Matthew Panos

Thanks for the warm welcome guys :thumbsu:

See where you're coming from Shiny, and yes it sounds like he's improved heaps, but it's just incredibly rare for someone to improve that much that he goes from not even being considered worth a punt as a speculative pick late by 16 recruiting managers, to being a perceived as a probable superstar (which is pretty much what you're after with a top 5 pick).

The fact he wasn't even picked up as a key forward makes it even less likely for him to shoot into top 5 contention imo. Guys like Nathan O'Keefe/Michael Still, etc who were drafted despite only showing glimpses as key forwards last year indicate that as an U18 key forward, you only have to show glimpses to be a genuine draft chance because of how important key forwards are and how hard they are to find.

Good player, but not a top 5 pick for mine.

Panos has been a well regarded player in SA for the past few years. I have followed his development with interest having watched a lot of Rostrevor College games.

He is relatively new to football having played representative tennis, volleyball and soccer when he was younger. Is a very good athlete and was talked into playing for the Rostrevor College football team in year 10 and was a natural quickly advancing to play for their First 18. In Year 11, he lead the whole competition in goal kicking and was selected to represent SA in the U16 championships where he lead SA in goals and contested marks. Was unlucky not to get AIS selection as he was one of the best performers for SA at the U16s.

Last year he again lead the school comp in goals kicked but missed out on state selection. Just about all of SA's forward line got drafted last year (Lewis Johnston, Paul Cahill and Ryan Schoenmakers) so Panos had a fair bit of competition for a forward role, especially given he was still eligible the following year.

Panos not making the U18s and playing school football instead of for Norwood probably hid him from the AFL a bit.

I am not surprised by Panos' rise to top 10 pick status. He has grown from 189cm last year to 193cm this year which will make him much more attractive to AFL teams. He has gotten stronger and more physical. This combined with his accurate goal kicking and natural athleticism makes him a top prospect.

Just about everyone down at Norwood rate Panos as being superior to Schoenmakers and Schoenmakers was a first round pick.

All of the above, together with a terrific start to the national champs clearly points to Panos and Butcher being the top two forwards in this year's nationals.

Panos out performed Butcher in the wet on Sunday so the top 10 talk is deserved. In the first quarter, Panos made an incredible play for a player of his size that Daniel Motlop would have been proud of. Went back with the flight of the ball, picked up beautifully from ground level, spun around and kicked it straight through from the pocket.

In the third quarter, he chased a bloke down and pinned him for holding the ball at the 55 metre mark. He went back and kicked a massive goal.

I would say though that Panos' stock rose big time in the eyes of the recruiters when SA played North Adelaide in a trial where Panos was matched up against Crows' first round pick, Phil Davis. Panos performed well against Davis highlighting his talent and potential.

I'm always of the opinion you take best available with your first draft pick, even if it is a midfielder...Lets not forget flags can be won without any KPP...aka west coast.

After your first pick things obviously become a little murkey, chances are you could throw a net of about 10 players with that pick of similar value...2nd/3rd round I have no problems with honing on team requirements.

I'm always of the opinion you take best available with your first draft pick, even if it is a midfielder...Lets not forget flags can be won without any KPP...aka west coast.

After your first pick things obviously become a little murkey, chances are you could throw a net of about 10 players with that pick of similar value...2nd/3rd round I have no problems with honing on team requirements.

Not true - West Coast had Hansen and Lynch playing pretty well that year. Sure they weren't world beaters but they were there and did kick goals and straighten the side up.

Of the other recent teams, do you think they haven't had key forwards?:

Hawthorn, 08 - Franklin, Roughhead
Geelong, 07 - Mooney, N. Ablett
Sydney, 05 - Hall, O'laughlin
Port, 04 - Tredrea, Thurstans
Brisbane, 03,02,01 - Brown, Lynch
Essendon, 00 - Lucas, Lloyd

Not true - West Coast had Hansen and Lynch playing pretty well that year. Sure they weren't world beaters but they were there and did kick goals and straighten the side up.

[/B]

Hansen has gone on to prove just how much of a Hack he was..Lynch has found a way to keep his position, but hardly anything special. Which proves my point, you dont need a game breaker KPP if you have a "great" midfield.

Murphy in the West Coast lineup with Kerr, Judd and Cousins running around would look good as well.

Has ridden the bigfooty hype rollercoaster like a champ. Appeared to be an absolute lock @ 11 for Melbourne but after Burgatrons ratings (influenced by recruiter opinion) has slide into second round contention.

If he is avaliable @ 20, should we take him? Assuming we take a midfielder first up.

It could well be likely we have to weigh up Panos vs several very different kinds of players (e.g. Sheppard vs Taylor vs Panos). Be very interesting to see how it pans out, and I suspect it will be pure luck that dictates if the player we pick at 20 turns out to be the right one.

I've been a Panos fan for a while, I think he's a chance to be their at pick 20 and I think we should definately take him.

I still think Black is a small chance of slipping as well, his hype has come at a more crucial time of year though, Panos' interest has peaked and is already sliding so I think he's more of a chance.

If Black or Panos are there at 20 I think we have to take them. If they're not then I hope we go for the best available midfielder, preferably an inside one.

I've been a Panos fan for a while, I think he's a chance to be their at pick 20 and I think we should definately take him.

I still think Black is a small chance of slipping as well, his hype has come at a more crucial time of year though, Panos' interest has peaked and is already sliding so I think he's more of a chance.

If Black or Panos are there at 20 I think we have to take them. If they're not then I hope we go for the best available midfielder, preferably an inside one.

yep, i agree with this, if there is a decent KPP at pick 20, then we really have to pull the trigger and take him. at some point we have to start to fill the KPP requirements. to me relying on sibosado and shepherd is fraught with danger

Black would be my 2nd round pick if he lasts which by all accounts he wont.
Panos is looking the goods & could still be there for us come the 2nd round.
Griffiths also looks the goods but there is a question mark over his injuries otherwise he would be a late 1st rounder I reckon.
Have only watched the highlights reel of Joel Houghton from Perth but I reckon he could be a chance along with Fyfe at pick 36.

Our problem about not getting Black & maybe Panos is that Melbourne & Port both have 3 picks before we get to our 2nd pick.
They will be taking 2 mids & a tall each though port might be needing to take 2 talls.

Anyway I trust after the last two succesful drafts that our homework is fully done & I can't wait for it all to go down.

Would be estatic with Black or Panos at pick 20. If either are available we would have to take one.

If we miss out on both then we should be looking to pick up a griffiths, or carlise or even Houghton as we need to start developing some KPP immeadietly.

I think we went some way to making ammends for missing out on McCleod by drafting Hill last year. It would be great if made up for missing Lloyd by drafting Panos at 20.

Rekon he's a gun.

Just had a quick read in the latest inside Football draft preview on players & noticed that Panos has only just come into football in the last 2 years ( whether or not that is as in seriously as the article doesn't allude to whether he played much junior footy ) as he has come from a volleyball & soccer background.

Did say he kicks & moves beautifully .

Now not sure as to what to make of that though those on all the Phantom Drafts & those in the media rate him very highly.

Still would somehow love Black to slip .

I think we went some way to making ammends for missing out on McCleod by drafting Hill last year. It would be great if made up for missing Lloyd by drafting Panos at 20.

Rekon he's a gun.

I know a lot opposition fans like talking that one up, but we never had the opportunity to draft Lloyd.

I wouldnt be upset if we snared Panos at pick 20 though.