Mark Bickley - ROT IN HELL

• Thread starter Thread starter Macca19

Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Mark Bickley - ROT IN HELL

Originally posted by ok.crows
Well not really. Port tried on the physical stuff all day. There was the free & 50m given against a Crows player (Doughty I think) for retaliating, and the umpire at the other end of the ground had to reverse to free as an even-up.
The whole thing got to the "fiasco" stage. I can understand Bickley's frustration, and what lead to his act, but still it was inexcusable.
ok.crows, This is your constant modus operandi, both here and on the AFL Ranting Board: You build up a list of factors (which are all hideously exaggerated) in support of your point (i.e. that Bickley's actions really were excusable because the umpiring was such a 'fiasco', and then with your last breath you trot out a disclaimer: "but still it was inexcusable". It's clear in this post, as in others, that the thrust of your comments is not in fact that his actions were inexcusable, but that they damn well were excusable!.

####### Warning: Extract head from rectum before replying ########

Well not really. Port tried on the physical stuff all day. There was the free & 50m given against a Crows player (Doughty I think) for retaliating, and the umpire at the other end of the ground had to reverse to free as an even-up.

The whole thing got to the "fiasco" stage. I can understand Bickley's frustration, and what lead to his act, but still it was inexcusable.

My question though is this - why is it only playing Port that brings out frustration like that?

I'm of the view Port should be prepared to get what they give.

You've had that temporary frontal lobotomy again, haven't ya?? ;)

SMART was the clown who publicly came out and stated that "we'll get in there and bash 'em".. Tredrea nonchalently dismissed those hollow and later to be unfulfilled remarks and talked up the game as a spectacle. Then again, I'd expect nuthin' less from Smart-@$$, who has been a knobb his entire life.. :mad:

The game was always going to be physical because; a) The Ramsgate clash between the players of both sides after Showdown 11, and; b) the stifling one-on-one, man-to-man, go-slow tactics from the Crows to prevent a Port Adelaide blowout..

Personally, although not a great spectacle by any stretch of the imagination, I thought it was a great battle between 2 great foes. Just a shame that the Bickley incident soiled what was previously just a hard-at-it game of Aussie Rules footy. The first real ugly incident since the Cummings/Jameson box-on in Showdown #1.. :D

Originally posted by Joffaboy
Explicit terms. Yeah such as "I dunno, I felt pretty dazed at the time". What damning evidence!!!! A bloke truthfully answers a question and you condemn him, what a complete crock!!!!
If I recall it was "You want the truth? I was dazed."

A bit more explicit that `Gee, I dunno.'

Ahh the coup de grace. It is most definately not a one off breaking of your precious code.
There are two well documented cases, and these are just the ones I remember. Peter Matera in '97 against the Bulldogs, and Wayne Campbell last year.
So its a three off? In both cases (Matera and Campbell) at least something particularly scummy had happened, and as I recall, those players certainly were subject to much speculation on their breaking of this code. Somehow Loewe's attempt has completely escaped media scrutiny when really what he did was more against the spirit of any code than before.

A pattern is emerging in your thought processes which are rather skewed.
1) You support liars
I support consistency. If suddenly every player wants to come out and say exactly what happened, no problem. If a Port player gets burned by a 300 gamer deciding to dump him in it for a minor offense, I'm going to complain.

2) You support players doing foul and dangerous acts on the football field
Not at all. When exactly did I condone Stevens' action? Or Bickleys?

3) You attack the victim of the foul play, not the instigator.
I would have thought that playing for a 50, then making sure a fairly trivial report got sent down wasn't exactly `fair play'.

A Port player is rubbed out and you attack the reputation of one of the finest players in St.Kildas history, but when a Port player is the victim, you go spare at the instigator, EVEN BEFORE IT HAS GONE TO THE TRIBUNAL.
I haven't gone spare. I'm pointing out that Bickley's attempt was both deliberate, and more reckless than the Michael Stevens incident, so going on precedent should get about 4 weeks. I'm not Macca, I don't think he should go to hell.

And again, just being a veteran doesn't mean you don't do scummy things occasionally.

I know people from SA feel they have been hard done by over the years re football, but this is starting to sound like paranoia gone mad.
Unlike your own conspiracy theories regarding bad umpiring?

And BTW - I hope Port continue with their good form. Wakelin may be a loss, but Port is the best hope for the rest of us that Brisbane doesn't get back to back premierships.
If the Power make the GF, I for one will be in their corner, even if those two Stevens thugs are playing ;)
Wakelin is probably a managable loss....its more that he'll miss out that is the disappointment, rather than covering his position. He's had a good year. And if Michael Stevens is in the grand final, I'll go insane :eek:

but the rubbish i've read in this post from holier than thou Port supporters, carrying on like their players are goody two shoes while the rest of the competition is made up of thugs is just too much.

Where the **** has any of us said our players are holier than thou and goody too shoes and never done anything wrong???

Good luck finding it.

One thing i HATE is when people put words in other peoples mouths, and have a go at them for saying something they never did!

How pathetic. And how typical. Or as you lot kept saying to the Saints supporters when our best midfielder was put out by being thrown into a fence "Thats Football"

When did any Port supporter say "Thats Football"?? Please find us the quotes on that ********. Id love to see it. I for one know i never said that. I thought it was just the Brisbane supporters that said "Thats Football".

Now do you fathom why it is important for player to tell the truth at the tribunal. Instead of bitching about Loewe, you should admire his honesty.

What happened to the 'secret players code' of what happens on the field stays on the field??

You know why i am particularly annoyed at that suspension. Jonathon Brown gets one week for a harsher, deliberate, more forceful roundhouse right to Mark Johnsons face....and Michael Stevens gets 2 weeks for something not half as dangerous or forceful.
Thats why it is inconsistant. Mark Johnson follows the code and gets Brown the lighter sentence when he should of got 2 or three...Loewe throws the code out the window and gets Stevens two when he should of got one.

Thats why its inconsistant.

Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Mark Bickley - ROT IN HELL

Geez did I say face, oh sue me. Mabye angelic Stevo didn't hit Stewie at all, mabye it was that terrible thug Loewe who attack Stevos fist with his head (wow did actually say face, oh dear). What ever you do Stewie, dont tell the truth because Stevo plays for Port and they are all darlings.
They should all be allowed to belt players and get away with it bcause they play for Port.
Yeah right mate:rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

Was there any need for that sarcasm?? :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

Cheers for putting words in our mouths again. Has any Port actually said that Stevens DIDNT hit Loewe?? No...didnt think so :rolleyes: But please, continue to put words in our mouths! We enjoyed getting abused byt the likes of yourself for things we havent actually said

Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Mark Bickley - ROT IN HELL

Originally posted by PrideofSA

yeah but you can't deny that fact that Port supporters whinge can you,

And Crows supporters never whinge do they??

They only whinged for two months about Mcleod getting suspended

I cant see how it got to any fiasco stage. it wasnt like the Brisbane v Essendon game where there were 25 fights and then Brown went too far and clobbered Mark Johnson.

It was an isolated incident that was tough and hard but had no real major fights yets. Sure, Burgoyne put down Mcgregor - but then Doughty kneed James in the face.

My question though is this - why is it only playing Port that brings out frustration like that?

Because you havent been able to beat us. We are your rivals. That usually brings out frustration.

I'm of the view Port should be prepared to get what they give.

When was the last time a Port player put an opponent out for 6 weeks?

Originally posted by PortPremiers'02

If one of their own can't decipher the difference between the back and the front of Loewey's bald cranium, it ain't my fault.. The relevance to Stewey's baldness is minimal. Nuthin' wrong with Stewey's head! Heck, my hairline receded a LONG time ago, but us Port folk actually go gracefully - unlike the Crows skipper, Ricciuto, who tries to look like Beckham with only about 20% of Beckham's hair! Now THAT, my friend, looks fuggen STUPID!! :D

Haha. You win this round.

you don't understand do u! I said that Lowe milking it is about that same chance as Wakelin milking it. ie both DID NOT MILK for a free or 50!

Be good if you could actually understand what I said!

Be even better if you said something that was worth understanding. KNOB.

Shameless way to boost your post counts, Port supporters.

Watch them quote this and write a big diatribe about my sexual preference.

Originally posted by Leigh
Shameless way to boost your post counts, Port supporters.

Watch them quote this and write a big diatribe about my sexual preference.

P00F! :p

:D

Keep adding to the thread, Leigh.. Good work champ... :D

Originally posted by Macca19

Where the **** has any of us said our players are holier than thou and goody too shoes and never done anything wrong???

Good luck finding it.

One thing i HATE is when people put words in other peoples mouths, and have a go at them for saying something they never did!

Read the quore you used, I said carrying on like, not this is a direct quotation from Port supporters.
Semantics yes, but get it right.

Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Mark Bickley - ROT IN HELL

When did any Port supporter say "Thats Football"?? Please find us the quotes on that ********. Id love to see it. I for one know i never said that. I thought it was just the Brisbane supporters that said "Thats Football".

Again read the quote. When I said you lot, I didn't just mean Port supporters, it wass from a varied group of supporters. If you read it as only Port supporters I apologise.

I will try to find the quotes but as i said to Portos the thread was closed by Fred and i'm not sure if i can find the quotes. I'm also at work so I cant spend too much time look ATM

What happened to the 'secret players code' of what happens on the field stays on the field??

You know why i am particularly annoyed at that suspension. Jonathon Brown gets one week for a harsher, deliberate, more forceful roundhouse right to Mark Johnsons face....and Michael Stevens gets 2 weeks for something not half as dangerous or forceful.
Thats why it is inconsistant. Mark Johnson follows the code and gets Brown the lighter sentence when he should of got 2 or three...Loewe throws the code out the window and gets Stevens two when he should of got one.

Thats why its inconsistant.

As i said to Portos, this went years ago. Matera in 97, Campbell last year, WCE siting Southern, Brisbane showing players scratched etc, and these are just off the top of my head. There would be numerous other.

You guys are incredible. You make subjective statements like Browns roundhouse was worse than Stevens hit and then say loewe got Stevens two. mabye if Stevens and Port had the courage to plead guilty instead of trying to get away with attacking and reckless foul play, he may have only recieved 1 week.
What farken code. You blokes are living in the 20th century.
The reason it is inconsistant is because of lying players at the tribunal.
Like Portos, you obviously support liars over players telling what really happened.
Think about it logically. Loewe retires at the end of the year. The Saints are out of finals contention. What possible motive would Loewe have to get Stevens more than he deserved?
Perhaps if you take some of the emotion out of your thinking and start to think rationally you would see it doesn't make sense.
Loewe was asked a question by the Tribunal. You want him to lie and say nothing hapened. Instead he tells the truth and you question his integrity.

Put simply in the view of some Port fans here a liar has more integrity than a player telling the truth. A very skewed view of what integrity means in anybodies language.

BTW- As i said to Portos, good luck in the finals, and I hope Port cancover the loss of Wakelin suffuciently.

Originally posted by suzi_olsen
Geez can everyone calm down in here. I know you are all fired up and hurt by Mark Bickley's report. Please calm down

suzi_olsen = The Voice of Reason.. :D

Join in suzi.. Let ya hair down luv! :D ;) :D

I've noticed that Port supporters asssume you've said this or done this, when you are talking generally! They don't read between the lines!

Its not about Port supporters assuming what I said was about them specifically. i can see how this was read that way.
I have absolutely no animosity toward Port supporters, or any other teams supporters for that matter (oh probably those bastard crows - mabye portos is right, I am a bitter man:D ).
This is about an issue not a club or a group of supporters. They have a point of view and i believe that it is hypocritical. Clearing up meanings of things i have posted is just part of the debate.

I had a wonderful debate with Portos regarding the Saints playing in Tassie. He had a conflicting view to mine, with both of us i am sure agreeing our respective views were coloured by self interest on the part of clubs.

No harm in debate, unless it gets personal, and then it is useless.
This isn't personal it is a matter of opinion.