Malthouse

• Thread starter Thread starter domus

My opinion about MM has been made before the deal was made so no need to go into it again but one thing I would like for those of us that are going to the game do not react to him by booing. This should be beneath us all. Reason I say this is that I met a magpie supporter who said he was going to boo him. Feel that is not right and would reflect worse on us than MM. So I say lets go on Sunday and cheer loudly for our team and give it to the Blues and not MM.

Fast losing respect for MM. The photo in the press today (handshake with Buckley) says it all. He couldn't/wouldn't even look him in the eye.
Kudos to Nathan for his maturity and professionalism.
Roll on Sunday!

I was a little surprised by this quote;

The performance was a shambles, and Ratten bristled when asked post-match if he was worried about its ramifications.

"What do you reckon, mate?" he barked at the journalist.

As he spoke, club heavies were holding crisis talks in the toilets at Metricon Stadium.

Now, I know it's nothing unusual for Carltank backers to get heavy in the toilets, but you'd think their facilities would have moved forward with white-collar criminals pumping money into the club all this time?

Did I miss something? Didn't seem to be much wrong with the handshake o_O

341776-nathan-buckley.jpg

You consider nothing wrong with that? It's very disrespectful to the other person of you don't look at them.

I love how Bucks even after what MM has done, still respects him.

You consider nothing wrong with that? It's very disrespectful to the other person of you don't look at them.

It's not just the eye contact. Mick has straightened his arm, creating distance & the rest of his body is "holding back".

It's the classic "I'm being forced to shake hands so I'll show complete contempt while doing it" handshake. I know it's how I did it many times when I was a kid & mum or a teacher made me apologise & I didn't want to.

Add the fact that it lasted all of 0.5 of a second and Malthouse turned his body away almost at the same time he shook hands. Bucks should have hung on and fractured a few fingers.

Also Buckley asked Mick if he had coached for 29 years? To which he answered up until 7 seconds after the question was asked.I mean ****ing really? Has to be that stubborn to someone who's done nothing to him.

Have you ever been ... cheated on by a lover??

That's what it feels like dammit...

Um, OK, so you're suggesting what we did to Mick is kind of like saying to a lover ..

"Look honey, I love you, I really do, but I'm worried about your health and stress levels, so how about you remain my lover for the next two years and during that time you supervise your younger replacement which I've hand-picked already. Then after the two years is up, you stick around for another three years to make sure your replacement lover does a good job. Don't worry, I'll pay you heaps. Whaddaya reckon?"

Gee, little wonder Mick is so bitter and twisted!!!

My opinion about MM has been made before the deal was made so no need to go into it again but one thing I would like for those of us that are going to the game do not react to him by booing. This should be beneath us all. Reason I say this is that I met a magpie supporter who said he was going to boo him. Feel that is not right and would reflect worse on us than MM. So I say lets go on Sunday and cheer loudly for our team and give it to the Blues and not MM.

Great call. I hope many read this post.

I have absolutely no respect for MM but as supporters and representatives of Collingwood we need to follow Buckleys example and show that we can rise above his childish, selfish behaviour.

If the Collingwood crowd boos MM we let down Eddie, Buckley and the whole club who have at all times tried to show respect.

If the Collingwood fans show dignity, it will just further magnify MM for what he is.

Cheering and banners of support for Buckley are a far better way to express feelings.

Rise above it Pies.

East to get swept in the drama.

I still like Mick. Who cares if he has moved on to Carlton, he shouldnt withhold coaching another club to please collingwood supporters or anyone else for that fact. if its his passion to do so , then good on him. He did a lot for the collingwood club , its petty and childish to look past 12 years of service and side with Eddie over a petty inhouse feud where Eddie is probably more at fault than Malthouse is. Everyday life you leave jobs to better yourself. No different here.

One shining light is Bucks and his proffesionalism, this bloke is without a doubt a champion, chuffed to have him as our coach now.

Add the fact that it lasted all of 0.5 of a second and Malthouse turned his body away almost at the same time he shook hands. Bucks should have hung on and fractured a few fingers.

So you're suggesting it should have been more like this ...

He did a lot for the collingwood club , its petty and childish to look past 12 years of service and side with Eddie over a petty inhouse feud where Eddie is probably more at fault than Malthouse is.
You lost me when you said this. Why is Eddie more at fault? Ed has done a shitload more for Collingwood, on a voluntary basis, from age 30-odd, than Mick has on primo moolah.

Its an inhouse feud that shouldnt have been put in the public spotlight, both are guilty of it. Its childish to play the card that Eddie is a saint and Mick is the only one in fault. Its not a peeing contest to see who has done more for the club , which gives them the right to do and say what they want. Old footy cliche no person is bigger than the club , both seem to think they were during the pathetic arguing in the media in 2012, which has dribbled into this year.

As i mentioned , Bucks has shown nothing but class in all of this , both eddie and mick should be taking notes from him.

Its childish to play the card that Eddie is a saint and Mick is the only one in fault.
Granted, but you've still provided no basis for your comment that Eddie is "probably more at fault" than Mick. Would like to hear what led you to that conclusion.

Eddie is still at Collingwood. Malthouse is not. Eddie shouldnt put his own personal conflicts ahead of the collingwood football club. It doesnt matter whether malthouse does that as he is not associated with us anymore.

Sure defend the club , but when it becomes personal , take it behind close doors. Its distracting and unnecessary. None of us would be here commenting on it if it was kept that way.

I was thinking this morning how much I'd hate to be one of Mick's kids or grandkids (who were in B&W almost from the day they were born).
Imagine supporting the Pies for the last 12 or 13 years, and now having to barrack for Carlton!!!:eek:

Fast losing respect for MM. The photo in the press today (handshake with Buckley) says it all. He couldn't/wouldn't even look him in the eye.
Kudos to Nathan for his maturity and professionalism.
Roll on Sunday!

I was chatting to a colleague the other day who does a lot of work with immigrant communities. She's working with a group of Bhutanese immigrants currently and was telling me about all the cultural inductions they undertake when they first arrive in Australia. They do a lot of work on their English but also learn about cultural practices. One of the first things that they are taught is how to give a handshake properly complete with looking the person in the eye. We all know this before we can walk. It was terribly poor form from Malthouse who showed himself up for the nasty douche packer he is.

P.S. I have a German mate of mine who got offended at me once for not looking her in the eye during a toast. It's the same thing but something I don't think we do much in Australia. Go figure.