Marcus Drum..........

• Thread starter Thread starter Wizard

Robert Shaw was queried on SEN radio in Melbourne pre game and said his lack of games mainly injury driven.
Then someone close to him from Shepparton rang up and suggested it was rubbish.
Anyway, he from my perspective he could have showed some more WAFL form/desperation.
Kevin Bartlett very surprised he wasn't playing every game this season given the Adelaide match last year when he kicked 4

he looked good on Sat

One of the problems we have had over the years is that a number of players have been given games when they haven't deserved to be playing.
So, whilst I'm sympathetic with the view that you play the kids, I'm more concerned with breeding the right attitude into all the sqad.
Quite simply, if you want to play, then perform and make it impossible for the match committee to drop you. See Palmer.
Drum is a classic example. Last year against Adelaide he kicked four goals in an excellent game. The next week he might just as well have not been there. If you accept that standard then that is what you will get.
You don't drop good players who are playing well.

Marcus Drum did more than enough to earn a game against Adelaide IMHO.
Josh Head has also truely earn't a shot at the AFL due to solid WAFL form.
Will Josh ever get a turn...?

Marcus Drum did more than enough to earn a game against Drum IMHO.

Not sure how playing himself will help the team NF? ;)

And I hope Josh at least gets named as an emergency this week and comes into the team very soon. He has been flying in the wafl and has great skills - would be fantastic coming off the half back line.

Bottom line is we have a LOT of young players in the mix right now:

Palmer
Mayne
Hinkley
Drum
Ibbotson
O'Brien
Foster
Head

That will be our midfield of the future. :thumbsu:

Marcus Drum did more than enough to earn a game against Adelaide IMHO.

It's only round 6 NF, have some patience, I'm sure the selectors have been keeping a close eye on him.

I have hopes he will get selected very soon.

this kid was never injured last year - spoke to him a few times and the impression i got was that it was all to do with selection... not injury ...

good to see him put the hard yards in this year.. looks like he has bulked and and is quicker ...

last year he kicked 4 against adelaide then got dropped the next week - wat is that supposed to do for a kids confidence ? ....

hopefully these boys like ibbo, obrien, drum and hinkley get a few consist games under their belt .... the pace of the WAFL is nothing compared to AFL so it prob doesnt help coming in and out every week... i reckon we would be suprised how good these kids are if we saw them 4 - 5 weeks straight playing for Freo..... builds their confidence and gets them game ready...

this kid was never injured last year - spoke to him a few times and the impression i got was that it was all to do with selection... not injury ...

good to see him put the hard yards in this year.. looks like he has bulked and and is quicker ...

last year he kicked 4 against adelaide then got dropped the next week - wat is that supposed to do for a kids confidence ? ....

hopefully these boys like ibbo, obrien, drum and hinkley get a few consist games under their belt .... the pace of the WAFL is nothing compared to AFL so it prob doesnt help coming in and out every week... i reckon we would be suprised how good these kids are if we saw them 4 - 5 weeks straight playing for Freo..... builds their confidence and gets them game ready...

He got dropped the week after, after a poor performance in the Geelong flogging.

Played round 22 as well.

Saturday was by far his best game - lets hope he keeps it going.

If we are going for a selection policy of rewarding form, then it's got to apply to everyone, not just a select few. I'd love to see Drummy out there for the rest of the season, but I want him to do it because he deserves it and cements a spot. That's the only way we are going to improve as a team.

Exactly Chook.

Drums' performance of playing as well as he did coming off a game for Souths' reserves the previous week was a huge effort .

As I've said in another thread Head appears to me to have everything going for him at the moment. He has been creating alot of run off the half back line for South and always kicks the ball 50 to 60 metres. Has kicked goals (or at least had shots at goal) in every game this season and has pretty good pace. He's in terrific form and now has the body size to play in the AFL. There's not much more he could do really.

Drums' performance of playing as well as he did coming off a game for Souths' reserves the previous week was a huge effort .

As I've said in another thread Head appears to me to have everything going for him at the moment. He has been creating alot of run off the half back line for South and always kicks the ball 50 to 60 metres. Has kicked goals (or at least had shots at goal) in every game this season and has pretty good pace. He's in terrific form and now has the body size to play in the AFL. There's not much more he could do really.

Never thought I'd say this, but Head for Thornton could be a good idea.

Would be a great idea :thumbsu:

Provides the same run with far better skills, a more penetrating kick and hopefully a better defender.

Thornton is actual quite poor in a defensive contest i.e. spoiling etc and cannot stand a good opposition forward - gets killed every time. His best attribute is his speed and run off the half back line.

Head could easily provide this.

He got dropped the week after, after a poor performance in the Geelong flogging.

Played round 22 as well.

sorry my bad ! :)

mind you the only reason he played round 22 was because Harves dropped a heap of the older blokes for disiplinary reasons....

def needs to earn his spot along with everyone else but to do that you need to be given a shot. One game isnt going to do that.

Haven't been impressed with this kid a single game his has played..

HOWEVER

I never rated Ibbotson untill last game, so I will reserve judgement (That said I am not completely sold on Ibbotson either)

Palmer and Mayne have shown they have it.

Ibbotson has done well for one game

Drum has given us a hint

Hinkley needs more time

Suddenly our youth is looking up

Schammer continus to disapoint, consistently knocked off the ball. Peake may struggle to regain his place.

Drum is not a standout player but he has a great footy brain. What he lacks in speed he makes up for in his ability to read the play and in decision making. The other advantage that I see is that we can look at playing Drum as the third tall defender and release MJ to play up forward.

Schammer does worry me Sabre, you cannot question the guys intensity but his skills are not getting better. Foster and O'Brian will put pressure on Schammer to hold his spot later this year.

Played round 22 as well.

Though to be fair, if we dropped everyone who had a poor game that day we would have dropped half the team, we were absolutly thumped that day.

He is my buddy, but gee he showed something last weekend, wished he passed to sandi in the corridor once (although that could be said for half the team also). They have to play him to see if he can play to afl standard. Gotta have more upside than the old fellas.