Adz2332

Port Adelaide
Hey all,

Just need a bit of advice and help regarding match worn guernseys.
I have the oppertunity to buy a few match worn items. I must say they look legit but they were given to this person as a player is a friend of the family, so no COA.
Is there any markings, tags or anything of that nature on them that differs from the stuff that can be bought from any afl store?
Any help would be great.

Thanks

Hey all,

I have the oppertunity to buy a few match worn items. I must say they look legit but they were given to this person as a player is a friend of the family, so no COA.
Is there any markings, tags or anything of that nature on them that differs from the stuff that can be bought from any afl store?
Any help would be great.

Thanks

Assuming it is Port Adelaide gear, you are very wise checking it's authenticity. If a Port Adelaide footballer has actually worn the gear in a Port match, you'd want to know as that will definitely devalue the item. You should get it for maybe 25% of retail cost in that scenario so do your homework and hopefully you can get a jumper for $20 - $25...

roflcopter :thumbsu:

Hey all,

Any help would be great.

Thanks
There's usually a club or AFL logo watermark in the material and the sizing is much smaller as well. ie. A Large will fit like Small.

Those factors will tell you if it's a player issue, in which case the easiest way to tell is by the number. A legit player issue/match worn will have the number printed (sublimated) as part of the guernsey. A replica will have the number added to the jumper after it has been made (heat pressed, sewn on etc).

I'm not sure how you differentiate a player isssue from a match worn with AFL guernseys to be honest.

Lol i can pay that one!

But thanks for the comments guys.
TBH i dont mind if it is player issue and not worn, unless there is away to tell that also?

Lol i can pay that one!

But thanks for the comments guys.
TBH i dont mind if it is player issue and not worn, unless there is away to tell that also?

My guess is that since the match worns would be initially sold by the club 99% of the time, they would usually provide the confirmation with a certificate of authenticity.

As Mr Eagle said though, try the footy graphic design board, as there's a heap of posters there who know infinitely more about this stuff than I do.

All matchday gear has matermarks over the jumper, either afl or club logo (hawthorn has the club logo).

Secondly, look at the number, it should be screen printed (in other words part of the jumper fabric) and not a stick/iron on

The water marks your speaking off, obviusly im after Power items, would these be visable in pics etc?
As i cant see any in photos of players wearing them on field if that makes sense...
could someone give me an example?

The tag says "AFL Offical ONFIELD GEAR".

Rubbish, merch and match day jumpers have the same tags.

Going off a recent (2010) match day jumper I own:
- As stated earlier, match day jumpers have a much slimmer fit.
- Not sure on all clubs, but Essendon jumpers have a small pouch on the back where gps chips are held, this should be re-stitched to show where it was inserted/removed.
- The front is the standard polyester like merch jumpers, while the back is a thickly woven polyester mesh.
- The number on the back is screen printed on at the same time as the rest of the colouring, with the AFL logo on the bottom.

All I can think of so far, hope this helps. :)

Rubbish, merch and match day jumpers have the same tags.

Going off a recent (2010) match day jumper I own:
- As stated earlier, match day jumpers have a much slimmer fit.
- Not sure on all clubs, but Essendon jumpers have a small pouch on the back where gps chips are held, this should be re-stitched to show where it was inserted/removed.
- The front is the standard polyester like merch jumpers, while the back is a thickly woven polyester mesh.
- The number on the back is screen printed on at the same time as the rest of the colouring, with the AFL logo on the bottom.

All I can think of so far, hope this helps. :)

great advice! forgot all about the GPS thingo!!

All matchday gear has matermarks over the jumper, either afl or club logo (hawthorn has the club logo).

Secondly, look at the number, it should be screen printed (in other words part of the jumper fabric) and not a stick/iron on

I disagree with the first point. I've only seen watermarks on Puma jumpers (which makes sense, since you're a Hawthorn supporter). I haven't seen watermarks on jumpers made by other manufacturers.

An example of a Lion watermark on Brisbane training jumpers.

Brisbane.jpg

As for the point Donakebab made about the material, I'd say again, the material varies greatly between the manufacturers. The current North Melbourne jumpers (made by Blades) are a sort of mesh material, like basketball singlets, which is unlike anything the other teams wear (to the best of my knowledge). The best confirmation is the number, which you can tell has been sublimated (not added later) from the picture, because the dimples of the mesh are running through the numbers as well.

NorthMelbourne.jpg

That makes sense, i think Power are reebok.
The numbers looking at all this is the biggest give away. If the numbers look that way can be a player worn or issued item.
On your jumpers youve shown above any pic of the GPS pouch in the neck?
That water mark on the lions is interesting, as ive seen a few close up and never noticed anything like it on the Port jumpers

That makes sense, i think Power are reebok.
The numbers looking at all this is the biggest give away. If the numbers look that way can be a player worn or issued item.
On your jumpers youve shown above any pic of the GPS pouch in the neck?
That water mark on the lions is interesting, as ive seen a few close up and never noticed anything like it on the Port jumpers

None of mine have pouches, now that you mention it. Maybe that's the way to tell between a match worn and a player issue...?

Luckily it hasn't been framed yet, doing it this weekend so perfect timing. :D

You can see the stitching to keep it in place.

IMG_3688.jpg

The pocket to insert/remove the chip. Can see the mesh easier in white.

IMG_3690.jpg

If you do purchase a jumper would be worth speaking to the club to get a certificate of authenticity. If it doesn't have a signature, could be an opportunity to get one then.

Thanks!
Thats very interesting. Good to see those pouches and what there meant to look like. So on seeing that has to be match worn.

Would be interesting to see how interested the club would be to verify a guernsey etc. If they would bother or not

They styles and materials all differ from manufacturer to manufacturer, the easiset way for you to tell is by the sublimated number mate, depending on what year the guernsey is, say pre 2008 will not even have the GPS pocket, ive got a heap of Collingwood ones and only in the 2008 season where GPS Pockets added.

Differrent cut, size, fit, and extra stitching and more flexible material in stress points are other differences to normal retail jumpers.

Heres a Collingwood Player issue (and worn) guernsey, Notice while our GPS pocket and jumper is the same as the above Essendon one, we've got the club song on the pocket, not a bad extra touch i reckon!

Im probably bragging a bit putting this certain jumper up but its one of my better photos and im not at home atm :)
zl2a14.jpg
29d7kma.jpg

2csgjm0.jpg