mic59

Port Adelaide
Blyth Spartans, Dallas Cowboys
Just been reading a thread entitled "Why is it that South Aussies do not want to play for Adelaide?" Most of the opinions seem to be pretty negative and linger on why Adelaide put so much effort into getting Carey and not Pavlich or other South Aussies from interstate. Wel, that is all ancient history now and what should be looked at is what you have and not what you don't.
Which brings me to what I was writing about. I hope Gary Ayres and his cohorts realise what a champ they have in Luke Jericho. His 6-goal game against Norwood was not just worth the score but the confidence he gave in being kicked to. The West Adelaide players knew they would get the next kick when the ball was sent in his direction. And it wasn't just against West but the previous game against South that he dominated. His stats were not as good because he took a half to get into the swing of things but your first game in a new league will do that. Normally you would want to let him serve an apprenticeship in the SANFL before exposing him to the AFL but I reckon he's better than most of Adelaides' forward line. He's certainly a better marking option than Carey and he has the strength and spring needed.
Interestingly, Ports' champion who got an early start because of injuries and loss of form, Nick Stevens, also played for West Adelaide.

Jezza was great today. I thought he cruised through first 2 and a half quarters before he went nuts and kicked a couple of quick goals to bring Westies back in the game. I still think he is very raw and makes some rookie mistakes as is expected from a kid playing his 3rd SANFL game. He is still a bit skinny but he has the mobility and pace so he can avoid getting caught into a wresling match. I would still like to hold him back for a little while longer. I have watched this lad in 4 games now and he has impressed me in each and every one of them.

Jezza, Watts and hopefully Krueger will gives us plenty of strong marking goal kickers for years to come :D

Caught the last quarter of the Westies v Norwood game on TV & took great delight from what I saw from Jericho. If he continues this form, it won't be long before we see him in Crows colours.

Been telling you about Jericho since last September. He's a gun.

Ex team-mate of Cooney, Waters, Schammer, Tim Schmidt. Go the Bloods.

Originally posted by Kane McGoodwin
If he continues this form, it won't be long before we see him in Crows colours.

Yeah, about one week...

Originally posted by redandblack
Been telling you about Jericho since last September. He's a gun.

Ex team-mate of Cooney, Waters, Schammer, Tim Schmidt. Go the Bloods.
Just the person who can help me. This Chadwick kid, how old is he and where does he come from??????

This kid has real talent. Still a bit raw, but he has great pace and agility, a good leap and a strong kick.

He can play forward , back or a wing if need be.

A few of the boys in the team to play Freo should be looking over their shoulders. :)

Originally posted by Stiffy_18
This Chadwick kid, how old is he and where does he come from??????

He'd either be an old 19/young 20 year old and attended Rostrevor College.

Stiffy, Tom Chadwick is 20, about 175 cms. He's a crumbing forward, with immaculate skills. If he gets a sight of goals, he won't miss. Probably not quick enough, though. I think Bresh is right, Tom's brother Sam plays for Rostrevor OC's.

Originally posted by redandblack
Stiffy, Tom Chadwick is 20, about 175 cms. He's a crumbing forward, with immaculate skills. If he gets a sight of goals, he won't miss. Probably not quick enough, though. I think Bresh is right, Tom's brother Sam plays for Rostrevor OC's.
Thanks mate. ;)

I saw him for the first time yesterday and he looked like a neat player. He does lack a bit of pace and a bit of penetration in his kick but he looked the likely type. Neat player.

I don't know If I agree with you Yob, sorry!

I think after watching Jez play yesterday he definately deserves to be playing in the side. He is a MAGICIAN! (sorry Macca). It seemed everything he touched turned to gold!

He simply MUST be played next week. We have nothing to lose in playing him and he will only be better for the experience. Surely he should be in the side as a reward for playing so well in the SANFL. He doesnt have to play even a half- just give him a go. The guys on 5AA were saying that they don't think hes ready for the AFL- well the only way we will find out if thats true is if they play him.

To get AFL experience you need to actually be playing AFL football.

OK lets not get carried away with Jezza's great game yesterday.

The kid is still awfully raw and is not AFL ready IMHO. He played well against South and was fantastic against Norwood BUT 2 good games don't earn you a game. Let him find his feet at SANFL level before giving him an AFL game. I would let him play a month of footy at SANFL and if he continues his good form then play him.

Having said that I reckon he is a certainty to get a gig against St. Kilda. OUr forward line is so bad, we can't get any worse by playing all the kids up there.

Biglands is gone, Goody won't be playing for a month at least and Massie was holding his jaw late in the 4th. Maybe he is out as well.

Bode has to come in now especially since Goody is injured. Hart should be back and Torney deserves a go. We need some structure. We don't have any ATM.

Originally posted by Stiffy_18

We need some structure. We don't have any ATM.

Spot on Stiffy!!

Our effort today was excellent.

Our skill level was deplorable and the way we were set-up with Kenny at CHF and Carey still the focus up forward defies logic.

What depths will Ayres drag us to before he admits he hasn't got the structure right?? :rolleyes:

Originally posted by macca23
Spot on Stiffy!!

Our effort today was excellent.

Our skill level was deplorable and the way we were set-up with Kenny at CHF and Carey still the focus up forward defies logic.

What depths will Ayres drag us to before he admits he hasn't got the structure right?? :rolleyes:
I think its obvious to a blind freddy that Kenny has to play in defence next week. Biglands will not be around and we will have to cover the likes of Gherig, Reiwoldt, Hamill and Kosi.

Perrie s out of form but I think we need him desperatly at CHF. Welshy neeeds to pull his finger out or give him a couple of games in SANFL to send him the message.

Our structure is deplorable ATM. Skills awful and goal kicking is non existant.