Maryborough Castlemaine District FL (Part 2)

just as well training doesnt start until end Jan-early Feb, Rich

A quick search of world weather 4 this week indicates London windy Wed., then very windy Thurs., up to heavy rain Sat.
Charming actually, but ur lads can sit back until its snowing in early Feb.

Good luck :D

Any one got any anouncements on players leaving or coming to any clubs. have heard brook may have lost a few

Heard a rumor that Matt Culvenor might be moving into Castlemaine to play some footy with his older brother who plays there.
Can't blame a young bloke from wanting to have a crack at the next level, but really don't think he would be ready...

Heard a rumor that Matt Culvenor might be moving into Castlemaine to play some footy with his older brother who plays there.
Can't blame a young bloke from wanting to have a crack at the next level, but really don't think he would be ready...

Very unlikely that will happen "Inside man"... Young Matthew absolutely loves the club and has no plans on going anywhere and has already confirmed his attendance at Newsteads first session which i think is the 4th of December (can anyone from Newstead confirm dates??).

As for him not being ready, i'm not too sure if you have much knowledge of the BFL or what Castlemaine's list is like but he would have no trouble at all getting a game in there!

No. Unless the higher league is AFL, VFL, SANFL etc, otherwise the contract is just that - a contract.

It has been fairly widely proven that the contracts used at country footy level are not worth the paper they are on.

Plenty of examples of blokes who have 'signed' and then go elsewhere.

Campbells Creek is about to learn that. :eek:

It has been fairly widely proven that the contracts used at country footy level are not worth the paper they are on.

Plenty of examples of blokes who have 'signed' and then go elsewhere.

Campbells Creek is about to learn that. :eek:

They can be released from a contract by the club concerned, thats up to the club, but if it goes to appeal it will go in favour of the club nearly every time. If a player had moved away from the area where the club that he signed a contract with was located, that could be grounds to award a clearance appeal in favour of the player. If a bloke signs a contract and then decides he doesn't want to honour it, if he can't talk the club into letting him off the hook and decides to take his chances at an appeal hearing, he better have a better reason than "I've changed my mind".

If a player is stupid enough to sign a contract with a country footy club when they are not 100% sure of what they are doing then they deserve all the get.

Good to see Sellers and Elliott back at Rovers and in charge. Reckon they will do a pretty good job. Will they get anyone from Castlemaine with them? Rovers usually struggle to attract quality recruits from outside their club, often relying on homegrown talent returning to play I think. So will be interesting to see if they can get some quality fresh blood in. They have a number of quality juniors coming through but Fraser, Stevens, Batson etc are not getting any younger. Perhaps next year is their big chance.

All clubs have coaches in place by the sounds of it, which is a good effort.

Any more word on if Julian Field will head back to Ballarat to play?

Any truth to the rumour that Harcourt are loosing afew players into Castlemaine?

There could be a couple of nervous clubs coming into the "silly season" after the appointment of Paul Eyles to Castlemaine; he has ties to Harcourt obviously having played in a flag there and Maldon would be expecting him to put some heat on his good mate Shaun Burchell to go back there i'm sure. Also hear that Daniel Smith is leaving Harcourt, so with Brown-Kerr and others getting on the "apple eaters" may drop off in '10

Is it also true Carisbrook have lost a couple of decent players to Maryborough?

Any word on Dunolly's imports? Are the expecting Motlop and the likes to return?

Does Sellars have any contacts from Castlemaine that he may be able to tap into and take with him to Rovers?

I'm still pretty confidant that Castlemaine are going to loose a couple to Newstead though... Daniel Christmas for one is all but over the line despite what is coming out of the Magpies nest!

There could be a couple of nervous clubs coming into the "silly season" after the appointment of Paul Eyles to Castlemaine; he has ties to Harcourt obviously having played in a flag there and Maldon would be expecting him to put some heat on his good mate Shaun Burchell to go back there i'm sure. Also hear that Daniel Smith is leaving Harcourt, so with Brown-Kerr and others getting on the "apple eaters" may drop off in '10

Have heard that a couple of Harcourts young guns are going into Castlemaine in Paul Chaplin and Joel Smith. This would be a huge loss as Chaplin is a quality midfielder and B&F winner this year and Smith provides the X factor for them up forward with his great leap and good goal kicking skills.

Will make it very hard for the Apple Eaters to be a real threat next year losing so many

Is it also true Carisbrook have lost a couple of decent players to Maryborough?

I believe this rumour to be quite true. 3 of their top senior players are heading over to Burra for next year. Big losses too, but knowing Carisbrook though, they'll chase some replacements. They're already tapping into some of our blokes at Bushy. Kinda sucks but thats silly season for ya

Does Sellars have any contacts from Castlemaine that he may be able to tap into and take with him to Rovers?

I'm still pretty confidant that Castlemaine are going to loose a couple to Newstead though... Daniel Christmas for one is all but over the line despite what is coming out of the Magpies nest!

Nathan Pope will go with them I think after a good offer that Castlemaine won't match. Very good player.

Daniel Christmas has been at both training sessions at Castlemaine and is working for a guy heavily involved in the running of the club so I think you will find he stays.

Nathan Pope will go with them I think after a good offer that Castlemaine won't match. Very good player.

Daniel Christmas has been at both training sessions at Castlemaine and is working for a guy heavily involved in the running of the club so I think you will find he stays.

Hmmmmm, continue to play for a rabble or return to your home town which happens to have just won the flag and will again be a threat in 2010 (especially with him and a couple of other recruits in the side)??

Time will tell maineman...

Have heard that a couple of Harcourts young guns are going into Castlemaine in Paul Chaplin and Joel Smith. This would be a huge loss as Chaplin is a quality midfielder and B&F winner this year and Smith provides the X factor for them up forward with his great leap and good goal kicking skills.

Will make it very hard for the Apple Eaters to be a real threat next year losing so many

Is it true also that alot of Castlemaine's Under 18's list heading too Harcourt?

Hmmmmm, continue to play for a rabble or return to your home town which happens to have just won the flag and will again be a threat in 2010 (especially with him and a couple of other recruits in the side)??

Time will tell maineman...

So no truth in the rumour that a few are heading up to Elmore next year?

You guys have no idea..lookin forward to your opinions during the year...all the young blokes are staying..as well as a few young guns coming back..I've spoke to many of the boys and they regard him as the best they have played under and respect him 100%..He saw way too much potential last year in players that really would be lucky to play 2's in other sides..Expect the Unexpected next year
I agree with your comment "expect the unexpected" The showers won't be the only things that are hot in Sainter land next season. We dont presume that we will be world beaters but there is no way that we will be the easy beats of previous seasons.
Some top line recruits and a couple of players returning to the club along with a good batch of youngsters will see a much more competitive unit. The real unexpected thing will be on the netball court where the girls will be able to field full teams and play at their correct level, which will see them being much stronger.
There is a lot happening around the club both on and off field, a great feeling of confidence and comradeship that has been missing for a few years. Stay tuned for some exciting stuff from Spud Country

So no truth in the rumour that a few are heading up to Elmore next year?
You just keep dealing in crap yes Elmore have talked to alot of players but as it stands no Newstead players are likely to go there, as for danny xmas he will make up his own mind and his boss isnt the type of person to hold a job over him. word around the maine has Pope playing for a Melbourne side with the other EX cmaine melbourne players.

Very unlikely that will happen "Inside man"... Young Matthew absolutely loves the club and has no plans on going anywhere and has already confirmed his attendance at Newsteads first session which i think is the 4th of December (can anyone from Newstead confirm dates??).

As for him not being ready, i'm not too sure if you have much knowledge of the BFL or what Castlemaine's list is like but he would have no trouble at all getting a game in there!

who blames the kid if he has a desire to have a crack at the next level, and what better chance to do so than to play with an experienced older brother!?
word has it that, he was an attendant at one of castlemaine's first training sessions.
time can only tell.
Good luck to the kid either way.

Comin from somone who has sat and interviewed potential players for both newstead and rovers, i find it hard to belive newstead have 2010 flag in the bag. A huge punt taken on Sellers ( I agree) he has got some pull and some good contacts, but do they have the money to throw around?????????? Never had before.... But along with Elliot, don't be surprised to see some pretty handy players cross the line and turn thier backs on the roo's.

I would be very surprised to see a stong playing such as Newstead have players "turn their backs" on the chance to take two flags in as many years.

Mate nothing against Rovers but I am a Newstead player and know for sure that knowone from stead will play for Rovers next year. Elliot lost all pulling power he may have had (which i doubt at newstead) with his coaching style at Castlemaine. We understand that we are far from having the 2010 flag in the bag but everyone will be working hard on and off the field to make sure we have the best chance to repeat the success of this year.