Matt Ferguson

From a radio interview, Ross Lyon was not overly impressed with his game. Could be just Ross as he's a sour prick, but given Fergie could not initially get a game after 7.5 he may not be the coach's pet.

flipping Lyon, if Fergy gets dropped he'll struggle to get back into the team.

How depressed would you get if your career was basically ended cos you missed a few piss easy shots on goal. :(

He'll be right.

Had some good defensive pressure as well.

Well done Fergie, got your chance and you took it!

Good on him, it's great to see a guy take his oppurtunity with both hands, even if his goal kicking was off. I don't reckon he should get dropped, dunno who we'd drop him for anyway? Unless X is back soon..

Fact is that screamer spoke volumes. It just was so refreshing to have that kind of flare back in our side after becoming one of the dullest teams in the league. If Lyon drops him, it'll probably be because he's too enjoyable to watch...

hahaha well put. saints were far better to watch last week. jeez 129 ptz bin a while since we did that. Ferguson looked a lot better up forward than in the backline

im glad fergie played quite well its all well and good to have one game kick some goals in vfl and say your a forward but i was worried that hed come to afl and struggle afterall his experience is mainly is as a defender for the saints but was good to see him getting few possies and take some marks just a shame he didnt finish it off. if he can find some consistency and kick 2-3 goals a game i think will help hugely! and then riewoldt can continue to miss goals. also need schneiderman and milne to keep it up at least 2 goals each per game

hahaha well put. saints were far better to watch last week. jeez 129 ptz bin a while since we did that. Ferguson looked a lot better up forward than in the backline

Actually, we have scored 120+ three times this season (including Sunday), but the last time we scored at least 129 was Round 21, 2006 (22.10.142 v Western Bulldogs).

Bruce loved his screamer:)

I thought that screamer was a brilliant bit of footy. The ball was directed to Reiwoldt but with so many Demons around it was never going to be a mark for him. The defenders were not going to mark it they were all holding Nick and batting at his arms, Ferguson saw the oportunity and took it.
:)

He did grab his hamstring late in the final qtr. I just hope it was nothing than a little bit of tightness.

It is always great to see a new player have a real go.

Sometimes I think it is only the shame of being upstaged by new inclusions that keeps the experienced players performing.

C'mon Kozzie and Riewoldt we wanna see those screamers this week.

The Dogs are our bitch team :p

I remember 3 or 4 years ago I said to my mate that both Dane Swan and Matt Ferguson could turn out to be really good players. Since then only one has taken off.

I really hope he makes it - starting to show some signs.

He is a very natural player, he will be very very good given a few senior games.. Even tho he has not kicked a goal in senior footy yet (i think he kicked 5 points against the dees,nerves perhaps), i am prepared to say he will eventually win our goal kicking in the future

He's always struggled with his goal kicking, even back to his under 18 days. Interestingly back then he was a highly rated centre half forward but the major question mark was his size and whether he could play as a key forward at AFL level.

These days you only have to look at the rest of the league to see that there is definitely a space for a mid-sized marking forward if they are good enough. The likes of Brad Johnson, Robert Murphy, Mark Williams, Russell Robertson, Brett Ebert, Ryan O'Keefe and Brett Deledio have all played that role.

He's had a wretched time of it with injuries and it was great to see him play so well. Let's hope there is more of it to come.

Some dead-eye dicks in your list Sainter - shows Fergie most likely will need to make more of his opportunities going forward. Some awful pokes at the ball at the weekend and a dodgy left foot snap. Hopefully he will start attacking the kicks like he does the marking contests.

How was his screamer! What a ripper! Shame he couldn't convert, but if he can improve conversion asap :thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

flipping Lyon, if Fergy gets dropped he'll struggle to get back into the team.

How depressed would you get if your career was basically ended cos you missed a few piss easy shots on goal. :(

I love Ferg, but fair dinkum. What do you mean 'just cos you missed a few piss easy shots on goal'? God knows we've got enough of them in the team already. I'm happy to give him another go, but goal kicking DOES matter.

Something's seriously wrong when you've got Roo and Kosi in the forward line but you're yelling "Kick it to Birss!".

I love Ferg, but fair dinkum. What do you mean 'just cos you missed a few piss easy shots on goal'? God knows we've got enough of them in the team already. I'm happy to give him another go, but goal kicking DOES matter.

Something's seriously wrong when you've got Roo and Kosi in the forward line but you're yelling "Kick it to Birss!".

Do you sit in Aisle 36?

We had somebody near us screaming that in the last quarter.

I agree with you but by the same token we've got some beautiful field kicks who don't get the ball. At least he's attacking the ball and giving us a focal point.

Slightly off topic but I watched the replay of last weeks game and Kosi must have set up half a dozen goals with his attack on the ball. The amount of times Milne and Schneider in particular benefited from being front and centre was huge for us.

Perhaps Fergie can be the x-factor that just stretches opposition defences. He'll beat an attacking defender like Gilbee. He'd require a Dale Morris type to stop him.

I mean like, someone said he could be dropped cos Lyon didn't think he played a good game. Then I'm like, well if he gets dropped again, he'll probs struggle to make it back into the team. Then get delisted at the end of the season.

So in the end if he hadda kicked straight, he would have played a good game, wouldn't have got dropped and his career coulda gone somewhere...

Thats kind of an extreme view on things, and hopefully the former won't happen. :)

At least he was missing em when we were already up by 10 goals.