List management - post mortem?

Sep 25, 2005
Gippy Power
Bit early and I suspect we all need to sleep on it but I think we learnt a bit about a few blokes today.

In addition - we are a while away from winning a flag and a few tough decisions could have there in 2-3 years. My thoughts

Lonie

Not up to it at all. Ball watches and is soft. Has had a better year this year but rarely was he in our best. Time to say goodbye

Trade value - maybe a swap for Kelly or a second or third round pick. Problem is his problems are well known and not sure who would want him. Could we use him in an Aker deal?

Licuria

Love him and his game v North was v good. Problem is he just doesn't get to enough contests these days and the quicker teams have his measure. He is a club legend but the reality is he aint up to it. Smashed by West today.

Richards

Dont want to be to tough bc this bloke is only starting out and missed a huge chunk this year. But.......he was well beaten today and gave us nothing. I am a believer that Fraser needs to play a Ruck roving type and we need a different ruckmen to help us at stoppages. I would give Gardiner a go but would not give up much.

Tarrant

I thought he had a fair dinkum go today and you would have to say he could be anything and turn it around like Fevola. I'd probably stick with him but as Blight said you cannot have a guy you pay that much money to continually miss important goals. Would definately command us two top 20 picks. WOuld Brisbane swap Bradshaw for him or trade Aker and their first pick for him. Shapes as their biggest decision.

Lockyer

Look I thought he was good early but he goes missing when we need blokes to stand up. We need blokes who can turn a game and we dont. Hard but this bloke is dispensable and would give us currency.

Egan

Gee you can see it can't you. You would just love to have his gifts and replace him with Licca's ticker. I am just not sure you can teach ticker and I think MM would think this bloke has currency and maybe worth a trade. Ultimately though you stick with these blokes and hope it turns around bc it could leave you red faced to get rid of them.

J.Cloke/N.Maxwell/H.O'Brien

Three of this type are a luxury and even if Wakes goes they all cannot play. Money would be J.Cloke going and assuming Maxy was overawed. Many would say though that JC is a great finals player bc of the pressure.

Delistings - hall, fanning, walker, morrison, caracella, rowe

Promotion - o'brien

draft picks - 10, 28, 44, 60, 76 (would love to trade for 2 in the 15-35 bracket)

possible trades

Lonie for Kelly (cats need a run thru the line player). we need a polished mid

Lonie for Akermanis

JC to Tigers for a pick around 25-40.

Licuria for Akermanis if not Lonie or possibly a pick around 25-35. Port would like him, maybe Richmond or even Cats.

Licuria for Kelly

Egan for Meesen although he is a bit like Fraser

Lockyer for a pick around 15-25 or a swap for Stevens or scotland. hasleby? Aker?

Snoop Dog said:
possible trades

Lonie for Akermanis

Licuria for Akermanis if not Lonie or possibly a pick around 25-35. Port would like him, maybe Richmond or even Cats.

Licuria for Kelly

Lockyer for a pick around 15-25 or a swap for Stevens or scotland. hasleby? Aker?

With the possible exception of the Lonie/Kelly and Egan/Meesen suggestions, all of those are very unrealistic. Licuria or Lonie for Aker? Lockyer for Stevens, Hasleby or Aker? Jason Cloke for a top 30 pick?

I don't think that we will be getting rid of Licuria, Egan and lockyer. Lockyer is one of Mick's favourites and continues to get a game, Egan is young and will stay because thats what we need and Licuria will stay a magpie till retirement.

and so may another year where MM does not make hard decisions.

we found out today that Licuria is not up to midfield standard anymore. game is to quick - especially finals.

suspect Egan will stay as well.

Hall, Walker, Fanning, Caracella, Morrison will be delisted/retire.

Rowe, J. Cloke and Lonie will be traded (I liked the Lonie for James Kelly trade). Tarrant is an interesting player. He's no good at the moment but he will improve his kicking and with a good midfield could be really good. I'd love to keep him and tell him to work on his kicking and get some good mids but it may just be easier to offload him and cash in with pics.

Licuria will not be traded. MM loves him and it isn't what you do to your old workhorses. You either keep them on for another season or tell them their time is up. MM will give him another season if he wants it.

Has got skills and footy smarts. Hopefully he can improve his work rate and get a bit tougher, go in for more hard ball and contests. Is still young and raw but I like him.

Snoop Dog said:
Bit early and I suspect we all need to sleep on it but I think we learnt a bit about a few blokes today.

In addition - we are a while away from winning a flag and a few tough decisions could have there in 2-3 years. My thoughts

Lonie

Not up to it at all. Ball watches and is soft. Has had a better year this year but rarely was he in our best. Time to say goodbye

Trade value - maybe a swap for Kelly or a second or third round pick. Problem is his problems are well known and not sure who would want him. Could we use him in an Aker deal?

Licuria

Love him and his game v North was v good. Problem is he just doesn't get to enough contests these days and the quicker teams have his measure. He is a club legend but the reality is he aint up to it. Smashed by West today.

Richards

Dont want to be to tough bc this bloke is only starting out and missed a huge chunk this year. But.......he was well beaten today and gave us nothing. I am a believer that Fraser needs to play a Ruck roving type and we need a different ruckmen to help us at stoppages. I would give Gardiner a go but would not give up much.

Tarrant

I thought he had a fair dinkum go today and you would have to say he could be anything and turn it around like Fevola. I'd probably stick with him but as Blight said you cannot have a guy you pay that much money to continually miss important goals. Would definately command us two top 20 picks. WOuld Brisbane swap Bradshaw for him or trade Aker and their first pick for him. Shapes as their biggest decision.

Lockyer

Look I thought he was good early but he goes missing when we need blokes to stand up. We need blokes who can turn a game and we dont. Hard but this bloke is dispensable and would give us currency.

Egan

Gee you can see it can't you. You would just love to have his gifts and replace him with Licca's ticker. I am just not sure you can teach ticker and I think MM would think this bloke has currency and maybe worth a trade. Ultimately though you stick with these blokes and hope it turns around bc it could leave you red faced to get rid of them.

J.Cloke/N.Maxwell/H.O'Brien

Three of this type are a luxury and even if Wakes goes they all cannot play. Money would be J.Cloke going and assuming Maxy was overawed. Many would say though that JC is a great finals player bc of the pressure.

Promotion - o'brien

draft picks - 10, 28, 44, 60, 76 (would love to trade for 2 in the 15-35 bracket)

possible trades

Lonie for Akermanis

Licuria for Kelly

egan is not going anywhere,because he has a not so good day hes finished is he:confused:
licuria is not going anywhere either especially to brisbane for aker

but also was a good post mate mostly correct

Egan has to stay. Is doing his job on a more regular basis however sometimes he makes the simplist things look very hard.

Jimmy Gwilt said:
egan is not going anywhere,because he has a not so good day hes finished is he:confused:
licuria is not going anywhere either especially to brisbane for aker

but also was a good post mate mostly correct

Licuria is to slow and old. Sometimes you have to give some players the chop.

Buckley was very disapointing today. The captain should lead from the front.

I will forgive Egan for today's performance. He'll get better. So too will Rusling, who quite frankly is not quite up to it yet and probably should not have been selected.

Our real problems are as follows

1. Paul Licuria - lost it. He's too much of a fantastic clubman to get rid of, but he's definitely on the slide and is a victim of the modern game. I think he may retire at the end of next season

2. Brodie Holland - either injured, lazy, or overrated. Does not do the hard running when the opposition has the ball

3. Shane O'Bree - not our worst today, great in the contests, but a downhill skiier and too often goes missing when the opposition is on a roll. Keep but with an asterisk against his name

4. Scott Burns - only has a year left

5. Nathan Buckley - only has a year or two left

6. Ryan Lonie - has to go. NEVER EVER delivers when the going is hard.

7. Chris Tarrant - CANNOT KICK

10, 28, 44, 60, 76- they're the picks we have atm, subject to change.

Now, lets analyse what we could get for our value at the minute. My scenario is base don picking, as what should always be done, the best possible player at that stage in the draft- irrespective of needs, etc.

Pick 10- Tom Hurley: SA U18 Captain, All Australian. This guy is a little speedster. Some of his decision making can sometimes let him down, as well as his disposal by foot. However, he is very clean and quick on his feet. As with the above comment, it's not a deficiancy, only saying it may let him down occasionally. he is a genuine ball magnet and has a clean set of heels.

Pick 28- Travis Boak: Vic Country U18 rep, AIS-AFL Academy, 184 cm and about 80 kg. His carnival was poor by his standards, btu he came off an interrupted pre and start to the TAC season. Has been injured with OP, but his form since the carnival has been sensational. he is a player who although not genuine break neck speed, is rather pacey, has a great leap and is a terrific mark for his size- strong overhead. Very much a Cameron bruce type- very polished.

Pick 44- James Frawely: Vic Country U18. Plays for the Nth ballarat Rebels, stands at 190-193 cm, is very atheltic and is a run the lines utility who is fantastic at Half Back or on the wing- very versatile. nephew of spud, i have a sneaking suspicion he wont be there come pick 44. Me thinks he will be a definate top 25er. However, the draft is pretty strong and he gets through this late, i say we go for the gold.

Pick 60- Robert Gray: Oakleigh Charger, Vic Metro U18 rep. played 2 of 3 games in carnival and was 'ok' without being freakish, as has been his tac form. Haven't seen many games but his goal kicking has been extrodinairy. A guy like this can easily sneak down this far, and he would be a handy pick up. 180cm and 75 kg, full foward/ foward pocket who has a nice kick, dangerous around goals and is a brilliant over head mark. Very capable of moving midfield if fitness improves.

Pick 79- Pass, go for player in PSD.

Other in consideration- David McKay: Vic Metro u18, will definately be available come pick 30+. Not overlly quick but a sliky smooth midfielder/ wingman. Very good skills and is the class in the midfield we need, ie: james clement up the ground.

johnson_26 said:

Now, lets analyse what we could get for our value at the minute. My scenario is base don picking, as what should always be done, the best possible player at that stage in the draft- irrespective of needs, etc.

Pick 10- Tom Hurley: SA U18 Captain, All Australian. This guy is a little speedster. Some of his decision making can sometimes let him down, as well as his disposal by foot. However, he is very clean and quick on his feet. As with the above comment, it's not a deficiancy, only saying it may let him down occasionally. he is a genuine ball magnet and has a clean set of heels.

Pick 28- Travis Boak: Vic Country U18 rep, AIS-AFL Academy, 184 cm and about 80 kg. His carnival was poor by his standards, btu he came off an interrupted pre and start to the TAC season. Has been injured with OP, but his form since the carnival has been sensational. he is a player who although not genuine break neck speed, is rather pacey, has a great leap and is a terrific mark for his size- strong overhead. Very much a Cameron bruce type- very polished.

Pick 44- James Frawely: Vic Country U18. Plays for the Nth ballarat Rebels, stands at 190-193 cm, is very atheltic and is a run the lines utility who is fantastic at Half Back or on the wing- very versatile. nephew of spud, i have a sneaking suspicion he wont be there come pick 44. Me thinks he will be a definate top 25er. However, the draft is pretty strong and he gets through this late, i say we go for the gold.

Pick 60- Robert Gray: Oakleigh Charger, Vic Metro U18 rep. played 2 of 3 games in carnival and was 'ok' without being freakish, as has been his tac form. Haven't seen many games but his goal kicking has been extrodinairy. A guy like this can easily sneak down this far, and he would be a handy pick up. 180cm and 75 kg, full foward/ foward pocket who has a nice kick, dangerous around goals and is a brilliant over head mark. Very capable of moving midfield if fitness improves.

Other in consideration- David McKay: Vic Metro u18, will definately be available come pick 30+. Not overlly quick but a sliky smooth midfielder/ wingman. Very good skills and is the class in the midfield we need, ie: james clement up the ground.

Well none of that lot inspire me.

Have another crack and this time try for players with far less weaknesses

Snoop Dog said:

Promotion - o'brien

possible trades

Lonie for Akermanis

Licuria for Kelly

Meeson just signed on so wont be going anywhere just yet.

Really love licuria, but time has caught up with him and i think he might retire, there is no way i would get rid of egan as he will improve. We need some quality in the ruck dept also in the middle but we are not alone, we must be very carefull if we trade and who we pick up in the draft.

johnson_26 said:

Nice work J26 but I think we disagree;

I am hoping

#10 - Albert Proud or Reiwoldt
#28 - Kurt Tippett or Eddy/Hurley/Moss
#44 - C.Dawes
#60 - C.Buckley

I think some of what we need will be tall.

Hurley is good but not that good to go Rd 1 I dont think
Boak is good but is like a lot of other mids in this draft - think he could drop lower
Frawley - yeah he or Dawes here for me.
Gray - have not seen as much of him but really like the kid Buckley from SA.

magpies42 said:
trade tarrant for a good pick.
kelly is far better then lonie. come on be realistic

wouldnt be so sure - Lonie played every game in a side that finished 7th. Kelly played about 10 in a side that finished 10th.

Warwick said:
Tarrant for Akermanis and pick 4!! :D :D

Licuria or Lonie for Aker!!:D

Thanks for the laughs!:thumbsu:
Great to see an interest (as always) in the club from other supporters. This is why we are the greatest club on earth.

We can talk about the list all we like but our club doesn’t have the balls to make the calls. We won’t make the calls on the coach and the club favourites. We never do. This list is what Malthouse has built over 7 drafts and trade weeks and it clearly isn’t close to good enough in spite of the fact we have had as many early draft picks as anyone.

We had close to our best side on the park. We finished 7th and we can’t argue we are better than anyone above us. Arguably we aren’t as good as St. Kilda. That would place us 8th and maybe ahead at this point of the teams on the rise but for how long?. Please don’t argue we are one of the teams on the rise. We did move up from 15th but weren’t we 15th because of the injuries? We have Buckley, Burns and Wakelin about to retire in the next year or two. All are past their best even if they stay.

The Dogs showed us up for the soft, slow and poorly skilled list we are and this news is as old as the 2003 grand final.

If all we do is make the easy calls we are doomed to mediocrity. The easy list management options are to retire Wakelin along with Caracella and Morrison who have already gone, delist Walker, Hall & Fanning, promote O’Brien and draft 5 players. We will probably delist or trade C1. We probably have to given how MM uses him. We might feign toughness and retire Burns. That would be wrong and in any event a token effort. With a quicker and better skilled list Burns would be a very handy player off the bench for a year or two. I can live with the club exiting him though if we are to go on a big youth drive and write off the next year or two.

We will get the 10th pick which should get us a quality player. 28 might be handy. We must get more top 20 picks. We must cull from the players who lack the hardness, pace and/or disposal skills to take us to a premiership. In no particular order, Licuria, Lonie, O’Bree, Lockyer, C1 and Rhyce Shaw must be looked at. If we can get trades we have to take them. Richards, Tarrant and Davis should all be on the table. We have to make calls on C2, Davies, Egan, Iacobucci and Rowe and all our rookies.

List management - post mortem?