Marquee Games

It wasn't really directed at your post, merely the comment about people having a problem with Essendon getting marquee games. The big clubs make the marquee fixtures into marquee fixtures.

No worries my apologies. I agree with you.

EDIT: I wouldn't have an issue with Essendon having another Marquee game, but I think we both know there would be howls of discontent. Personally I think playing footy on Good Friday would be wasted unless it's two big clubs going at it.

Why do North get a monopoly on hosting interstate sides at ES at crappy times no one cares about?

Should be shared more evenly with the Bulldogs and Melbourne.

Wonder how all your 3 game - out of state - members will feel about this?

They still get to see the Hawks play in Tassie four times per year. Just against a rotating list of opponents instead of the same old team. Wouldn't they prefer that?

Compare it with International Cricket, would you rather have the English tour Australia every summer or would you rather see rotating nations like we currently have? I would be for the latter.

No worries my apologies. I agree with you.

EDIT: I wouldn't have an issue with Essendon having another Marquee game, but I think we both know there would be howls of discontent. Personally I think playing footy on Good Friday would be wasted unless it's two big clubs going at it.
I know where you're coming from and I think that the AFL have three options for Good Friday:
1 - No games (status quo and frankly ridiculous for an increasingly diversified/secular community and a sporting body which should not pander to one faith)
2 - "Marquee" game between two sides who repeat it year on year (like ANZAC day)
3 - Treat it like any other Friday between April and August and play a game that night which is fixtured as they see fit annually.

With option 2 that need not be the traditional big clubs, maybe it can be a way of getting the Etihad quota up so that Essendon don't play against Geelong/Hawthorn there.

What I'd imagine the AFL would do if they do go down the Good Friday football path is fixture a game between one of the big Vic clubs and one of the smaller ones. I'd imagine North vs Essendon/Carlton or something similar. Saints vs Dees would be interesting but politically probably too sensitive.

Every game the Pies play is a marquee game for the opposition.

On a serious note, North should be playing Good Friday imo. We're a secular state and who gives a shit about some fairy tale, play footy on Good Friday and North should get first crack

Compare it with International Cricket, would you rather have the English tour Australia every summer or would you rather see rotating nations like we currently have? I would be for the latter.
hmmmm, it would be quite satisfying to flog the POMS every year though. :thumbsu:

Marquee Games