Matthew Kreuzer - You legend.

Was telling that both Judd and Murphy mentioned Kreuzer in their post-game interviews on Friday night.

Clearly everyone is excited about what big Krooooooooooooooze can bring.

We'll need to be a bit patient with him, because in his absence we've built him up to be the difference between top 6 and certain premiership glory... :o

Let him have a long as he needs in the 2s, plus one more, before bringing him up.

One more week baby, can hardly wait for Mr. Bear to be back mmmmmmmmmm.
Might be only a week away but realistically wont be expecting too much from Kreuzer until he gets continuity of games at senior level for about a month or so, the same as we should not expect too much from McLean until he has the same continuity of senior level exposure.

Basically we have huge upside with our group and should be primed to make a run at a flag in the last third of the season barring setbacks or new injuries!!

As long as he takes his time and is 200% I am willing to wait although the wait is hard. Would be happy if he gets 6 -7 games in the seniors before our run into the finals, that would be ideal.

Absolutely that would be great to get 7 odd games at full capacity after he has played in parts for a couple of weeks perhaps even being subbed out etc for those couple of games. Just need to ensure a top 4 finish and doesn't matter where in the top 4 because all of these teams will be Victorian based by the looks and all will be tough 50/50 prospects.

Agree, although it has been too long, have missed seeing him running out there for us. Love the kid and you can already tell he has been working hard while he was injured, I just can't wait to see him back out there.

I am pretty confident he will pick up the speed of AFL quickly, going to be a massive boost for the club/team and the supporters/fans as well to see him running around again.

Great... last thing that I read before shutting down my computer is the email notification about this post...

Now I am all excited again... When Humphrey gets back into the side, the whole team will left...

Judd is the leader of the team... but Humphrey is the spirit. And if he wasnt such a shy git, he would be the perfect captain.

I reckon that in our current crop of players, we have a couple of future brownlow medallists in Smurph and Humphrey. coupla years I reckon :D

Agree, although it has been too long, have missed seeing him running out there for us. Love the kid and you can already tell he has been working hard while he was injured, I just can't wait to see him back out there.

I am pretty confident he will pick up the speed of AFL quickly, going to be a massive boost for the club/team and the supporters/fans as well to see him running around again.
I reckon he is our most important big man by a mile and could dominate the league for a long while because of his work rate and huge talent, thats why I chose JK for my log in name:thumbsu:

I would rather them bring him back 1 month late for precaution then 1 day too early but am like you cant wait to see him up and flying and causing huge match up problems for the opposition.

Agree with you, don't want to take any chances with him, give him as much time as he needs.

Kreuzer to FF, or something out of left field play him at CHB and let the ball come to him for the first few weeks get him into the game.

Great thing with Kreuzer is he can play almost every position.

Our team structure is 1 x ruckman and 1 x forward/second ruck.

Last week that was Hampson and Setanta.
Previously we have tried Warnock/Hampson and Warnock/Setanta.

Kreuzer is the best bet we have as the second name in that combo, and makes it awesome.

So by the time he's fit and ready to go, it'll be Warnock/Kreuzer, with Hampson rucking in the 2s and Setant unlucky.

I'm as happy as anyone to see Kreuzer back, but how do we bring him in if he won't be rucking?

We won't have Warnock, Hampson and Kreuzer in the one team.
That then has Hampson out and O'hAilpin in.
The problem with that then is; Where does Henderson fit in?

Until Kreuzer can ruck with confidence, Henderson is more important to us overall.
Think you will find that by the time finals comes around Kreuzer will have to ruck some but for the first few games they will more then likely go with an extra tall up forward who can pinch hit or have Kreuzer, Irish or Henderson as the sub who can fill a few roles or start the game and be subbed out.

Agree we wont Kreuzer, Hampson and Warnock in the same team but could see them playing Warnock in the ruck, with Kreuzer and Henderson forward and Irish as a sub or something similar until Kreuzer is right to take on some ruck duties.

On current form, I expect to see Warnock, Kreuzer and Ohailpan all named in the same team. Setanta is doing more than enough to justify his spot at the moment. Warnock/Kreuzer either changing out of the pocket or the bench when he's fit.

Setanta will end up as a forward, and on current form may be holding hendersons spot.

We'll need to be a bit patient with him, because in his absence we've built him up to be the difference between top 6 and certain premiership glory... :o

Let him have a long as he needs in the 2s, plus one more, before bringing him up.

It's getting a bit that way isn't it. I don't think he is going to have the impact that some of us are suggesting, well not this year anyway.

Think we should be really patient with the Krooze ... give him all the time he needs, let him get confidence in the knee and chomping at the bit.

Then release him to tear them all a new one.

Seriously would not mind him sitting in the magoos for another month or so.

Give him everything he needs and then a little bit more .... we have that luxury at the moment, might as well use it.

BIB has suggested that they are looking at introducing him in the Brisbane game but I think that is a little premature. He needs time, not just for fitness but getting back into the routine of playing footy week after week.

Let him build some more confidence and fitness in the 2's for at least another 2-3 weeks.

The one I am desperate to see return is Bower, I think he is the missing piece of our defense.

A defensive unit looking something like this would be great:

FB: Duigan Jamison Russell
CHB: Laidler Bower Yarran

Wrong thread for this disussion though. :p

What a great problem to have how, when and where to slot him in. 5 yrs ago we'd have played him on crutches. There was a day I thought i'd never see depth at our club again.

5 years ago Pagan would have rushed him back into the squad and would have ridden him into the ground.

We have done that with a few players in the past and it eventually it wrecked their careers and ended up chewing them up like a dogs chew toy. We knew we had a serious lack of quality depth but that isnt the case now and we have the luxury of allowing players to come back to speed naturally.

Now, we have heaps of depth and it isnt such a rush to get our best players back into the side because our second string players would be first string players at other clubs.

And it is ****ing great :D

I predict a number of premiership appearances for the Blues over the next 10 years... and 3-4 more cups in there.

Much happier watching Crutchless Kreuzer.

I laughed at the vision of our players on the field with crutches but cried at the realization we may have been better off than for some of the players we had ruinning around only 5 years ago.

True. I haven't forgotten any of those players through that period and I reckon he would have been better than some of them on crutches - Killed me.
Anyway lets look ahead to the big fella's return in a couple of weeks. I have a feeling Lucas, Henderson, Bower and the big K are all going to hit their straps about round 17. Just got a funny feeling we are going to have some luck finally.

Can you imagine the banner if we managed to make the GF against the filth...

It's been over 100 years chokers... wanna try again? and include all the years we beat them :D

And in all honesty, if we gave them a kicking in Round 17, then they would have to be a tad worried :D

Kreuzer edging closer to return

MATTHEW Kreuzer will spend at least another week in the VFL rediscovering form and match fitness, but Carlton has no shortage of players returning from injury and pushing hard for selection against Port Adelaide on Sunday.

Coach Brett Ratten said Kreuzer's return from a knee reconstruction was on track after playing half a match and then lifting that to three-quarters in his second game with the Northern Bullants.

Kreuzer edging closer to return

I reckon 2 full weeks in the Ants before he is ready to come back... 1 week spent alternating 50/50 between ruck and forward line and 1 week in the ruck for the ants with only a few spells in the forward line. Kreuzer should be back for either Sydney or the wet toast.

Hoops and Hendo to have at least 1 more week in the Ants I reckon with both to come back against the paddlepops