Matt Taberner - Developing Days

• Thread starter Thread starter bone2468

Benefit of what doubt?

He was extremely poor yesterday and needs to improve enormously to sustain a position in the side. He's a very long way from being as good as Silvagni and Zac Dawson, let alone McPharlin or Johnson.

The benefit of the doubt - that yesterday was a step in his development and not a defining moment in his football life.

I'm not saying he played great and he won't keep his place as soon as any of our other options are back....not sure anyone has suggested otherwise.

The benefit of the doubt - that yesterday was a step in his development and not a defining moment in his football life.

I'm not saying he played great and he won't keep his place as soon as any of our other options are back....not sure anyone has suggested otherwise.
Not sure how it isn't defining - the game he played looked a lot closer to it being one of his last than one of his first.

He hasn't even played 10 games of footy, let alone any as a back man at AFL level. Give the bloke a chance FFS.
There are certain things you look for in players that make you think "can play". Him rushing his disposal in a panic doesn't worry me. I thought Duffield handballing to him after a mark was stupid by Duffield even though Taberner was the one that screwed up the kick (Duffield put him under needless pressure). There were a few other mistakes he made that I didn't care about. Being a few steps behind his man wasn't too much of a problem either, given he's never played defence at the top level before.

It was moments where he could have made a contest but didn't that worried me. That is very difficult to coach out of players and demonstrates their intent (or lack thereof). He'd need to improve a lot more to make it as an AFL defender, and even further to have any hope of being a key forward.

Not sure how it isn't defining - the game he played looked a lot closer to it being one of his last than one of his first.

You obviously missed Zac Dawson's first season.

I really want him to work out but in my heart of Purple Hearts I hold little to nil expectation for tabs getting much more game time either forward or back. know he was an absolute speculative pick and I cut him slack because he is what he is - a development player found on lists in positions like ours.
Even so you should still identify some playing traits in a KPF that give hope. I just see a really fit tall guy.....and I'm normally a glass three quarters full sort with all things freo.
I want to see marking power, leaping power, timing in the air, vision around the ground, smart body use and quick decision making that puts others in positions of advantage.
I'm honest enough with myself to admit I don't see much of that - others may and I hope I'm wrong....
I wish for tabs to bust out but I don't see it happening.
All my hope and prayers of deliverance are currently addressed to 1 M. Apeness

At this stage he is definitely better than Silvagni (who wasn't even playing at this level at this age) and Dawson (who was on the point of being traded to St Kilda). He needs time to develop but some people at the club, including RTB, clearly think he's worth the investment. Next year is the go, as it is with Apeness - hoping we are all excited at the prospect.

I wouldn't say he's better than Silvagni at the same age just because he's played 7 AFL games and SNOS hadn't yet. 2008 Silvagni was top 3 of Casey Scorpions best and fairest, he was 20. 2009 he was in the VFL team of the year. 2010 we drafted him and he played games very quickly after showing his quality and competitiveness.

Taberner is just middling at Peel in a pretty weak side and no where near a comp leading CHF. If he wasn't already signed with us and you were a recruiter looking for a handy mature age pick you might raise an eyebrow but nothing more.

I don't rag on SNOS after we've thrown him forward for a game and he was subpar but one thing you know you always get with him is real competitive spirit and fierceness at the ball. Taberner's not done but he's got a long way to go to get to that stage.

If it was for most of you guys on here players like Mundy, Mzungu, Suban Ibbotson and way too many others would have been delisted years ago.

should of delisted mundy ages ago ... then we wouldn't have to go thru this contract negotiation and FA crap !!!

If it was for most of you guys on here players like Mundy, Mzungu, Suban Ibbotson and way too many others would have been delisted years ago.
except that its generally a small and vocal minority that makes these kind of assertions and it then gets picked up and discussed as if its a majority opinion, which it isn't. Plenty of people just don't even buy into the stupidity that goes on in those types of threads.

I wouldn't say he's better than Silvagni at the same age just because he's played 7 AFL games and SNOS hadn't yet. 2008 Silvagni was top 3 of Casey Scorpions best and fairest, he was 20. 2009 he was in the VFL team of the year. 2010 we drafted him and he played games very quickly after showing his quality and competitiveness.

Taberner is just middling at Peel in a pretty weak side and no where near a comp leading CHF. If he wasn't already signed with us and you were a recruiter looking for a handy mature age pick you might raise an eyebrow but nothing more.

I don't rag on SNOS after we've thrown him forward for a game and he was subpar but one thing you know you always get with him is real competitive spirit and fierceness at the ball. Taberner's not done but he's got a long way to go to get to that stage.
I'm reminded of a spirited debate a few years ago where someone asserted that De Boer was better than Barlow because De Boer had played a handful of AFL games and Barlow was yet to debut.

Sounds like they were displaying similarly stunted reasoning to those oppo supporters that say lyon is just an average run of the mill coach, because he's never won a premiership.

I can't stand absolutism. Poor reasoning is even harder to stomach.

Sounds like they were displaying similarly stunted reasoning to those oppo supporters that say lyon is just an average run of the mill coach, because he's never won a premiership.

I can't stand absolutism. Poor reasoning is even harder to stomach.

As RTB said failure gives feedback !!! and we have had our fair share of feedback

So what ,Barlow hadnt played an AFL game and De Boer had played well while still on the rookie list.
The argument was who should go onto the main list De Boer or Barlow .De Boer had the AFL runs on the board and should have been upgraded before Mick
This is what happened and both have turned out to be handy players with Mick now being the standout.
I'm reminded of the posts back when of Mundy being soft,coward was the term used, and his pulling out of contests would get a Freo player killed.
Look how thats turned out

Yeah I mean there's just so many reasons why someone might not have played/been playing AFL.

Call me crazy but I think Jon Griffin is a better ruckman at his best than Natanui but he hasn't even got a look in this year. Closer to home I think he's much better than Clarke too but we can't have two logs in Sandi and Griff running about.

Role and the team playing in I guess.

Call me crazy but I think Jon Griffin is a better ruckman at his best than Natanui but he hasn't even got a look in this year.

Sorry smokingjacket, I reckon you're crazy. Griffin's middle-of-the-range form would compare pretty favourably with Nic Nat's middle-of-the-range form. Griff ranges from solid to terrific, and probably averages out around good. Naitanui ranges from non-existent to amazing, and probably averages out around reasonable.

But their top end form is a fair bit different in my opinion. Nic Nat at his best is a pretty amazing player. Griff's best is terrific, but still a couple of notches below.

Thankfully for us, Nic Nat hasn't spent much time at his best over the last few years.

Taberner could definitely use a bit of mongrel - he gives the appearance of being a nice quiet shy guy. Reticent almost - like he needs constant reinforcement. Which isn't the best thing for a KPF. I reckon his being thrust into the backline for a big match such as this possibly made him even more shy and less inclined to "impact" the contest because he was afraid of stuffing it up.

He didn't cost us the game and the experience will be invaulable. I still have hopes for him.

Sorry smokingjacket, I reckon you're crazy. Griffin's middle-of-the-range form would compare pretty favourably with Nic Nat's middle-of-the-range form. Griff ranges from solid to terrific, and probably averages out around good. Naitanui ranges from non-existent to amazing, and probably averages out around reasonable.

But their top end form is a fair bit different in my opinion. Nic Nat at his best is a pretty amazing player. Griff's best is terrific, but still a couple of notches below.

Thankfully for us, Nic Nat hasn't spent much time at his best over the last few years.

Haha come on mate the derbies only just finished. We can still give them a little kick can't we?

I was a bit concerned with the physical part of his game on Saturday. Funnily now having watched the replay, he didn't make to many mistakes.

True. He is a very ordinary (poor by AFL standard) kick of the footy though. Wouldn't get near Hawthorn's back line despite being tall and left footed.