maccas_no1

Suspended
Glenelg, MUFC, Triple 8
It is quite obvious that this is his last season, when should he get his farewell game this week against Melbourne or against Collingwood in Rnd 21???

Has played some very good footy with the AFC and think he deserves to say goodbye to the AFC supporter's.

When you are fighting for a 2nd spot and a home final then you can't afford to give "charity" games to players that haven't earned them.

His form doesn't demand a game at AFL level. I mean he has been dropped from Sturt seniors twice this year and has spent most of this year either injured or playing in ressies.

Stiffy_18 said:
When you are fighting for a 2nd spot and a home final then you can't afford to give "charity" games to players that haven't earned them.

His form doesn't demand a game at AFL level. I mean he has been dropped from Sturt seniors twice this year and has spent most of this year either injured or playing in ressies.

:confused:

Doesnt Matty play for South? ;)

Stiffy_18 said:

I think you mean South seniors Stiffy. ;) Also, I reckon his form hasn't been that bad to warrant dropping. I think there must be more than meets the eye.

However, I agree we don't just bring Clarke in for the sake of it. Whilst I think it is probably best that it is Clarkey's last year (with Maric & Meeson in te ranks), I don't think it is a forgone conclusion that he won't be contracted for next year.

It strikes me very odd that Clarkey can't get a game in a side that is on such a downward spiral. No wonder he wants to move to West. I don't think he can get a clearance though.

No room for charity matches though.

k
xx

A snip from my column lodged tonight for the Adelaide Review out on Friday:

"In Round 22, if Adelaide has secured second spot, I wonder how many of those who could benefit from 14 days without football will be rested. Will the club play Matthew Clarke in Round 22 in case Biglands or Hudson get injured or reported? Will they play any of the ten or eleven underlings, denied game time because of Adelaide’s exceptional injury-free ride, to see if there is a finals X factor hidden within their ranks?"

maccas_no1 said:
It is quite obvious that this is his last season, when should he get his farewell game this week against Melbourne or against Collingwood in Rnd 21???

Has played some very good footy with the AFC and think he deserves to say goodbye to the AFC supporter's.

Let him toss the coin in Round 21, shake somebody's hand, or have a chat at the Chairman's lunch. But I don't think we need a big fanfare for him, that's for sure. Whatever, he won't pull the pin until after the season's done and dusted anyway, so we won't have to worry.