Business & Finance Losing your wallet

Lost mine last night. Or rather, I misplaced it. Don't know where it is. Haven't checked under the bed yet.

What does one do when they lose their wallet? Besides much hand-wringing and standing around with hands on hips?

Has anyone else here ever lost their wallet?

Never lost it but i would imagine the first thing i would be doing is calling the bank or going into your bank

Then probally a drive to Vic Roads and sit in there long lines for a ID

Then probally a drive to the shops to buy a wallet aslong as you have your bank cards and ID you can just build from there

Had an incident at this time of year, a few years ago.

Basically i went to the shops, as i start walking in the entrance i felt around my pocket and discovered i had no wallet :eek:. Not knowing where it had fallen out, i retraced my steps and no wallet, i reported it to the center management.

I went home very disappointed, only to discover that i hadn't even left the house with the wallet in the first place :o, i was happy in the end.... but boy did i feel stupid.

I legitimately did drop my wallet a few years ago, i heard something land with a thud... didn't think it was me, but as i left the store i felt my shorts pocket and no wallet. Realizing what had occurred, i thought i had better high tail it back to the spot where i heard the noise. Luckily my wallet was still on the ground :thumbsu:

Are you one of those that puts their wallets in their back pocket (non footy term)?

No, front left pocket always.

I literally just have no idea where it is. I went for a walk last night, maybe it fell out of my pocket.

No money in it, main points of interest are the drivers licence, the bank card, WWC card, and my RSA. Oh, and a Myki.

Few years ago on New Years Eve, a mate of mine dropped his wallet at a packed beach party. It had $300 in it, and when he realised he had dropped it he went psycho. We re-traced out steps, and couldn't find it anywhere.

Then we heard someone repeatedly shouting out his name. We followed the voice, and there was an old Christian lady standing there just yelling out his name, turning around to shout in every direction.
No money was taken either, it was a NYE miracle :p.

So yeah, possibly look for an old lady shouting your name.

Or if that fails, just go ahead and cancel your cards and get some new ones, if you really have no idea where it could be. Call a friend you might have seen lately to see if it is with them? Or has been said, call the council, or even the police to see if one has been dropped in.

Bidding at a local auction was proceeding furiously when the auctioneer suddenly announced, "A gentleman in this room has lost a wallet containing $10,000. If it is returned, he will pay a reward of $2,000." There was a moment's silence, and then from the back of the room came the cry, "Two thousand five hundred!"

Cancelled the card. Getting a new one sent to me within 5-7 working days.

Also, Myki's hold music makes me want to top myself.

Left my wallet on the roof of the car leaving Red Rooster and it fell off somewhere.
Just as I was at home getting ready to call my bank, I get a knock on the door from a guy who had picked it up and decided to return it himself.:thumbsu:

no money in it, main points of interest are the drivers licence, the bank card, wwc card, and my rsa. Oh, and a myki.

and your north melbourne membership young man??????????????

I lost my wallet when I was 16 and it fell out of my pocket on the bus as I was coming home from work. I had not been working long and it had my weekly pay of $86 in it. (It was 1983 !!!).

I did not realise until I got a call from the police the next day and told me it had been handed in. They gave me the name of the girl that handed it in and said she found it on her way home from school, with everything intact. I bought her a box of chocolates and some flowers and my mam drove me round to her house. She was hot, about 15 years old but her dad made feel like I was being a stalker rather than just saying thank you so I left it there !!!!

The next time I was in my 30s and had a wild night out not long after I separated and I lost it, I think in a strip club :o. I never had my credit card in there but I lost my drivers license, money and other stuff. Pain in the arse.

My wife and I found a purse a few months back outside the local shop. It was a foreign student's and her address was on there. We drove around and dropped it off. She was very relieved.

I always compulsively check my wallet is one me every 5-10 mins. Same with my phone. The panic of thinking you have lost it only to find it buried deeper in the pocket is too much to bear

We drove around and dropped it off. She was very relieved.

How good is it when you return it to the person who loses it?

I love their reaction and it's great that somebody doesn't have to go through all the trouble to get it sorted when really lost!

My work college had to take her dog to the vet two nights ago. Put her Wallet and phone on the roof and drove off. (she isn't a blonde...) Anyways realises that she has done it when getting to the vets, scoots home but its not there. She lost her two week pay of about $1300, quite shattered for her she is a nice girl.

Have lost mine twice over the yeares and found someone's once.

First time I figured I left it on a bus mid-arvo, was about 25yo ... rang a friend who worked for Metro buses who gave me name of a depot guy to ring. I rang at 6pm and he tracked the bus and rang another depot and they had found the wallet - all intact inc $50 :thumbsu:

Another time lost at local beach, I think ... but never found so had to ring re cards, licence etc.:(

One I found I returned to lady owner - all cards and licence was there but not a supposed $200 - she accussed me of taking the $ and little thanks at all :thumbsd:

Geez what a bitch.

Why would you take the money, and then return it? What a flog

I said that to her and she thought about it - then said "yea ok thanks"

Some ungrateful shits around. Obviously someone took the cash before you found it, but imagine accusing someone like that?

Lost my wallet when I was a kid, had 70 bucks in it to, which was like a gazillion dollars to me. Never found it :(

Bummer.

Old man left it on the top of the car on the way to QLD. They remember this dude acting suspicious when they were filling up (The old man put the wallet on the roof and forgot about it), and mum paid and we drove off.

Got 500m down the road, returned but the wallet was gone. Looked up the whole stretch of road for hours, but came to the conclusion the dude saw it fall and pocketed the travel money. $700 gone due to my moron father. He's done it a few times.