Matthew Lloyd comments on Judd Some people are not going to be happy

After hearing the tape, it wasn't what Lloydy said it was what he implied that damaged himself and the club. Im sure those young WA boys are feeling quite uncomfortable ATM
I agree. Mathew Lloyd has, in one fell swoop, undermined Essendons Judd aspirations and the confidence of his WA born teammates. He can't run away from the inference in his statement. One down...14 to go.....Juddy may slip through to the PSD yet!

Why?

All he did was state the obvious in that West Coast would be interested in our WA players.

He didn't say they were up for trade, he didn't say we'd offer them to West Coast, he said West Coast would be interested.

Well no shit...

I heard his comments this morning and he was saying how we would trade for judd and that our new coach will probably be slected before trade week now, by the way he said our new coach will be a young not old.

[/B]Essendon are prepared to use their West Australian first-round AFL draft picks Paddy Ryder and Scott Gumbleton in trade negotiations for Chris Judd, according to captain Matthew Lloyd.
Essendon are considered among the front-runners to sign the former West Coast captain and Brownlow Medallist, who will return to his home city of Melbourne.
The Bombers recruited Ryder at No.7 in the 2005 national draft and Gumbleton came to the club at No.2 last year.
They will have the No.6 pick in this year's draft.
"We'll have pick six and where I think West Coast are going to like Essendon is we have plenty of great West Australian young talent at our footy club," Lloyd said on radio station Sport 927.When asked if he was happy that Essendon might trade away Ryder or Gumbleton, Lloyd replied: "no, I'm not, but he's the best player in the comp and it's going to hurt."Saying that, I'm not sure how the young players feel."
Leroy Jetta is another former WA player who might feature in negotiations.
Lloyd also was confident Essendon would have a new coach by trade week.
The lack of a replacement for Kevin Sheedy is seen as a handicap for the Bombers as they try to attract Judd.
Lloyd said the senior coach selection was now down to three, one of whom is believed to be Hawthorn assistant and former Essendon premiership player Damien Hardwick.
"Our senior coach is going to be someone who's pretty strong-disciplined, a younger coach who's raring to go," Lloyd said.
"That will happen before trade period, when Chris comes about."
Regardless of the scenario, Lloyd made it clear Essendon are determined to snare Judd.
"We're going for it ... we feel that's exactly what we lack in the midfield, that pace that we just haven't had," Lloyd said.
"We've put that into the side with (Jason) Winderlich and (Andrew) Lovett and those types of players, but where I reckon we've struggled is ... the 2000-01 drafts, we've got no-one left.
"We really probably dropped the baton there.
"To get a 24-year-old who's the best player in the competition, we're all for it."

Link http://wwos.ninemsn.com.au/article.aspx?id=296511

After listening to the interview i think the parts in bold are important. At no stage did Lloyd mention any names that where on the trade table. He simply said that we have a lot of WA talent on our list that WC would like. I would have presumed that he was including Johns and Bradley in that list. There is a difference between mentioning talent clubs would like and saying outright the players are for trade.
As usual a lot of people have taken snippets of the full interview and run with them when they are not in fact what Lloyd was saying.

I heard his comments this morning and he was saying how we would trade for judd and that our new coach will probably be slected before trade week now, by the way he said our new coach will be a young not old.

Anyway he said that we have good Western Australian talent like Paddy Ryder, Scott Gumbleton and Leroy Jetta. He said the WEagles would be interseted in them and that they could be up for the trade but that doesn't mean we're just going to be trading out of those 3, we got another 40 players that we could trade, he's only naming them because they come from WA and that they would be interested in going home which could be likely.

The more I see all this discussion, the more I realise that this important period without a coach could really hurt us! I hope like hell we have a great reason for delaying this coaching decision, like Thompson or something, or this could be an absolute blunder. Why the hell would Judd come to Essendon when our future is so muddy? How the hell is a new coach going to be prepared for trade week when he wont start until the week before?? This is getting somewhat frustrating!

As if they won't tell Judd what we're planning.

In all honesty who cares if they tell Judd what they are doing?? :confused:

I know if I was in demand for a position at a number of potential work sites, and I went to an interview with a company that had no leader or staff supervisor, and they said, "we don't have anyone in charge, but this is what we plan to do", I would not be overly assured or impressed. This has got to hurt us. If Essendon have already decided, why arent they saying? If they havent decided what are they going to tel Judd? "Oh yeah, you will be really happy to be at Essendon, we can't tell you who the coach is, but he's real good". Hmmmmm.....next.

If Judd is being honest about the only reason for going home is his family (and that he really loves the WCE), then appointing Peter Sumich as coach may be a very timely thing for the Bombers to do.

look the matter of the fact is the journos turned lloyds words around to make news. every vic captain is going to be questioned on the matter and the media is gana try and make the biggest story they can out of it. its funny to see how many other vic team supporters have jumped on this thread and all them have bagged out wat lloyd said, carlton in particular. This shows that you are worried that maybe u will not get judd. At the end of the day the best option for WCE is where judd will go and if not judd will end up at richmond. Essendon does have alot of Western Australian boys, Bradley, gumbleton, jetta, ryder just too name some. Why not try and see what West Coast want, we need a leadership player at that 25 age area, LLoyd, fletcher are gettin older and our young players are slowly developing. What an exciting future our club would be for next year a team that only missed the finals by a couple of games after finishing 15th the year before. New coach and a new star player in Judd. Lloyds words were fine and bombers go after judd

In all honesty who cares if they tell Judd what they are doing?? :confused:

I know if I was in demand for a position at a number of potential work sites, and I went to an interview with a company that had no leader or staff supervisor, and they said, "we don't have anyone in charge, but this is what we plan to do", I would not be overly assured or impressed. This has got to hurt us. If Essendon have already decided, why arent they saying? If they havent decided what are they going to tel Judd? "Oh yeah, you will be really happy to be at Essendon, we can't tell you who the coach is, but he's real good". Hmmmmm.....next.

Do you honestly believe Essendon don't already have a fair idea of who it's gonna be next year?

I'm sure they have more than a fair idea, or atleast I hope they do. Still it wouldn't be very reassuring to a champion looking for a new club for the rest of his life to come to a club that is still up in the air on one of the most important positions in the club. Not to mention what I have already said about draft week. How will a new coach have a decent handle on what Essendon need going forward, when they have so little time to settle in after they are appointed. This waiting , unless its to name Bomber as the new, just seems counter-productive!

Why?

All he did was state the obvious in that West Coast would be interested in our WA players.

He didn't say they were up for trade, he didn't say we'd offer them to West Coast, he said West Coast would be interested.

Well no shit...
Its the juxtaposition of what WC want and what we've (Ess) got, that gives it away. And anyone who thinks he was talking about Courtney Johns et al are dishonest or deluded.

He doesn't think before engaging his gob. But, he's not alone rbr we have Nathan Brown playing for us:eek:

Its the juxtaposition of what WC want and what we've (Ess) got, that gives it away. And anyone who thinks he was talking about Courtney Johns et al are dishonest or deluded.

What juxtaposition?

He didn't talk about Essendon.
He didn't offer trades.

He said West Coast will be interested in our WA boys.

He didn't say we'll trade them, he didn't say they're on offer. He didn't mention Gumby and Ryder.

He just said West Coast would be interested in our WA boys.

No ****ing shit they will be.

But one thing Lloyd and the club have said is that they won't be traded, they won't be on the table.

The problem here isn't what Lloyd said, it's what people want to hear and what they want to believe.

What juxtaposition?

He didn't talk about Essendon.
He didn't offer trades.

He said West Coast will be interested in our WA boys.

He didn't say we'll trade them, he didn't say they're on offer. He didn't mention Gumby and Ryder.

He just said West Coast would be interested in our WA boys.

No ****ing shit they will be.

But one thing Lloyd and the club have said is that they won't be traded, they won't be on the table.

The problem here isn't what Lloyd said, it's what people want to hear and what they want to believe.

It was funny listening to Patrick Smith on thursday. Now insted of them saying Lloyd mentioned the names they are now saying that everyone knew what Lloyd ment by using the WA boys line. Just shows exactly what the media is like now. You can take any comment and put any type of spin on it you want and then you can say i am correct becasue everyone knows thats what the person was really saying despite them not saying it at all :thumbsdown:

The press are hardly ever pragmatic when it comes to a football story, I do think though that Lloydy got himself into a bit of a hole. He should stick to kicking goals.

Maybe but the press cant have it both ways. Do they want players to give opinions and interesting interviews or do they just want the usual boring crap/dribble comments. I dont know why Smith and Denham are teeing off on Lloyd for. Maybe becasue they didnt get to interview him ? Seriously what right have the media got to critise a player for giving an interesting interview.
Lloyd didnt say to much. He simply said we have a lot of WA talent that the Eagles would be interested in.

Maybe but the press cant have it both ways. Do they want players to give opinions and interesting interviews or do they just want the usual boring crap/dribble comments. I dont know why Smith and Denham are teeing off on Lloyd for. Maybe becasue they didnt get to interview him ? Seriously what right have the media got to critise a player for giving an interesting interview.
Lloyd didnt say to much. He simply said we have a lot of WA talent that the Eagles would be interested in.

Well said. How often do they criticize players for "playing with a straight bat" and giving them nothin? The moment a player is honest and says the obvious they jump down his throat. Its a joke, and all for ratings!

Gumbleton wants back in Perth... it's confirmed from a mate at Peel that played with Gumby :D

Now the issue is that Essendon will be stupid to think they are only going to give up Gumbleton to get Judd. It's going to be at least pick 6 and Gumbleton and if what we think might happen and Carlton offers pick 1 and 3 for Judd then Essendon are going to have to throw in either another 1st round pick somehow or Leroy Jetta.

Should be interesting :D

Gumbleton wants back in Perth... it's confirmed from a mate at Peel that played with Gumby :D

Now the issue is that Essendon will be stupid to think they are only going to give up Gumbleton to get Judd. It's going to be at least pick 6 and Gumbleton and if what we think might happen and Carlton offers pick 1 and 3 for Judd then Essendon are going to have to throw in either another 1st round pick somehow or Leroy Jetta.

Carlton are not offering pick one anyway so that blows your little trade plan out of the water.
I always like the confirmed from a mate that someone is going home. In recent times we have had Ryder and Monfries going home because their mates back home have said they want to leave. Im sure Gumbleton would like to go home as well but it is something all the interstate boys go through in their first year.

And unless West Coast and Femantle have shocking seasons and end up at the bottom end of the ladder next year, he can't get back there via the PSD anyway.

So would have to be traded.

i would read into what Llyod says too much..
he is only stating what everyone on here knows, he's not the one that does the deals.. in the paper today Peter Jackson said there not gonna do anything silly and trade away ryder/gumby..

he's the captain.
it's part of his job.

Some of you guys are hilarious :D pick 6 for the best 24 year old in the history of the AFL. Bwahahahahahaha. Thankfully your esteemed and extremely stupid captain Lloydy may be as thick as a piece of Jarrah but even he knows for Essendon to get Judd it's going to cost them alot but you have to do it at any cost.

Thankfully you idiots aren't doing the trades :D

If you think you're gonna get what Judd is worth, your wrong. Not fair, I know, but that's the way it is. Suck it up, chuckles!! :D One thing is certain - Judd IS leaving West Coast. You're gonna have to take the best offer that's on the table.

If you think Carlton are gonna offer 1 & 3, you are seriously deluded. Collingwood have no picks and aren't gonna give up anyone good. Melbourne's the smokey. I think Essendon is just being used to try drive up his price... a final gesture of good will for his old club. Would love to see him in red 'n' black, but I think it's highly unlikely.

Thankfully, PJ and most of the other clubs vying for your ex-champion's services, aren't gonna speculate on what trades might be on the table until Judd nominates his club of choice. There's no point undermining the confidence some of our WA kids may have in their own position on our list.

The reality is, you're gonna have to take what you're given. If you think your club is in a position of strength in this, you're gonna end-up very disappointed.

But by all means.... keep laughing and smiling that big cheesy grin!! :D :thumbsu:

Matthew Lloyd comments on Judd Some people are not going to be happy