Toast Mark Blicavs - 50th game

#46 for the Cats, Mark Blicavs, has been a special case over the past 3 years since he debuted in 2013 as an unknown elite athlete rookied by the club (with our 3rd rookie pick) the previous year.
This weekend marks his 50th game and the rapid improvement of this young man has been an absolute joy to behold. He has played all over the field- forward, back, on the ball, off the ball, on the bench and as a sub. His attitude toward the way he plays his game has never once wavered and he always gives his best, no matter what position he plays.

He has been described by some as a 'sponge'- absorbing absolutely everything that the coaches have thrown his way. Last year, on August 15th, he celebrated a 'mini-milestone'- it being his 50th game of Aussie Rules football since his U14 years (his 41st senior game).

Despite many calls for him to play in the VFL, I think the club has done the right thing in Mark's case- would his improvement have been so marked, had he played 20 or so of those games at a lower level? I think that he has stepped up because he has played senior games.

I'd like to congratulate Mark and wish him all the very best on his upcoming 50th game which, all being well, should be against Richmond at the MCG.

077269-mark-blicavs.jpg

I think he will continue to be a player for us and so keep him in the side. He has done very, very well for us. Congrats and hope he has a win this week to celebrate. Not sure we have found a real position for him yet.

I originally favoured him as a new third tall backman - preparing him to become a Lonergan replacement but I am switching to him becoming a big mid. A very big mid !

One who is certainly defying the 'no longer improving' descriptor currently applied to a number of the younger senior regulars at the club.

Even the first few weeks of this year have shown another remarkable leap in his development.

Onya, Blitz!:thumbsu:

I believe bulletproof aptly observed, if he'd been a first round draft pick we'd be over the moon with what he has done. Coming from an unusual background has created different mindsets and expectations about him.

As I've said elsewhere, you can't ask for much more than a player that keeps improving game on game.

His effort is something that impresses me. He may not be the most talented footy player out there skills wise - and he never will be - be he is always trying.

I am yet to see him walk during a game (to the huddle after the siren does not count all you smartarses :p)

He has played in positions all over the ground - sucked at some, held his own at others, and even demonstrated some surprising judgment and effectiveness along the way. Not to mention that he keeps gradually improving…..

He really is a unique player in that he could redefine the term utility… from a #2 ruck to a MF, to a rotating defender.

He's had some bumps along the way and will have more. But he's had some moments too. It took a while for the "regular " footy players with the traditional background to recognize and use him in games - but now he is accepted and used without thought.
That in itself is a massive credit.

Congrats to the bloke who wins every time trial and maybe, just maybe, those running patterns of his will pay off.

Go Blitz.

Always thought he would make it. Very good sporting pedigree.

He stayed a third year on the Rookie list as well, when many were scared stiff he might leave if we didn't offer him promotion there and then. Brains and the right attitude go a very long way.

I think he can be a KPB if we need that. But I have also thought he was best suited to becoming a true Ruck-rover due to that wonderful endurance. This year he looks like he could make it there.

Well done Blitz. Keep it up mate. :thumbsu:

Has clearly gone up another level this year……playing really well. Still a lot to learn, but developing into a fine player now.

Looking forward to seeing further congratulations from those who maligned him and wrote him off as an athlete and not a footballer.

Of course the kudos to Chris Scott for persevering with him and allowing him to develop in the AFL (like he is doing with Gregson, Cockatoo, Lang et al) will undoubtedly be overwhelming. :cool:

Was watching the Melbourne-Richmond game on Friday night and was thinking to myself how funny it was that Jack Watts was a number one pick and Blitz was a B-listed rookie, and IMO, Blitz has turned out into a far better player.

Remember watching his first VFL game and he was just running around trying to get his head around the game. To see how far he's come from that extremely low base is an amazing effort and speaks volumes about the guy's willingness to learn and improve.

I liked what I saw when he played his first Nab Cup match, for a big guy he just got so low and showed good aggression when he tackled.

Was watching the Melbourne-Richmond game on Friday night and was thinking to myself how funny it was that Jack Watts was a number one pick and Blitz was a B-listed rookie, and IMO, Blitz has turned out into a far better player.

Remember watching his first VFL game and he was just running around trying to get his head around the game. To see how far he's come from that extremely low base is an amazing effort and speaks volumes about the guy's willingness to learn and improve.

It's not a competition:p.

The 2011 lads:
Hamling
Kersten
Murdoch
McCarthy
Bews

Blicavs was the first to reach 50 games, not bad for a 3rd round rookie pick. Just need some of the other guys to show similar improvement and we'll be looking a lot better.

Has got 50 very quickly...about as quick as anyone we have drafted. His marking is solid , he kicking is reasonable but still needs to add to his decision making. That will happen with more games. If we are to be a threat in the near future he will have to keep developing...like it or not we need him to be come a legit A grader.

Has got 50 very quickly...about as quick as anyone we have drafted.

One of those who know all [that's not an insult by the way] - how many VFL games has Blitz played since his AFL debut ?
I reckon it might be 2 or 3 at most

Selwood or Taylor would be the only current players to get to 50 as quick

One of those who know all [that's not an insult by the way] - how many VFL games has Blitz played since his AFL debut ?

I am almost certain that he hasn't played any VFL games since 2012, Jub.

:oops: I lied :(

I believe it is one - http://www.foxsportspulse.com/round_info.cgi?a=MATCH&fixture=123978463&c=0-118-0-253880-0&pool=1

He has missed only 4 games since debuting.

And I take "know all" as a compliment. ;)
Well picked up, catempire. The VFL stats site didn't show any stats for 2013 for him but I've found holes in that site before so wasn't 100% sure.

What I did find, though, was that he played 22 games in 2013, 23 in 2014, while Selwood played 21 games in 2007 (missed 4 games) and 24 games in 2008 (missed 1 game), so both players played 45 games in their first 2 seasons, Blicavs out of a possible 48, Selwood out of a possible 50. Selwood's 50th game came in Round 5, 2009.

Harry played 21 games in 2008, 22 in 2009, and his 50th came up in R7, 2010.