Lloyd's article in today's Age

• Thread starter Thread starter Verdun

Ok let me talk slowly.

According to this joint the world ended last week. Then an article pops up saying that the Blues have gone past us and people complaining that it's drivel.

You know what it's like.... You can criticize your own, but heaven forbid anyone else does!!

Not 100% on topic but re media positioning just watched an abc news segment that managed to push us down and build up Carlton even though we dominated them........really grinds my gears.

Along the lines of 'recently humiliated against Adelaide st kilda got a spirited win against Carlton who are in great form with 6 wins....'

On loyd - he reminds me of a rabbit frozen in headlights every time he has to use the English language - should stick to grinning and nodding with the occasional grunt - it's got him through a few years of footy classified now.

I have to confess I quite like kings analysis - I know I'll get my coat......

You truly are a valuable member of this forum & continue to add posts of real substance. Keep up the good work plumbs!

In fairness to the poster, have a look at the OP. Pretty accurate observation of how this place has become lately.

At least he doesn't start sook threads about hack journos.

Seriously, who gives a stuff about articles like that?

Typical reactionary crap from the footy media, earlier in the season they reckoned Melbourne's young list was far ahead of ours and then we beat them just like we did twice last year.

The media must get pretty tired from all the bandwagon jumping they do, personally I'm more than happy to be the club that they don't pump up and over hype. I like being the underdogs.

Typical reactionary crap from the footy media, Earlier in the season they reckoned Melbourne's young list was far ahead of ours, and then we beat them just like we did twice last year.

The media must get pretty tired from all the bandwagon jumping they do, personally I'm more than happy to be the club that they don't pump up and over hype. I like being the underdogs.

As I've always said, far too many footy " journos" for one national game.... And all looking to self promote and find a point of difference. Could do without half of them at least.

I just ignore the ones I have no time for... It's all opinion anyway and when half of them spout rubbish without actually knowing the list, or even pronouncing their name properly a la Jack Steven(s), well why waste any angst over them.

Let's keep it on topic and avoid the personal attacks.

I swear a few weeks ago we were happy with some comments that Lloydy made about us but now he's a spud and knows nothing?

Just gotta take the stuff these guys write with a grain of salt. Their opinions change as fast as ours do.

Has anyone read his article .....'The Blues look to have gone past the Saints with a manic intensity in everything they do' and then to finish his article:

'Enough is enough, St Kilda. It's time to improve or be exposed'

Realise people get paid to put in articles but damn it would be good some actual analysis as opposed to this type of drivel...the whole article lays the boot in to the team and Richo and does not talk about the new players ie the re build that is happening.

Spose today was a time to improve, as a supporter I realize we have a long way to go and reckon we are 1 or 2 years off finals but this type of rubbish is annoying.

He does say that the game today is an opportunity to win a game without Roo as a backhander......never rate him as a player and do not rate him as opinion giver!!
Have you ever seen him in footy classified? When the camera gets on him he has the figjam smirk

The guy I really listen to is Jason Dunstall. Very fair, doesn't sugar coat it when he has a criticism. He is constructive in that he offers what they should do, or should have done. But he notices when players do something good (particularly for the team), and he emphasises improvements.

Proper football bloke with a brain. Pity he was at Hawthorn!

Let's keep it on topic and avoid the personal attacks.

I swear a few weeks ago we were happy with some comments that Lloydy made about us but now he's a spud and knows nothing?

Just gotta take the stuff these guys write with a grain of salt. Their opinions change as fast as ours do.
I think it's fair to criticise his inability to put words together.
If you're getting paid to write and make media comment you're not above critique and he's sitting fair and square in the target zone with his monosyllabic grunting. This man is in the entertainment business and he is so far from entertaining its not funny.

Lloyd will be embarrassed to have written this. He is not the worst commentator, not the best either. It was extremely light on analysis but ultimately made the same point we all made, its time to step up. Bolton has the Blues playing as well as they can, but he will need to start a new build. We are along in a build. this means we are likely to be totally hammered by top teams but capable of showing something on the right day. The word is inconsistent. Richo knows this and talks about it. Lloyd knew it and should have talked about the reliance on young players. The Lloyds/kings of the world also do not recognise the reasonable list of mature players and should be able to talk up Steven, Hickey, Membrey, Armitage, Ross, Weller etc as the basis of a solid list. If they want to talk about teams who sometimes underperform, they could start with Sydney, Geelong, WCE and GWS.

Reactionary article to the youngest/least experienced team having 2 shockers against contednders AWAY.

Seriously bad analysis.

It was caro like, it was like a kid wrote it.
Anyway its great for the laughs now. And possibly helped us focus. So thanks loydy.

:)

People on here are far too precious.. God forbid anyone say anything on st kilda.. He was just saying it's time to stop using the excuse they are a young side and judge them on what they're putting out and it's completely true

Where we are now compared to where we were when Richo started are poles apart. Richo continues to improve us , whilst I cannot say the same of Leppa at Brisbane. Whilst lloyd is right about our WCE/ADEL games , his overall analysis was extremely flawed and lacked research and reasoning. I won't hold it against him , as he is paid to "shoot from the lip". Damien Barrett on the other hand , appears to have an intense hatred of our football club , and I am offended by it. His Paddy McCartin comments had me infuriated , and it's all part of a pattern long established by the smug so & so

The guy I really listen to is Jason Dunstall. Very fair, doesn't sugar coat it when he has a criticism. He is constructive in that he offers what they should do, or should have done. But he notices when players do something good (particularly for the team), and he emphasises improvements.

Proper football bloke with a brain. Pity he was at Hawthorn!
Not only that, but he's actually been involved in list management of a somewhat successful side.