Lions Reserves v Mt. Gravatt

Brisbane Lions
First year player Troy Selwood continued his brilliant start to the season with another best-on-ground performance last Sunday, against Mt Gravatt.
Selwood got to the bottom of every pack, collected a stack of possession, and effected numerous tackles as the Lions won their fifth straight game of the season.

The Lions kept their noses in most of the day, despite running out with only 10 listed players and losing Tim Notting and Ash McGrath for much of the game.
Notting dislocated his elbow midway through the first term and was taken straight to hospital. McGrath was accidentally kicked in the stomach in the opening minutes and was in pain for much of the game.

Selwood puts his head over the ball and never flinches, while he also disposed of the ball beautifully on the occasions he found himself in space.
He was well supported by utility Daniel Pratt, who was good in defence early and attack in the second half, where he booted two good goals.

The Lions opened an early 18-point lead, only for the Vultures to kick four straight goals either side of quarter time to hit the lead. It went goal for goal until the Lions booted the last two of the second term to lead by 16 points at half time.

Reserves coach Craig Brittain sent full-back Luke Weller to centre-half-forward for the second half, and he did capitalise on the opportunities provided by the midfield.
Weller ran hard for his kicks, just as senior key forward Jonathan Brown and understudy Shane Morrison do.

Robbie Copeland was even more important for them, marking strongly and providing extra bite whenever Mt Gravatt threatened. He topped a quality game with three goals and will be hoping this game can provide the same springboard as it did two years ago, when his best afield effort propelled him into the senior line-up.

The other eye-catching performance came from Joel Macdonald, who played well of a wing. He read the ball particularly well off the packs and provided plenty of drive.
Defender Kevin Tandogac was solid in a back pocket and Jarrad Wright came into the game in the second half.

Scoreboard:
Lions Reserves, 4-3-, 8-7, 12-8, 17-13-115
Mt Gravatt, 3-3, 6-3, 10-6, 15-8-98
Goals, Lions: Copeland 3, Pratt 2, Weller 2, McGrath 2, Fels, Geard, Upton, Beardsall, Selwood, Rootsey, Bowman, Wright. Vultures: Moncur 4, Wolski 3, Long 2, Wright 2, Jackson 2, Alleway, Spencer.

Best, Lions: Selwood, Copeland, Pratt, Macdonald, Weller. Vultures: Moncur, Wolski, Rudolph, Dosser.

cheers ... Kaz :)

yeah & we had half of the Morningside U18 ( CARN THE MIGHTY SIDERS!!!!!!) team & Toby McIver playing with us as well..... ( no relation to Scott - its spelt differently)

it was great to see Bunnings getting into it in the last month & who knows... after lethals last 1st year player debut.. it may just happen again.....i would like to see him bulk up a bit before he gets in.. but hey i thought that same thiing with Jared..... Bunnings sure can get the ball though & would be good to see him (OR BUSHIE) on Houligan or someone like that who likes to run.....
bushie.... another war scar... i swear he plays half the season with a bandage on his head.. LOL.....he is just so courageous & will put his head down to get any ball....

i reckon ( from what i saw) that Darryl might just have another week in the ressies.... i remember last year when he played inteh ressies @ Broadbeach & he just blew 'em out of the water... so maybe this week against the Eagles.....

It was great to see Joel get into the game - back to his good old form after the ankle injury.... its even better when u have a win against your old team & when the scoreboard tells the supporters over there shut up (coz they sung after every goal)

Lil Kev... ma-a-a-a-ate... hes a good kid & has been really buckling down to produce some great footy & some run out of the back line.. kepp it up buddy!

good luck to the boys against the Eagles this week....
i may be excited... coz one of our Pre-season trainers has done his time & will be available for selection this week after sitting it out on suspension last week.... he has had a few injury problems so far this season but i sure hope that Benny Sargood or "sarg" who played for the ressies many times a few years back gets a game - not that i want him to play TOO well.. LOL........

after watching Final Siren on Briz31 on mondaynight when they were talking to the new coach of the Eagles & he thinks that coz we have a few ( thousand) injuries that they can knock us off.... but not after the last time we played there - it was like no competition @ all.. even strawb starred in that one...

i hope pratty come up ok coz he wasnt really suposed to play in that game due to a sore back & hopefully the rest of our sookies who have sore knees ( Nick & Nugget) get back in this week.... & strawb.. would be good to perhaps have a ruckman....

& another big wrap for Luca.... GOOD ONYA MATEY!!!! how good has this boy been!!!!!! hes on fire.. there is no other 2 words that could sum it up!!! keep it up luca..

How close do you think Bushie is to senior selection?

It must be taking it's toll. Being named emergency 90% of the time, being flown away with the team, then sent home after training and having to back up from the flights and play in the reserves the next day.

yeah i reckon that he would have to be pretty damn close....

poor kid...
like u said... hes an emergency half the time & yeah he is still in the ressies!
he works so hard.... so he would not want to be too far away.. i rekon that he may well get the call up this week & if he dont.. i don think alot of ppl wil be too happy....

good luck to him!

A very enjoyable game on Sunday - close all the way and out boys really stepped up. Thought Pratty, Bunnings & Lukey were outstanding!!!

Have to add that the U18's did us proud too. I was sitting with some U18 footy Mums and they were quite chuffed when their boys did a good job.

good onya Bjay......
it was a good game wasnt it.....
its always a great day
are u coming to the game on the weekend?
i am so excited coz i get a to see a full game & the week after i am even more stoked coz i will get to see 2 state league games!!!! woo hoo as well as a state league reserves game....
Morningside are going great guns in both seniors & reserves which is great to see!

yeah the U18 did very well....
i am very impressed expecially with Jayden Russ - he has been pretty good & played most games & has not been flustered that often ( not that the ball seemed to get down the back half of the field in the 1st few games where he was playing but he has been streaming forward he is an outstanding runner who has great stamina & could run all day! i sure hope he plays alot with us through out the season with will be sentiment to how great he has been playing!
Keep it up!

yeah well....
u can come & join your old team mates @ morningside whenever you want......(no maybe its too late)

with us having no ruckman we probably need u in the ressies team & i just know how much you would LOVE to don the Lions jersey!!!!

they all did very well.. & hope to see em back again soon

CARN THE MIGHTY SIDERS!!!!

Originally posted by keatings_gal
good onya Bjay......
it was a good game wasnt it.....
its always a great day
are u coming to the game on the weekend?

yeah the U18 did very well....
i am very impressed expecially with Jayden Russ - he has been pretty good & played most games & has not been flustered that often ( not that the ball seemed to get down the back half of the field in the 1st few games where he was playing but he has been streaming forward he is an outstanding runner who has great stamina & could run all day! i sure hope he plays alot with us through out the season with will be sentiment to how great he has been playing!
Keep it up!

G'day KG. Nah, can't make it this weekend - going to Ballina for a reunion & won't make it back in time so will miss out on my weekly footy fix (hope I don't suffer withdrawal). (Daughter may make it, though.)

Pardon my ignorance, but what no. did Jayden wear? I didn't have a record, but got to know a few from the Mums around me, however Jayden wasn't one of them.

whose mum;s were u sitting near....i may know some of them.. i may not as well.... but hey.....
i only knew it was jayden coz he plays for morningside.. LOL
i was going to tell u when i wrote that before but i cant remember what he wore... he has played for us heaps this year.. he wore #39 a few times i think...
he is about 180cm i reckon ( i dunno) & has sandy blonde hair & it kinda skinnyish.. i dunno.. i didnt mean that in a mean way or anything yeah & he has fair skin... runs like the wind....

i will cheer for u! yeah its traumatic when u dont get to see a live game.... im just excited coz yeah i will get to see 4 live games next week... well 3 & 1/2 but thats soooooo cool....

hope its good weather for u down there.... last time we stopped there on the way back from coffs harbour it was pouring down rain... hope its nice coz its a nice relaxing place - kinda... did u used to live there???????

catch ya when u come back then

whose mum;s were u sitting near....i may know some of them.. i may not as well.... but hey.....
i only knew it was jayden coz he plays for morningside.. LOL
i was going to tell u when i wrote that before but i cant remember what he wore... he has played for us heaps this year.. he wore #39 a few times i think...
he is about 180cm i reckon ( i dunno) & has sandy blonde hair & it kinda skinnyish.. i dunno.. i didnt mean that in a mean way or anything yeah & he has fair skin... runs like the wind....

i will cheer for u! yeah its traumatic when u dont get to see a live game.... im just excited coz yeah i will get to see 4 live games next week... well 3 & 1/2 but thats soooooo cool....

hope its good weather for u down there.... last time we stopped there on the way back from coffs harbour it was pouring down rain... hope its nice coz its a nice relaxing place - kinda... did u used to live there???????

catch ya when u come back then

Can't for the life of me remember their names - one of the boys kicked a goal at the shady end of the field (1st qtr, maybe?), a tall skinny lad with dark hair, Ellery (something) wearing no 17 (I think). Another lad kicked a goal in the last quarter(?) at the Klumpp Road end - didn't catch his name. The other was from Toowoomba - heard his name but can't remember it.

I've never lived in Ballina but am going there for a reunion with some ex-Navy friends.

yeah Ellery Bowman - he is from Morningside - HEY LENNY!
good lil player ellery is ( well like u said - not really lil)

i was looking @ our team list on the AFLQ website just before & i was excited to see that another one of Lenny's mates - KYLE LING is named in the forward line for us... all of about 2 foot 3 of him... LOL.. nah hes not that short... but hes only al lil fella....

im excited....

LOL.....
yeah forward line was 2/3 morningside
K.Ling D. Bradshaw P.Shelton
but now braddy played in the seniors (well for a lil bit)

so who knows now... L.Weller or S.Morrison to forward line.. pity both of them are from the eagles (nee raiders)

im excited....

LOL.....
yeah forward line was 2/3 morningside
K.Ling D. Bradshaw P.Shelton
but now braddy played in the seniors (well for a lil bit)

so who knows now... L.Weller or S.Morrison to forward line.. pity both of them are from the eagles (nee raiders)

It's good to see they give kids from ALL clubs a shot to play at the top level. :rolleyes:

(I'm not referring to myself.. rather, the other captain at my club who actually made the Bushies first 18.)