List Changes

No you haven't but you often rely on the players mentioned to be the game breakers and most of them are unable to do it in finals consistently when the game goes up a notch - these guys do not. I have singled Davis out because hes had enough chances - he was all - aust but showed little in 3 finals games.
What would you suggest? Delist Davis? Drop him as soon as the finals come around?

How can Cwood be serious if they keep relying on a bloke you fails when he is need most. Its about finals Leon - not about getting a kick when your 5 in front or when the consequences of a loss are not so bad. He surely now must be considered damaged goods (CANNOT BE RELYED UPON WHEN IT COUNTS MOST ).
Unfortunate but this is a ruthless game and he is a repeat offender.Hes been around a long time and had plenty of chances. I know amonst my mates who are not Pies fans we refer to him as Footys Sally Robbins.

2 WORDS, EDDIE BETTS.:thumbsu:

What about Shane Mumford from Geelong? Is he under contract? Worth a crack I think

On Rusling..
I was watching the VFL game on the weekend and my gosh Rusling was all out of sorts.. I know he has been crippled with injury but he is not a backman, and never will be.. He got absolutely destroyed and his confidence looked shot.

If we are not going to develop him as a forward, then get rid of him..
I really want him as a forward, he has shown huge potential.
But if we are going to try make him a backmen, Im sorry but it is far too late for that now.. Might have to head back to sprinting.

We have Reid and N.Brown doing fine jobs for now. We can draft more KPP backmen if need be..

Delist

BryanCook
Stanley

Retire

Rocca
Lockyer
obree

Trade

Offer up and trade if the right offer comes in: Cloke

Rookies: Dyas is due for promote/delist/rerookie.

so if we keep dyas, and assuming cloke won't be going anywhere, that's 5 players we can draft or bring in via trade...

I reckon we should have an almighty crack at a flag in 2010 and if it doen't work then we take a slightly longer term approach. I'd keep Presti, play N. Brown at CHB and delist L. Brown. Recruit Burgoyne and a ruckman. Burgoyne may not have nominated Collingwood but we should convince him he could win a flag at Collingwood and pay him what he wants within reason. At least have a good go at getting him. Also delist Cox and Corrie.

Lockyer and O'Bree should be retired to make way for Burgoyne and more games for Beams, Sidebottom and McCarthy. Rusling should be offered for trade or delisted if there isn't any interest. Give Rocca one more year but make him earn his games. If he doesn't measure up then retire him mid year and promote a rookie.

Cook has had a very good VFL finals series. That may save him but of he can't prove his worth by about round 6 then he plays VFL for the rest of the the year and is delisted at the end of the year. Wellingham has to be put under pressure early and if he doesn't measure up it's the same deal as Cook.

Everyone else is up for grabs for the right price but the price would have to be huge for Beams, Sidebottom, Didak, Davis (in spite of poor finals), Coke, Pendlebury, Thomas, O'Brien, Shaw, Swan and maybe one or two others I can't think of off the top.

I still think we are a Burgoyne type and a ruckman plus time into Beams and Sidebottom away from a genuine flag list.

2 WORDS, EDDIE BETTS.:thumbsu:

But Eddies not in our top 5 players - hes not an all-aust.
Eddies played one final - Davis has played heaps and been a spud in most of them.
All I am saying is don't go on and on about delisting this bloke and that bloke - your issue lies with guys with enough talent and experience who keep failing. Theres no point in keeping to make finals and finding your rely on certain guys to win you the game and they don't you still get no closer to flag.
I'd get rid of him yeap -But we all know Mick loves certain guys and keeps picking them no matter what. 10 years plenty of finals no flag - need to change your ways Mick!

Everyone else is up for grabs for the right price but the price would have to be huge for Beams, Sidebottom, Didak, Davis (in spite of poor finals), Coke, Pendlebury, Thomas, O'Brien, Shaw, Swan and maybe one or two others I can't think of off the top.

I still think we are a Burgoyne type and a ruckman plus time into Beams and Sidebottom away from a genuine flag list.

didak for Burgoyne and leon cox and our first round for kerr and seaby. That's what I would like to see.

Keep:

Pendlebury, Dick, Beames, Sidebottom, Wood, Maxwell, O'Brien, Goldsack, Anthony, Swan

Trade/Delist:

Everyone else.

Seriously. I had said it earlier in the week, I just CAN'T see us winning a flag with players like Toovey, Johnson, O'Bree and Lockyer in the side.

I cannot believe Cwood supporters. All I ever hear is how great Davis, Didak, Thomas, Pendlebury Swan and Cloke are.
Take out Swan and Pendlebury about what I am going to say.
But the others just do not lift a gear consistently in Fianls. Really good players do this. Most of your supposed stars at best go at the same level as they do during Home and Away - the really good side - their stars go up a notch.
I know you will not like to hear this but Davis is OVER RATED! Finals failure. Front runner!!!
How can Cwood be serious if they keep relying on a bloke you fails when he is need most. Its about finals Leon - not about getting a kick when your 5 in front or when the consequences of a loss are not so bad. He surely now must be considered damaged goods (CANNOT BE RELYED UPON WHEN IT COUNTS MOST ).
Unfortunate but this is a ruthless game and he is a repeat offender.Hes been around a long time and had plenty of chances. I know amonst my mates who are not Pies fans we refer to him as Footys Sally Robbins.
Compare him to Steele Sidebottom who had a great finals serious. Also performed well in Tac Finals. Tells us he is a big game player - a bloke you can rely on. This is the tyoe of player you should be building your team around now not Davis.
I hope you all take this in the right spirit and do not see it as just bagging for the sake of it.

picard-facepalm.jpg

People that shouldn't be mentioned in this thread;
Ben Reid
Alan Toovey

Thank you.

Agree, definately on the 'to keep' list 2010.

Why would you waste the development in these kids when at least they are starting to show potential.

I agree Stanley, Cook, Thoolen and possibly Cox should be delisted as IMO no improvement has been made in developing these guys.

Bryan i would imagine will be dependant on who we target during trade week and draft time. I dont believe we can afford to delist him unless we pick up another established ruck.

If Fraser's knee continues to play up, Wood for some reason gets injured we would be in trouble if we let Bryan go.

OMG 1 loss against a team that is better than us and everyone wants to drop the whole team!

We need to look at our deficiencies. Our bodies are not big enough so a pre-season in the gym will do a hell of good. I think then we need to look at bolstering our midfield. In the end Didak, Davis, Thomos even Dick played major midfield roles for us this year when they should just be pinch hitting.

We have too many of the small forward likes with Medhurst, Maccaffer added to the list above. There are 4 or 5 sides out there in desperate need of a small foward, we need a gun midfielder!

We should look at trading someone worth something to another club, Daisy Thomos should seriously be looked at. We could probably get a gun midfielder from another club by trading him, and this is the year to do it.

On Rusling..
I was watching the VFL game on the weekend and my gosh Rusling was all out of sorts.. I know he has been crippled with injury but he is not a backman, and never will be.. He got absolutely destroyed and his confidence looked shot.

If we are not going to develop him as a forward, then get rid of him..
I really want him as a forward, he has shown huge potential.
But if we are going to try make him a backmen, Im sorry but it is far too late for that now.. Might have to head back to sprinting.

We have Reid and N.Brown doing fine jobs for now. We can draft more KPP backmen if need be..

maybe we're trying to develop his defensive side so when he finally does start getting a game again he can use his pace do some massive chase down and tackling or he can fight for the ball when it hits the deck a bit more...

i believe the rusler can make a massive difference to our forward line next season - provided his body can withstand the rigours of training and training next season.. one more shot for mine...

on other blokes..

b.johnson - always had a soft spot for jonno and is still probably in our best 22.. is a hopeless kick and should not be allowed to kick to a target more than
25 mtrs away.. trade or find new position or phase out with a hopefully improved cox...

l.brown.. was a good band aid for us this year, and will not amount to much more.. keep as depth but should not come in unless it is for an injury and then straight out.. is taking the spot of young kid and hindering their development in the process. keep for depth only[/I]

S. O'bree.. great servant of our club and given his all.. now he should do the unselfish thing and retire or offer to - depending on whether or not we decide to get another insider mid or not.. if not keep him on as a spare parts man ala l.brown. retire

tarkyn - strange one has good skills.. is slow, generally does enough though and father time is catching up with him... id keep him on because there is a role for him in our team i believe - but like others need to be phased out by an up and comer.. but overall id keep him in the side... keep

j.fraser - this guy gives me the absolute shits.. has more than enough ability and has more than enough time to prove his wares.. a firing josh makes our side play much better , promblem is though, when is this guy not injured or able to play freely? id honestly look at trading because this is the last year he'll have any real worth... [I] look at trading if possible or keep

s.presti - excellent season by the vetrean.. faded torwards the end but that was probably helped by the fact our midefield has been getting slaughtered in the past 4 weeks or so.. the guy was almost AA and deserves, without doubt, another season... plays on

big anth- a favourite of mine.. heart says one more year, head says good luck big fella you have provided many a great moment for us collingwood people and will missed... but, if he is to stay on as suggested earlier should only get a game on merit and not on past deeds.. id rather see him move on tha languish in the 2s though... retires

stanley, cook, corrie - we can keep one of these guys for depth and coire isnt
worth the spot...

cox - i see alot of potential in this kid but not alot of drive.. would have some currency as a trade or with a massive pre - season and some hunger could become a starting 22 player... trade or keep

clarke - dont know whats happened to the talented irishman, but am looking forward to him kicking some ass in 2010...

cloke - needs his own personal coach.. id give dermie some huge money to come down to lexus twice a week and teach/mentor this kid on how to use his ample frame, learn how to kick and how make a bad game better than his good games...
alternatively, and i wouldn,t but if it was possible id consider it, trade cloke, our first rounder and cox , or josh and cloke to west coke for d.kerr and josh kennedy... keeper or for some stupidly good deal trade

p.medhurst - poor season and riddeled with injuries i assume.. is at his best brilliant and at worst average.. look forward to him regaining his AA spot next year... look to keep but for the right deal id trade

OMG 1 loss against a team that is better than us and everyone wants to drop the whole team!

We need to look at our deficiencies. Our bodies are not big enough so a pre-season in the gym will do a hell of good. I think then we need to look at bolstering our midfield. In the end Didak, Davis, Thomos even Dick played major midfield roles for us this year when they should just be pinch hitting.

We have too many of the small forward likes with Medhurst, Maccaffer added to the list above. There are 4 or 5 sides out there in desperate need of a small foward, we need a gun midfielder!

We should look at trading someone worth something to another club, Daisy Thomos should seriously be looked at. We could probably get a gun midfielder from another club by trading him, and this is the year to do it.

why would you trade thomas for a gun midfielder when he is set to become one?

I think his be thrown in there out of necessity. He is better off the HFF or HBF.

He is worth something at the moment, you need to trade someone of worth to receive anything good in return. If we can pickup a pure midfielder, then I would do it.

Medhurst will not be traded again, (unless he goes back to WA), Didak and Davis are untouchable (in MM eyes), Maccafer, Dick etc.. will not entice other clubs to give us a gun. Daisy is worth a look

I think his be thrown in there out of necessity. He is better off the HFF or HBF.

He is worth something at the moment, you need to trade someone of worth to receive anything good in return. If we can pickup a pure midfielder, then I would do it.

Medhurst will not be traded again, (unless he goes back to WA), Didak and Davis are untouchable (in MM eyes), Maccafer, Dick etc.. will not entice other clubs to give us a gun. Daisy is worth a look

worth a look, i agree.. would want alot for a guy that has 8-10 good season ahead of him.. and even burgoyne wouldnt do it for me... would have to be a very good player for d.thomas..

Delist

Rusling - hurts too say but the bloke is too injury prone

Bryan - Cant see him getting back in now that wood has cemented his spot

Retire

Rocca :( - same as rusling and age isnt gonna help him

Lockyer - seen better days

obree - turns over too much

presti - go out on a high mate , a club legend but is getting abit too slow

Trade

not sureReid , Cook , Cox

your a bit hard on obree lockyer and presti buddy as for trade well that all depends who is out there and available but geeze your fast to show em the door.....

Delist

BryanCook
Stanley

Retire

Rocca
Lockyer
obree

Trade

Offer up and trade if the right offer comes in: Cloke

Rookies: Dyas is due for promote/delist/rerookie.

so if we keep dyas, and assuming cloke won't be going anywhere, that's 5 players we can draft or bring in via trade...

thats the problem , the right offer for him will always be out of the ball park , his worth in the pies staff eyes would be higher than what other clubs think. cant see him being traded

Delist: Leigh Brown, list clogger par excellence. Ben Johnson was good a few seasons back but needs to go. Corrie looks okay at VFL level but cannot tackle or make it against big men. Stanley and Cook have similar issues at AFL level.

Retire: Rocca and Obree are too old and taking up places.

Trade bait: Cox might help sweeten a deal. A small forward could be worth a trade if it got us a decent return in terms of a forward who could kick goals.

I'd be keeping Rusling and elevating Blair as others have suggested. Thoolen to go also.

On Rusling, Rowdy has stated he's just getting a run to stay in touch before a big pre-season. He wont have been asked to do anything too heroic, but you might have noticed that his field kicking is excellent. Lockyer I still think has a part to play, and given the number we might get rid of and this years shallow draft, he stays on.

the only ones going will be

retire/delist: Rocca, bryan

why would presti get told to retire when he was named in the AA squad no brainer really especially when he is hardly getting pushed out by n brown atm.

Obree and lockyer are our midfield leadership, not sure if you heard mick say that to let sidebottom, beems and Mcaffer walk into the bounce against ablett bartel and the likes was unacceptable (boys against men).

corrie isnt going anywhere he was drafted last yr, not sure if you remember what happened to medhurst in his first yr at the club. speaking of which the coaching staff have said about medhurst that he is a good example of a player that doesnt get a good preseason is always playing catch up(fitness and form).

Also even if, and hopefully he is forced out by youth, L.Brown cant get a spot in the firsts then he still adds depth to an otherwise still developing kkp. so no i cannot see him going anywhere.

Unless it was a part of a trade for a big name player i realy cannot see the likes of reid going anywhere. I think it will be interesting to see what happens with marty clarke in the off season wether it be trade or big preseason, either way we need something from him he has struggled ever since his return to his sisters wedding.

anyone???

On Rusling, Rowdy has stated he's just getting a run to stay in touch before a big pre-season. He wont have been asked to do anything too heroic, but you might have noticed that his field kicking is excellent.

Yeah Rusling is coping a bit of flak for how he played on the weekend, but you have to keep it in perspective. He clearly isn't being played down back with the intention of always playing down there, Collingwood has always liked to develop players outside of their natural role even just for the experience.
The thing I noticed with him on the weekend (regardless of how many goals got kicked on him) is how much of a natural player he seems like. He moves very smoothly, especially when he had the ball in his hands and his field kicking, like you said, looks very precise.
I can definitely see the merit in trying to develop him into a bit of an attacking half back flanker because of how smoothly he can move out of defence.

I'm sure he'll be back up forward next year but I have no problem with them throwing him around a bit. Having a bloke who runs as quick as he does off the back flank with a beautiful looking kick could definitely be of some benefit.
Not to forget that just getting through a game is always a great sign with him.

Goodbye: Rocca, Cook, Stanley, Corrie, Bryan, Thoolen, Cox (or trade).

The following to be phased out of the team next year: Presti, O'Bree, Lockyer, L. Brown, Johnson.

Elevate Blair.

The other rookies have all shown promise but should stay as rookies.

Spot on - exactly how I would have it.

Obree and lockyer are our midfield leadership, not sure if you heard mick say that to let sidebottom, beems and Mcaffer walk into the bounce against ablett bartel and the likes was unacceptable (boys against men).

And the Collingwood brains-trust suggested that it could cover Brad Scott's departure through finals. Apparently, O'Bree took the leadership role over and provided advice between breaks of a game....O'Bree providing advice! Please he had a stinker against Adelaide and then let the above occur...

And to turn down Bucks' offer to come in for finals was a HUGE mistake. He didn't have to talk to the midfield as a strategic advisor (apparently he didn't know the midfield structures so no point him being on board) but he sure as hell could have provided advice to individuals about their opposition, positioning around ths stoppages and advice on the flow of the game. HUGE MISTAKE.