week to get there?

Life is not made to get us ahead.

We are not made to succeed.

We are made to do as we say and feel pressure from everywhere, to be kept below.

It's ******.

Never post after a big weekend on the pingers mate.

Youth definitely is wasted on the young.

I remember being 22/23. Finished uni, had a full time job (paying less than the average wage), rented in a share house for bugger all and had pretty much zero actual responsibility. Fun times. Still in the uni mindset of wanting to go out and party but with an actual source of income other than 10-15 hours a week stacking shelves. No kids, no mortgage etc. and no 'you need to be home by 10pm, you've got school tomorrow' type constraints either. Could go out and get ****ed up on a Sunday night then still be alive enough to function at work on a Monday morning. Try doing that when your age starts with a 3. Impromptu weekend down South? Go. Impromptu city beers after work? Go. Impromptu everyone's coming over to sink tins in the backyard? Go. Great period of life.

As you get older your priorities change but life is still what you make it. I've got friends that are pushing 40 with kids, careers, big mortgages etc. and give them a chance (obviously not as easy to arrange last minute) to come out and have a few beers and they're all over it, and not in that cringey 'hey lets go talk to 19 year olds, we're still hip and cool' way. And I've got friends who are in their 20s and are basically sitting at home like someone in their 80s waiting to die. Having kids changes some people but not others. I've had a mate decline a social engagement recently because his wife's away that week and toddlers can't look after themselves which is normal. Others will just not turn up to events where 10 people bring kids 'because they have kids'. Each to their own really.