Veteran 10k Posts Podcaster Ex-Moderator
panthers, ukraine & broncos
default.asp

Read down to just underneath the advert and there is this statement

"I wouldn't want to be a kid that's slightly slow, over 6ft 4, under 5ft 10. If you can't run with the endurance of, I'll say, Ben Cousins, and the pace of Chris Judd, you're virtually telling your recruiting staff, don't pick him," he said.

Ben Rutten anyone? (although agree that he's not that tall as described but close...)

I thought when I first saw the article that here comes the excuses, but if that is the way he really thinks, no wonder Collingwood are going to be in trouble.

Mind you I don't think his recruiters listen to him as they drafted a couple of guys whose surnames start with a c and end with an e :rolleyes:

It's time to put this myth to bed about Truck being slow.
In his 2001 draft camp fitness tests he was ranked in the top 10% over 5 - 20m sprints and top 15% in the shuttle run.
He is not slow over short runs. If he was slow the apes he marked would be able to lead off him - but they can't.
Maybe he gives the appearance of being slow but it is a myth.

Messiah said:
It's time to put this myth to bed about Truck being slow.
In his 2001 draft camp fitness tests he was ranked in the top 10% over 5 - 20m sprints and top 15% in the shuttle run.
He is not slow over short runs. If he was slow the apes he marked would be able to lead off him - but they can't.
Maybe he gives the appearance of being slow but it is a myth.
Here is a fact for you. He is not slow over 20 meters but his first 5 meters is what gives him a bit of trouble and its something he has been working on really hard on. Fevola gave him a bit of run around last year at footy park and Rutten couldn't keep up on the lead with him on a couple of occasions.

His closing speed is OK. Its not great but its OK. His agility still needs a bit of work though.

Stiffy_18 said:
Here is a fact for you. He is not slow over 20 meters but his first 5 meters is what gives him a bit of trouble and its something he has been working on really hard on. Fevola gave him a bit of run around last year at footy park and Rutten couldn't keep up on the lead with him on a couple of occasions.

His closing speed is OK. Its not great but its OK. His agility still needs a bit of work though.

Here is a fact for you.
In 2001 draft he was in top 6% over 5m.

NikkiNoo said:
default.asp

"I wouldn't want to be a kid that's slightly slow, over 6ft 4, under 5ft 10. If you can't run with the endurance of, I'll say, Ben Cousins, and the pace of Chris Judd, you're virtually telling your recruiting staff, don't pick him," he said.

Ben Rutten anyone? (although agree that he's not that tall as described but close...)

I thought when I first saw the article that here comes the excuses, but if that is the way he really thinks, no wonder Collingwood are going to be in trouble.

Mind you I don't think his recruiters listen to him as they drafted a couple of guys whose surnames start with a c and end with an e :rolleyes:

Malthouse is right on the money as far as i'm concerned with his comments.
The game of today is all about which team has the most endurance these days & it's played like a hybrid of basketball/soccer styles eg. basketball the players will run up & down the court at a frantic pace, soccer - the uncontested possession game of chipping or holding onto the ball at all cost. Is the game becoming more entertaining to watch playing this way?

It wouldn't surprise me to see a club start recruiting players from an African country like Kenya, as a lot of people over there have the endurance to run marathons & all you would need to do is teach them the basic skills of football such as handball & kicking & you would have what is a modern day afl footballer.

NikkiNoo said:
default.asp

The game of today is all about which team has the most endurance these days & it's played like a hybrid of basketball/soccer styles eg. basketball the players will run up & down the court at a frantic pace, soccer - the uncontested possession game of chipping or holding onto the ball at all cost. Is the game becoming more entertaining to watch playing this way?

It wouldn't surprise me to see a club start recruiting players from an African country like Kenya, as a lot of people over there have the endurance to run marathons & all you would need to do is teach them the basic skills of football such as handball & kicking & you would have what is a modern day afl footballer.

Mr Magoo said:

What a load of ********. Had ******** all in relevance to do with the game. You coach in regards to game now, how it is at this current time not 6 years ago. If anyone believes that rubbish then they would believe anything.

Mr Magoo said:
Didnt Essendon have an African lad train with them last preseason? An Ethiopian or something? I remember he was one of the taller African people, not so much a distance runner though.

What is an advantage for them in marathon running, slim frame and long legs, would be a huge disadvantage in a contact sport like footy though. They are so thin and wirey, they would snap bones in any physical contact with the heavy bodied players typical of the AFL. Sure they can run all day, but they couldnt take the knocks and bumps of Aussie Rules. I think the bigger framed African blacks would be more suited. When you see the population of them in American sport (decendants of the African slaves), and how dominant they are, particularly in the NBA and NFL, you have to suspect they would be the ones the clubs would fancy more.

Also, teaching them the basic skills wouldnt be as easy as you might think. Kicking an oval ball with control is a skill we take for granted, having grown up with it. Just ask a soccer player to have a go. Typically they look like they have some sort of disability, they appear completely uncordinated. They really struggle to control it, even just dropping it to the foot in the correct orientation to drop punt it is a huge challenge for them.

I think our game is pretty safe from being taken over by international recruits, very safe in IMO.

What I was getting at was that it seems that Malthouse was going for his normal headline grabbing excuse that deflects that he was out coached. But as soon as I read those lines I thought, hang on but didn't I see some players last night in the game that may (when first drafted) almost come under his description there?

Rutten is one of my favourite players, and he has worked incredibly hard to gain the endurance to play every minute of every game last year. But initially when he was drafted he would almost fit into that description by Malthouse. He didn't have the endurance of Cousins or the pace of Judd and yet Malthouse is claiming here that those players won't be looked at in the future.

But from what I saw last night, players like that I think will continue to be recruited as they have a place in the game.

It will be up to the coaches and the fitness staff to work on their endurance so that they can play at the level that is needed. Pace is a matter that is harder to improve, but endurance can be improved upon generally quicker.

I just thought that for him to come out with that statement proves that he didn't really watch the same game as I did last night ;)

To be fair to Mick (don't ask me why I want to be.. :P) I think he was just trying to make a point. I don't think he would seriously not look at a Ben Rutten type.

Footy has changed. You can't deny once you got past the top tier players that good athletes are considered and given as much a chance as a kid with high football skills who isnt much of an athlete. I'll submit Jericho as exhibit A. I like some aspects of how the game has changed but I do think Malthouse has a point. Have we got anyone like a Gret Williams in the comp at the moment? Anyone like a libber? I think the days of midfielders who were undersized and slower are very much in danger in today's game. Possibly already extinct. I think that's a little sad myself. How many people think A Jarman would be a chance to play footy in today's afl?

Allefgib said:
Footy has changed. You can't deny once you got past the top tier players that good athletes are considered and given as much a chance as a kid with high football skills who isnt much of an athlete. I'll submit Jericho as exhibit A. I like some aspects of how the game has changed but I do think Malthouse has a point. Have we got anyone like a Gret Williams in the comp at the moment? Anyone like a libber? I think the days of midfielders who were undersized and slower are very much in danger in today's game. Possibly already extinct. I think that's a little sad myself. How many people think A Jarman would be a chance to play footy in today's afl?

Sam Mitchell (Hawthorn) is cut from the same mould as Greg "Diesel" Williams. Hasn't yet achieved what Williams did, but give him time.

NikkiNoo said:
http://afl.com.au/default.asp?pg=news&spg=display&articleid=254657

I don't know what it is you disagree with, this is the basic mantra of all clubs these days. if you don't fit the mould, you're pushing it up hill.

Crow-mo said:
I don't know what it is you disagree with, this is the basic mantra of all clubs these days. if you don't fit the mould, you're pushing it up hill.

Exactly mate :thumbsu: The Jarmans and Williamses are found out in todays game unfortuantly

NikkiNoo said:
What I was getting at was that it seems that Malthouse was going for his normal headline grabbing excuse that deflects that he was out coached. But as soon as I read those lines I thought, hang on but didn't I see some players last night in the game that may (when first drafted) almost come under his description there?

Rutten is one of my favourite players, and he has worked incredibly hard to gain the endurance to play every minute of every game last year. But initially when he was drafted he would almost fit into that description by Malthouse. He didn't have the endurance of Cousins or the pace of Judd and yet Malthouse is claiming here that those players won't be looked at in the future.

But from what I saw last night, players like that I think will continue to be recruited as they have a place in the game.

It will be up to the coaches and the fitness staff to work on their endurance so that they can play at the level that is needed. Pace is a matter that is harder to improve, but endurance can be improved upon generally quicker.

I just thought that for him to come out with that statement proves that he didn't really watch the same game as I did last night ;)

I wasn't having a shot at any player/players in general i just was saying how football has become so much of an uncontested game these days which is why i agree with Micky Malthouse. Players just run when they don't have the footy to certain spots on the ground (usually in the defensive forward 50) & protect that zone. I watched a movie the other day called 'Miracle' starring Kurt Russell which is based on the USA ice hockey team at the Olympic games in 1980 & the words he used in that movie were 'You think that you can win on talent alone, well you're not talented enough to beat these guys but i tell you what, you will be conditioned enough to skate with them' or words to those effects. It's a great movie & i suggest if you get time you should watch it.

Another article is in today's Herald sun about this article..

http://www.heraldsun.news.com.au/footy/common/story_page/0,8033,18715117%5E20322,00.html

Legends losing faith in footy
05 April 2006 Herald Sun
Mark Stevens and Jon Pierik

FIRST Michael Malthouse likened AFL to netball. Now, he reckons it's getting close to Gaelic football.

Carlton legend Wayne Harmes declared: "Rest in peace, AFL football".

Richmond coach Terry Wallace has conceded the game doesn't look as attractive at the moment.

Essendon hero Paul van der Haar is confused and adamant the new rules have taken the "spectacular" out of the game.

Another ex-champion David Rhys-Jones is fearful the game is getting more like basketball.

At least former Kangaroo Anthony Stevens still enjoys watching the game -- even if he didn't like Adelaide's keepings-off tactics on Monday night.

And AFL boss Andrew Demetriou and former coach Stan Alves reckons it's way too early to get carried away.

That is a snapshot of some opinions yesterday as the AFL's new rules created an unprecedented lift in total disposals -- and a remarkable lift in hysteria.

Collingwood coach Malthouse lit the fire after the loss to Adelaide on Monday night, speaking of his amazement at the soaring stats.

"If the AFL is happy with sides nearing 400 possessions a game and that's losing sides as well, then we're getting closer to Gaelic football all the time," Malthouse said.

In the Magpies-Crows game, 300 marks were taken, but only 16 of them were contested.

Harmes, who watched the game on TV, phoned radio station SEN to express his disgust.

"Fair dinkum, rest in peace AFL football," Harmes said.

"The possessions that they're getting are so unwarranted and false. I believe it's making the game an absolute mockery."

Harmes backs making the minimum kick length 25m and banning kicking backwards.

The AFL's new rules -- including enabling teams to kick in before the flags are waved and a crackdown on scragging -- were designed to put more continuous flow into the game.

Wallace yesterday said football had changed into a possession-oriented game.

"If we play the style of play that you want to see, we lose. It's very, very difficult.

"I would like to be the person who starts the position off and says 'I'm going to play 1980s football because that's when everyone loved their footy with when the state of origin was going on'.

"But if we keep coming in with losses on a weekly basis they'll pick someone else who wants to play with blokes behind the footy."

Asked about the modern game as a spectacle, Wallace said: "I don't think the game looks as attractive at the moment, I don't have any hesitation in saying that."

Wallace again backed a forum of powerful football heads to discuss where the game is headed.

Alves said: "My experience will tell me this is a pretty normal phenomenon.

"Clubs have had a lot of time to think over summer -- particularly sides that mightn't think they're as good as others -- and they come up with these type of tactics," he said.

Stevens said he preferred football '90s-style.

"I like the footy in the '90s, one-one-one where blokes went hammer and tong trying to beat each other and stuff like that. I still enjoy watching it, but I hope they don't change the rules too much."

Rhys-Jones said: "It's getting more and more like a game of basketball all the way down the field until you have a shot and miss, then the other team gets it -- it's heading in the American direction."

Former coach David Parkin is on the AFL's research and development committee, which investigates what the average AFL wants.

"What people have got to understand is it's where every invasion-game has gone. Just look at the history of soccer, hockey, European handball, lacrosse, water polo, every game in the world has gone down this track.

"It's just that we have been a bit slower reaching where they reached 10, 15, 30 years ago."

Demetriou said it was "a bit early" to draw an opinion on the impact of the new laws on the state of play.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------

The thing is that their are 16 afl coaches & they are all trying to play a similiar type or style of football which is probably the saddest part.

Mr Magoo said:

I have 2 words for you. Luke Jericho.

I think there will always be a place for natural footballers. Jericho is an awesome athlete, and whilst im not writing him off, he has a long way to go before his footy skills catch up and enable him to become an AFL regular.

Sam Mitchel is the perfect example that being an ahtlete isnt the be all and end all.