Malthouse

• Thread starter Thread starter domus

I was on the fence with the Malthouse Saga, but now he can get stuffed if the reports at todays Peter Mac Cup Breakfast is true,, it dosent cost anything to be civil Mick its not game day yet, I fully understand if you did this on Sunday but today at a charity breakfast, cmon mate thats not cool you had your ex captain of your premiership side sitting there and a loyal club servant who bled for you now coach of CFC, and you couldnt even be diplomatic after the press conferance, this whole saga couldve and shouldve been finished today by being just a touch civil afterwards.
Hey Mick news flash for you buddy everyone gets the arse sooner than later be it in the workforce or sport, oh wait are you special and believe untouchable, I tell ya if you were under Kenetts mantra you wouldve been shafted years ago from the club IMO you were lucky to survive that long and you have Eddie and Perty to thank for that otherwise you wouldve been another Bitter Robert Walls, oh wait your turning into him now..... Get Stuffed Mick

Enforcer

It's true. You will find his name.

pR0yygM.png

I assumed this would be a photoshop - but just looked it up and sure enough, there it is, haha!

Well, maybe a little birdy did it. :rolleyes:

I'm not a Malthouse hater, but Robbo made a good point on 360 that I agree completely with. Buckley gave 100% for Malthouse his entire career, he did everything he was asked to on the field and more, he did everything he was asked to as an assisstant coach and more, he doesn't deserve to be treated with the contempt Mick is giving him right now. Buckley did nothing wrong by Mick and it's extremely disappointing to see him being treated the way he is.

I was on the fence with the Malthouse Saga, but now he can get stuffed if the reports at todays Peter Mac Cup Breakfast is true,,

What did they say he did?

I'll tell you all what an former co-worker of mine told me some time in the mid 90s when Malthouse was coaching the Eagles. She told me she had worked in a bank with Mick years before then when he was playing with St Kilda, and said he was one of the most arrogant people she'd ever met. She said that when working as a teller he'd ask customers if they knew who he was and if they didn't he get annoyed or was seemingly in disbelief.

Pretty much sums him up I guess. Career success has obviously only made him worse when age should mature someone like that. I guess we all knew what he was like all along but stood by him as he was our coach and he represented us. Now after standing by him all that time he's turned his back on us and we feel the same as everyone else in footy does about him.

I just don't think the guy knows what "amicability" or "being the bigger person" is all about.

what an arrogant bitter old fool //the way he treated Bucks at the Peter Mac breakfast was appalling ..i am glad the media were all over it..he made an absolute prick of himself on National tv

Perfectly said. As coach of Carlton Malthouse can go jump off the Westgate Bridge for all I care, however as coach of Collingwood who were at the top of their game on and off the field it was a totally unnecessary change and bordered on vandalism by the administration, notably Eddie McGuire. Who in their right mind moves on the widely accepted best coach in the AFL to bring in an untried assistant? Who the hell cares about some stupid contract signed years before, its not as if we havnt sacked someone who has been under contract before so all this garbage about honouring contracts is just that - garbage.

The excuses and stories on here relating to how it was a good thing are throw up worthy.
Nicely put but unfortunately the hole in your theory is that the move was made in 2009 when Mick was seen as anything but a great coach. Most of the football media was baying for his blood as were a significant number of members and supporters. Not many clubs give a coach 9 unsuccessful years without moving them on. To suggest that Mick was "widely accepted" as the best coach in the league is again swallowing whole what the media puts about. When you win a premiership you are touted as the best when only months before you're clearly past it and months later you're a one trick pony.

Mick achieved good things at Collingwood for sure but a single premiership in 17 years whilst head coach of two of the best resourced and richest clubs in the competition is hardly startling success. I agree with the majority here that the succession plan was in theory a stroke of genius which came to grief only through the lack of integrity of one man. Had he honoured the contract which he has publicly acknowledged that he was happy with and that he was not forced to sign then IMO it's not out of the realms of possibility that we would be sitting here discussing our fantastic threepeat and speculating on whether we can equal our own record of 4 in a row in 2013. The only vandalism that I've seen was perpetrated by our former coach and what is more vomitworthy to most of us is how anyone can so completely swallow the tabloid line.

A bitter and vindictive old man who sabotaged his own back to back chances through an ego trip, now blaming the club that stood by him for years when the rest of the football world had written him off.

Over him and the media fertilizer and the moronic sheep who swallow it hook, line and sinker.

I just don't see how Buckley gets dragged into this. The battle is really between Mick and Eddie.

As alluded to above, Bucks played under Mick as a player and served under him as an assistant coach.

In 2009, he was looking for a coaching job. I reckon North Melbourne were pretty keen, and a few others would've been as well. He could've earned top dollar at any club because everyone knows he is a smart football man and one of the most disciplined leaders in the history of the game.

But he accepted the job under Malthouse and made an agreement to assume the job in 2012. He did everything asked of him. When Malthouse's term ended, he was given what was agreed.

It was Eddie's plan and Mick signed onto it.

I don't care what emotional state he was in at the time or what difficulties he was experiencing in his life. Eddie had a business to run. In fact, Malthouse's health and wellbeing must've been a concern at the time and even more reason to want to move him on. But Eddie gave Mick another 2 years.

In fact, the succession plan delivered Malthouse a premiership that he would not have won if he had been given the sack a year earlier. So Mick got what he wanted out of it too.

When all is said and done, there was only one person who broke his word. And that was Malthouse. He signed an agreement and renegged.

He should be very thankful that Collingwood did not sue him for breach of contract and let him walk. Eddie could've legally ensured that Mick could not walk to any other club by holding him to his contract...or sueing him for the cost of having to employ Rodney Eade in his place.

I'm not a Malthouse hater, but Robbo made a good point on 360 that I agree completely with. Buckley gave 100% for Malthouse his entire career, he did everything he was asked to on the field and more, he did everything he was asked to as an assisstant coach and more, he doesn't deserve to be treated with the contempt Mick is giving him right now. Buckley did nothing wrong by Mick and it's extremely disappointing to see him being treated the way he is.
Mate a very good and fair post,most people who read your posts before know you were a Mick supporter and fair enough.The more I see of MM and Buckley in action the more L think the club made the right decision re MM,Malthouse I think is still so bitter over the decision that he does not realised the damage which is being done to his reputation by his behaviour.

I think it is getting increasingly harder to defend Mick over his behaviour as regards Bucks which is in stark contrast to Buckley own behaviour.

I don't post very often as you can see. The key issue to me, and the fact ignored by or forgotten by Malthouse supporters, is that in early-mid 2009 Christy Malthouse, on her television channel (10?), as an AFL reporter, during her show segment, said something along the lines "Dad's going to have to retire soon; he is unwell (stressed?)". If you remember gameday shots of Mick in the coaches' box, his face often was full of anguish, pain and despair, he looked like he was about to cry, he would erupt in shouting etc. I understood then where Christy was coming from as I, in a smaller and different way, had gone through stress-filled work years (which caused me to retire prematurely) and I could see massive stress writ large on Mick's face.

Now, any competent Company Board, faced with the issue of a looming breakdown or loss of a very senior executive (Mick was equivalent of a Chief Operating Officer, say) HAS to implement rapidly a succession plan. The ideal approach is one where the retiring person acts in an advisory role for some period to his replacement. Not taking such a step is gross delinquency by the Board. Imagine where the Pies would be now if Mick had quit overnight due to ill-health late in 2009. The succession plan seemed to be ideal, certainly in the corporate world. Mick's own manager (Peter Sidwell) has never denied the truth of the repeated public statements by Eddie that the 2 of them had grave concerns for Mick's health at that time. He has recently said that all that happened is on the public record - no mention of any supposed lies from Eddie.

This is apart from the fact that Mick was under enormous scrutiny then (undoubtedly contributing to his health issues) due to his lack of success. There were very strong rumours in the media back as far as 2005 or 2006 that he was under the pump from elements on the Board, but Eddie stuck fast. He had more years than most without the ultimate success; then was given 2 more, along with enhanced support and a successor.

Consider this - implementing a succession plan allowed Mick the chance to regain his balance and energies and thus the opportunity to win the 2010 Flag. And by the way, won off manic forward pressure with the forward line coach being one Buckley.

Looking at the events of 2009 through the prism of 2010 and 2011 is meaningless.

Collingwood and Buckley both demonstrated long-term loyalty and support to Mick. It's a shame it's not been reciprocated.

I don't post very often as you can see. The key issue to me, and the fact ignored by or forgotten by Malthouse supporters, is that in early-mid 2009 Christy Malthouse, on her television channel (10?), as an AFL reporter, during her show segment, said something along the lines "Dad's going to have to retire soon; he is unwell (stressed?)". If you remember gameday shots of Mick in the coaches' box, his face often was full of anguish, pain and despair, he looked like he was about to cry, he would erupt in shouting etc. I understood then where Christy was coming from as I, in a smaller and different way, had gone through stress-filled work years (which caused me to retire prematurely) and I could see massive stress writ large on Mick's face.

Now, any competent Company Board, faced with the issue of a looming breakdown or loss of a very senior executive (Mick was equivalent of a Chief Operating Officer, say) HAS to implement rapidly a succession plan. The ideal approach is one where the retiring person acts in an advisory role for some period to his replacement. Not taking such a step is gross delinquency by the Board. Imagine where the Pies would be now if Mick had quit overnight due to ill-health late in 2009. The succession plan seemed to be ideal, certainly in the corporate world. Mick's own manager (Peter Sidwell) has never denied the truth of the repeated public statements by Eddie that the 2 of them had grave concerns for Mick's health at that time. He has recently said that all that happened is on the public record - no mention of any supposed lies from Eddie.

This is apart from the fact that Mick was under enormous scrutiny then (undoubtedly contributing to his health issues) due to his lack of success. There were very strong rumours in the media back as far as 2005 or 2006 that he was under the pump from elements on the Board, but Eddie stuck fast. He had more years than most without the ultimate success; then was given 2 more, along with enhanced support and a successor.

Consider this - implementing a succession plan allowed Mick the chance to regain his balance and energies and thus the opportunity to win the 2010 Flag. And by the way, won off manic forward pressure with the forward line coach being one Buckley.

Looking at the events of 2009 through the prism of 2010 and 2011 is meaningless.

Collingwood and Buckley both demonstrated long-term loyalty and support to Mick. It's a shame it's not been reciprocated.

In other words he's too old. Carlton will be facing that reality in the coming season or two. They have recruited Malthouse with instant results in mind. When they dont get that they will have a massive dilemma.

Did I miss something? Didn't seem to be much wrong with the handshake o_O

No eye contact, insult.
The straightened arm when shaking, creating distance between you & the person. Insult, disdain....etc

Now I'm of to shake hands with the unemployed.

Did you see Malthouse's "handshake" with Bucks? My contempt for the man keeps reaching new heights.

I repeat.

He is a vile, conniving, scumbaggy, dishonest, hypocritical, bitter, twisted, evil jerk off of a man.

The only silver lining/glaff half full approach I can take to Mick, is that maybe he's still bitter because deep down, he still loves Collingwood and wishes he was coaching us.

So I want our players on Sunday to show him what he's missing. I want our players to send a message to him and remind him that he could have still been taking credit for this side had he stayed.

The way he disrespected Buckley yesterday was deplorable and immature.

I was a huge MM fan at his time at the helm of the Pies. I was also a fan of the succession plan. I'm also a Bucks fan.
One thing that MM did was to get the best effort from the playing list he had. However in 2011 he along with late season injuries helped derail the premiership tilt. (Not forgetting the effort of the Cats).
He lost me when he went on the Footy Show, but he had an opportunity at the end of 2011 to show gratitude to the club that had supported him for such a long time.
MM, with the help of Bucks (words can't describe how impressive he's been), is managing to erode the public belief that the Pies made a mistake getting rid of him. He embraced the "How could the Pies get rid of such a great coach" and played the victim card. However he's now played it to such an extent that people are seeing his failings as a human being in its full glory. He could have been a hero of the Collingwood Football Club for eternity but he, and he alone, is eroding his own legacy.
MM might want to look up the following condition:
Narcissistic personality disorder (NPD) is a personality disorder[1] in which the individual is described as being excessively preoccupied with issues of personal adequacy, power, prestige and vanity. This condition affects one percent of the population.

Whatever the motivations behind the succession plan (keeping Bucks, Mick's alleged poor health, etc), I find it ridiculous that has the gall to play the victim here after he walked out on us, breaking a contract he never had to sign in the first place. If anyone should feel shafted it's the Pies, and not Mick Malthouse!
Exactly,

MM was offered a squillion dollar contract to create his own position, I'd hate to have that option:)

I would like to Thank Mick the Prick for this week, maybe he is still helping us out after all
He has generated so much media and public interest this week by his behaviour, the game will be a sell out and atleast a 1 million dollar profit from the game to our club so thank you very much Mick keep up the good work;)

There's a lot of people here saying "why are worrying about this Malthouse thing" .... or similar words.

I dont want to speak for others but I think the majority of us, except for Peter, couldnt care less about Malthouse now. What we do care about is the integrity of the club. I can proudly say that, as far as I know, we have never cheated salary caps like Carlton to win premierships. We haven't been given extra money to pay our players like Sydney have. We haven't been allowed special contracts like Carlton has to recruit Judd. We might have more money than some clubs, we have got that money fairly and squarely.

I think we all get pissed off when opposition supporters accuse the club of having an easy draw because we don't travel as often as other clubs. It's not that we're worried about the opinions of opposition supporters, it's that we are committed to winning the premiership fair and square. We don't want any Wayne Harmes moments to spoil our memories.

Regarding the Malthouse matter, I think most of us want to see Eddie acting ethically and honestly. The fact is, he could have sacked Malthouse in 2009. The numbers certainly supported Eddie giving him the arse. However, I think Eddie felt that Malthouse deserved a chance to win a flag with the new group of players coming through.

The question then is whether Eddie should have torn up the agreement in 2012. Some have said that he owed Buckley nothing, and that's probably true. Promises are broken all the time in sport and business because of changing circumstances.

Did he has a responsibility to break the promise to retain a premiership coach or did he have a responsibility to keep his promise and enforce an agreement that everyone knew about? Some people will choose the first. That's their choice. But for me, I can say that I am happy that the President of the club that I support chose to keep his promise. As a personal thing, I can say that I am a proud Collingwood supporter and, overall, Eddie's behaviour and decision-making over the last decade has only enhanced that pride. I firmly believe that he makes decisions based on the welfare of the club. If others think differently, then that's their choice. You can make your objections heard at the next election.
The bolded point explains exactly why Eddie made the right decision to follow along the succession plan. Is it ethical to go to bucks and say, you know what? I change my mind, Malthouse is going to still be coaching.

IMO I'm glad with Eddie's decision and have no problems with the way he's presented himself in this situation.