Life

This is my idea of life.

I like to think of life as just like an intermission.
We are living for now just to fill in time until we are placed into something bigger and better.

All I'd say is just relax and not take life so serious. You have no choice anyway as you where born without answers and now you are here. You are living. Just go with it. Fill the time how ever you want. You dont need to have answers. You don't need to follow people with the idea of a good house with a job or to be rich. We always chase money regardless of how much you have. You will always want more. That cycle never ends and serves no purpose but misery. Just be happy within yourself on who you are. In the end it doesn't mean shit where you will end up. Being Rich or poor who really gives a shit. A wise man knows what's important and it's what's inside of you. What makes you enjoy the smaller things. Once you come at peace with this life as its just time wasting anyway. Its alright to just chill out until you're death. Once you do that you will be set free to actually start enjoying now.

Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk

Talking to a lady at work today she is so positive.

She said she doesn't understand all the negativity and stress at our workplace.

She said shes always grateful to have a job, and her and her family be happy and healthy.

We do get caught up on all the shit things a lot.

I need to try and be more positive in general. Lifes too short for crap.

On SM-G925I using BigFooty.com mobile app

I have some high school classmates who work and have bought homes 10 minutes from where they grew up. I often wonder how people can be so content living such a mundane and predictable life, never really exploring the world or taking a risk or wanting something... more. Be hey, if it makes them happy. I'd hate to look back on my life in 20 years' time only to realise that I've lived in the same area and hung out with the same people that entire time.

Would you openly mock a religious person this way though? For all the people that say all the above, I have never heard of many people saying this to a religious person, group or gathering.
But this goes back to the original point. We’re not expected to validate the beliefs of a flat earther or someone that believes in aliens but we are expected to respect these equally silly beliefs. It’s not like religious people just quietly observe their own beliefs either, they set up churches in neighbourhoods and influence public policy. If anything, they should be up for more scrutiny.

Like you said if it makes them happy.

Im often a lot happier just laying around at home by myself or with the GF doing absolutely nothing than being out with heaps of people being loud and doing stuff.

Everything in moderation i reckon.

Possible

Australian economic downturn due to property price collapse.

US recession in a few years.

UK downturn due to Brexit effects.

And

Chinese recession due to shitloads of money lost from loan lending in their BRI.

What a time to be in your twenties.

But this goes back to the original point. We’re not expected to validate the beliefs of a flat earther or someone that believes in aliens but we are expected to respect these equally silly beliefs. It’s not like religious people just quietly observe their own beliefs either, they set up churches in neighbourhoods and influence public policy. If anything, they should be up for more scrutiny.
But how long has flat earth been around? 5 years? If they start to get out from behind their computers and form some kind of movement then fair play to them. Whilst the Church in this country has been quite rightfully taken to task lately, they do a lot of good within the community (homeless/domestic violence/ elderly etc). If Flat Earthers give back to the community then they will deserve to at the very least be left alone.

And yes, the Church get an easy ride, and I very, very much dislike them but again, I'm not going to make an individual feel bad or stupid for beliefs that they probably had no choice to adopt as it was with them from childhood.

As someone that has traveled to some quite poor places on earth, where religion is a way of life, these people have been nothing but friendly, welcoming and anything but preachy towards me. This goes for most religious people that I know in this country. I reckon Scott Morrisson, Abbott, Shorten etc are giving most a bad name.

She said shes always grateful to have a job, and her and her family be happy and healthy.

Most Americans I have spoken to when I have travelled to America have this attitude towards work.

I think being negative and complaining has become apart of the Australian culture now.

I made an effort a few years ago not to get caught up with the negative gossip and bitching at my work place but the main thing that I realised was the people who create the negative atmosphere are the ones who are doing the least work and slack off anytime they can.

The thing with religion is , and obviously I’m religious myself is that throwing religion out because of a few bad eggs is like throwing the baby out with the bath water.

People have to remember that paedos are often found in religious organisations as they know there are plenty of kids there. They infiltrate these organisations specifically to get access to kids. They also target scout groups and schools etc. These groups have to be way more vigilant than they are currently to protect kids. In our church each kids group under 18 has to have a chaperone alongside the teacher and each leader has to have www.

Religious groups also do a lot of good work in the community. The salvos for example work tirelessly in the community. Our own local church puts on cooking classes for the community and have done so for 30 years. We also sponsor overseas children at school and collect money for lots of different charities. If a local member is in need we help them. We are in the process of running a depression and anxiety seminar and run weekly groups for men and groups for men and women combined. Our entire church as a whole also does lots of stuff overseas.

I understand bad things can and do happen in religious communities but bad stuff happens in secular communities also.

You're not the baby, you are the bathwater. The pedophiles could all disappear and we'd still despise you for your homophobia, misogyny, discrimination, and warping the minds of children.

I understand bad things can and do happen in religious communities but bad stuff happens in secular communities also.

Yeah but it's generally not ****ing intentional and a group effort.

The thing with religion is , and obviously I’m religious myself is that throwing religion out because of a few bad eggs is like throwing the baby out with the bath water.

People have to remember that paedos are often found in religious organisations as they know there are plenty of kids there. They infiltrate these organisations specifically to get access to kids. They also target scout groups and schools etc. These groups have to be way more vigilant than they are currently to protect kids. In our church each kids group under 18 has to have a chaperone alongside the teacher and each leader has to have www.

Religious groups also do a lot of good work in the community. The salvos for example work tirelessly in the community. Our own local church puts on cooking classes for the community and have done so for 30 years. We also sponsor overseas children at school and collect money for lots of different charities. If a local member is in need we help them. We are in the process of running a depression and anxiety seminar and run weekly groups for men and groups for men and women combined. Our entire church as a whole also does lots of stuff overseas.

Nah.

You can throw Islam out because 1 in every 100,000 or whatever will blow themselves up, and you can throw out the Catholic Church because one in every what, 2 or 3, priests touches kids but you're going to get paedos and extremists anyway. Paedos don't infiltrate the church to get to kiddies, if that's all they wanted they'd become teachers or childcare workers or something. The reason the church is full of paedos and the Ed dept isn't is that the Ed dept doesn't offer protection to paedo teachers. You are a teacher and you touch kids you are out gone done. Everyone knows who you are and you don't get to work near kids again. You do it in the church and they obstruct justice.

Religious groups do do good things, but that is community spirit and engagement. The Salvos not having a non denominational equivalent of the same magnitude isn't an argument for Jesus. You can be a top shelf human doing good in the community but if you are doing it under the banner of indoctrinating people with superstitious nonsense then it's not really altruistic.

Secular charity in action every time a poor person gets Centrelink or a sick person goes to a hospital.

This.

Faith and pseudoscience are effectively the same thing.

You're not the baby, you are the bathwater. The pedophiles could all disappear and we'd still despise you for your homophobia, misogyny, discrimination, and warping the minds of children.

Yeah but it's generally not ******* intentional and a group effort.
Discriminatory? Pot kettle black.

I don't think many people care if you're religious or not. Like, not many people are going around calling every religious person an idiot.

It's just this idea that religion should be protected that is so ridiculous. Mocking one's God is still seen as so much more offensive than making fun of someone for believing in any other conspiracy theory. It's a joke organised religion still has so much power in the modern world.

Funny things cars. For some people they are merely an appliance. For others they are an extension of the self. Or serve as a reminder to all of material and social status. We spend primo bank on them, knowing that they depreciate at a rate like little else on Earth.

This week finds me in a slightly melancholic state, you see I sold off my old XR6. I took delivery of it off the truck nearly 15 years ago. It's been a good, reliable and worthy steed. And outside of my family and closest friends, it's also been the next most longest relationship I've had. Even outlasted my marriage (I got the car in exchange for her CC debt and the cat).

One of the drivers for getting rid of it was the insurance was increasingly taking the piss. For some reason they felt I needed to give them the value of the car every 2 years in premiums. Apparently driving an old car makes me more likely to drive into a Bentley or something. Yeah, rating 1 for "life". 15 year old XR6's with 200,000k's aren't worth much, even if they're in decent nick.

Anyway, it got me thinking about how much $$$ we pour into our cars, knowing their nasty depreciation habit. So I went through some old records, did some sums, and cross referenced with some guesstimates to come up with about what I dropped into that 15 years:
  • Car purchase price - $40,000
  • Petrol - $27,000
  • Insurance - $22,500
  • Servicing and misc repairs - $15,000
  • Rego - $12,000
  • Tyres - $5,000
  • Parking - $3,000
  • Washing/Detailing - $1,000
  • Tolls - $500
So, in summary, I bought a car for $40,000 and over the next 15 years spent double that on owning/operating the thing. At which point it was near valueless. $126,000 gone.

I'ma gonna roll without a car for a while. See how that goes.

Some religions are just better than others.

Sikhs, Buddhists are chill.

noracist but Catholics, Christians, Muslims kinda ain't.

Sikhs aren't that chill in the presence of other religions either.

Sikhs get assaults and bricks through windows when Johnny "I'M JUST CONCERNED ABOUT CULCHA!!" Aus sees the fashion and skin colour.