Malthouse

• Thread starter Thread starter domus

Micks family was disappointed he stopped coaching??? CRAP!!!..a relo of mine just married Troy Malthouse his son (mad magpie supporter) at one BBQ he told me stories about his dad and felt sorry for players that weren't on his XMAS card list..but the interesting point is that his entire family WANTED him to give up coaching because they were worried about his health SO MM comes out and joins the media stating family is so important to him he can't wait to have more time to spend with his wife, kids and grand kids LIAR..LIAR after speaking to Troy I started to see through his rubbish..this week is not about him he says.. SO..HE DOES HEAPS OF MEDIA and uses that to cry and turn his back on eddie handing out the olive branch PISS OFF MICK
Yeah I remember hearing that somewhere as well.

Why do you guys care so much?

If MM out and Buckley in was the right decision, what's to complain about.
For me, the dishonesty and the disloyalty.

However, I think he's a great coach and he really was good for the club prior to 2011. And I think people paying out on him, for not obtaining a premiership in his 9 years or whatever is bullshit.

Why do you guys care so much?

If MM out and Buckley in was the right decision, what's to complain about.
Have you ever been betrayed by a best mate or cheated on by a lover??

That's what it feels like dammit...

Not sure why you are mentioning Buckley. I have no beef with him. My main criticism is Eddie is putting his ego before the best interests of the club. Replacing a proven premiership coach with an untried assistant coach with no prior head coaching experience to take charge of a team smack bang in the middle of a premiership window is not in the best interests of the club IN MY OPINION.

So you are saying Eddie put his ego before the clubs needs? And mick was just thinking about the welfare of the club and dont have any ego issues himself?
This is after he said that he had signed the contract and wouldn't have done so if he had issues with it? Did u even read the article I quoted?

Have you ever been betrayed by a best mate or cheated on by a lover??

That's what it feels like dammit...
LOL, ease up. Mick's just annoying, you're making it sound like he gave your kid cancer.

Haha, was being dramatic, did you have to kill it so ruthlessly? What are u drama police???

Hope you guys smack the living suitcases out of Malthouse & the Blues this week.

Sick of his self indulgent crap over the years, he thinks he's the Yoda of Footy. Also the way he treated Milne over the years was dispicable and really let down your club.

S'House has got the ego the size of Mt Everest. The Tigers resurrected his flagging career in the 70's and he went on to play in a Flag, and he's never been back to Punt Rd or even acknowledged RFC since he left in 1983...now that's arrogance :thumbsdown: It really is all about Mick.

The way Mick has reacted to this whole scenario is making me think he still wants to be a part of Collingwood.

Yep thats right I said it the coach of Carlton is acting as if he would rather be the coach of Collingwood.

Not sure why you are mentioning Buckley. I have no beef with him. My main criticism is Eddie is putting his ego before the best interests of the club. Replacing a proven premiership coach with an untried assistant coach with no prior head coaching experience to take charge of a team smack bang in the middle of a premiership window is not in the best interests of the club IN MY OPINION.
And yet, without the benefit of any facts to support your assertion that Eddie acted alone and unprofessionally, you're happy to pot him and suggest some man-love theory which only opposition supporters would believe. You are entitled to your opinion but it certainly looks to me to be straight out of the pages of the Herald Sun or from the mouth of Caroline Wilson. Most of us would view what we read with a little more scepticism before swallowing it whole.

The reality is that replacing Mick has already resulted in a premiership whether directly or not. Had Mick been sacked for his failures as many believed he should have been at the end of 2009 we would not even be having the conversation. That he was given an opportunity to exit with grace and provided with the means by the additions of Bucks as an assistant, and Jolly and Ball to bolster the playing depth is a testament to the club's integrity in stark contrast to the self absorbed petulance we have seen from him since he chose to renege on the contract which by his own words he would not have signed were he unhappy with it.

The man has no integrity, no class, no honour, no grace, is happy to distort the truth for his own self justification, and worst of all, he is the coach of Carlton. Enough said!

There's been a lot of opinion exhibited in these pages, but the notion that the club came up with the "succession plan" merely to get Buckley in the coaching position, is one of those urban legends that is not only wrong but can be proved to be wrong. To state the obvious, the plan wasn't put into place after the premiership but in July 2009. The football side wasn't travelling that well.

In the 2007 season, we had lost to Geelong twice and to the only time that we played Hawthorn.
In the 2008 season, we had a great win against Geelong but had been crushed twice by Hawthorn, although we had a couple of good wins against St. Kilda.
In the 2009 season, we lost our only games to Geelong and Hawthorn.

It should also be noted that the decision on the plan was evidently made in July 2009, which was a month or so after successive massive losses to St. Kilda and Carlton.

All in all, by mid 2009 it looked like Hawthorn practically "owned" us. The Clarko cluster was running rings around Malthouse's stubborn adherence to man-on-man. It wasn't much better with Geelong. We had a night out with them in 2008 when everything went right, but most of the time, all we could manage were honourable losses.

It looked to me and to many people that the next wave of coaches had won out over Malthouse's commitment to traditional defensive football. Clarko, Woosha and Roos coached premiership sides and guys like Malthouse, Sheeds and Pagan were either gone or halfway out the door.

To me, the succession plan offered a number of things:

- it gave Malthouse a 2 year window to get his premiership with the players that come into the club after grand final losses in 2002/3.
- it provided surety to Buckley
- it kept the wolf pack at bay because they were howling for Malthouse's blood
- it gave a commitment to Malthouse that the club would back him 100% for the next 2 years
- it gave Malthouse a gracious way to slide into retirement in his new coaching role.

I suspect that when Eddie explained the plan to Malthouse, all Malthouse heard was that the club would give him 2 more years. At that stage, he had been coaching for 17 years without a premiership......yes his last premiership had been 17 years earlier with West Coast. Patience was wearing out around the club and he knew it. He signed on the dotted line and probably thought to himself that if he won the premiership, the club would be likely to tear the agreement apart.

As far as the second issue is concerned, Malthouse's role after the succession was never defined because he could never agree to anything. If you look at Rodney Eade now, there is NO way that Malthouse would take a back seat to another coach like that. He might call himself a "team man" but the team has to be his team or he's going to grab the ball and go home.

Just a final word about today's claim by Malthouse that the club's actions hurt his family....... well I almost choked on my brekky. It was Malthouse who told the media before his decision to return to Carlton, that it was HIS decision and his decision alone about whether he would come back to coaching. Talk about a long suffering wife. I would also like to remind the Malthouse family that they haven't been living on the poor side of town for the last decade. Malthouse should remember that when he is shooting arrows at the club, he is shooting them also at the 70,000 people who pay memberships and at the hundreds of people who work as volunteers for the club.

This is a brilliant chronological narrative.

Never read better.

In fact...

I'm a li'l smarter for having read it.

THe one thing that I think we can agree on is that Buckley has handled himself beautifully.

All the hysterics are coming from Malthouse and Eddie really.

Buckley just sits back and says "I admire Mick".

Even whilst he was assistant to Mick and Mick basically had him running his errands instead of coaching...Bucks still just sat there and waited patiently.

He is a smart man Bucks.

My only concern with the whole situation is that Mick seemingly had the players...and I'm not convinced Bucks has them to the same extent. There was no doubt some tension when Mick left and Bucks stepped in. The players were clearly loyal to Mick.

But I still think Eddie was right to secure Buckley when he did and I think the succession plan was sound in principal. The only problem was that Mick was never serious about it. Buckley clearly held up his end of the bargain. I think slowly, the players are coming around and Buckley is now showing more and more ownership of the team.

A real quality post by Markfs and it should be given to all AFL fans to read. In the end, those are the facts. The rest is hyperbole.

In my opinion, the succession plan actually worked. We won a premiership the following year! Mick made some really important changes to the team including dropping some of his favourites in O'Bree, Licca, Fraser etc. He changed the game plan.

I think the realisation that his coaching days were numbered acted as incentive for him to finally get it right. He made tough calls and was very innovative in the way he structured the team. I think he was in cruise control for too long.

This is a brilliant chronological narrative.

Never read better.

In fact...

I'm a li'l smarter for having read it.

Well it's all due to my long history of aiming for the truth and seeking out wisdom. In many ways, I think I'm a little bit special when it comes to distilling the important points of chronological lists of facts into a compelling narrative that extracts some of the basic elements of how we should live on this planet. In this critique on Malthouse, I have used and refined many of the key elements from the great philosophers including Rousseau, Kant and Brad Hardie. But it's the way that I have refined their theories into a distinctly modern discourse that makes me special. I'm pleased that you have used the word "brilliance" in your description. Sometimes I feel inclined to use this word to describe my overall contribution to BF...but then I realise that I do so much more...

btw I was going to thank you for the compliment but then I realised that I deserved your praise but I will thank MM for his support and guidance ..

Perfectly said. As coach of Carlton Malthouse can go jump off the Westgate Bridge for all I care, however as coach of Collingwood who were at the top of their game on and off the field it was a totally unnecessary change and bordered on vandalism by the administration, notably Eddie McGuire. Who in their right mind moves on the widely accepted best coach in the AFL to bring in an untried assistant? Who the hell cares about some stupid contract signed years before, its not as if we havnt sacked someone who has been under contract before so all this garbage about honouring contracts is just that - garbage.

The excuses and stories on here relating to how it was a good thing are throw up worthy.

There's a lot of people here saying "why are worrying about this Malthouse thing" .... or similar words.

I dont want to speak for others but I think the majority of us, except for Peter, couldnt care less about Malthouse now. What we do care about is the integrity of the club. I can proudly say that, as far as I know, we have never cheated salary caps like Carlton to win premierships. We haven't been given extra money to pay our players like Sydney have. We haven't been allowed special contracts like Carlton has to recruit Judd. We might have more money than some clubs, we have got that money fairly and squarely.

I think we all get pissed off when opposition supporters accuse the club of having an easy draw because we don't travel as often as other clubs. It's not that we're worried about the opinions of opposition supporters, it's that we are committed to winning the premiership fair and square. We don't want any Wayne Harmes moments to spoil our memories.

Regarding the Malthouse matter, I think most of us want to see Eddie acting ethically and honestly. The fact is, he could have sacked Malthouse in 2009. The numbers certainly supported Eddie giving him the arse. However, I think Eddie felt that Malthouse deserved a chance to win a flag with the new group of players coming through.

The question then is whether Eddie should have torn up the agreement in 2012. Some have said that he owed Buckley nothing, and that's probably true. Promises are broken all the time in sport and business because of changing circumstances.

Did he has a responsibility to break the promise to retain a premiership coach or did he have a responsibility to keep his promise and enforce an agreement that everyone knew about? Some people will choose the first. That's their choice. But for me, I can say that I am happy that the President of the club that I support chose to keep his promise. As a personal thing, I can say that I am a proud Collingwood supporter and, overall, Eddie's behaviour and decision-making over the last decade has only enhanced that pride. I firmly believe that he makes decisions based on the welfare of the club. If others think differently, then that's their choice. You can make your objections heard at the next election.