News Mark Blicavs

• Thread starter Thread starter proboy

... But also as someone who doesn't give a shit.

I completely disagree Vinum. Your own biases seem to be clouding your judgment.
I thought he spoke extremely well, and came across as somebody keen to have a crack at a sport requiring a completely different skill set to what he is used to. He seemed confident in his proven abilities - rightly so. I thought he came across as pretty humble about his footy skills - this maybe the source of your misinterpretation.

So how did we expect a kid who has not played football since he was 13 years old to go when after 4 weeks training he plays his first game in eight years in the second-highest ranked competition in the universe?

The fact he even got a game so soon speaks volumes, I mean this was a serious game, against a very good team for a team who is a real chance for a premiership this year.

You guys are reading the 'doesn't give a shit' line waaayy too deeply.

It's like he knows everything is just a gamble. i.e. knows it may not work out, and doesn't seem bothered by it.

if you throw out a line like 'doesn't give a shit' then surely you expect it to be taken exactly how it sounds?

Mark is a very grounded and humble guy, so he knows that his recruitment to Geelong was a long-shot taken by the club. At the same time, though, he's very aware that he's been given an amazing opportunity, and means to make the most of it.

Given his background in athletics, where you have to be highly self-motivated and driven in training, I'm sure he will thrive and work as hard as he can in the footy club environment. So I think it's unfair to say he doesn't give a shit, or won't be bothered by lack of success, because he's a highly competitive athlete.

But of course we all agree that the road from under 14s footy to a successful AFL career is an extremely long one, and I just wish him all the best in it.

if you throw out a line like 'doesn't give a shit' then surely you expect it to be taken exactly how it sounds?
Depends how people interpret stuff I guess.

I was time poor, should have expanded on it.

If his running and recovery ability will be a benchmark for the other kids to follow, I'll be very keen to see the outcome of our current crop of youngsters.

I could see how people could take it at face value,me I just thought he was saying he was laid back.
We all have posts misinterpreted I guess, I know I have.

Played in the VFL on Saturday and looks a RAW talent but plenty to work with appears to have put on a lot of wieght/muscle since returning from his training, good size looks to be able to jump at the footy reasonably well

Might be a long term KP/ruck prospect.

Could be a great Andrew Mackie type...not everybody needs the bulk. I think having him on a wing perhaps would be a good prospect - with his pace and endurance just burning off his direct opponent.

See Mark kicked three goals on the weekend against the top of the table team.

How did he go and how did he get the goals were they Joe the goose type goals or where they more in the play kind of goals? If they were the later we might be onto something good here

Well , he is already ahead of the two promotional tools north of the border.

3 goals in the column of goal kickers is one thing, but pretty sure he was described taking a mark and converting from a fair way out. Thats ahead of the curve but other who were there would be better judges , perhaps RR.

I refuse to get too excited about the kid but it will interesting to see if he suits forward or back or in fact a very tall wing man. Marking strength will be an important key to this. Geelong have usually only persisted with players that are reasonable overhead.

Well , he is already ahead of the two promotional tools north of the border.

3 goals in the column of goal kickers is one thing, but pretty sure he was described taking a mark and converting from a fair way out. Thats ahead of the curve but other who were there would be better judges , perhaps RR.

I refuse to get too excited about the kid but it will interesting to see if he suits forward or back or in fact a very tall wing man. Marking strength will be an important key to this. Geelong have usually only persisted with players that are reasonable overhead.
I seen his first game, and boy can he run, the players dont utilise him and fair enough i suppose he hasn't or had not played footy in years, i can see him being a tall wingman. Be lucky if he plays 50 games though, lets be honest.

Mate if he plays 1 , it will be a success. If plays 20+ then it heads into brilliant

When you say he can run, is he quick like a Wojcinski, or does he just keep on running like a Nick Riewoldt?

Being a 1500m/3k runner would suggest that he could make some great sustained runs or multiple leads, but doesn't suggest real pace off the mark.

When you say he can run, is he quick like a Wojcinski, or does he just keep on running like a Nick Riewoldt?

Being a 1500m/3k runner would suggest that he could make some great sustained runs or multiple leads, but doesn't suggest real pace off the mark.

JUst kept on going and going. Pretty decent pace though. To compare him to someone i would say he probably would just lose to Uncle Chuck running to a pie

I see over at the Cats web page they have Blicavs weighing in at 95kgs. Has anyone seen him train lately? That is a fair amount of weight to dump on as he was listed at 78kgs last year. 17 kgs is a fair bit and it leaves me skeptical. Anyone seen him of late and has he dumped on the weight?

I haven't seen him in person recently, but judging by pictures by Arj Online from training today and a few weeks ago, this definitely has to be a mistake.

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?...8978646.110891.162448683812244&type=1&theater

http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?f...6296790.109886.162448683812244&type=3&theater

Agree that he's added muscle mass, but not 17 kg worth. He told me before he started full-time training with the club, midway through last year, that they wanted him to add another 10 kg to reach his playing weight.

I haven't seen him. According to the website, he's 198cm, the same as Vardy (and Bathie) and 1cm short of West. Are those heights correct?

I have said it before and i will say it again the kid has got something, he will take time but i think we have one here. After watching him play last year and training this year i am confident.

Just picture this he is 197cm and THE BEST RUNNER IN THE LEAGUE!!! if that can be harnessed and used he could be a ripper.