Strange how Richo cops heaps on this site - and about his ability as well as his attitude.

But tell me this and answer honestly.

If your side was due to play richmond in the next round. which richmond player would you be most happy to be missing when eddie reads the sides out on a thursday night.

Originally posted by tro-boy
If that is the case why is Richo double teamed (sometimes triple teamed) whereas Otto and Campbo aint?
Because it works regularly and when it does he spits the dummy and the rest of the side falls away with him. In a nutshell his pathetic attitude is easy to invoke and devastating when released. It's like targeting a boxers glass jaw instead of his strong body.

Richardson's biggest fault is his inconsistency. At his best he is one of the best tall forward in the AFL, at worst he is yet another underachieving tall forward. The difference between Richo's good and bad games is staggering.

Richo is very much a confidence player. If things aren't going as well as he would like, he goes missing very quickly and spits the dummy. In these situations I don't think he works hard enough to turn the situation around. Furthermore, I don't think Richo has ever had a coach who is capable to bring the best our of him and lift his work ethic to another level. The likes of Pegans, Matthews, Sheedys, Malthouses and even Ayers, all command toughness from all of their players and want 110% in every game. If the whole team is giving it their absolute best it rubs off on other team mates. I will probably get a lot of critisism from Richmond fans, but I think that Richo could get some consistency into his game if he player for a coach that knows how to extract maximum from his players. Being biased here I think Gary Ayers could lift Richo to the next level. :D

As inconsisten as he is, he is still a very dangerous player who always takes oppositions best tall defender.

Richo

Richo is not footy smart and therefore relies on his althetism to win the ball. As he gets older this will diminish and if you want proof look at him when he comes back from injury, he is not much chop but once he gets back in the groove he is good.

Hopefully Richo would be in the side.
Not because he is no good, quite the opposite, but because when he plays, Richmond's game plan is predictable.
Bomb it long at all costs, and hope that Richo has one of those games that he occasionally has. If not, then hopefully Ottens does.
No need to flood the midfield, as the ball is not going to be there very often.

Originally posted by Stiffy_18
Richardson's biggest fault is his inconsistency. At his best he is one of the best tall forward in the AFL, at worst he is yet another underachieving tall forward. The difference between Richo's good and bad games is staggering.

Richo is very much a confidence player. If things aren't going as well as he would like, he goes missing very quickly and spits the dummy. In these situations I don't think he works hard enough to turn the situation around. Furthermore, I don't think Richo has ever had a coach who is capable to bring the best our of him and lift his work ethic to another level. The likes of Pegans, Matthews, Sheedys, Malthouses and even Ayers, all command toughness from all of their players and want 110% in every game. If the whole team is giving it their absolute best it rubs off on other team mates. I will probably get a lot of critisism from Richmond fans, but I think that Richo could get some consistency into his game if he player for a coach that knows how to extract maximum from his players. Being biased here I think Gary Ayers could lift Richo to the next level. :D

As inconsisten as he is, he is still a very dangerous player who always takes oppositions best tall defender.
hit the nail on the head really.i doubt very much richo would have got away with his dummy spits after the 1st time if he was coached by the above.
now this may sound strange however the only way to curve his "emotion" is to have him as captain.
atm he can get away with it as he has no "official"on field resposibilitys whereas as shown in the england game when given the sole responsibilty of the on feild captaincy he behaved himself.granted it was more a carnival type game however knowing that he has to set the example could actually work for both himself and the club.

cheers!

I would target Richo first as he is hard to match up on and capable of anything on his day which makes him very dangerous however the down side of his game is he is easily intimidated and not strong mentally and if you can get on top of him early in a game he produces his dummy spits and will go to water

Originally posted by tro-boy
If that is the case why is Richo double teamed (sometimes triple teamed) whereas Otto and Campbo aint?

Richo is double teamed because if you leave the tigers 'small forwards' alone they aren't going to do any damage anyway.

Originally posted by tiger of old
now this may sound strange however the only way to curve his "emotion" is to have him as captain.

whoa !

my goodness that would be a dreadful risk. Your reasoning behind it is not bad but if he dummy spits badly during a game and he is the captain ...

You should seriously trade him though.

trade him to someone and get either decent draft picks or another good player (something like Richo for Barry Hall - obviously would never happen but something like that) Richo gets the kick up the pance and a change of culture that might do him the world of good and richmond lose their primary loose cannon and hopefully do well with the trade.

Its like St kilda getting rid of Lony lockett - sure he was their best player but 3 years after they got rid of him they were playing in a grand final

Originally posted by Ausgard
whoa !

my goodness that would be a dreadful risk. Your reasoning behind it is not bad but if he dummy spits badly during a game and he is the captain ...

You should seriously trade him though.

trade him to someone and get either decent draft picks or another good player (something like Richo for Barry Hall - obviously would never happen but something like that) Richo gets the kick up the pance and a change of culture that might do him the world of good and richmond lose their primary loose cannon and hopefully do well with the trade.

Its like St kilda getting rid of Lony lockett - sure he was their best player but 3 years after they got rid of him they were playing in a grand final
i agree it would be a risk however i believe it would be worthwhile.
it was a pity allan jeans was only at the club for 1yr if he stayed longer dummy spits from richo wouldnt be a talking point these days.
for all richo,s misgivings with his behavior on the feild his worth off the feild can.t be denied.trading him isnt an option we just have to learn to use him properly.you ask any tiger supporter and we are dumbfounded how a bloke can have 2 men on him and we continue to kick to him when 20 mtrs away ottens/stafford are one on one with their opponent.

cheers!

Richo does indeed spit the dummy. One thing i remember most about him is the match (cannot remember other side) where Rodan kicked the ball into the 50 to Richo on the lead, it fell short, and when Richo realised this he just stopped running. I think Ed and Dermott were commentating in that game and both had a bit of a laugh and i admit i had one too. In the same game, Rodan again was juggling the ball near the Richmond goals. Instead of controlling it and kicking it through the middle, Rodan fumbled it through for a point, where Richo showed his frustration.

On the good side, i also remember his games against the Dees round 1 and the one against Hawks near the end of the season.

.... we just have to learn to use him properly.you ask any tiger supporter and we are dumbfounded how a bloke can have 2 men on him and we continue to kick to him when 20 mtrs away ottens/stafford are one on one with their opponent.

cheers!
That is the point. He could have six men on him with everybody else free, and the ball would still go where Richo is.
It happens too often to be a coincidence.

Originally posted by Stiffy_18
:eek: mate that would be a HUGE risk as far as RFC is concerned. IMHO I don't think he has what it takes to be a good captain.
well yes it is a huge risk but about time we took some risks.
however i think time would be against richo.we will get 3yrs out of him maybe 4.
for what its worth while its too early to say i for what i have seen of johnson wouldnt mind at all if he was given the captaincy.

cheers!

Richo has his faults, but most players do. I'm yet to see the perfect player. I think most clubs would love Richo roaming around their forward lines.

what i have seen of johnson wouldnt mind at all if he was given the captaincy.

cheers!

While he was in Adelaide, Kane Johnson has ben labeled as a future captain of the club. IMHO Kane would be a better captain than Campbell.

Cheers

well yes it is a huge risk but about time we took some risks.
however i think time would be against richo.we will get 3yrs out of him maybe 4.
for what its worth while its too early to say i for what i have seen of johnson wouldnt mind at all if he was given the captaincy.

cheers!

Kane will in my opinion be the next captain of Richmond & as Stiffy has already stated the AFC was very impressed with his leaderships capabilities, Richo as captain?? big move that one,