List discussion-part 1.

• Thread starter Thread starter Jeremias

Decided to make threads to discuss the list of the CFC. To make sure they aren't so confusing, I will make a new thread for every five players. This thread is to discuss players with numbers 1 to 5, namely Andrew Walker, Jordan Russell, Marc Murphy, Luke Livingston and Josh Kennedy.

1. Andrew Walker

Had his best year this year, and looks to be developing into a very good player. Played mostly in defense this year, and has shown his versatility by playing on both small and tall forwards. Provided heaps of run out of defense. Over the last few years has developed from a boy to a man, and should continue to develop. Is a magnificent athlete, and the only thing stopping him from becoming an excellent player is his disposal-can look pretty good at times, but is often horrible. I honestly think that the club has done the right thing with him, as he has been taught a defensive side to his game, and now sems to be a very well rounded player. Look forward to his eventual move back into the midfield in the years to come. Was a very consistent performer, the only quiet game he played this year was round 22 vs Sydney, but he was not the only one. Has shown great development, and is really showing some great signs.

2. Jordan Russell

Russell improved this year, as we expected him to. However, many would be a little disappointed in his season, having not won such a large amount of the footy in the seniors. But for me, I am happy with his development. We must be patient with this kid, he has shown he can play in both defense and midfield. Once he fills out, I think his best position will be similar to what Andrew Embley plays for the Eagles-tall midfielder who pushes forward and can create another marking option. Is a great runner, has a very good motor, and for the most part has excellent skills. Whilst he has been criticized for his lack of commitment to the ball, it must be noted that his intensity is usually excellent, and I think that as he grows and fills out, he will be more confident in putting his body on the line for the team. We must be patient with this kid, I see similarities between his development and the development of Kade Simpson. We just need to give him time and opportunities, and he will deliver once he becomes more accustomed to the AFL. I am confident that he will make it.

3. Marc Murphy

It took only 20 minutes or so of game time for Murph to show us exactly why we took him at number 1. Whilst he only played 12 games, really had the best debut year I have ever seen, and if he had played a full season would have easily won the NRS. Is already one of our better midfielders, and whilst you may say 'well this is not hard', you only need to watch him for a short amount of time to realize that Marc is a really special talent. Over his last 4 games he averaged 24 possessions, a very good effort. Now consider that during these 4 games he was being tagged heavily by some of the best taggers in the game, including Tyson Stenglein, and continued his magnificent form, breaking these tage with ease. There is no doubt that we made the right decision, and Marc will be a gun for us for many years to come. Great midfielder, capable of playing both as an inside and outside midfielder. Rests in the forward pocket and has shown that he can be very dangerous there as well, as he has great goal sense. Has excellent skills, poise and awareness. There were queries over his pace, and whilst he isn't the fastest player going around, he certainly is no slouch. Is a workhorse, and will continue to run all day. A great accumulator of the ball, but unlike many of his Carlton teammates who find a lot of the bell, he knows how to use it to great effect. His delivery to players on the lead is really something I love to watch. I look forward to seeing him bigger and better next year, fully recovered, and ready to lead the Carlton midfield for many years to come.

4. Luke Livingston
I am pretty confident in saying that Livo's career in the Navy Blue is over, and what a shame it is. Was drafted at number 4, so obviously had the talent. Injuries and poor player management is what ruined his career. Over the years has suffered quite a few horrific injuries, and just when it looks like he is regaining some form and confidence, he is struck down again. But poor player management cannot be discounted. Many people say that picking Livo at number 4 was a huge drafting error, but I beg to differ. Luke was, at the time, rated as the best forward on offer, and it was the general consensus that he would be taken so far up. BUT he was drafted as a tall and powerful forward. Our reluctance to play him there, instead throwing him into a position where he was clearly uncomfortable from such an early stage really ruined him and his confidence. We have had plenty of opportunities to rectify this, but they have passed. Now, with the recruitment of Josh Kennedy, the improvement of Fisher and Waite, and the emergence of a superstar in Brendan Fevola has really shut the door on him playing forward and staying on the list. Has been plenty of time to deliver, and afterthis long he should be doing well in defense for the Blues. However, he is only being servicable for the Bullants. His time is up, he simply doesn't do enough, he looks slow, and his disposal makes most of us cringe. I'm afraid to say that enough is enough. Cya later, Livo.

5. Josh Kennedy

Was a great effort by Josh to play as many games this year as he did, considering he had serious shoulder surgery during the break, and had a very interrupted preseason. Whilst he didn't set the world alight in the games he played, he did enough to suggest he has a big future for the Blues and why we took him at number 4, the first KPP in the draft. He doesn't do anything in particular really well, but his worth ethic is outstanding. He will never stop trying. Has very good hands, even in a pack situation, which is what our forward line is sorely lacking at the moment. His mobility isn't great, but this will improve. Sometimes gets the yips while kicking, but at the moment can be attributed to nerves, and are not such a cause for concern. Am genuinely excited by Big Josh, reckon we have found a gun CHF for many years to come. Suffered a bad injury, collapsed lung, a few months ago in the Bullants which ended his season for both the Blues and the Bullants. Hopefully it ended his career with the Bullants too :)

Discuss these players here.

Andrew Walker - Easily his best year to date. Established himself as one of our most important players and i'm looking forward to him moving into the midfield next year

Jordan Russell - Still developing after 2 years on the list. High draft pick so expectations are high, but we need to be patient. Looks suited to a HBF, and could take Walkers role if he moves into the midfield.

Marc Murphy - What a talent! Exceeded expectations in his first year and cannot wait to see him back on the park in 2007. Future captain.

Luke Livingston - GAWN..

Josh Kennedy - Impressed in the games he played at senior level. Great pair of hands and his workrate and willingness to get to the contest is fantastic. Like Murphy, looking forward to seeing him on the park in 2007.

HugeBluesFan said:
Andrew Walker - Easily his best year to date. Established himself as one of our most important players and i'm looking forward to him moving into the midfield next year

Jordan Russell - Still developing after 2 years on the list. High draft pick so expectations are high, but we need to be patient. Looks suited to a HBF, and could take Walkers role if he moves into the midfield.

Marc Murphy - What a talent! Exceeded expectations in his first year and cannot wait to see him back on the park in 2007. Future captain.

Luke Livingston - GAWN..

Josh Kennedy - Impressed in the games he played at senior level. Great pair of hands and his workrate and willingness to get to the contest is fantastic. Like Murphy, looking forward to seeing him on the park in 2007.

I agree with everything you have said except I would add that Kennedy needs a solid pre-season with no injuries and then I would expect him to have a regular spot at CHF next year :thumbsu: :)

Spot on HBF.
Just on JK - an 18 KPP has no right to do anything in an AFL game - the fact that he was noticed, and did some good things bodes very well. Put some muscle on that frame and he'll be at the very least, a good forward (add another couple of cm's and he might become a ruck - apparently he's already up to 198cm - thoughts?)

Also, Kennedy has a good kicking action. He' just missed a few shots due to nerves. He will be a good kick for goal. He doesn't have a technical defficiancy like Waite and Fisher.

marcmurphy3 said:
Also, Kennedy has a good kicking action. He' just missed a few shots due to nerves. He will be a good kick for goal. He doesn't have a technical defficiancy like Waite and Fisher.

Yep, seemed to kick loads of goals from different angles and distances in the Ants. Maybe not quick enough with decisions and good enough with disposal yet to make a CHF........but wait for it.:thumbsu:

Similar topic a week ago, so I'll just copy for the players I've already written about.

Walker: Really like him - one my favourite players - and he has improved heaps this season. Huge potential and I could see him being in our best 2 or 3 players in a few years. Could be anything.

Russell: Slow developer and hasn't done much at AFL level. My main concern about him is that he doesn't always go at the ball as hard as I would like - his tackling efforts are pretty good but doesn't seem too courageous. Hopefully this improves as he bulks up. I thought he was very good on the weekend in the VFL and hopefully he can break into the side next season.

Murphy: What's there to say? Has shown enough to say that'll he be a gun. Great player with an exceptional head - his decision making is absolutely extraordinary and even in his best season one of the best at the club in this respect, especially in terms of inside 50's - Fev himself said he'd rather him kick the ball to him than anyone else on the team. Has already shown he can handle pressure and taggers and looks certain to be a future captain.

Livingston: Came to the club and everyone thought he was going to be gun, however, as Jeremias wrote, played out of position. Was a forward, but played defence and although he had reasonable periods, he could never get himself right. Hasn't done much at all for the Bullants and seems to be a certainty that his career is over. Shame too, as he was such a high draft pick.

Kennedy: Haven't seen too much of him except his limited gametime at AFL level. Still in a couple of games, such as against Essendon, he showed that he is a great pack mark. He doesn't seem to be too mobile but that could be just him adopting to the speed at AFL level and the lack of a preseason due to injury. In a couple of years once he bulks up, he could be a very good CHF, with a pack crashing mark. A potential gun.

andrew walker: gr8 season, if he gets his footskills right can see him as a deledio judd with a better leap

jordan russel: Id love to see him back pocket half back looks solid

murphy, need i say more

livo, someone we need to be solid down there like a presti but just seems not to have the speed

kennedy: finding his way around the ground

Just quickly about Marc Murphy's so- called lack of pace.

Watch Carlton vs Richmond in the first qrt and watch murphy's goal, he moves very quickly and is extremely agile. It is such an awesome goal:thumbsu:

i know, at the start of the yr i heard he wasnt a quick player but in that goal that your talking about his little legs make him glide so quickly to the 50m line

Yep, Murph's so called lack of pace is a myth. Sure, he isn't the quickest going around, but he has some pace.

That goal vs Richmond was great, was right behind the goals and was really an awesome goal.

For those of you who haven't seen it, or want to see it again, here it is:

http://youtube.com/watch?v=Rveg-cL4Bag

Great goal!!!

Enjoy :thumbsu:

For all players bar the to be delisted Livo, we hope that we get some kick arse fitness coach in.

We need these 4 to bulk up and bulk up good. Murphy with a few more kgs of muscle would be another Cousins. Kennedy could be the next J.Brown. Walker will be the next Kouta both in physique and skills.

Also lets not forget a few of them will still get a bit more height.

Ooooohhhhh when you really look at our list on an individual basis you can drool.... they just need to get the team play working.

Walker - showed this year why he will end up a great player for us:)

Russell- People have been a bit harsh on the young bloke and are saying the same things about him as they were about Tex last year and look how he has improved. He is finding his feet at AFL level but I think he has shown enough to suggest he will be a good player for us. With another pre-season under his belt I expect him to be a big improver next season.

Murphy- Great debut season until he was injured. He will be fantastic for us. He may not have as big an impact next season as he may suffer the second year Blues:D as other young players have.

Livo - Great bloke and potentially a great player, but injury has done him in. Sadly he looks gone:(

Kennedy - Looks like he has the potential to be another Sticks for us. He can take a great contested just like the big number four could, especially early in his career and if he stays healthy, touch wood, he will be a key in our next premiership team:)